App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

farmerswife Logo

Schedule, manage and collaborate.

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

farmerswife Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

18

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.5/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

smartsheet
monday-com

Pros and cons

They have had great customer service overall and are very quick to implement any updates that users suggest (which is excellent!). I have enjoyed partnering with this company.
Farmerswife is amazing for project management throughout the entire process of the project.
It is great to schedule and manage our resources and projects.
They have been using Farmers for many years prior to me joining. I was initially afraid to do anything on the server for fear that it would stop working.
I thought FW should be more open to making corrections and additions, even without the current customers having to pay for it. It should be a part of producing and maintaining software.
Farmerswife has a somewhat high barrier to entry from the user experience side. The UI and layout are unfamiliar to everyday users.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


18 reviews

Recommended

DT
AvatarImg

Dean T.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

From a Technical Perspective

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been an IT Engineer for our company for 5 years now. They have been using Farmers for many years prior to me joining. I was initially afraid to do anything on the server for fear that it would stop working! But, fear not! It has regular backups, both full and partial which is great for us technical guys. Just such a peasure to now know how it asll works, and to not have to worry about losing anything if it ever does crash out.

Pros

Farmers is just a dream from an IT perspective! From installing the Server, getting everything up and running to even doing simple Server upgrade or reinstalls. It takes minutes to do. Getting the users up and running is aven easier. Simple to maintain. Easy to administer. Just keeps running day by day! We also get a lot of power cuts this side of the world. Server crashes out, databases get corrupted... Copy...

Cons

The databases can tend to get very big which does starty to slow things down. But with regular maintence and archiving, things get back up to speed again.

Vendor response

Hello Dean, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're extremely happy to hear that you enjoy using farmerswife and are having a great experience with our support team.

sm
AvatarImg

sherri m.

Outsourcing/Offshoring, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love this software

Reviewed 3 years ago

They have had great customer service overall and are very quick to implement any updates that users suggest (which is excellent!). I have enjoyed partnering with this company.

Pros

For us, it gave us everything that we needed to keep track of our clients projects. The small stuff doesn't fall through the cracks!

Cons

It can be tricky to navigate the reoccurring tasks. We found triggers also didn't trigger completed tasks... so that would be a nice future integration!

Vendor response

Hello Sherri! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! As for your comment about triggers we hear you and understand where you're coming from. We're always working to improve and really appreciate your all your feedback.

MF
AvatarImg

Mikael F.

Computer Games, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Mixed emotions

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It includes everything and is very potent.

Cons

I have to be honest and say that this program is not user friendly at all. Even our tech designer who is used to a technical language totally freaks out over the UX. I dont think I'm gonna get him back to use it. It looks and feels like a programmer constructed it for another programmer and it still looks and feels like it was made in the 90s. Going from invoice creator to a PDF. Not logical... It's super competent but not intuitive. Is this something that will be addressed in the near future? Everything from moving to adding to editing to change stuff later down the line in projects makes you go back from the beginning and redo. It's eating hours to be in this system.

Vendor response

Hello Mikael, thank you so much for taking the time to sharing your honest thoughts with us, we really appreciate it. Yes, it is true that the product is high in features after 22 years of dev but a little dated in some UI areas. We are working on our brand new www.cirkus.com platform which is developed both as a standalone product + a bolt on to farmerswife server. This will grow to provide a fresher interface to our our database. Contact us for more information!

ND
AvatarImg

Neal D.

Broadcast Media, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A game changer for post production

Reviewed 3 years ago

Brilliant. Once I learnt the ropes, I wouldn’t look back.

Pros

Farmers wife has changed our way of working. As our facility grew, so did our way of booking jobs and resources. From a white board and physical tracking and ticking off, to a multicoloured booking system, it changed the game. The methods of summarising just how much work a project as taken, with all the little bits that usually go unnoticed, are unreal. Finally I can recharge productions a realistic fee and properly manage my team to be as efficient as possible.

Cons

The interface on farmers is its biggest Achilles heel. The interface is clunky and hard to get your head around. I would argue this software has a very steep learning curve. But once you ‘get it’ you’re golden.

Vendor response

Hello Neal! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoy using farmerswife and are having a great experience!

AT
AvatarImg

Anna T.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Farmers Wife for Freelancer Management

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The different functions of Farmers Wife make it a very valuable software to manage our big freelance pool, countless contacts and the company's own little team. Easy to see-through, adjustable and optimizable, with color-coding that helps quickly wrap your head around schedules.

Cons

There's way too many unnecessary options we never actually use, so needs a lot of clicks to create simple task / project. Also, alphabetic loading in timeline view would be a huge help, and there were quite a few ideas we asked the FW team to realize within the software that never got done. Would be also good to have an "undo" function.

Vendor response

Hi Anna, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We really appreciate all your feedback. It would be great if you could contact our support team support@farmerswife.com to arrange a session to talk through some of the ways of streamlining your day to day use. Thanks again!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Broadcast Media, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use Inventory and Project Tracker

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Searching for inventory doesn’t have to be exactly word for word. Easy to track where equipment is. Quick to make packing lists for custom purposes.

Cons

The display fuzziness took a long time to fix and was very straining on the eyes. Sometimes with a long list of equipment, the system can significantly slow down. I also feel the handling of “missing equipment” (seeing equipment that has not been scanned in to a particular project when some of it has been returned) could be a bit more easier to access. Also, there has to be a simpler way to find the total database of equipment, according to FW in a particular country, quickly.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your sharing your thoughts about farmerswife! We really appreciate all your feedback; we are always working to improve so this review really helps us! Thanks again.

BW
AvatarImg

Brant W.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Solution for Budgeting & Scheduling Large Facility

Reviewed 3 years ago

It’s solved several problems for us and gives us real data on time management and tracking. At any point, we have a snapshot of budgeted vs actuals on any project and keep us in line with budgets.

Pros

It’s ease of use across platforms and mobile accessibility was the reason we went with FW.

Cons

The software is great overall, but I’d like to see an app for Android users.

Vendor response

Hello Brant, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it! We are happy to hear that you are having a good experience with farmerswife. As for your comment about a farmerswife app for Android users, it's currently not on roadmap, however we do have the mobile web client for now. Thanks again!

JE
AvatarImg

Jennifer E.

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Post Production user of Farmers Wife

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been able to optimise all our assets and people

Pros

It is great to schedule and manage our resources and projects!

Cons

It takes quite a lot of time in order to do updates and you need a constant flow of updates as projects are ever changing

Vendor response

Hello Jennifer! Thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts about farmerwife. We are really pleased that you like using our product, and we appreciate all your feedback.

DD
AvatarImg

Don D.

Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Pros and Cons

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Customizable timeline views so I can easily, for my user account, what People/Equpment that I specifically need to see are booked and when.

Cons

Although features are quite plentiful, the learning curve is steep and often difficult to figure out where to go when looking for features you would like to use, but are not familiar with. Not very intuitive, especially for new users / freelancers who only use it once in a while.

Vendor response

Hello Don! Thanks for this review and taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We really appreciate all your feedback!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

FW Daily User Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good experience overall.

Pros

This product is user friendly and easy to use.

Cons

I would be helpful if FW could integrate with Maconomy.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We really appreciate your feedback!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matthieu G.

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Un logiciel au service de la postproduction

Reviewed 3 years ago

Farmerswife permet de gagner en efficacité et productivité. La possibilité de générer des rapports est vraiment un atout majeur.

Pros

Nous utilisons ce logiciel dans la gestion quotidienne de notre compagnie de postproduction audiovisuelle. C'est notre outils principal de travail. Il nous permet de réserver et organiser nos ressources, de reporter le travail de travail de nos employés, de produire les factures pour les clients. L'implantation a pris plusieurs mois, le temps que tous les employés soient à l'aise avec le logiciel au jour le jour. Mais l'équipe de Farmerswife a été présente pour nous aider.

Cons

L'interface graphique pourrait être améliorée. Le logiciel est en partie traduit en langue française, mais la traduction pourrait être améliorée. Tous les développements demandés à Farmerswife coûte relativement cher.

Showing original review in French. See translation

Vendor response

Hi Matthieu, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, we really appreciate all your feedback! We always try to be flexible for clients and custom dev on cost. We are working on our brand new www.cirkus.com platform which is developed both as a standalone product + a bolt on to farmerswife server. This will grow to provide a fresher interface to our our database. About the French translations, we are gaining more French clients recently and do appreciate that we need to refresh and improve this. It would be great if you could contact us regarding this topic!

KK
AvatarImg

Klaus K.

Animation, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good old stuff - getting into age - missing functions since beginning

Reviewed 2 years ago

could not imagine to run our business without such a tool

Pros

resource and time planning is a must to have - FW is working fine

Cons

no spell check !!!!!! Bidding / invoicing are weak no copy and past in bidding and invoice module new features are put into new products (which one has to buy extra)

CG
AvatarImg

Charles G.

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Farmers wife review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, farmers wife is a very good scheduling program and is very easy to pick up - and anything you can’t do yourself is usually explained very well by the support team.

Pros

I’ve used quite a few scheduling software and this is the first one that makes you feel like you’re not using an old DOS machine.

Cons

There are some parts of the programs that haven’t had quick routes implemented- such as mass deleting work orders.

Vendor response

Hello Charles! Thanks for your time leaving this review, we really appreciate all your feedback!

BA
AvatarImg

Bryan A.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing customization with flexibility for every type of organization

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are able to more accurately track and schedule jobs easier than we ever were able to before. Farmerswife has replaced 3-4 different pieces of software for us, allowing for more efficient and faster project management.

Pros

Farmerswife is amazing for project management throughout the entire process of the project. Starting with budgeting and estimating, through scheduling, tracking, and job wrapping, farmerswife helps us keep the project on time and on budget.

Cons

Farmerswife has a somewhat high barrier to entry from the user experience side. The UI and layout are unfamiliar to everyday users. Once you learn where things are, and how to use them, the software does become intuitive to use.

Vendor response

Thanks Bryan, for your thoughtful review! We are delighted to hear that you are happy with farmerswife and we really appreciate your feedback.

BH
AvatarImg

Britta H.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Big fan

Reviewed 3 years ago

A little on the expensive side ...

Pros

I just love it, my favorite work tool. ......

Cons

I thought FW should be more open to making corrections and additions, even without the current customers having to pay for it. It should be a part of producing and maintaining software.

Vendor response

Hi Britta, thanks so much for leaving this review, we really appreciate all your feedback! We always try to be flexible for clients and custom dev on cost, please contact us back again to discuss. Thank you!

OG
AvatarImg

Oli G.

Motion Pictures and Film, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

FW - easy to use!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive, no issues and was easy to pick up

Pros

Easy to use and doesn’t take long to pick up

Cons

Doesn’t allow you to move things in bulk similar to other softwares but it does allow the use of binders!!

Vendor response

Hello Oli, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about farmerswife. We are happy to hear that you are having a positive experience using it!

CS
AvatarImg

Collin S.

Animation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Best Software for Postproductions

Reviewed 3 years ago

Fw solves all Problems

Pros

Best calender For project planing, calculation, invoicing etc.

Cons

None just pros. The Support Is always helpful

Vendor response

Hi Collin! We are delighted that you are having a good experience using farmerswife. Thanks so much for your feedback!

RD
AvatarImg

René D.

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My review

Reviewed 3 years ago

long time to learn fully, not all features works as expected.

Pros

Project planning and tracking. Integrated invoicing.

Cons

It does not look like any other software

Vendor response

Hi Rene! Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it!