App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Microsoft Project Logo

Project management & collaboration software

(75)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Microsoft Project Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,888 reviews

Recommended

JM
AvatarImg

Jhenifer M.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Ferramenta de Gerenciamento de Projetos Poderosa e Versátil

Reviewed a year ago

Microsoft Project continua sendo uma ferramenta poderosa e valiosa para o gerenciamento de projetos, ajudando a maximizar a eficiência, minimizar os riscos e alcançar os objetivos estabelecidos.

Pros

Uma das principais vantagens do Microsoft Project é a sua capacidade de ajudar os gerentes de projetos a definir e visualizar claramente o escopo do projeto, estabelecer marcos importantes e criar cronogramas detalhados. Com a interface intuitiva e amigável do software, é possível criar tarefas, atribuir recursos, definir dependências e estabelecer prazos de forma simples e eficaz.

Cons

No entanto, é importante mencionar algumas desvantagens do Microsoft Project. Uma delas é a curva de aprendizado inicial, já que o software possui uma ampla gama de recursos e funcionalidades, o que pode exigir algum tempo para os usuários se familiarizarem completamente com todas as opções disponíveis. Além disso, o Microsoft Project pode ser uma solução relativamente cara, especialmente para pequenas empresas ou equipes com orçamentos limitados.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bruno A.

Industrial Automation, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great software to carry out and manage business projects.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are now doing a marketing project for our company which makes this software very important as we use it to be accurate with data. The benefits that this software offers us are planning, organization, time, saving money avoiding unnecessary expenses, better presentation of our projects.

Pros

This software is really good when it comes to developing projects, since each phase can be planned and reports can be made in real time, one of its important characteristics is that it allows you to have control of the resources and make an exact calculation. This software contains many tutorial videos where it helps you understand how it works and that it is not complicated when using it. In the company it has been and is very useful and necessary and its integration has been excellent and easy since we have prior training to be able to run the software and apply it in our business processes through the planning and execution of projects.

Cons

This software is complete and personally has many functions that I find it hard to say that they need to be improved, but in reality everything is perfect and very easy to use. Integration into our business processes has been easy and much needed as we run projects from this software.

ER
AvatarImg

Eliud R.

Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The power to simplify project management, Microsoft project is the real deal.

Reviewed 6 months ago

We can now work hand in hand on our projects even when we are in different countries.The experience was superb and we will continue working with this software even in future.

Pros

It's quite easy to use and very simple to understand.We can now comfortably focus on our projects with this tool it makes everything easy and fun.It has varieties of tools which we definitely all need.Microsoft is much affordable and it gives you the chance to explore and venture into new things.Has this phenomenal features like chats, meetings which brings togetherness and empowers leadership in my team.

Cons

I haven't encountered major challenges and I absolutely love it.

JK
AvatarImg

Joel K.

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Gaining up the headstart

Reviewed 5 years ago

Beats up easily Excel but not as powerful as top products. Cheap to use.

Pros

Copy paste functionalities work well. Easy to make common way of work and template to work with.

Cons

Long projects restrict you using the same file format and same program version. Have had problems while saving in never file formats.

HS
AvatarImg

Horeb S.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Project: le meilleur outil en management de projet

Reviewed 3 years ago

Dans l'ensemble, je suis toujours satisfait de l'utilisation de ce logiciel pour gérer un projet collaboratif et il nous aide vraiment à suivre et à terminer notre projet dans le temps imparti. Il a augmenté notre efficacité dans la planification et l'exécution d'un projet.

Pros

Mon expérience avec Microsoft Project est très intéressante. C'est un outil formidable pour la gestion de projets. Il aide à garder une trace de toutes les activités de projet et à planifier toutes les tâches. Il s'agit d'un outil facile à utiliser pour les débutants et permet de comprendre son fonctionnement en moins de temps et avec une très grande efficacité. Avoir une vue d'ensemble de la gestion des coûts, de l'utilisation des ressources, de la visibilité du diagramme de Gantt, de la définition de vos jalons et de la saisie rapide des données sont les résultats les plus importants et les plus utiles de MS PROJECT.

Cons

Une des difficultés est le développement du chronogramme des différents projets et l'information qui est offerte aux équipes impliquées dans les différents projets. En outre, la mise en œuvre du changement de calendrier et de la capacité opérationnelle est difficile et empêche de fournir aux équipes de projet une carte actualisée pour l'exécution de leurs tâches et donc la livraison d'une nouvelle ligne de base pour vérifier les progrès et gérer le changement programmé par les patrons.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Project hoje é uma das melhores soluções pensando em custo benefício

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

O que mais gosto do Microsoft Project é a facilidade de gerir projetos grandes. É possível incluir programas inteiros.

Cons

Alguns pontos são poucos intuitivos comparados a outros softwares. Porém as funcionalidades ofertadas estão em nível muito superior.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

AA
AvatarImg

Audie Art C.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Project's Effeciency

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, it's really a great software and i can't compare it to quite anything. Feel free to try this software out especially if you already have knowledge about Microsoft excel and you really won't regret it.

Pros

I really like Microsoft Project because it's really a great software, its very complex. It has many great features that is very effecient once you start to familirize. I really like like it because it help you keep track on your projects and even forcast future plans.

Cons

What i just like least is it's quite expensive for small companies and learning it requires fair amount of training because of its many complicated functionalities and features.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Antony S.

Oil & Energy, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy and Comfortable Planning Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Project Planning , Cost Calculation, Cost Control , Optimizing resources to optimize project output ,

Pros

Task Adding Feature of ms Project is very Easy and We can Easily Edit order Without Any Problem, simple planning and scheduling

Cons

Cost Of resources Added Feature is Less also there must be option for creating Some regulate chart like planned progress vs Actual progress , Sn Curve Etc

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid solution for project management software

Reviewed 6 years ago

One can easily learn how to use Microsoft Project in a long weekend, but utilizing the software in conjunction with proven project management methodology is key.

Pros

Microsoft Project brings a lot of the same design mentality present in its other applications such as templates that provide ease of use for new users. A project can be extremely granular and contain a total breakdown of tasks and resources or merely a high level breakdown of major milestones. Once compiled, the data can be broken out into various views for the pertinent project tasks such as timelines and Gantt charts.

Cons

Microsoft Project does have a steeper learning curve than some applications because of the inherent need to understand project management philosophy. You also need to have at least a partially formalized approach to project management otherwise you may find yourself fighting with the software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Vanessa W.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quality program in use

Reviewed 2 years ago

Microsoft Project is another of the Microsoft software application, with which you can manage projects, it is a program that gives you several versions that helps you control and understand what's related to projects (schedules, finance). With this application, run monitoring all aspects so that your project will develop successfully, optimize processes, resources, costs, practical release, saving time and money.

Pros

I like Microsoft Project, since it is a tool to process the work of an easy project as a complex and quickly from anywhere. In the same way, it is a way in which this application supports you in the planning and management of project resources. It allows us to create the report.

Cons

I do not like it, since it is a software that is not multiplatform, it must be installed with the Windows operating system, which makes it difficult to carry out projects from other sources or operating systems.

IH
AvatarImg

Imtiaz H.

Telecommunications, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of Microsoft Project

Reviewed 4 months ago

Microsoft Project stage helps in really plan an Undertaking in light of the distributing assets, its associations with exercises, Calendar, Reports which at last aides in observing of Task in much preferable way over regular programming projects, for example, Excel Templates.

Pros

Planning of Assignments on time premise or on custom measures Cooperative Errand Task and getting Progress Information sources On the web Guides, Various Reports assist with surveying the undertakings Promptly accessible applications from Share point Store MS Office store are helpful for expanding the usefulness of the item eg Custom Dashboards

Cons

Ascertaining Undertaking Progress in light of Custom Fields( which are utilized to quantify Assignment Progress on Exceptional Execution Models ) Improving on CSOM and JSOM customization Not restricting Help to Just Out of The Crate highlights

AG
AvatarImg

Ansuya G.

Arts and Crafts, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Project Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience with Microsoft Project was very positive. It is a powerful project management software that offers a comprehensive suite of tools to help teams effectively plan, execute, and track projects. I found the Gantt chart feature to be particularly helpful for visualizing project timelines and identifying potential bottlenecks. The software is user-friendly and easy to navigate, which made it simple for me to manage my tasks and resources. Additionally, I appreciated its integration with other Microsoft products such as Excel and SharePoint, which allowed for seamless information sharing and collaboration with my team. Overall, I found Microsoft Project to be an essential tool for streamlining the project management process and increasing efficiency.

Pros

Microsoft Project Software is one of the most liked features of Microsoft Project is its ability to effectively plan and schedule projects, allowing teams to identify and mitigate potential risks, set clear milestones, and measure progress towards meeting project objectives. Additionally, users also appreciate its integration with other Microsoft products, such as Excel and SharePoint, allowing for smooth information sharing and collaboration among team members.

Cons

However, some users have reported that the software can have a steep learning curve and be difficult to navigate for those who are not familiar with project management software. Additionally, the software requires a strong understanding of project management methodologies and techniques, which may not be suitable for users without prior experience in this field.

bs
AvatarImg

belasco s.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Project Review

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience with Microsoft Project has been positive. The software is user friendly and easy to use. I have been able to easily create and manage projects, assign tasks and resources, track progress, and generate reports. The visual representation of tasks and resources has been helpful in understanding the flow of the project and enabling better decision making. The ability to customize the views and reports makes it easy to tailor the project to the specific needs of the organization. Overall, I am pleased with my experience with Microsoft Project.

Pros

1. Microsoft Project is very user friendly, and it has an intuitive interface that makes it easy to track tasks, resources, and timelines. 2. It has a range of powerful features that make it easy to create and manage complex projects. 3. It has a great set of reporting tools that allow you to easily generate reports to track progress. 4. It has a robust set of project templates that make it easy to get started quickly. 5. It integrates with other Microsoft Office applications, making it easy to share data and collaborate with colleagues. 6. It has powerful sharing capabilities that allow multiple users to work on the same project simultaneously.

Cons

The interface can be a bit confusing and overwhelming for new users, the learning curve is quite steep, and the cost of the software can be expensive for some.

FP
AvatarImg

Francis P.

Public Policy, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Project Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Microsoft Project provides interactive dashboards and reporting functionalities. The project managers can also prepare insightful reports and make decisions about project execution and staffing levels. Scheduling features like Gantt charts and prepopulated pulldown menus help reduce training time and simplify the project planning process.

Pros

Easy to use with visibility to chart views makes it easy to plan project deadlines. Like Excel, the columns and rows are simple to add. With this product, the project can be easily manage. The chart views are useful for presentation and report. Another good feature is timeline feature. With that, one can project the duration and tasks.

Cons

MS Project is not compatible with Mac OS. It is only compatible with Windows OS. It is expensive. It should be part of MS Office suite. It can be difficult to use if you are not familiar with the product. Training is a must.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Project Management Software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

As a Solutions Architect for a leading telecommunications company, I have to design network systems. Using Microsoft Project, I really like the flexibility that comes with it. I can easily track and complete a project within the specified timeframe. The template that's provided is customizable so I can tweak it to my liking based on the project specifications. Notifications are provided to alert you when a project is approaching its due date. Given that it's a microsoft app, it has seamless integration across other Microsoft platforms. The shared team calendar is really cool as I can create calendars so my team members can see what I'm doing and track my projects.

Cons

Better file storage is needed. It's better suited for medium to large companies. Not small ones.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matt R.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Your best project in the cloud

Reviewed 3 years ago

when working in a construction company. I found this app very useful due to the different projects of each work. He has shown me the possible flaws of a design or project before it happens. I can make efficient and detailed calendars of activities.

Pros

When accessing the main menu, it gives you templates for various types of projects. When you get to master the program, it gives you ease and simplicity in its use, which is why organizing data is very easy. Streamlines decision making thanks to the data that is scheduled. Due to its accuracy in times it is easier to know the schedule of a certain project.

Cons

Its handling is somewhat complicated and tedious to learn. Which can stress some users with basic knowledge. Its economic availability is very high reaching the price of 620 $. so it is not available to entrepreneurs with a low budget.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Allyson W.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Creating great projects

Reviewed 3 years ago

Although somewhat complicated to handle, I must also say that the courses are accessible online and you can get many formats, once I have mastered the part of the tools, they allow me to finish my projects in short times and with a variety of finishes.

Pros

It is ideal when preparing a work since it allows you to carry out the steps of the execution of the work in an efficient and orderly way, in turn allows you to modify the times if necessary. You can access its variety of tools and do a project quickly once you have the basic knowledge of it.

Cons

Its understanding is tedious since it has many tools, it could be said that it is something technical, its economic access is high, especially for small entrepreneurs. It is not cross-platform. Some courses must be taken before efficiently managing such a program. its desktop cost ranges from $ 600.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Endless Features, overall great tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Increases productivity for multiple complicated projects. I use this for the Board, committees I work with to manage timelines, scheduled. The features could be overwhelming and take time to understand however it's worth it. Take advantage of online free tutorials and Microsoft online videos.

Pros

Online support is 24/7, always available. Features include tools like charts, templates, budget management, expenses tracking, idea management, resource management, collaboration, task management just among the multiple features available. Easily manage resources, schedules, collaborate on projects. One of the most effective tools for project management. Convenient tool to allow all your work to live on one platform. Create complex schedules, plans. Easily view projects, resources, and other items on management level to make accurate decisions. Create detailed, customizable reports and goals, timelines to increase productivity. This tool makes organization very efficient for even complicated projects.

Cons

There is a learning curve for most of the features although it becomes productive, easier to use in time. It does take time to learn every aspect of each tool as it’s a bit complicated. I wish there was a way to measure team productivity.

AK
AvatarImg

Arouna K.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Microsoft project est la solution pour les entreprises

Reviewed a year ago

Microsoft project a beaucoup aide et m'apprendre aussi des choses importantes pour réaliser mes projets marketing vraiment merci beaucoup et du courage

Pros

Microsoft project est la solution pour les entreprises ça nous aide beaucoup j'apprécie énormément

Cons

Je veux que vous travaillez encore dur pour nous donner des nouvelles fonctionnalités dans les projet web3

Showing original review in French. See translation

CH
AvatarImg

Carlos Hugo Martin C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Experience with Microsoft Project

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use it for software project.

Pros

The flexibility with which a project can be done, as well as being able to relate tasks in an easy and simple way.

Cons

Managing resources can become very complex in the face of major plan changes. Agile project planning is artificial.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kasun M.

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool for Project management

Reviewed 3 months ago

As per the overall picture, this tool is good enough to monitor any kind of Civil Engineering project as per my experience.

Pros

As a civil engineer, using this software around 3 years for project management and monitoring purposes. This software facilitates the most precious platform to interpret the tasks and milestones of your projects and also the timeframe of the project. So it is very easy to monitor and track your projects timely through MS project.

Cons

So far MS project helped me with the tasks which I wanted to do with it so not yet observed any major issue with it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alejandro S.

Oil & Energy, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

How MS Project has helped me with daily activity logging

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience with MS Project has been in the daily record of activities in projects in the Oil area, when the file in which you work is correctly done, it is only a matter of entering the data day by day to have all the information pertinent to the project, but in most cases the file has been prepared by personnel without proper training, which has made it difficult for me to obtain the correct data in the field, which is why I have had to modify the files in order to work correctly.

Pros

MS Project is the most widely used project control software in the industry where I work, so it has been of great help in managing any project. It also complements very well with MS Office, especially with MS Excel, which allows export the records in MS Excel format so that it can be filled out by people with no MS Project experience.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that it requires advanced knowledge to be able to implement it correctly in large-scale projects, it is not such an intuitive software, so prior training is necessary.

TJ
AvatarImg

Tavaris J.

Computer Games, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

What to look for when choosing a PM software

Reviewed 4 months ago

I did enjoy using the software for a while but I've added another to handle certain projects.

Pros

Well I like that you can start off simple and then you slowly add more things to any project as it grows. You can track multiple projects at time which is a good if you have a lot of clients.

Cons

When I first started using the software back in 2006 things where simple. Now if you are a beginner you must watch video to get familiar with the new changes.

FV
AvatarImg

Fabian V.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Effective tool to carry out a carefully structured planning and monitoring of any type of project.

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general, we use it daily for the development of projects of all kinds, in addition to being useful in our main source of work, because in the presentation of proposals we are forced to use this SoftWare as a main tool for monitoring, schedules, costs and activities, optimally through the use of Gantt charts.

Pros

Ability to control what is projected versus the final result, its interface, the various possibilities of combining actions, analysis with staked reports. Compatible with office with a subtle and intuitive complementary handling when it comes to merging actions to obtain better results and optimization of the most precious thing in the business field, time...

Cons

You need a large screen on many occasions since a normal monitor does not allow you to view the entire project you are developing, but it is solvable.

SW
AvatarImg

Stephen W.

Primary/Secondary Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great experiance

Reviewed 7 years ago

More and more of us are less hardcore waterfall and are moving more towards a Waterfall/Agile hybrid solution. Would love to see the concept of "cards" or "Stories" be part of the project with stages or lists rather than trying to force Agile into a Waterfall tool.

Pros

For me MS/Project sets the standard for all other waterfall project management software tools. Have been using it for many years.

Cons

1. The con is also a plus, but setting resource time estimates is tricky and requires a better understanding of work versus resource units versus and % complete. Added to that is the Task type and whether or not it is effort driven, confuses even senior PM's. 2. Not having an easy interface to update tasks from a Kanban (or Agile) world adds complexities to those us using hybrid solutions. Maybe this one is just that I am not aware of the Microsoft Kanban options however.