inMotion Reviews

inMotion Reviews

inMotion

Workflow management for marketing and creative teams.

3.76/5 (25 reviews)
2,354

Kristie Holmes

Simple to use and set up

07/06/2017

Pros

The service has been very inexpensive for our email needs, there are even multiple platforms you can use. Each has different set up and functionality aspects.

Cons

Unless there was a setting somewhere I missed, it did not sync with my mobile device which is where I primarily check email. That creates quite the challenge when looking for sent emails or specific info. Sometimes I have to check my phone and desktop both to find what I am looking for

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Engineer (Mechanical or Industrial Engineering company, 10001+ employees)
Verified Reviewer

Not very good

30/03/2017

Pros

Nice concept for routing documents for review and redlining. The basic idea seems solid but the tools need to be better.

Cons

Markup tools are weak. It's like using a big thick black marker and you can't insert it into fine spaces where you want the text insertion to go. It was buggy, it wouldn't allow me to do anything at all until I adjusted the zoom level to an even percentage. Not really better than other redline markup tools that I have used.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Clay Boykin

Happy

15/03/2017

Some experience using. Becoming familiar. Need more time to learn.

Pros

Ease of use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kim Muir

Middle of the Road

16/02/2017

The software is relatively easy to use from the proofing standpoint. It does a good job of capturing feedback and changes. At times, our designers got confused on how to post a proof or understand what version they were posting. Overall, the software is reliable and is easy to access.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erica Hanz

inMotion Delivers

13/01/2017

Using inMotion provides an easy way for our stakeholders to submit their requests. It makes scheduling projects quick and easy and ensures that they get done on time. The proofing workflow truly revolutionized how we were able to review creative throughout the company. While the reporting tools are not as robust as other similar software, inMotion really is cost effective and fits into our budget so it is easier to overlook. The best part is the customer support is top notch. The team responds quickly every time and really works hard to help resolve any issue. Plus they are beyond receptive to suggestions and recommendations for future updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Valerie Kern

Happy Creative Department

13/01/2017

When we found InMotion, as a Department, we were very excited to dive into it and use. The sales staff on the other hand, being very set in their old ways of paper proofs, weren't too excited to switch. That is until they got into it - they are all now using InMotion and have been very happy with the program. I know that I can always count on your outstanding customer service for any new idea that may come up, for advice on how to streamline something better, or to trouble shoot and fix any obstacles we may have gotten into. Not to name names, (I'm going to anyway) but Dylan Boan has been awesome to work with and has always had exceptional response time and answers to my questions and fixes to problems. It's been a pleasure to work with him! We are very happy with InMotion overall and look forward to utilizing the new review environment and seeing what is in store for 2017.

Pros

Ease of use, interface, and organization filters.

Cons

There really isn't anything that I don't like.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering inMotion

No, I think everything works well and is easy to use.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Markell Lynch

InMotion keeps us on-task and provides a centralized location for all job needs

13/01/2017

InMotion provides excellent support for its software and makes it painless to set-up, train users, launch, and keep using. In only one year of use, it's been critical in managing our work flow, increasing the accuracy of our quotes, and ensuring that our team profitable.

Pros

It's easy to use from the start and continues to become more relevant as you set up templates and continue to refine your processes.

Cons

It lacks the ability to track financials in a way that's meaningful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering inMotion

Designed for creatives! The interface provides the tools you need to work effectively as an agency.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Great creative project management tool!

29/06/2016

I first started using used inMotion a few years back as a content reviewer and absolutely loved how much easier it made the entire review process. There was really no learning curve for our team and it helped take care of the communication and collaboration gaps we were having. When it came time at my current company to look for a solution, I got a chance to get deeper into the application and was impressed with how well it worked on the creative request and project management side. We found that the tool was definitely built with an eye for creative teams, more so than Basecamp and Office (which we'd been using prior to inMotion). I also love the customer service group. They are truly terrific to work with. Our entire team found inMotion to be incredibly helpful getting us started and working with us as we needed them to get questions answered. These guys speak the creative language.

Pros

Ease of Use Great (fun and passionate) team built for marketing and creative teams

Cons

Missing some of the more complex PM features (we didn't need or want them)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering inMotion

Our biggest challenges were around timing and quality. We just had too many projects moving at once. We explored hiring a traffic manager but opted to go with a better system instead. We looked at a number of other solutions and ultimately chose inMotion. We've been really happy with it's ability to get us more productive.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John  Barnes

User-friendly time saver!

18/12/2015

Pros

The implementation of the software was quick, painless and came with very straight forward training sessions that had our team up and running quicker than I expected. From sales to training and support, everyone was very responsive and helpful. I've used several other platforms and this is by far the most intuitive/easy to figure out -- and easiest to get others trained on and using.

Cons

Ability to copy/edit and save a new project request would be a welcome addition.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering inMotion

Involve as many people as possible from your team on the web training sessions offered during implementation -- it really helps with adoption internally when they get to see how easy it is to use.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

inMotion for a beginner

14/12/2015

I've only been using inMotion for a short time at a new gig I recently started at an inside creative agency for a large corporation. I've found it to be very easy to use. Setting up and routing project sthorugh review groups is very efficient and much easier than the old paper job jacket for every job.

Pros

Easy to navigate. Seamless review process. Setting up review groups makes it more efficient for everyone to know exactly where a project sit sin the review process.

Cons

A little clunky when you are just making a small simple edit. You have to log in and make the changes to the document on the screen and then submit. Sometimes it is easier to just hand write a quick edit on a comp and pass back to the studio. This is pretty minimal compared to the advantages.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Senior Production Manager (Higher Education company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

InMotion has changed our workplace

14/12/2015

We use inMotion to receive client project requests, project management for a variety of projects and proofing. Couldn't be a better fit for us. It's the only software that lets us accomplish these things in one place while not requiring our IT department to manage the back end.

Pros

Easy to learn/use Huge amount of versatility and customization Customer support has been great Handles basically anything we throw at it

Cons

Occasionally proofs don't display properly (probably a transparency issue) Would like to be able to edit the review workflow at any time, not just the current tier Would like more options on setting the proof available reminder email (perhaps by project?)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Stike

Verified Reviewer

Good resource, poor UI.

14/12/2015

The app works well for checking the status of proofs. However, actually reviewing anything can be a frustrating experience. The UI is difficult to navigate on both mobile and tablet. There are also bugs with saving comments. I have spent time entering a number of comments on a page, only for the app to give me an error when attempting to save the status. There will be times when the app will not let me open a proof, regardless of the file type. It is also only for Reviews. There is no additional project management options, like creating a project, assigning tasks, or checking off your own tasks. Being able to do this would be a huge benefit for managing projects when out of the office.

Pros

» Shows status of proofs » Allows for comments and approval status

Cons

» Commenting on proofs is buggy (won't save comments on occasion) » Frustrating user interface » Can't manage projects beyond reviewing proofs » Highlighting words on app doesn't work like desktop (selects characters vs. words)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from inMotionNow


Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We rely on your honest feedback to continually make inMotion better, no matter how critical the feedback. Our product team is actively looking into the issues you experienced to ensure they don't happen again.

We are also currently hard at work on re-building the Review and Approval portion of inMotion. It's a complete makeover and will incorporate years of feedback gathered from our customers. We're confident these updates will address many of the usability challenges you're having, in addition to making the already powerful features even better.

Our mobile applications focus only on Review & Approval functionality, not Project Management, as a result of direct customer feedback. However, the new re-build will also bring major updates to our iOS and Android apps.

Thanks again for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Read more
Shana Simon

Verified Reviewer

Really solid platform

08/12/2015

My agency works closely with inMotionNow on several marketing campaigns, and we use this platform to move our creative projects along more quickly and efficiently. In using the platform for a few months, not only have we found that it saves our team a great deal of time by streamlining the creative review process, but it's also a great platform to collaborate with our clients as a team effort.

Pros

Easy to use interface. Ability to collaborate with several team members and clients in one place. Eliminates the hassle of updating multiple documents to reflect design and copy changes.

Cons

Sometimes the comments run off the page, but this is fixable by moving the comment box.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lindsay Michael

Verified Reviewer

inMotion Software very Helpful

24/11/2015

I used this software while developing a site for a client. It streamlined everything for us, as the site was rather large and had a lot of pages that needed to be reviewed by a group of people.

Pros

Keeps everything very organized so everyone knows exactly what proofs are what. You can make edit notes to the proofs directly within the software.

Cons

If you don't have the email notification with the link to the proof, it is difficult to login to your account to find it on your own.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tye Bergeson

great customer service, lackluster interface

22/10/2015

The user interface is Flash-based, which by itself is a huge negative, and the way the tools are designed and work clearly indicate the work of engineering-led thinking and not UI-expert thinking. The markup tools are rudimentary at best, though I hear some upgrades are coming. There are layers upon layers of menus with vague labeling. I understand this is a complex, configurable tool, but this product needs a thorough overhaul to break it out of its current antiquated approach to usability. On the plus side, the customer service team is super helpful in helping customize the tool for customer needs and helping users discover features buried by the poor interface design.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from inMotionNow


[response updated 17-Feb-2017]

Tye,

Thank you for the thoughtful comments. We rely on the honest feedback from our customers to continually make our product better.

I'm happy to share that inMotion has a completely redesigned review environment. The new review environment incorporates years of feedback gathered from users just like you! It's built on HTML5 (no more Flash!) and utilizes Google's material design principles to ensure streamlined ease-of use.

We're confident these updates can address many of the usability challenges you're having, to make the already powerful features of inMotion even better.

If you're interested in migrating to the new review environment, we would be happy to get you started.

In the meantime, we welcome all manner of feedback and thanks for taking the time to offer it.

- inMotionNow Customer Success Team

Read more
Ann McKinnon

inMotion keeps projects moving

07/10/2015

inMotion keeps our print projects moving along - crucial in the fast-paced environment we all work in. It's easy to use, the files are easy to navigate, and the results with our printer, Dolan Printing in Minneapolis, MN, are always of reliably high quality.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karma Noble

Great Software easy to use

23/09/2015

Great Software easy to use

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elsa Letts

I really like the layout of it and available tools

26/08/2015

Works really well and its user friendly

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole Hampton

I had trouble with the app.

20/08/2015

Once I down loaded the app it would not let me log in to view our ad. I tried setting up a new password and it wouldn't let me. Very difficult! I was on vacation and didn't have my lap top with me. Once I arrived back I was able to use the link bu I already missed my deadline of the ad!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from inMotionNow


Hello Nicole,

We're very sorry to hear about the challenges you had with our mobile app. And on vacation no less! For future reviews, we just released a new version of the app which makes the Reset Password option much easier to use.

Our support team is always here to help should you ever need anything, and again, sorry for the trouble!

We hope we have an opportunity to win back your trust very soon.

- inMotionNow Customer Success Team

Read more
Heather Blankenship

Workflow

06/12/2014

I was introduced to this company at a design conference. Focused on solutions for creative and marketing teams. Web based application only. Helps creative teams get better at receiving inbound requests for work they ne d created. Neat proofing and review tools in browser and on iPad (slick tool) and Android (didn't try). Automates project steps around tasks and milestones. Reason to use - claims to speed up time to market by more than 50% by better managing intake, work steps and approvals. Supports content development for print, web, video. Enterprise ready. 10+ years in business. Pros: this is a tool that can be used with very little experience as found it intuitive. Segments the users based on specific roles - business teams needing work and creative teams doing work. Automates almost evry work step from tasks by templates to proof routing (review routing rules is most valued component). Adoption is fast for teams that make requests and review content. Cons: the project management tools are meant for fast turn projects. No issue tracking/bug tracking. Connects to external and cloud file storage like Dropbox, Sharefile, etc rather than hosting their own. This is a great tool for creative teams supporting fast moving companies responsible for lots of content types and serving lots of business units.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ronald Battle

Verified Reviewer

27/04/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Jill Peet Saponaro

Verified Reviewer

10/04/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Jeri Misler

Verified Reviewer

13/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: GetApp
Read more
Jay Rodgers

Verified Reviewer

22/03/2016

Rating breakdown

Ease of use

Time used: Free Trial

Source: GetApp
Read more
Jane Xin

Verified Reviewer

14/12/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more