App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Microsoft Project Logo

Project management & collaboration software

(75)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Microsoft Project Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,886 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Trent S.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Your project tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been difficult for me to learn this program and I have had to take a course to be able to use this software. Once mastered, it is fast and allows me to access the data of my project effectively and making graphs is no longer tedious, now they can be done in a very dynamic and versatile way.

Pros

when you get to the main menu it gives you templates for various projects. When you manage to master the program, it gives you ease and simplicity in its use, which is why organizing data is very easy. It has a great diversity of tools to make its use easier. It allows you to automatically create a gantt chart by entering just the data. Communication with the rest of the work team is agile and immediate

Cons

its use is complicated and tedious to learn. Its economic accessibility is very high so it is not available for entrepreneurs with a low budget. It is not cross-platform software and only works with Windows. It does not allow evaluating man-machine productivity.

RK
AvatarImg

Ryan K.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful/Vital Scheduling Software with a few Small Simplifications Needed

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used this program for over 5 years and it is one that only improves the more familiar you become. Updates have been positive and it continues to become more powerful

Pros

The ability to link any task to any other task and have intuitive and automatic impacts shown due to changes in the schedule is vital. The format is simple for setting up the schedule and adding all the line items from the get go but also easy to add/delete/manipulate throughout the duration of the actual project.

Cons

The lack of smart reports available for export can make presenting difficult. Linking tasks once the number of tasks approaches 1000+ also can become cumbersome.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pascual G.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Managing a project using Microsoft Excel.

Reviewed 2 years ago

It continues to be an essential tool in project management, and preferred by most professionals when it comes to incorporating calculation and analysis functionalities to support control and execution.

Pros

Really, if we take the time to learn about the features, tools and templates available in excel to manage projects, we will surely be surprised at everything that exists in the market, and that can be used with the data that we have directly in our spreadsheet. . The important thing that we must consider is that our planning must contain all the information about a schedule for project management and in reality, this type of programming is not limited to specialized applications, we can take advantage of what exists in excel and create our own templates.

Cons

One of the disadvantages that currently exists, from my point of view, is not the ability to do almost anything in excel, including the complete management of a project. But it is a bit difficult to find simple and practical documentation to take advantage of the complete implementation cycle. which makes the learning curve slower.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Bon outil mais complexe au début

Reviewed 2 years ago

Il me fait gagner du temps et me permet d'être plus productif et d'avoir une meilleure visibilité sur mes projets. Il me permet de gérer plusieurs projets avec des flux de travail très différents.

Pros

Microsoft Project me permet d'organiser des projets. Cela nous permet de nous assurer que nos tâches ne se chevauchent pas. C'est une excellente façon de travailler et de rester organisé et à jour. Il a la capacité de faire de grands diagrammes de Gantt, de gérer les coûts, les ressources et les risques... Il est assez facile à utiliser, surtout si vous avez l'habitude d'utiliser d'autres produits Microsoft.

Cons

Il n'y a pas beaucoup de points négatifs à dire sur Microsoft Project, si ce n'est qu'il est un peu compliqué à utiliser au début d'un projet, mais ensuite tout se passe bien.

Showing original review in French. See translation

zb
AvatarImg

zouhair b.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

avis sur l'évolution de Microsoft Project

Reviewed 2 years ago

C’est un bel outil de planification et d’ordonnancement qui aide les companies de toutes tailles à mener / gérer leurs projets de jour 2 et à lengthy terme.

Pros

J’utilise ce logiciel depuis près de 1 an et l’component le plus essential de ce logiciel est l. a. capacité de faire plus que de l. a. gestion de projet. Mon expérience avec Microsoft Project a été incroyable. C’est un exquisite outil pour l. a. gestion de projet.

Cons

Il n’a pas de model cell collaborative en raison de los angeles quantité d’informations qui peuvent être enregistrées et du niveau de détail qui peut être atteint dans les tâches, donc bien que cela semble un compteur, c’est quelque selected de logique, mais il a une alternatia pour travailler en équipe sur vos genoux.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Industry default for Office shops but web based pm software is better for collaboration and te

Reviewed 4 years ago

I was tasked as a one man team to manage and schedule my development project in Project and then keep it all updated with status report of all changes. This was not a great setup and my boss constantly challenged why it could t be done faster when they wanted all this project management statusing.

Pros

For a project manager, projects standard capabilities building the ubiquitous Gantt chart with durations, resource usage, and tasks run in parallel and with dependencies are all able to be built in and you can effectively schedule

Cons

The software has a steep learning curve. PLUS It takes enough work that if you are also A DEVELOPER ON SAID PROJECT, the expectation of managing and developing is not a reasonable expectation.

yr
AvatarImg

yusof r.

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Project

Reviewed 6 months ago

Superb. It is a 'mandatory must have' tool for all Project Manager and thier team.

Pros

It made planning & scheduling relatively and easy with its intuitive features & flexible function. It is ubiquitous (anyplace, any time) to get project to stay on task, keep projects organized, and tracked & getting work done like Sharing files, co-authoring and editing content as well as working together simultaneously.

Cons

tedious workflow setup especially when there's too many checkpoints of 'what if then else' decision is required

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cesar A S.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The right tool to begin your own project

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

This is the best tool for people who are starting to make or evaluate their own project. MS Project with a very simple interphase can adjust virtually to anyone who wants to have a better organization of their activities to begin a project or to make a better decision of the future of their activities. With very simple data like the name of activities, the time for development and the people who will get involved, you can easily start a project and have an idea of how much time would happen to get it and where they would start the limitations or obstacles to develop your project.

Cons

The main limitation of MS Project it is that you have to have a middle of high level of administration processes, because a big range of the information that you introduce on the software has a direct relation with a administration and accounting, while this is information be better, your project increase the possibilty to develop. If you do not have a basic administration knowledge you can have some trouble putting the data on the software and maybe the result will not be very effectly or will not fulfill your purposes

MH
AvatarImg

Morelia H.

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It is a very versatile and simple product

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have presented projects like Total Plant Stop of a Sugar Mill, follow-up of the progress of the same, evaluation of its critical route, resource scheduling and excellent comments of the board of directors when presenting the graphs summarizing the progress allowing them to focus on what I need of them to complete the project satisfactorily

Pros

It allows the elaboration of integrated reports with striking, easy-to-understand graphs that allow to keep the top management informed in a simple way It allows the update from any place and any device for a better follow-up on the progress of the project and the resources used It allows analyzing the critical route of the projects and foresee problems for their timely solution, minimizing the impact...

Cons

In the case of Venezuela it is very expensive, the application to work on the internet is bought separately, it does not allow to measure productivity, it is generally sub used

PN
AvatarImg

Priyanka N.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Project Plan & Tracking with MS Project

Reviewed 7 years ago

Excellent Resource Management. Project plan creation. Ability to derive cost and effort of a project.

Pros

Hierarchical view of tasks, sub-tasks with efforts & resource allocation. A detailed tabular view via the Gantt chart view . A task distribution on a calendar view with pictorial representation of tasks via the team planner view. Ability to assign same task to multiple people and define resource allocation towards each task Via the network diagram the overall dependencies, flow of tasks can be well understood. Option to baseline a project to a specific date helps to showcase progress accordingly.

Cons

I recommend that the transition between automatically scheduled and manual schedule can be made more pleasant, sometime this results in a lot of conflicts to be resolved.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kushan C.

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of a best software for project planning and management

Reviewed a year ago

As the overall picture, this software is more than enough to manage the project management tasks which I am dealing with.

Pros

As a Civil Engineer, dealing with this software for construction project planning. Very user-friendly software with various tools such as project planning and management, resource management, budget and cost management, critical path analysis which very important for the field of construction.

Cons

As per my scope of the work as a Civil Engineer, this software is more than enough for the daily tasks.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

International Trade and Development, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Microsoft project

Reviewed a year ago

Microsoft project est une plateforme de gestion de projet qui permet aux utilisateurs de créer, modifier, partager et gérer des projets complexes. Elle est très utilisée dans le domaine de la construction de logiciels et de la gestion de projets.

Pros

Le logiciel Microsoft project est un outil de gestion de projet qui permet de gérer les étapes du projet et de suivre son avancement. Il est disponible en version gratuite et payante.

Cons

Le Point faible de logiciel Microsoft project est qu'il est relativement complexe à utiliser. Le prix est très élevé

Showing original review in French. See translation

MH
AvatarImg

Max H.

Medical Devices, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love Microsoft project… But it takes some time to adjust to.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Microsoft project integrates really well with other Microsoft tools. I especially love being able to leverage Power BI to visualize the status of projects along with other data elements. It has made my life and other senior leadership team members lives easier and has enabled us to make quick and informed decisions.

Pros

I love the ability to generate reports, easily track, resources, and link tasks very quickly. Because Microsoft project is a Microsoft tool, you can quickly use key shortcuts while developing your project schedules, which can save you a lot of time.

Cons

Microsoft Project can be confusing for new users. This difficulty can create a perception that isn’t entirely accurate and can make a difficult for management to get Teams to adoptable.

DL
AvatarImg

Darrus L.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Managing multiple projects

Reviewed 6 years ago

MS has not been terribly clear about their current direction forward as it relates to PM software specifically. There seem to be multiple products being pursued with no indication as to where long term commitment from MS will be dedicated.

Pros

An extensive feature set and interoperability with other Microsoft productivity programs gives Project the edge. The myriad of ways you can visualize projects/tasks is extremely helpful and facilitates more clear and concise communication about project timelines both up and down the chain of command.

Cons

Project's large feature set also comes with a sizable learning curve for the uninitiated. Training is available but there is little outside of personal support from more experienced colleagues to really convey some of the nuance of using the product.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alejandro H.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

There is no better project software than MS Project. maybe intimidating but the best never the less.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Don't look elsewhere, take a curse and learn how to use MS project and be the best project manager you can be.

Pros

Want o manage a project like a BOSS This is the best, all program, project, task, risk analysis, costs, deviations on time, costs or resources. all you can control all, baseline, GANTT and Kanban displays, reports as you like it. you better take a course or two but once you do it you will manage this powerful tool very well. and if you connect to a Sharepoint/teams platform is another level of organization, not only you are the boss, but also your organization will run the projects so swift you will be amazed.

Cons

Complicated, intimidating, and a little pricey but is all worthy. once you tame this beast you are the master of the projects.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Francis Carolina L.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It is the most conservative, complete and useful tool for project management.

Reviewed 6 years ago

It is a complete and robust software that allows you to control the different phases of a project in progress. This translates into efficient data that allows you to make timely decisions in your company or organization.

Pros

I think that this tool is the most complete and complex of the market. It is the software that best fits the PMP methodologies. It is constantly updated. What I like is the possibility of managing different phases of the project in the same viewing window. You can manage costs, risks, critical routes, human resources and others.

Cons

It is a restrictive tool, it can only be used in Windows environments, not compatible with Linux or MAC OS. It can be expensive, but if it is acquired by a large technology company, the cost-benefit ratio is an advantage. The interface is not very friendly when you are using it for the first time. So taking a tutorial, even a basic one, could be considered before you start working with it.

CM
AvatarImg

Carleton M.

Law Enforcement, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid Project Planner that Intergrates Well

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very positive and would highly recommend it for all organizations in every industry. It should at least be a consideration for any company.

Pros

Our organization has been a Microsoft shop for a long time and when it came time to formalize our project planning, Microsoft Project was the logical choice. I think the best thing about it is the familiarity for anyone experienced with Microsoft products. Feels a lot like Excel just with more features specific to project management. But we deployed to our team and took some training and we were good to go.

Cons

It definitely lacks some of the more eye-popping visuals that other project management software has but for us that's fine because we are use to the style and design of Microsoft Project. It can also be a bit much for smaller projects given the entire suite of features so a smaller organization may not make as great of use of it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robert S.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft PPM offers efficient and timely managed project coordinations.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Microsoft PPM is equipped with several tools and efficiently designed user-interface with the help of which we can easily track the progress of the projects. Several project aspects can be tracked easily and their progress is followed by all team members. Each member is assigned its own part of work and their progress can also be measured. Daily reports, start/end dates and important alerts makes this software well reliable for project management.

Cons

This tool is very efficient in performance. So as we go for negative points there are not much to highlight except for the fact that sharing files to person which are not using PPM could be a real headache. For that we have to export the reports or material in pdf or other formats for sharing. Other than this , PPM could also use more additive tools for finance and business operations of which only basics are offered now.

EG
AvatarImg

Eliceo G.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Es EXCELENTE para la GESTIÓN de proyectos,

Reviewed 3 months ago

Ha sido increíble, la verdad en el tiempo que tengo manejando proyectos me ha ayudado muchísimo, te hace la vida más fácil al dar seguimiento a las tareas y actividades claves de los proyectos, al graficar la planificación permite presentar de manera eficiente los proyectos. Estoy encantado con este programa.

Pros

Me ha encantado de este programa lo mucho que nos ayuda a realizar una gestión de proyectos eficiente e interactiva, promueve la colaboración en equipo y gráfica las actividades. Este programa es algo que todo gestor de proyectos DEBE tener.

Cons

Este programa es excelente en todo, no tengo ninguna queja. Solo seguir motivando a los desarrolladores por el buen trabajo en el mismo.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential software for project planning and management

Reviewed 5 months ago

I think Microsoft project is the easiest way to project plan for engineering projects. Primavera is a strong tool, however, for less experienced planners and managers, Microsoft project is the easiest to use and simplest to learn.

Pros

It is easy to use compared to other project planning softwares. It also integrates easily with teams and other used programs.

Cons

It is costly, and not everyone can have access to quickly editing or working on a plan. People will default to do work in excel since it is more easily available.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ed W.

Maritime, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

No brainer for Project Management

Reviewed 4 years ago

Handles most of my large projects and allows easy reporting to people. Used for years now and don't plan on changing. Done a few online courses to learn to use it properly and well worth it.

Pros

The leading software in Project Management. Used for a few years now and it allows me to input everything i need to run projects, execute them and then monitor. incorporates all the principles of PM WBS, critical path, leads and lags. Cost management is also a worth while feature allowing you to monitor costs in detail or quick look to see current status.

Cons

Not the best for collaborative working if other staff are not trained properly. I think this is more of a company specific problem where staff are included in projects and data in put but not necessarily trained in PM

Ts
AvatarImg

Tayyab s.

Airlines/Aviation, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of Microsoft Project

Reviewed 4 months ago

Initial thought is using MS Project generically. Easily can shift and speak of experience in similar software along with ability to adapt and come up to speed quickly as have demonstrated throughout career. I've been asked similar type questions regarding other types of s/w. I don't make a big deal about it. All organizations have their own specific toolsets. No big deal onboarding with a new one.

Pros

MS Project is User-Friendl Compatible with other Microsoft Products Reliability and Stability Manage Project Budgets and Costs Perfectly Keep your Projects on Time Great Flexibility Custom Fields Industry-standard tool with a Significant Social Presence

Cons

Too advanced for beginners Limited Integrations Compatibility Issues The Gantt Chart is too Complex Recurring Tasks Difficult to Use Managing Access Rights is a Complex Process Slow with Big Projects

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ravi K.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My best project helper

Reviewed 3 years ago

although a little complicated the way to learn through the courses. use it well when making diagrams and organizing civil works batches. Making the work schedule easy and flexible since it takes an order and time when executing the games.

Pros

a simple initial interface if it is difficult for us to carry out a project this program offers us a variety of templates to facilitate our work. Once you have mastered this useful program, you can finish any project quickly and efficiently, while allowing you to make Gantt charts only by entering basic data.

Cons

having so many tools makes it difficult to use it efficiently and it would take several courses. Its desktop version has a high price, taking its use away from low-income users.

ER
AvatarImg

ELENA R.

Oil & Energy, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The PM´s right hand

Reviewed 3 years ago

I started using MP in the 90´s when joined a consulting company. It was amazing to learn we had a software to manage the diverse aspects of a project and have a visual-real time control, it helped the team to keep focused on objectives.

Pros

MP facilitates the PM´s job and makes easier for the team to keep focused in the main activities, overall progress and resourses optimization. It is also flexible to manage small, medium and big prjects. MP demands time and effort to become an expert but the results makes it cost worth.

Cons

The learning curve is long and steeped. It demands a formal training to learn how to use at full capacity . Most people learn the basic but miss the opportunity to benefit plenty. It is also costly because requires an additional license to the Office suite.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool, but can get overwhelming quickly

Reviewed 6 years ago

All in all, it is a very powerful tool. When used correctly, it really helps to keep all of the information you are trying to track together in one space. It has a pretty steep learning curve and can be overwhelming for many.

Pros

This program has a lot of power. There is a bevy of features available to users that can help track changes, scheduling, project progression and costs. The layout is familiar to users of other Microsoft products, and just about everything can be accessed fairly quickly and easily.

Cons

It can be very overwhelming. If you have one person steering the ship with this and everyone else using it to see the results it is very effective. Multiple users on a single project or process can quickly muddle things and there is a need for good management and computer skills to be able to use this software effectively. Nearly always our new users are overwhelmed by the size and power of this program.