ARES PRISM Reviews

ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

4.29/5 (24 reviews)

Brian Codding

Great cost control software with instant budget and schedule integration

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-29
Review Source: Capterra

There are many benefits to using the software. I like the enterprise reporting capability where multiple cost engineers can be managing projects in the system and that data can be combined at the program level. As a cost engineer, financial analyst, or project manager, there are few tools that can match G2 out of the box. There are definitely some competitors who offer products that can be tailored more to a specific business, but the amount of time and money that is required for the customization is very expensive. G2 is great for anyone who is converting from spreadsheets to a more structured platform.

Pros
The things I like most about G2 is that it is ready to go out of the box. G2 provides enough structure for you to start using it immediately, but also offers the ability to customize to many different business needs. G2 can be used at a project or program level to manage projects from a few million to several billion dollars. Some other benefits are that you can quickly setup the software to integrate with SAP, load actuals, and see your EAC quickly in both tabular and graphical form. You can select your physical progress method to obtain both calculated and independent EAC's. Integrating the software with Primavera is also very easy by creating a cross-reference utilizing G2's built in utilities. The same can be done to map your estimate to control accounts so that you have a common element at the level which the project is managed. There are a good amount of standard reports are available and the system also has a report writer available. When starting a new project, I immediately go to G2. I like the fact that reporting periods are locked down once closed out and forecasts can be obtained easily. The system also allows you to process accruals in a couple of different ways and allows the tracking of both actuals and incurred. Great software that I will continue to use for many years!

Cons
There are a good amount of standard reports available, but if using the report writer, some time is required to learn.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Fred Qaddoura

PRISM - Oct-2019

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-02
Review Source: Capterra

For the first time in our organization we managed to drop all excel sheets and use one solution that caters for all business needs. Reporting accuracy has increased noticeably, and time to generate reports has dropped drastically which in turn gave our users the time to do what is more important in their jobs.

Pros
- Ease of use, PRISM is user-friendly and allow flexible import/export functionality, plus a lot of utilities that caters for bulk updates. - Comprehensive Project Controls Capability and features, PRISM is a one stop shop, you don't need to look for additional systems to cover gaps, because there isn't any. - Fully Integrated solution, All modules talk to each other very efficiently, no need to worry about external integrations. - Excellent Support team, Experienced and responsive team that resolves issues promptly.

Cons
- Reporting features, PRISM standard reports are good but a bit difficult to customize.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Chris Donohue

I have had experience with the PRISM software products since 1996, my level is expert.

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-26
Review Source: Capterra

Reduced effort in managing the monthly reporting process, reduced duplicate work, reduced effort spent finding mistakes in the multiple systems we used. ROI was realized quickly. Baseline can be established quickly allowing the monthly reporting and trending processes to begin sooner in the project cycle. Ability to establish a baseline while the other systems (schedule & estimate) are being fine tuned. The change management features save time on the project and allow changes to be incorporated very quickly!

Pros
It's ready to go on Day 1, you can actually load data and start configuration immediately and develop a PMB very quickly. I've used on Mining, O&G, Energy, Land Development, Rail, Airports, Government EVMS required projects, and even IT projects and PRISM has always met my program' / projects' needs. If there is a gap, the ARES team works to understand the requirement and close the gap. The ROI was quick as the implementation and training cost were fare less than other tools on the market. The system has many reports to analyze a programs performance if tracking unit rates, quantities or just contract and subcontract values. It's easy to get data into and out of the system and doesn't require complex work flows.

Cons
The on-screen analytics can be improved. All analytics run through reports or from the Dashboard system. It has taken us a long time to get service packs to fix technical issues in the past. It's seems to be getting better. Most issues were addressed with simple work-a-rounds luckily.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Kyle Kasur

PRISM G2's database is comprehensive and meets our needs

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-24
Review Source: Capterra

Standardized way of implementing projects and standardized reports.

Pros
Bulk importing/updating data via excel is very powerful. I also like the flexible coding structures and user defined fields that allow for tracking additional data. Between these 2 I've been able to satisfy all requirements for project cost reporting for several different business units. It has supported all our data requests to date and aided in our Enterprise reporting. This was helped along by us being able to link our Enterprise Analytics tool Spotfire to PRISM G2 for Enterprise reporting.

Cons
In my opinion PRISM should have a web interface for managing changes. Changes should be distributed and Reviewed/Approved using email and web links and the change documents should be available from the web page. The reports are flexible by utilizing the coding structures however they are getting outdated and static. This is why we replaced most of the PRISM reports with Spotfire dashboards. They are interactive and more flexible.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Gary Atchison

PRISM G2 has been an integral part of our PC tool box helping to deliver 6+B of transit expansion

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-14
Review Source: Capterra

This product helped my client manage a multi billion, 10+ year Transit Expansion Program in the Denver Metro area. The transit agency's budget, cost and contracts systems were hampered by limitations that would not support long-term projects. PRISM (PPM thru G2) was implemented to remedy these issues.

Pros
ARES has listened to the industry and has adopted necessary functionality to help project teams deliver on time and to budget. The system adapts will to varying project delivery scenarios and will work for contractors as well as big program level conditions. From scoping/budget development, through implementation, change management, funds tracking/control, schedule interface, all the bases are covered. Really solid product.

Cons
Long time user of PRISM PPM, so there was some "look" and "feel" adjustments to make. All good in the end. Data cut-over from old system wasn't an issue. Minor bugs have been worked out during early G2 version release(s), but this is typical of any software roll out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Oscar Orduz

A good option to manage project cost data and reporting

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-12
Review Source: Capterra

ARES PRISM is a great tool for any project controls team who wants to elevate the way Cost and Performance Reports are presented to the client. It is a good tool to really manage large amount of data to focus on key aspect of Project Controls: performance, change management, forecast.

Pros
PRISM offers a good set of functionalities to manage cost, progress and change in almost any type of project. Standard reports are easy to read and data can be summarized and grouped for cleaner presentation. Data analysis for forecast is simpler than using any spreadsheet. Customer Service is very good.

Cons
We still face some software glitches in certain views and when running calculations/reports. User Manuals should be better developed for more complex functionalities, eg. Staffing Plans, Indirect Costs, etc. Despite our Customer Experience is very satisfactory, there are few improvements and fixes that have been around for a while with no effective response from the development team.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Diane Yashiro

What I like about Classic and G2

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very easy to setup. The clients I support want different things, so the setup has to be flexible

Cons
not always easy to get support on a question

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Ed Raffa

A very good product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

very good

Pros
- user friendly (broadly speaking) - quick learning curve - easy implementation

Cons
- constraints on some functionality/tools - time consuming input/export - interfaces with Primavera, SAP to be further improved

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Anja Mynhardt

Ares PRISM software Event& Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-12
Review Source: Capterra

Since arriving in Australia, I am much more involved with Ares PRISM than ever before. The team's engagement and support is fantastic and they go out of their way to provide the best support possible. The software upgrade and enhancements are amazing and it is nice to know that Ares take note of what their users suggest or struggle with.

Pros
The software support is great and I enjoy working with the Ares team. The software is accurate and ideal for total control over large projects.

Cons
I don't know everything the software has to offer and it can be frustrating sometimes, I am working on improving my knowledge

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Rik Falch

Great cost management tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-12
Review Source: Capterra

Support was awesome during initial roll out. Needed some custom webforms developed and that process has been very professional and fit for purpose.

Pros
CAPEX, OPEX, Project, Program, Portfolio...doesn't matter. I've proven PrismG2 can do it all.

Cons
Limited fields for Finance Import. No Actenum (scheduling tool) integration - should be ahead of the curve and be aware that Actenum will be big in Oil & Gas.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Dean Edmundson

The Prism G2 is an off-the shelf solution that provided quick time to value for organizations

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Deployment time, total cost of ownership and support. The depth of the functionality and it's ability to integrate with other 3rd party applications like estimating via an excel plug-in were easy to use

Cons
At the time (3 years ago) there could have been more reports available. I hear they have solved this through their BI solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Patrick Massicotte

Old user

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Flexibility, upload\export capabilities,

Cons
Report writer functionality complicated to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Michael Morgan

Great

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-09-10
Review Source: Capterra

It’s been a challenge to convert from MPM but not nice you get some experience it gets better.

Pros
Easily adjustable on the fly. Changes can be easily implemented.

Cons
We have to use a lot of workarounds for ODC.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Romeo Ballesteros

Great Cost Management and Earned Value Management, software

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Good interface between Cost Module, engineering module, Schedule, change management. Easy to follow. Useful report, for management and project leads.

Cons
As you go along, there are minor bugs, though there are work around, it is inconvenient. The report writer capability is not what I expect. I expect that it can do report the way a Crystal report writer. The report writer is very limited or basic,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Luc Vandamme

Excellent project controls software

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

The implementation went very well and the user base is growing in the company. The development team at Ares was very helpful, enabling us to complete the initial implementation on time (about a year) and on budget. Integration with our existing systems was a must, and it is working as designed.

Pros
Relatively ease to configure to one’s needs

Cons
Not yet a true cloud solution on its own.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Jacqui Vikse

Great Flexibility

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the flexibility of the product. The number of group codes allows lots of options. The integration of cost and schedule is nice.

Cons
The standard reports could look a little more current. Some of the dashboard options in the standard cost module would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Sam Budenstein

80's/90's Graphics

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-05-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Not happy yet, primarily to cludgy reports.

Pros
Use of Excel to update via imports and exports Wide variety of canned reports and processes (includes change control, trends)

Cons
Canned 80's/90's style reports that cannot be modified. Can't copy an existing report to modify and make another report. Executive Summary reports do not format correctly. S-Curve /Histogram has errors on progress (group that has not started yet shows progress. Technical Support not consistent. Dashboard is not included.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Per Beruldsen

Ares PRISM

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-04
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using or involved administratively with PRISM for almost 18 years. I believe it is still the application to beat.

Pros
Adaptability to various WBS strings, ease of use, quick to learn/teach

Cons
The Reporting functionality and presentation. It is much better now.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Jaclyn Taylor

Decent

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Pretty simple to use and work thru for the most part

Cons
Just my own personal lack of knowledge .

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Kshitij Dogra

Good Product

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

Amazing , love it

Pros
Ease of use and web based, cost management module and integrator

Cons
Inability to incur AI & Automation as a trend in new market

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Daniel A

Best statistics lab for sciencists

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

Great to use

Pros
Once you know how to use the software. Data analysis becomes easy

Cons
Needs videos tutorials. The booklet is not enough to use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Duncan Finnigan

Six years of managing the sales and deployment of all PRISM G2 versions since its inception.

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-01
Review Source: Capterra

Using PRISM G2 provided significant improvements in project execution.

Pros
PRISM G2 is a fast, very thorough and easy to implement integrated software solution for multiple project management project controls applications.

Cons
There are no negative comments about the PRISM G2 project controls software suite to report. However, the solution suite would be enhanced if it included a Health and Safety Management module.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Kobus Swanepoel

PRISMG2 Used for Successful Management of Billion $ Project

Reviewed 2016-09-27
Review Source: Capterra

Reduce project cost and schedule overruns with KPIs Simplify month-end progress and status reporting Eliminate spreadsheets and have confidence in your data Decrease project management overhead costs Optimize cash flow to increase profitability Eliminate project risks by aligning budgeted cost and schedule Integrate with Oracle® Primavera P6, Microsoft® Project Develop time-phased budgets and eliminate the need for cost loaded schedules Forecast cost, schedule, resources to completion

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software

Femi Farinu

Prism for Construction Management

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Customized reports, robustness, flexibility

Cons
Nothing in particular. Prism fulfills our project needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ARES PRISM

Enterprise project controls and project management software