App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Rally Logo

Rally

Enterprise-level agile development

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Rally Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

32

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.69/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Rally is a good collaboration Tool with helps both product and engineering teams with good features like test management.
Overall experience has been nothing short of great. It is the best software that I have used.
It's a great way to communicate company wide, easy to create user stories and breaking them down into tasks, the latest UI upgrade was a big improvment.
Not so customizable as Jira. 1 defect can not be linked to 2 or more user stories.
Since we are using a separate bug reporting system, it doesn't really integrate with it. The process of creating test cases and report defects are way too complicated for our environment.
My biggest complaint is that is is overly complicated and buggy. It constantly times you out and returns you to the home page rather than were you left off.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


32 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael G.

Senior Content Manager

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great for Agile Environment

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Michael G.: Hi, my name is Mike. I'm a senior content manager. I give Rally four out of five stars. For...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kathy D.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Agile Tracking Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Rally is a great collaborative tool for the whole agile team to use easily and track sprints efficiently. It works really well with other MS products as well for export/import.

Pros

Rally is the best tool I've used for agile development tracking. The UI is the clearest and the layout is the most intuitive I've seen on the market. It's so easy to display all defects or all stories, tasks, etc. I love the export functions and how simply one can customize own reports.

Cons

It is really expensive and hard to customize fields for sub-projects that are different than the parent projects.

sb
AvatarImg

santosh b.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Project Management Platform - Rally

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience with Rally is excellent. We use Rally extensively for managing all the employees work performance and implementing epics and features to the users with efficient way possible. The timelines could be more clear for anyone looking for quicker updates.

Pros

- The most important feature that we use the on daily cadence is, managing projects, creating features, splitting up user stories for better management, time tracking, task managements for user stories to track the completion of the feature. We also create Dashboards for tracking and managing resources efficiently

Cons

- The support can be more effective for any queries or cases we create. - There could be more UI features that the Rally product team can bring up for better user experience - The pricing can be better when purchasing with bundles and packages with heavy user license

TA
AvatarImg

Tal A.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Agile methodology in the cloud

Reviewed 4 years ago

I get things done using rally, took some time to get used to it, but it delivers the Agile way.

Pros

It's a great way to communicate company wide, easy to create user stories and breaking them down into tasks, the latest UI upgrade was a big improvment.

Cons

Gets laggy sometimes, can't see attached images properly once there is more than one image, mostly small quirks, all in all it's a good product.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ca Agile Central - Central for Agile methodologies

Reviewed 5 years ago

We work on development project, We get the work from business in the form of User stories. The user stories and broken down in to Defects and assigned to developers to work. CA agile is tailor made for projects which follow agile methodologies, it has planned set of rules and guidelines that helps. Monitoring and report creation process is simplified. it takes times to get used to the tool, once we are good with the process, it is very easy tool to use. Go for it!

Pros

1. Software is build around agile methodologies , best suited for projects using agile. 2. Easy to use, assign the unit of work to a respective team and resource 3. Tailor made for projects which involves a lot of teams within it. 4. Monitoring,Status of work can be easily determined. 5. Dashboards and reports are inbuilt and can be customized. 6. Separate process for sprint planning tabs are available. 7. Different stages of work flow like Backlog, analysis,development, test readiness and test execution and their count along with customization are really helpful. 8. Integrates well with CICD pipeline tools like Jenkins and Sonar Qube etc.

Cons

1. Very few fields options are available. We were using ALM before moving on Agile central, all the fields in ALM was not mapped to CA agile. It was difficult to map the fields since it has very less field options. 2. Customization and Report creation during the initial phase was very difficult. 3. Need to depend on the Scrum master to make process changes. 4. Iniital setup of the process was difficult and transition of people from water fall to Agile using CA Agile was challenging.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sachin D.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A useful tool for Agile Project Management

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am highly satisfied with Rally. It has helped team plan, groom, execute and track deliverables efficiently. Unwanted documentation is greatly reduced now.

Pros

* Web based an intuitive * Supports Scrum, Kanban, Scrumban and other agile frameworks * Scalable enough to support multiple teams and portfolios * Backlog creation, Iteration planning, Release Planning, Story creation, Milestone definition, Feature and Initiative (epic) creation, and captures many useful fields that help reduce the elaborate documentation requirements. * Story dependencies can be tracked easily. * Discussion tab allows capture useful discussions/ data and helps collaboration on story, feature or initiative. * Parent - Child relationship can be established between stories * Multiple reports can be generated that helps team measure performance and productivity. * Iteration board, Kanban board provide realtime view of team progress.

Cons

* It does not work well with Internet Explorer browser. * License cost is high as compared to other tools like JIRA

MS
AvatarImg

Mahipal Singh B.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rally Reivews

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with rally is too good. It is ease to use and helps organization to achieve the target in the agile methodology format.

Pros

Project management is the best part of this software. It helps organization to track the project. It gives us feature to divide the project into multiple sub-project in EPICs an L2s. So, team can easily achieve the project delivers by completing the multiple EPIC. It helps team to work in agile methodology and gives exposure to do the continuous deliveries.

Cons

As of now, i don't have anything which i don't like about this software.

DB
AvatarImg

Deborah B.

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Rally for Agile Project Management and Portfolio Management

Reviewed 7 years ago

Rally has expanded their functionality since Computer Associates purchased Rally . I like the alignment with the Scaled Agile framework. Allowing the roll up of stories to features and capabilities to align with value stream has been instrumental in educating our executive leadership team and prioritizing our portfolio

Pros

Integration and customization support allow us to interface with our internal applications

Cons

Continue to expand the portfolio and program management roll up and reporting features

IN
AvatarImg

Imri N.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

An ok software, but there are better

Reviewed 2 years ago

Rally is good but it has a lot of work to do to be in the same league of Jira or some of those software.

Pros

I like the dragging option, the fact that it's not 100% customizable which makes it easy, one you learn it, to work with it. It makes tracking tasks and bugs quite easy and clear.

Cons

I'm missing better integration with other services, like GitHub. Also, I wish the UI would get a facelift so it would look better, cleaner and modern. Also, the way of adding user stories and defects takes a learning curve.

SS
AvatarImg

Sureshkumar S.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rally - Best Agile project management Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience has been nothing short of great. It is the best software that I have used.

Pros

Rally GUI is so easy to use and seamless. It is the best software to track the user stories and update comments on it.

Cons

There is nothing to not like about this software. Everything about it is good.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Think Tanks, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Nice tool but still missing key items

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Its helping breaking all the User stories into many items and assigned it to the relevant team and putting also the effort , then easily you can extract report

Cons

main item that it doesn't show plan vs actual so it doesnt say anything if you are at 70% than compare to what? reports should be easily change from private to public

BB
AvatarImg

Ben B.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Rally works, but they need to stop constantly updating the UI, which is overly complex

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Tasks link to stories, stories link to features, ways to track everything. Allows you to provide a good amount of detail within the stories and acceptance criteria

Cons

too much effort to link stories to features, too hard to see the details on the features if they are similarly named. task creation and advancing is easy, but the page layout of stories is now convoluted and confusing

MS
AvatarImg

Mary S.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great agile tool!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use the charts and graphs to show management our progress for every iteration.

Pros

Really helps to manage user stories and planning for iterations. Managing back logs is this tool is helpful, so items are not missed or ignored.

Cons

Learning the tool took a while, training could be better.

JH
AvatarImg

Jerry H.

Computer Software,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Agile in the cloud

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

It is intuitive to create stories, break down to tasks and assign them to the team. The reporting features are very useful for executive summary in my monthly report. Easy to track the progress. It truly has the agile aspects build in for software development environment. The customizable dashboard allows you to track multiple projects and display the most important graphics on one screen.

Cons

The QA process is a little bit difficult to use. Since we are using a separate bug reporting system, it doesn't really integrate with it. The process of creating test cases and report defects are way too complicated for our environment. Overall, I don't have too much complaints against Rally.

KS
AvatarImg

Kevin S.

Defense & Space, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful Agile Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Allows customizable views, as in Kanban, for any needed software development methodology.

Cons

Very expensive software in which utilizing all of the features is definitely a challenge for management.

SP
AvatarImg

Sudhakar P.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Agile Management Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

This is user friendly application and any one new to agile methodology can learn the agile using this tool so fast.

Pros

This tool is easy to access and faster in response. GUI is very simple and anyone can understand the functionalities easily

Cons

The application is often down and needs lot of maintenance window as it is down at least two weeks once

JC
AvatarImg

Janak C.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Rally Is not yet mature

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The project tracking with features, user stories and tasks are great.

Cons

You can get lost sometimes when you are navigating through things.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

User Stories/ Tasks Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good product to use with multiple work management features.

Pros

- good tool to track day to day work and team's workload.

Cons

- Tasks doesn't reflects under individuals workflow if the main user story is assigned on different user's name - Teamboard is one of the example for the above.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best Agile Management Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Following are best features : User story management Burn down/burn up chart Velocity calculation Easy Reporting Agile life cycle management Distributed team management using KANBAN methodology

Cons

I feel this is a best tool which really can’t be debated

JV
AvatarImg

Jetender V.

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Rally for Agile development and management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy to use and master

Pros

1. Easy to learn 2. Allows to keep track from Epic to task level efficiently 3. Helps in quick standup meeting updates 4. Good reports on project / sprint progress

Cons

There are too many options to achieve same result that often leads to confusion for new users

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Outdated UI with subpar features

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Theme, feature, and other deliverable linking is easy. Categories could be customized easily, with some good security controls.

Cons

Outdated UI, search functionality was slow and unreliable, and controls were not easy to use.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sharique K.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Rally - Premier Project Management Software for Distributed Agile Teams

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great software for modern engineering practices. Very much essential for complex program and project maangement

Pros

It enables you to execute distributed agile and scaled agile frameworks. Removes all the clutter and makes the whole process very streamlined. Data and Dashboards are available very quickly

Cons

Training and online documentation can have some improvements

Jn
AvatarImg

Jayasimha n.

Computer Software,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rally Review

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

Ease of use to manage Agile development process. Easily Manage User Stories, track task progress

Cons

Currently we manage bugs/issues in a separate software tool. We tried managing bugs through this software, din't like how bugs were converted to a User Story, rather than a task under a Story

DM
AvatarImg

Dave M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Heavyweight Agile tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It can do nearly anything an agile team needs to manage process and organization of work

Cons

The UI is very bland and could really use some UX improvements

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joseph R.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Needs improvement

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been using this for a couple months on a critical side project.

Pros

IT is a ticket management software it does that well but thats about all it gets done well. It has many issuse.

Cons

My biggest complaint is that is is overly complicated and buggy. It constantly times you out and returns you to the home page rather than were you left off.

ON
AvatarImg

Ogechi N.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good project management tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

My org implemented rally to increase efficiency and collaboration across projects, and so far it has been a good experience. It does take more time than what I'm accustomed to enter all the stories and tasks, however my manager finds the tracking capabilities very useful. It has helped encourage an agile mindset within my team.

Pros

Rally allows my team to create user stories, each with several tasks that can be tracked and updated. It helps to estimate timelines and offers a line of sight into each team member's progress.

Cons

The user interface can be confusing, especially when first getting acquainted with the software. I would appreciate a more stream-lined, intuitive interface.