Pivotal Tracker Reviews

Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

4.31/5 (103 reviews)

Alexis Dorn

Nice-looking app to help keep agile teams organized

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-22
Review Source: Capterra

Our team is able to stay on track with work in a sprint and spend less time chatting on Slack about story progress, and do all the communication within PivotalTracker. Overall, this has kept our team organized and accountable.

Pros
It has a really easy-to-use, friendly design that makes it simple to track progress of stories, keep things organized in projects and move items around when priorities shift. Stories provide a level of detail that helps keep teams aware of progress. They recently introduced customizable story templates, which have been great for making sure our bug tickets have the level of detail we expect on our team. I would highly recommend Pivotal Tracker for agile teams looking to keep organized.

Cons
I wish there was more customization in the app. Some of the stages of a story don't particularly fit within our team's workflow, and the agile approach of velocity and estimates don't currently apply to us, but seem to still determine where our stories fit in a sprint. It would also be nice if the app brought more of a product management approach into it's design - currently, our list just ends up looking like a large parking lot of features, and we end up doing a lot of dragging and dropping to put things in order. It would be great to show that these things are tied to particular product goals.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Megan Kakitsubo

Smooth Agile Tool for Startups

Reviewed 2016-02-09
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I liked that the contents of the dashboard is customizable for every member of the team who all had different roles. For instance, as a web developer I constantly kept my eyes on "My Work", "Current", and "BackLog" as I liked to track my tasks as well as what others in the team had in progress. On the other hand, the Project Manager had "Charts" and "Epics" opened as he wanted to track the velocity of the team. Aside from the customizable element, the dashboard was easy to edit as changes to an existing story as well as creating new ones could be accomplished in one tab/window without moving onto a new page. Because everything could be tracked with a one page view, it provided a good summary of what everyone was up to as well as nice way to track individual tasks.

Cons
For a larger team I feel that it would be difficult to keep the dashboard maintain the nice clean look. As a developer that used Pivotal Tracker in a startup accelerator, every project I worked on was for a different company and each team had about 4 to 7 people (which was a good size for collective Pivotal Tracker usage). In a larger company, there could be larger sized teams which could potentially make the dashboard more cluttered and thus require a careful categorization of their projects for later review. Although I personally did not have to face this scenario often I could see it being a bit of an issue if my team and company was that of larger scale.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Nic Hunt

Tracker is an easy to use, constantly evolving, task management tool.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Tracker is great value for the cost! Having visibility into which task is next in the queue and easily adjusting task priority when demands change is really helpful. The description and comment sections are great to keep topics and discussions related to specific tasks all in one place. Being able to use markdown to format text is also really helpful and provides a lot of flexibility. I've been using Tracker for over 2 years now, and it has been great to see the product evolve. There are always new and thoughtful updates to the software which are both helpful and don't require you to relearn features or re-acclimate yourself to the tool. Outside of the tool itself, the Tracker community and blog are great resources for best practices as well as learning about how other organizations are leveraging this tool.

Cons
For smaller teams and projects, the point estimate feature and much of the in-depth analytics hasn't been that helpful for us in terms of making actionable decisions. With that said, for the right project and for large teams with many collaborators, I can see how these tools could be useful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Ashish Agrawal

Very simple and easy to understand project management tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Pivotal tracker is very lightweight project management tool with easy to understand user interface and contains most of all types of feature of advanced project management tool. We are using pivotal tracker in one of our recruitment management software to track the progress of software. We have been using this software for more than 3 years now buy so far It is free of cost as we are using public project that is free of cost. It provides all basic feature of agile process like releases , epic, stories and issue tracking. Best thing is it can be managed on a single page.

Cons
Pivotal tracker doesn't support estimation of tasks in hours as supported by JIRA .Pivotal Tracker doesn't provide more formal method of agile process like sub-task estimation, sub-task life cycle, test case creation, work log, sub-task assignment, complex reports, custom task lifecyele. Pivotal tracker has a poor pricing structure and only be used in agile projects. Mobile app need improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Lindsey Salls

Easy to Use for Small and Large Scale Projects!

Reviewed 2016-02-03
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Pivotal Tracker is very easy to use, but you are able to get granular with projects if you need to. Basically, it works for small scale and large scale projects. The software is very organized which contributes to its ease of use. If you manage or create multiple projects with the same structure, team members, or stories, you are easily able to create a template that can be uploaded each time you create a new project. This greatly reduces the time it takes to setup projects within the software if your company manages a high volume of similar projects. The best aspect of the software is you are able to give point values to stories so you can track project velocity and estimate time until completion.

Cons
If you work on multiple projects at once, it can be difficult to view all stories you own across all projects. You will have to manual setup a multi-project workspace in order to see all stories that you own. If a new project gets created, you must manually add it to the workspace. This is the products biggest downfall in my opinion.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Brian Heinle

Bugs be gone

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-20
Review Source: Capterra

It was great for us for 5+ years. We are moving away from it to move into Visual Studio Team Services since our Dev Team already uses it, we are trying to centralize everything. We will likely continue paying for Pivotal for another year at least jsut for a backup of our data, as we do not plan to migrate everything to VSTS.

Pros
It is a great software for our QA/Support/Dev Teams to create a workflow and centralized database containing all of our bugs, enhancement requests, etc. Clients report bugs to us, I submit the bug info into PT, add relevant Dev members, it gets prioritzied by our QA/Dev Managers, comments and details are added, and it is followed through the steps until it is resolved and closed.

Cons
There is not a whole lot we have to complain about. It did its purpose for us, and we rarely ran into bugs or issues with the software. The only "issues" that came up were our own fault of leaving old items in there, adding duplicates, and letting it get a little cluttered.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

Great tool to manage projects and time

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-14
Review Source: Capterra

For the most part, internally, this has replaced email. We also use this to manage all company goals and initiatives, bug fixes, new features on the website, etc. It also allows us all to see the pipeline of new initiatives and allow someone who might be the best person to work on a specific project take ownership of it

Pros
Having multiple projects going in multiple different areas of the company ( sales, marketing, development, etc) is very easy to track and to properly manage all the different projects going on in the company

Cons
While there are some organization with tagging user stories and creating epics, it would be nice if there was a way to order all stories in a filtered way. The issue we are running into is that we have many different projects, some of which are related to each other, but are randomly organized by the tag; rather than the date created or the priority.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Christopher Knight

The - Project Management tool for Software Development Teams

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-01
Review Source: Capterra

Been using tracker for a few years now. Its continually improved, but also kept a baseline of core functionality thats remained fairly static. It achieves its purpose, and doesn't throw in a lot of bells and whistles. Project / feature / story pipeline management core to storing information about past bugs, assets, ideas, implementations. Its served as alternative documentation to many of our projects. When consistently used, can be a very effective management tool for software proejcts.

Pros
Its made FOR & By software devs.

Cons
Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Ivan Collins

Pivotal Helps Keep your Team Organized

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-11-16
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using Pivotal Tracker for several years now and it has quite a few features that keep our development team organized. We don't use the layers that predict how long feature will take those elements tend to require some programming knowledge and since I manage the system it's hard for me to assign point values to those. But I expect that adds a few more layers of functionality. Just the basic of being able to create a development ticket, assign it to a developer, tag the designer in comments so he gets inquiries, and use the approval process is a game changer in terms of staying organized. Everyone can tap into Pivotal Tracker and know exactly what their game plan is for the day.

Pros
assigning tickets to team mates, tagging them in notes so they get a notification, and the approval process.

Cons
estimating tickets seems a little hard to predict as a non developer..

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

Pivotal Tracker is our daily agile management tool at a tech startup.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Pivotal Tracker does a good job for agile product teams, allowing cadence and 2-week sprints to be easily organized. Stories can be sorted by labels, epics, or workplaces (these can include stories across multiple projects/labels/and assigned team members).

Cons
Pivotal Track is difficult when using it for a product team with lots of different project boards (i.e. Design, IOS, Android, Backend). It's hard to keep track of what you are assigned to across different projects. When someone comments you on a story, you receive an email notification, but there is no other way to keep track of outstanding questions or needs without going back through all of your read emails.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

I use this as a Software Engineer on a scrum team daily, and enjoy the process it enforces.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the interface of being able to drag and drop/re-order anything. Customization is very high, being able to tag/re-name/add new categories to suit whatever project you may be working on. I like the 'blocker' feature that you can add to stories, as well as the fact that the stories support markdown. There are a ton of integrations with GitHub and Slack that help us stay on top of our projects.

Cons
The one thing that can feel disorganized is keeping track of who is working on what. I'm on a large team, and it's easy to feel like there is too much going on. However, there's a feature that you can use to filter and show only what work you're attached to.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Greg Norris

We use Pivotal Tracker for s/w development task management, and some project tracking.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-07
Review Source: Capterra

Solid task management and project management features, with good 3rd-party integrations.

Pros
It's quite easy to use, and has good 3rd-party integrations (such as with Slack and with Github). It allows a good level of detail within each task item, and the app updates nicely on they fly when several people are editing the tasks at the same time.

Cons
I don't think I've noticed many; perhaps it could allow more customization of task attributes, or Sprint/Project details -- but I don't think we've been limited by that at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Diego Caravana

Proper SCRUM tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-13
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using PT since many years without a problem. It's so simple to use that there is basically no learning curve, while actually everyone on the team can do his job effectively and it's also so simple to track the progress of the project.

Pros
Pivotal Tracker (PT) has this incredible simplicity that makes it unique in his usability. It's kind of an example of how to do things and I always mention it when I need an example of effectiveness and simplicity.

Cons
Actually nothing, except that sometimes simplicity comes with a cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

This is how we keep our team organized. With many projects and 2 continents - this makes it work.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-14
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to go back and review previous projects so that we have a precedent established for future ones with ease helps tremendously.

Pros
The organization factor is huge with this! We are able to be organized as a whole company while allowing teams to work together and collaborate regardless of where they are located.

Cons
The email alerts do not always come in a significant amount of time necessary to move the project along. Luckily, we have a slack channel where we all communicate and collaborate as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

Excellent Software Development tracking tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-12
Review Source: Capterra

time saving better planning better tracking and audit knowledge and asset building better outcomes

Pros
Epics, Stories, Bugs, Tasks, Features Dependency Google Drive integration Ability to apply tasks in a story and add notes and links to each

Cons
Forcing an agile model into a project that does not need it We use a hybrid method and the fixation on Agile gets in the way of resource planning Lack of ability to plan resources by story or task based on estimates for each person involved

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

Great tool for agile teams

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-06
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent tool for keeping all team members focused on the backlog and it's easy to keep the backlog prioritized.

Pros
The best thing about Pivotal Tracker is how easy it is to keep everyone on the team focused. It's got a simple, no frills interface and easy to prioritize and update tickets.

Cons
While its generally on par with other agile project management tools, I find Pivotal tracker a little lacking feature wise compared to others like JIRA.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

Efficient tool for Agile planning, although a bit rusty

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Capterra

We use it to plan our iterations and see what can fit in and what can't.

Pros
Once you get the hang of it it's pretty easy to use; tasks just go in according to stack and it all makes sense. It has a good drag and drop ability which I find very useful.

Cons
I don't like the fact that I need to hack my way around it to fit my needs. Also the colors are quite depressing to be honest. Graphics are kinda old fashioned if I'm fully honest.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

George Gonzalez-Rivas

Dive in! (or stay out, no half-measures)

Reviewed 2017-01-16
Review Source: Capterra

Our company started using Pivotal Tracker to manage software development in an outsourced environment. It seems to be a really successful tool in that regard. It's collaboration features are strong, its assignment tracking is very strong, and its reports are pretty good. If you have an application to manage distributed tasks that are each of significant effort -- say a few hours to a few days each -- then Pivotal is a top contender and you should review it carefully. The problem that I have with Pivotal is that its success in the coding side of the business led to its adoption across the board in all our business processes. Here's where the trouble started. It's a little too slow to use with tasks that should be measured in minutes rather than hours -- it adds too much relative overhead. Of course, there are ways to deal with this like using Zapier to integrate a list tool or Trell or the CRM with Pivotal... but then the real question is why go to all these lengths to apprise teams in other departments to a level of detail they are not interested in? So, if you're developing code, debugging code, or create documents that that, say, 2 or more hours each, Pivotal Tracker is an excellent way to organize, and, well, 'track', progress, report on relative team velocity and, most importantly adapt workload to current work pave (it automatically moves stories from background to active based on the calculated velocity/workload of the team -- that's pretty cool.) But if you just need a list, or if you existing tool, like a CRM, already has task management then don't complicate your life.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Abdul-Mumeen Olasode

The best story-based project planning tool

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-05-05
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I really like the fact that it has a well-established processes which is built upon agile methodology in software development. This helps in giving a sense of direction to anyone who is new to agile processes. You don't have to worry about what are the stages and how to group your tasks. With PT your agile development is as seamless as it can ever get.

Cons
What I will least like is the algorithm used in calculating team strength because if non developer such as project owners are involved in pivotal possible to overview the progress and see what task has been performed and what is left, a false team strength is added which doesn't give an accurate assessment of the team.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Anonymous

Fast driven

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-01-24
Review Source: Capterra

Quick priorities management for dev team.

Pros
People are use to Jira but once you discover Pivotal, you understand that Jira is kinda outdated. Navigation is always in the same browser page, its very straight forward to set timelines and build / release, icebox is intuitive and make also lot of sense in a dev context. Honestly, after the first two weeks use of Pivotal, I won't see why we'd go back to Jira.

Cons
Intuitivity is not on the high side but its also normal for a powerful app like that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

David Tengdin

Awesome Software Project Management Tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-03-14
Review Source: Software Advice

I used to be a Pivot.

Pros
Tons of tracking and story organization tools to create "epics" (batches of stories), "labels" (grouped stories) and analyze projects.

Cons
There are such a multitude of different options and tools that it can be overwhelming at first glance. You really need a "Pivot" to teach it to you to fully understand how to use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Joshua Kirch

From a developer standpoint, it's straightforward.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-02-11
Review Source: Capterra

This is preferable to merely listing what you are working on in a dev environment, though it's not as in-depth as jira.

Pros
I enjoy very much the ability to clearly list what may be blocking my progress, as well as being able to clearly list out the stages of any project that I'm working on.

Cons
I've found the marking of projects as started, finished, and accepted to be unclear. The menus are not as easily understood when getting past the basics of starting and ending a project.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Bob Bredin

Great for managing Development life cycles

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-09
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Works well for companies with an agile structures. Allows developers to be in contact with end-users form any where with the mobile app. Great for getting bugs and enhancements closed quicker.

Cons
Unable to export data and analytics form the application to flat files or other means such as xml which could be used for importing into other application and integrating the status and analytics of the open bugs and enhancements.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Jeremy Kreitman

An asset for tracking dev pipeline and velocity

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very versatile and powerful solution to tracking our development work. Keeps things organized well and allows us to improve our output.

Cons
Took a little bit of time to start maximizing its use but really great once you get there.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

Gabriela Sneider

This product is efficient and effective!

Reviewed 2016-02-16
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like that once you learn how to use this product then it is very quick and easy. It is efficient and effective! Many different teams at my company use this product and it seems to keep everyone on the same page and on track. It is a great way to communicate with the developer and the implementation teams and make sure that the changes to the website are made.

Cons
In the beginning, it takes time to get used the product. It isn't completely intuitive in the beginning but once you do learn it then it becomes second nature. It just takes a bit of time to learn it and feel comfortable with it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers