This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

xTuple Logo

xTuple

Inventory Management Solutions for Growing Manufacturers

see alternatives

xTuple Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


116 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent capabilities, complex to learn, more toward manufacturing and inventory but adaptable

Reviewed 3 years ago

I originally started using Postbooks because I was looking for an accounting system that ran on Fedora Linux that was based on PostgreSQL database since I am a database DBA for Oracle, PostgreSQL, and MySQL (MariaDB). I use Postbooks to run my real estate business even though it is not an exact fit because of familiarity. Once learned, it becomes second nature. I do not use most of the capabilities that xTuple/Postbooks provides. But that is one of the fortes of the software; use what you need and leave the rest alone.

Pros

Free version - I use the Postbooks version since cost is a big factor for me and I don't need most of the features. Adaptable - I used it in a previous business where I had inventory and did some creation of videos on DVDs. It tracked inventory from items used to create the finished DVDs and package, publish, and ship them. I now use it in my real estate business just for accounting. Has many capabilities many of which I do not personally use, but they are there if you need them.

Cons

Complex - because it has so many capabilities, it is complex and can be hard to learn. Documentation can be a bit sparse. Constrained - Forces a work flow which is great for larger business but can make a task tedious for a sole proprietor. CRM - is designed for sales of products which is what this software is designed around. I am now a REALTOR® and the CRM does not fit the model a REALTOR® uses. Too...

Vendor response

John - Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product. This system was definitely built for manufacturing (and inventory-centric) companies, although plenty of professionals such as yourself have adapted the Accounting and CRM & Sales functionality to suit their needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Generally good, but requires a skilled team to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

When fully set up, it does a good job of running our multi-site,multi-currency manufacturing operation.

Pros

- Decent import system to load up your data - Flexible system that allows a wide range of manufacturing and options - Easy access to SQL tables which allow you to write your own tools if xTuple is missing something you need - Under active development, and with a good user forum

Cons

- Despite the licensing being the single most expensive SW cost for our company, support is virtually non existent. It is an additional cost and the options are expensive, confusing and often rely on 'partners' who don't always know much about the system. Documentation does exist but is often hard to find on the xTuple website. A skilled technical team will be needed to implement and set up the...

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review. What version of xTuple are you using? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? Sounds like you might be missing some valuable help and ROI for your company. Feel free to contact us (we're here to help!): https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Sales/engineering involved with ERP use. Currently running 4.8.1. Previous system was MAS200.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Has a Mac based client. Has the option for on-site server or cloud server. Highly customizable reporting capabilities. A decent amount of customizing interface windows. We have several very custom reports and some interface changes that have been made by a 3rd party developer. A lot of features, some we're still learning to use in an optimal way.

Cons

The report editor is weak, at least up through 4.8.1. Text boxes don't auto-wrap making form design difficult. This is a challenge even for our 3rd party developer that uses it all the time. Not the most intuitive - interlinks between data sets is weak at best. Often we find ourselves needing to write somethings down from one inquiry to then go to the next, and the next to find what we...

Vendor response

RE: any difficulties you¿re experiencing with the OpenRPT report editor. If you need to learn more about building custom reports, we¿ve got some great classes and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. Backporting bug fixes with patches can run you into all sorts of other problems related to required functionality that may not exist in older versions. It¿s like expecting to get an airbag in a `65 Mustang. Our best suggestion is let¿s help you upgrade to the latest version: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services -- Carolyn

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

For someone who is not an accountant, the learning curve was steep. But in time, it became great.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It forced me to learn true accounting principles, of which I still haven't mastered, but it's an ongoing experience. That, and the fact that it's free.

Pros

It's a true ERP/accounting software suite that covers all aspects of a business. There's no cheating when posting transactions. It forces you to get to know actual accounting principles and follow them. I also like that it is platform agnostic. I prefer Linux to Windows, and the software runs on both. This versatility also runs to the database back end; I'm using PostgreSQL on Linux, which is quick...

Cons

It takes time to master the application if you are not familiar with accounting practices and principles. Being a small businessman who specializes in IT, I'm not accustomed to think in the ways of balancing buckets. It's not Quickbooks (whatever that means). Office managers and financial people continually ask me why I should use something that's off the beaten path with respect to small businesses. Of course, I give them the reasons above. Needless to say, the argument inevitably comes back, "Quickbooks is still easier to use." It's not easy to back out stupid mistakes. Again, this is an "operator issue". A non-accountant really needs to be trained properly to fully utilize the power of this application.

Vendor response

Thank you for your glowing review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing Be sure you've got the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

review of ERP postqb rev 4.x

Reviewed 3 years ago

goal was to handle sales pipeline and contract manufacturing; sales people didn't like to use it. Free version is good value, but paid version is expensive when compared to competitive products.

Pros

multi-platform customizable: forms and reports structured work flow: modules link together properly (from sales to purchasing to inventory to manufacturing to shipments etc) has expected and comprehensive list of data: AP, AR, INV, WIP, PO, Sales, Customers, etc

Cons

poorly integrated extensions (eg time and expense) data entry forms are clunky for bulk entry UX forms not consistent (over time the UX standards have changed, older forms have not been updated to use newer UX) automation of import/export is clunky (it works, but not intuitive to configure) chart of accounts and posting are very traditional approach, so cumbersome to fix data entry mistakes. need manufacturing edition if doing manufacturing; base model has too many key manufacturing features disabled.

Vendor response

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Lance. Sounds like you may be using an older version? Be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration P.S. Let us know how we can help with increased functionality you need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It's been a really solid solution for our client

Reviewed 4 years ago

The ability to create a custom solution that perfectly fit our client's needs.

Pros

I think the extendability of the software has to the the strongest feature. Great care has gone into letting you add features in a very maintainable fashion.

Cons

Sometimes I find that though most of the backend logic is encapsulated within the database - which is an interesting, seemingly solid model - there is some logic that still lives within the client software.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He's always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about customizations, to help other similar businesses. We are also working on standing up a scripting library which might be of use to you. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pretty good once we upgraded to the purchased program.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Lot Serial Tracking, Copying Item Data,Sales Order Entry,Packing List Reports. Ability to get a response on bugs so that we can fix them in a timely manner.

Cons

Overall look- I don't think the design is overall user friendly. Its better than it use to be but could use a little work. I would like to be able to use the program on phone to check inventory. So maybe a mobile app would be nice. Other than that I think it works efficiently enough for our use.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review. What version of xTuple are you using? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? Sounds like you might be missing some valuable help and ROI for your company. Feel free to contact us (we're here to help!): https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Feedback

Reviewed 4 years ago

By and large the system provides decent tools to process our work. Some information, data, and reports require significant specialized enhancements.

Pros

Generally speaking, all functionality is available with xTuple. Operations, Sales, Finance, and Production activities can be performed.

Cons

Some reporting is slow and redundant. there have been many specialized reports created for ease and efficiency.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your confidence in us. Are you planning to upgrade to the next major version 5.0?? Let's ensure you're getting all that you need out of xTuple. https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Xtuple is very flexible and capable of very complex transactions and customized routines.

Reviewed 4 years ago

exposure to other types of accounting setup. The software install is still very clunky and difficult to use. We need to use our old system side by side with it. Was hoping to drop the old system by now. We could really use someone to help us config it more.

Pros

The price, customizability, open source code. Able to interface with other programs and databases. True enterprise funtions and modules. The startup costs are very affordable.

Cons

Very difficult to find help with the software. The manuals and support are expensive and often non existant to my experience

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of the free PostBooks¿ community product. I believe you may be on an older version? Upgrading often addresses most concerns. Let's be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Xtuple Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

MRP is easy to use and inventory and purchasing functions help me get my job done efficiently.

Cons

Some times i need to export data to Excel to make it easier to work with.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about MRP, to help other similar businesses. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Open source ERP that delivers

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a software developer and open source solutions specialist we don't manufacture items and our own product as well as the product from our vendor partners is rather ethereal and so isn't stocked. But once we had attached a "physical" presence to electronically transmitted support contracts and longer term consulting engagements, receiving in, shipping and invoicing became second nature and remarkably accurate. Financials are solid but do spend time getting your head around VAT processes.

Pros

There are many ERP solutions and there is plenty of open source software. xTuple is different because it is an open source ERP solution that does actually work. ERP does require quite an amount of configuration and management and xTuple is no different. Understanding how ERP works if pretty core to making any ERP solution work but once you have that, once you have committed the effort to properly...

Cons

As open source solutions go, there are remarkably few quirkinesses but those that do exist do require some thinking around. Like most ERP solutions, it demands that it follows it's processes so deviate and you are in for some pain. The key to a successful implementation is learning how it works. If you have never implemented ERP before then you are strongly advised to either dedicate quite some time to getting it wrong and starting again or bringing in someone with the expertise and experience. Fortunately, xTuple will help you there!

Vendor response

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Roland. Sounds like you've got great knowledge of the system. Let us know how we can help with any increased functionality you need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Overall the xTuple software has been wonderful. Easy to use and presents very professionally.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Functionality for our very unique type of business, and website integration are the top two benefits.

Pros

You can begin with a free version and if that version fulfills all of your needs you can continue with that, however for added functionality there are licencing fees for that functionality. It is easy to use (once the beginning numbers are in) and it makes a small company look larger due to the look and design of their forms (you can design your own as well). The functionality is incredible. The...

Cons

Their customer service is probably their weakest link. Although they make an appreciable effort to respond to the issues we bring up, from our end sometimes it doesn't seem to be taken care of as quickly as we would like, and we have to follow-up for resolve. The website integration has some bugs, but eventually the bugs get worked out. We have two very capable IT employees who sometimes can figure out the bugs before they do, which is a big plus for us, as we can correct the issues then pass on the fix to xTuple. We all agree that the issues with customer service are worth the extreme value that the software has brought to our company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Xtuple Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our experience with the applications listed under what we like best has been very good. Based on the way we have use the system we have been unable to use MRP to date. However, I think this is more our issue than an XTuple issue.

Pros

Inventory tracking and financial tracking and reports. The sales module also provides needed reports and information

Cons

Currently the CRM does not allow us to track conversion rates or other metrics. It does not provide any true metric reporting features. We have had to purchase outside software and now the sales team is having to update two separate databases. This was one thing I was hoping to avoid. The same is true for project management.

Vendor response

Carol - Thank you for a great review. You are correct: xTuple is not a very metric-oriented system. It wasn't designed for modern marketers and business analysts. It's more of a data collection and repository system. However, your review is a very good example of giving us helpful information on where the product could be improved. We're actually working on integrations with other softwares (such as...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

xTuple ERP

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have put all of our ordering/manufacturing/accounting/finance functions on xTuple, including some company-specific functions that we built ourselves without consulting. We've been running the system for 7 years with great success.

Pros

Cost-benefit is off the charts. A full, highly complex, highly customized install of xTuple can be achieved at about 1/3 the cost of other proprietary systems. The open-source environment allows a technically-inclined administrator with some programming experience to extend the software in business-specific ways without the use of high-cost consulting. Tech support is great, and bug fixes often arrive in a couple of days after reporting.

Cons

The documentation provided for scripting is too heavily geared towards an experienced C/Qt programmer rather than a SQL programmer. There aren't enough specific scripting examples, and too many references to class libraries which don't make much sense to someone with no C/Qt background.

Vendor response

Thank you for a great review. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about customizations, to help other similar businesses. We are also working on standing up a scripting library which might be of use to you. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Very powerful software, but comes with a learning curve.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I think that xTuple is a great piece of software, but it is much more attuned to larger, more regimented businesses. For the small and flexible business, QuickBooks is much more suitable to the style of operation that I have experienced with smaller businesses.

Pros

I can quickly and accurately keep track of all aspects of business operations.

Cons

The fact that once you post something, you cannot change it. In a lot of smaller businesses, a managerial style of accounting is used. A lot of little mistakes happen or a customer requires an invoice to be worded a certain way, etc... With xTuple, I have to void the transaction and start over. Not always feasible. Also, the limited ability to customize line items without creating an item is extremely limiting for smaller businesses.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Tom. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to see what might be missing! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing Today¿s ERP solutions clearly miss the mark for the vast majority of smaller ¿ (but AWESOME!) manufacturing businesses who metaphorically don¿t need a bus to drive to the train station! The elephant in the room is that ERP is the wrong solution for small business, especially those who've outgrown QuickBooks. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Wanted something better than Sage that didn't require "frankensteining" the software & costing $$$$$

Reviewed 5 years ago

more available options without having to pay for it - included in the package which is the way it should be. Every time I have to purchase another piece to make the main package work better for me, it's more money for software; consulting hours, training.....

Pros

Open Source; great support team - in it to get the problem solved efficiently an effectively; great instructor - he really knows the software inside and out and a great problem solver; in fact, all of the partners involved with xTuple will help with problems if you reach out to them in the forum; and for the "cherry on top" - constantly evolving and improving - they don't rest on their laurels - they constantly challenge themselves to make it better, more expansive - "How can we benefit our customers the most" mentality and they just keep going and going.

Cons

Call it housekeeping - there used to be a few bad apples and they have been slowly and surely weeded out and discarded - both employees who "loved to hear themselves talk" but was much ado about nothing and then some partners - if you are in it, then you are in it - don't bad mouth it - the company, the customers - all of it - get out or help make it better for all - as you know, employee and partner...

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.