Zen Planner Reviews

Zen Planner Reviews

Zen Planner

Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses

4.28/5 (18 reviews)
16,357     1,753

Carola Cooper

Great for CrossFti gym!

28/02/2017

Zen Planner was great for our CrossFit gym. Our clients were able to go online and check into classes. It made it every easy for coaches and clients.

Pros

Great software, love software that makes my life easier.

Cons

Cant think of anything.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Craig Smith

Zen Planner...SMH

27/02/2017

As someone who isnt great in the deep magical world of computers...Zen planner was supposed to make things easier. My first appointment... the person was late for the on boarding (teaching me how to use software). They were also late for the second on but notified me this time. There were small billing issues and the support I recieved to correct situations was beyond useless. The relationship ended by them canceling my account out with only an email and refusal to get on the phone with me to explain themselves. This sounds disgruntled ... I know. There are a few people I know who have had the same experience. The company has a great base but didnt personally deal with me very well. My gym will close now because I have no way to bill my customers that dont come in daily

Pros

The concept is good

Cons

It difficutl to use cause the training on using it is very laxed

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sunny  Yu

poor customer support

25/02/2017

signed up to try the product - used it 4 days and decided was not a good fit for my needs - They charged me for a full month regardless and even said they were doing me a favor by not charging me for 2 months for canceling. They offer a 15 day trial but they refused to extend that courtesy to me. Also, I checked their reviews on Facebook and one of their customer support in particular is consistently cited as being not friendly to the consumer. Would never recommend this business based on my experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Zen Planner

beware the customer service

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Louie

Had high hopes, customer service was much to be desired.

20/07/2016

When we started to expand our Taekwon-Do school I had to divide and conquer with my current 2 black belts. They would teach nights I had to be at another location. After reviewing many different membership tracking softwares and website I was torn between MindBody and Zen Planner. I found MindBody lacking in some areas and liked the look of Zen Planner (plus it was compatible with iOS and Android, since we 3 black belts had both. Once I made my 1st initial payment and took the 1st 2-3 set-up classes it took over a month for customer service to help me upload my students into the database. At first I tried myself but was just taking way too long. When I asked customer service they told me to send it in a specific format (which I did convert from Excel). When I did send the file, I didn't hear anything for days. Emailed back after 2-3 days and customer service told me it was the wrong format. So I reformatted and sent again. After that fiasco I didn't feel like paying $70 a month for subpar customer service and cancelled my subscription.

Pros

Lots of options to make online accounting, marketing and attendance easier.

Cons

Maybe too much to choose from. Interface is very confusing at times. Customer service is the worst for the amount you pay per month.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Willis

Verified Reviewer

Zen Planner is the best

04/04/2016

The customer service at Zen Planner is second to none. They always have prompt solutions to all of my problems and always offering new options to make my life easier as a business owner. I'm so happy to be working with them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sean Fisher

Verified Reviewer

Zen Planner Member App

04/04/2016

This app has helped us in so many ways specifically with making it incredibly easy for our members to pre-register for classes, which holds them accountable to showing up. It also allows our community to be even stronger and more recognizable by allowing other members to see who else will be training with them and knowing who will be coaching beforehand. The ZP team has been phenomenal and will help you each step of the way to make your customers experience exceptional. If you haven't tried this app out yet, I'd highly recommend giving it a try!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shane Miller

Verified Reviewer

World Class

03/04/2016

ZenPlanner gives me everything I need to run my fitness business. ZP gives me multiple functions and wide range of customizable options for calendar, membership, private training, events, seminars, payroll, workout tracking and more. One of my favorite utilities that I use everyday is their increadible data tracking and reporting. I am able to see what is going on in my business in every area. The system integrates very well into my website. My members express their satisfaction with the ease of use on the member side.

Pros

Easy to use, customizable, multiple functions, member app, the list goes on.

Cons

Private training payroll not the easiest tool. Does not have easy to track marketing tool for us to tack online marketing to actual conversations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tavia Harrison

Payroll is terrible - that's a HUGE part of my job that I am now doing manually!!!

07/01/2016

Switched from MindBody in October and I wish I hadn't. Mind body was unwieldy and cumbersome, but I could do everything I needed. Mind body is easier to use by my clients and it's great for collecting money, but it's TERRIBLE for doing payroll. I have a martial arts school and fitness center. We also do private training. I am now having to figure out private training by hand and I am still struggling to accurately pay my fitness people from NOVEMBER because I can't run the reports I would like. I don't pay out on pre-purchased packages until the classes are used, and we pay our staff on a per person rate, and there is literally NO WAY I can get an accurate report for this. So it's great for managing clients, and the client portal is good, and I can easily collect money, but after that, it's absolutely useless. I've called them about it and I've basically been told that yes, payroll is awful, no, there are no immediate changes to this, but hopefully if enough people complain they'll make it a programming priority.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sanjit Mandal

Much better than MINDBODY for a martial arts school.

17/12/2015

I have been using MINDBODY for nearly 2 years and as my dojo started to grow and I wanted to better manage my students, however, I discovered many setbacks with MINDBODY. A friend told me about Zen Planner and how it was just for martial arts schools and I looked into it and it was a win-win for me. The interface is great, easier to use on all devices.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Lafreniere

Zen Planner Is A Score For My Business

12/05/2015

My business¿Capital MMA & Elite Fitness¿has been running on Zen Planner's software since 2008. We chose Zen Planner because it was web based, inexpensive and valued customer service. Throughout the years Zen Planner has consistently listened to my personal feedback, and has acted on it to make improvements and upgrades. They are extremely responsive to any issues, and their staff has gone above and beyond to accommodate my needs. I heartily recommend Zen Planner to anyone in need of a professional management software solution for their business.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Conrad Long

Easy to learn, amazing customer service, saves me time and money!

10/05/2015

The software seems very complex and difficult at first glance but once you tool around it is easy to use. Every time, multiple times I have sent a help request in I get assistance back within 24 hours sometimes less and even on weekends. I could not be happier with the product and customer service! It saves me time and money everyday! The best part is tracking prospect members and being able to keep data on them and convert them to members. Zen Planner is built for the business owner. Most competing softwares I have seen are more focused on the athlete and tracking workout data where as Zen Planner has focused on the business side with a secondary on athlete tracking. At the end of the day memberships is what matters. Its the only matrix of success and ZP allows me to capture and track prospect members perfectly and track everything on the business side and the athlete side.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Don Kirby

May be 5 stars if you can get customer service.

27/03/2015

Takes a minimumum of 24 hrs to get customer service. They will send an auto email.. They claim to give a free trial .. The free trial is literature. Also , took 3 months to set up the software with no money coming in.. I had to basically set it all up myself with very little help from them. I became inpatient after 3 months of paying.. Tried to put things in place on my own. They base there customer service on there convenience, not yours. Still waiting 3 days later resolve an issue , still no real help but auto emails .

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gerson Marroquin

Product review

06/03/2015

Overall Zen Planner provides outstanding customer service, member tracking (payment/check-in/personal info etc.) I really like the resources/blog page, the ZP ebooks are excellent reads and provides solid tips for running your fitness business. Would love to see a CrossFit calculator (pound/kilo), w/bumper pix for members to barbell math. Maybe an app?

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Coach Crossfit

Ok but not great

05/03/2015

I can do a lot with this software. Apparently does everything that Front Desk offers in their middle tier of pricing - for half the cost. I manage staff payroll and reserving classes, too. I can do analytics and reports. They have always been very nice on the phone (if unable to help.) On the down side, it's buggy and painfully slow. Plus it doesn't work very well on mobile, either for clients, coaches, or the business owner. My athletes often say they can't reserve class on their phones. Everyone wants to do everything on their phones but ZP does not accommodate this! The workout tracking was painful to use - they keep adding features like this but I wish they would just make the ones they have work better. Their much vaunted software improvements were a disappointing thin skin over the same stuff. Despite my annoyance I have learned to work around the bugs and stuck with them for many years. I will probably continue to wait for software improvements. Not a ringing endorsement by any means, but the software is functional and the price is right.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Howland

Life changing efficiency

28/10/2014

Zen Planner allows me to run the client-management side of a non-profit youth fitness organization with over 130+ members and 45+ volunteers almost entirely by myself with just a few hours per week. Before Zen Planner, I would spend 10-20 hours per week manipulating multiple spreadsheets to manage our members.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rodger Pyle

Zen Planner

24/10/2014

Great software gives me all of the up to date technology but in a simple easy to use format. That way I get to do what I do best teach classes. Not spend countless hours behind a computer screen.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lee Prosenjak

Amazing software for our dance studio!

21/07/2014

Zen Planner is just what we could have dreamed of if we designed software just for us. With everything from automatic billing, credit card numbers on file, and reducing our A/R, it's just about perfect. Zen Planner has given us the ability to increase profitability and saves our office staff at least 8-12 hours of work each week. It's well worth the minimal price that we pay for all of the features in the package. I can't say enough great things. Cherry Creek Dance will continue to use Zen Planner forever.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rachel Canales

Verified Reviewer

10/10/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: GetApp
Read more