This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Innoslate

Product lifecycle management and system engineering tool

visit website

Innoslate Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Solid and reliable product functionality, with good tailorability and extensive interfaces.

Anonymous Reviewer

The organization and ease of use of Innoslate are what I like the most. Our team is able to enter requirements in real-time and can be viewed by the team instantly.

Ryan H.

Great tool to produce rewarded results, in software and systems development.

Ryan H.

Cons

Struggling to characterize any shortcomings encountered in operations so far.

Anonymous Reviewer

Also, while documents can be exported out of the models, there is no automatic update of documents following the updates of the model.

Anonymous Reviewer

It's got so much going on that I have trouble finding what I want.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

9

7

2

0

0

89%
positive reviews
91%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


18 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to get started. Facilitates communication with simple, but powerful diagrams and simulation.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Innoslate provides an easy transition from a paper-based to a model-based approach to systems engineering.

Pros

I have many years experience applying systems engineering to aerospace and industrial facilities. Innoslate was intuitive for making the change from a paper-based to a model-based approach. I did not have to re-learn how to do and EFFBD, N2, block diagram or other common SE Diagrams. Innoslate is a true data-centric tool and diagrams are smart in that they know and respond to changes happening anywhere...

Cons

Although the tool provides some standard reports and good export capability, the ability to develop custom reports could be easier. To be fair, I have not asked them yet how to generate custom reports since I can piece together what I need from the exports. Having a simple custom report editor would make it easier for document generation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The best systems engineering tool, adaptable for all kinds of systems thinking, on the market.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The intuitive interface, the easy to follow training videos and webinars, and adaptable diagrams and schema make it easy to use with the development team and to introduce project managers, business managers and analysts, and non-engineers as well. This level of collaboration between the technical team and the management stakeholders, provides much more clarity into the project status, and allows the...

Cons

We have very few complaints about Innoslate, compared to our previous tool suite. While all changes are recorded as they are made, and identified by the person making the change, it would be nice to have a notification Manager, to have more consistency with alerting certain individuals when a change is made in an Innoslate project. There could be times when you want someone within the project to correct, highlight, update, or modify an entity.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

we are using this tool for MBSE and we have over 25 users for the project

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

1. Creating spider diagrams from action diagrams is very easy. 2. Version management is very good in Innoslate 3. Web based and hence can access anywhere. 4. User level management is good.

Cons

1. No simultaneous multiuser support like google docs or diagram i.o , which is hard while collaborative work. 2. When a simulation is ran for an action diagram , the microsoft project files generated out of the simulations, doesn't include the actual dates that has been associated with an action of that particular diagram. This is not really helpful, as we are adding dates in the action diagrams for each action and its not reflected in any of the gantt chart generated. Hence makes innoslate not an ideal tool for schedule monitoring. 3. Copying just a diagram to another project is not possible, and the database doesnot have a handle to do a search on the diagram names to separate out the particular diagram.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Immensely capable and time-saving

Reviewed 3 years ago

Quite literally could not do my job without it, or at least would not be able to do my job anywhere near as well as with this.

Pros

The cloud accessibility and concurrent editing is alone worth looking into Innoslate for MBSE. The ability to implement OML, SysML, and other standard diagramming into a completely integrated schema does make it the premier MBSE tools available.

Cons

With the diversity of capability, and rate the capability is progressing, a lot of new features and graphical interfaces still lack refinement. Ease of customization and output is also difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Innoslate provides all the system engineering features required for our project.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The ease of use has meant a very shallow learning curve for new employees or team members using the software.

Pros

Very easy to use interface with no training required for new users. The schema can easily be customized to suit unique needs of a project. Free read-only access to a project is a very useful feature. Innoslate support respond very quickly and resolve most issues quickly too. New versions are regularly released. Data export capabilities and integration with other software is excellent.

Cons

There are a few minor user interface issues, but they are all fixed in the version 4 that will be released soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Innoslate is by the easiest to use MBSE tool on the market.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. Functionality to support lifecycle modeling to include: requirements, functional architectures (use cases, FFBDs, sequence diagrams, NxN, etc), costs (WBS), risk (5x5 stop light chart) and schedule simulation. The latest feature "Test Center" allows you to bring together all verification requirements to develop and export an integrated test plan.

Cons

There are some important missing features such as copy/paste. It would be nice to have a generic document capability to create your own reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The software is very intuitive and easy to get started in modeling.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Quick and easy access to begin modeling projects immediately. Learning curve for a new software did not require a lot of effort and/or contact with software support. The model I was creating is for my dissertation to complete my PhD at Purdue University. I will use Innoslate to provide verification and validation as a comparison to a fully integrated modeling software to demonstrate my model can be created with the same model functionality as the other software.

Pros

The ease of use to get started and begin modeling without a steep learning curve. Updating additional modeling diagrams is simple and does not require significant effort.

Cons

Th software lacks some of the complexity of updating various diagrams when working in one type of model. However, the ease of use and easy learning curve is probably the result of a fully integrated diagram software. Not really a big deal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use, mostly intuitive

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Innoslate covers 80% of what I need to do as an SE but even with all that, the learning curve is short. Also, the ability to easily create a test project make sit easy to try out ideas without fear of breaking the project's database.

Cons

The dashboard provides metrics that are of little value. The permissions are too wide open. I.e., it is too easy for anyone to make any change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really good management tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is a great project management I use it all the time for that.

Pros

I like the diagramming visuals and abilities. The categorization of the projects if very convenient. The requirements handling is intuitive.

Cons

The simulation tool can be pretty confusing. It's got so much going on that I have trouble finding what I want.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

System and Software Engineer in automotive business (display devices and touchscreens)

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Tool is friendly... Focus on system functions with LML... Possibility to deploy DoDAF Profil... Possibilty to draw SysML models...

Cons

Improve transition betwwen different architecture models: Operational Analysis, System Analysis, Logical architecture, Physical Architecture, EPBS (like Capella MBSE tool with Arcadia methodology, see http://www.polarsys.org/capella/).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Small Business MBSE Transformation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good. On-boarding simple. Help responsive and available. Web version of tool has had no problems.

Pros

Innoslate web version has been instrumental in our MBSE transformation at our small business. It is easy to use, low administration and provides immediate tangible products We have used it to provide illustrations in proposals and customer presentations.

Cons

Documentation si good. It would be better if there was more tutorial information about the MBSE process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great tool to produce rewarded results, in software and systems development

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The organization and ease of use of Innoslate are what I like the most. Our team is able to enter requirements in real-time and can be viewed by the team instantly

Cons

Can't say...Innoslate fits right in with our methodology, allowing us to produce for clients- saving money and time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Solid and reliable product functionality, with good tailorability and extensive interfaces

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Reliable operation and high availability, with low latency in committing records to database. Wide variety of options for characterization of requirements sets across a range of disciplines.

Cons

Nothing to report. Struggling to characterize any shortcomings encountered in operations so far. I guess if I reach, I would report that some of the ways in which reqts are tied to diagrams isn't intuitively obvious (although the documentation spells it out quite clearly)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and useful MBSE tool, short learning curve before being able to start.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Was able to quick develop a preliminary design of some updates to the system I am developing.

Pros

Simple and useful MBSE tool, short learning curve before being able to start. Can import your requirements to start your work. The LML language and the concept of the actions is easy to understand. There are good features to export functional descriptions and assets requirements in DOC and XLS. It takes no time to install and collaborate with colleagues thanks to its web server based architecture! Should be the tool for everyone who wants to start with MBSE.

Cons

Would appreciate some tutorial for the design of a system with LML. Also, while documents can be exported out of the models, there is no automatic update of documents following the updates of the model.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I feel the software could be really useful with some more preliminary training.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Quickly importing spec updates and tracking changes was the most attractive feature. Prioritization of requirement verification would also have been helpful.

Cons

The verification matrix output into Excel was not easily formatted before the export. This may have changed in the last couple of months. Customer service worked with me to try and get the export looking more like what I needed but at the end of the day the additional edits would have taken away from some of the time savings of the import/export feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Learning to use Innoslate

Reviewed 6 years ago

I found the documentation easy to follow. I found the chat feature very helpful with reasonable response. I found things made much more sense once I had read the LML specification, which is very intutitive. Once I understood this I had no more difficulties using the tool. I found the PDF LML spec very usefull since I could read it off-line. I suggest doing the same thing with the Innoslate manual.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

I'm always leery of software that charges by the month. Otherwise, it seems useful.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I didn't get any benefits. I simply wanted to see what it did. I can see more value from open source software such as ProjectLibre and Aras Innovator.

Pros

I only looked at it briefly. I would have looked harder, except that the pricing model is not ideal.

Cons

Cost of non-cloud based software. And when you look at long term cost, it really adds up. There really should just be a one-time purchase price. That way you are not stuck with always paying rent to somebody.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy to use but visual interface to be improved

Reviewed 2 years ago

making diagrams for presentation.

Pros

Easy to make action diagram and then simulate the time needed.

Cons

large asset diagram / block diagram is hard to visualize.