App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PM3 Logo

Project Portfolio Management solution for organisations

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PM3 Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


73 reviews

Recommended

WP
AvatarImg

Wathsala P.

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A simple tool when setting up a new PMO

Reviewed a year ago

It has give the leadership team to have a visibility of overall portfolio progress

Pros

Ease of portfolio management and easy to create custom reports with Datamart on PowerBi

Cons

Project management functionalities are not that great compare to other project management tool in the market

NP
AvatarImg

Nipa P.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PM3 - PMO

Reviewed 6 years ago

PM3 is a very good tool which fits into my role as a project manager. We have had excellent support from Jack Watson, also quick to email back solutions, and always helpful. I would recommend PM3 to all trust.

Pros

PM3 dashboard easy to read, moving from one module to another easy to understand. I did not have to wait to for information to be saved Easy to delete and amend plans Inputting of finance data very easy Highlight reports easy to read, can also convert into excel format.

Cons

Changing and formatting reports very difficult I couldnt change columns and rows

ST
AvatarImg

Stephen T.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Right tool for our PPPM Maturity Journey

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We needed a PPPM tool that would support our journey of achieving consistency in the way in which projects and programmes are incepted and run with a focus on delivering business outcomes, not just outputs. PM3 provides all the core elements for managing and reporting projects and programmes in a single package whilst enabling functionality to be "switched-on" commensurate with the ability of the organisation to adopt the associated disciplines in decision-making and reporting. Customer support has been responsive.

Cons

As is generally the case with software, there is a trade-off between what functionality is available out-of-the-box to make the application easy to set-up and train users, and the flexibility to configure it to meet the specific needs of an organisation. Whilst PM3 has given a good balance in this respect, with many out-of-the-box reports, it would be helpful to have a bit more flexibility in modifying existing reports without the need to use a further application.

SS
AvatarImg

Sana S.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PM3 helped us to track our portfolio more efficiently

Reviewed a year ago

Our team have taken to PM3 really well. It has helped us to standardise our documentation, have one true source, allows visibility of work and has helped us to keep track of each plan. Customising gateways has been a great addition.

Pros

Easy to useEasy to manage portfolios and plansEasy to customisePM3 BI/Datamart - really useful

Cons

Reporting needs improvementNo dashboard that summarises data over multiple portfolios, but PM3 BI/Datamart allows us to do some data comparison

LS
AvatarImg

Linda S.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Have used PM3 before in another organisation. The upgraded package is excellent

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Monitor-able information all in one place to allow PMO to see where potential problems are with individual projects and how these may impact on others. Ease of use essential it means that project managers use the system Reports can be emailed to colleagues to allow for accountability to be taken We regularly go through the system in meetings to allow us to discuss progress with project managers live It would be amazing to be able to use this across systems

Cons

Stakeholder management and communications would be a great addition I don't think we are using the system to it's optimum level yet Although we understand that this is a commercial product and the cost isn't that high, we need to think carefully about how many licenses we have in order to be able to afford to continue with it

RA
AvatarImg

Richard A.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good All Rounder - Helps with Standardisation & Portfolio Control

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were looking for a solution that would bring all projects and programmes together, to enable better control, reporting and visibility of the whole portfolio of work we have. PM3 ticks this box and with future enhancements to the reporting side, this tool will become very powerful in our organisation.

Pros

Easy to access Pulls everything together in one place Multiple reporting options Supports collaboration The support is very good and responsive to support issues. The vendor is keen to work with its clients to improve its product and has a roadmap in response to that with regular releases of new features. What it lacks at the moment in functionality and usability is being delivered as part of their roadmap.

Cons

Some usability could be improved such as the Gantt Chart, the flexibility of moving columns around and the dashboard, although overall the functionality is good and these are relatively minor issues.

NT
AvatarImg

Nick T.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PM3 - Transforming our Portfolio Management

Reviewed 6 years ago

PM3 has helped us manage and track our portfolio. It has driven consistency and the project managers like using the tool, definitely a good sign.

Pros

Its really simple, intuitive tool which enable you to "get working" really quickly. We can start start just with the initial functionality required and then we can add more tabs as we need to turn on that functionality. Its great also being able to have reports available without having to consider and create them. We don’t need to waste time writing our own reports as Bestoutcome have already thought...

Cons

We've been using PM3 for about 2 months and we can't think of any drawbacks so far. We're considering how we'll be able to use it in managing IT and line of business projects.

ET
AvatarImg

Emily T.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PM3 for Project Management

Reviewed 6 years ago

Prior to PM3, we were using excel spreadsheets, which were taking a long time to complete and didn't transparently demonstrate progress against milestones. It was difficult to understand project progress against programme outcomes as each were reported slightly differently. PM3 has standardised reporting and enabled our performance and delivery to be easily and clearly reported and monitored.

Pros

The PM3 software enables effective and efficient project management, the tools are easy to use and can be accessed in the office or when mobile. Once you've entered your project details and timescales, PM3 keeps you on track, there's enough flexibility in the system to allow you to work how you like but also to keep the project management principles at the core. Its transparent and clearly demonstrates progress against timescales, risks and issues. There's also a number of features which are incredibly useful, such as the decision making log.

Cons

No real points for improvement, the system is intuitive and captures project information.

RO
AvatarImg

Rita O.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool, easy to use.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using this software for two years and have really noticed the difference in terms of delivery of our Programmes. The ease of use means the PMO are more productive around reporting period. With a vast range of reports available we are able to report to all stakeholders with ease. The customer service is excellent with Bestoutcome. I would highly recommend this tool to anyone wanting to improve how they manage their Programme/Projects.

Pros

Ease of use Team have become more productive Ease of reporting Visibility of Programme bottleneck Time saving Great customer service

Cons

I have been using the tool for two years and have not experienced any problems with it.

AW
AvatarImg

Adam W.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PPM Software

Reviewed a year ago

The implementation and ongoing support from BestOutcome has been really good.

Pros

As the project portfolio grew in the organisation the management started to become unwieldy and we needed a system to help prioritise, manage, report and standardise ways of working. The PM3 system ticked all the boxes in what we were looking for.

Cons

Task management/team member access didn't really work for us, so we abandoned that fairly quickly. We stuck to using Microsoft Project for task scheduling and use PM3 for reporting on milestones only.

XL
AvatarImg

Xiaoyun L.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Project management tool, user friendly and has powerful features.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall a very good experience using PM3. I would highly recommended it as an organisational PM platform.

Pros

Although I have only used PM3 for a short period, it has been the most powerful PM tool I ever used. The software includes all the essential features required for project/program/portfolio management, with a comprehensive design logic from the perspective of project managers. I am impressed about the automatic report generation, which saves me tons of efforts during project implementation. Besides the powerful automation function, the abundant types of reports really help since I could always find an optimal report for the required situation.

Cons

The only thing that I would recommend the company to improve is the responding speed. We are a small company based in Australia. As much as I like this software, the lagging time from server has been a problem on our side. The updating of newly input information normally takes time to refresh and sometime we see confusing information due to lagging of the updating.

JB
AvatarImg

James B.

Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good all round Portfolio, PMO and Project Management tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Implemented PM3 and completed a global rollout across all IT in 2020. Easy to deploy, relatively intuitive and easy to use. Much easier deployment that other top tier PPM tools. Chose PM3 for its features across all three levels - Portfolio, Project and PMO. Other tools cover 1 or 2 of these areas, whereas PM3 covers them all pretty much. The flexibility of Best Outcome ensures our additional requirements are considered for future releases. Overall a good value system without having to go through the pain of implementing one of the top tier solutions. Would definitely recommend

Pros

Portfolio Management features extremely effective, abundance of reporting features

Cons

Project Management functionality is limited, inability to flex the workflows to align with company methodology.

JS
AvatarImg

Joscelyn S.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great project management software

Reviewed 5 years ago

One of the things PM3 has helped us with is to connect up our projects and programmes that are running across the organisation, at local, regional and national levels.

Pros

It's easy to see the connections across the hierarchy from project up to portfolio level, plus the functionality to promote and demote risks and milestones is great.

Cons

Visually the system could look a bit more modern but it works.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sheena R.

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple & Effective

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have used PM3 in 2 dfferent companies, it is not too complicated so the Project Managers can use it without issue and the information that is available is invaluble.

Pros

This software is simple to use and at the same time creates a live picture of the status of projects. The simplicity means that the uptake on it's use is high.

Cons

Copying and pasting into the tool can cause problems with formatting

VS
AvatarImg

Vicki S.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Tool, excellent support and lots more to come.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This is an excellent tool that enables us to provide consistency and collaborative reporting across the organisation. The bespoke configuration options enable us to make this tool work in the way we need it to. The plethora of report options provides us with the ability to create reporting, from Project to Portfolio. The ease of Dashboard creation gives all PM's and Project Sponsors the ability to create their own key metrics report. We have already commenced with rolling out the next stage of resource management and have plans to expand this further to the other modules PM3 provide. The support we received throughout rollout and continue to receive post-implementation was & is exceptional

Cons

We are new to the system and are still learning about all the full value this will provide but, initial thoughts are the ability to drill down into the detail showing on the Dashboard would be very beneficial.

AA
AvatarImg

Abu A.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A decent system but could be enhanced with some minor changes

Reviewed 9 months ago

The system has allowed us to start recording all projects in a central system and allowed us to standardise our reporting. However, the system could be much more slick and efficient and it takes a bit of time to get used to navigating. Also the Planning / Scheduling functionality requires improvement in terms of ease of use.

Pros

- Wide range of reporting features and styles- Creating portfolios is straight forward- Integrated action log (pulls in actions from benefits & risks logs)- Easy to access due to being based in the cloud - Simple license management

Cons

- Training features and content could be improved - Look and feel could be more slick- Planning and scheduling is fiddly and difficult to navigate- Administrator terminology and functions are difficult to interpret- System not as smooth as envisaged

VS
AvatarImg

Vicky S.

Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Company, delivering a great product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent, really good supplier who do what they actually say they are going to do and when. They turn things round really quickly.

Pros

The product is easy to use and follows a nationally recoginised Programme and Project methodologies. This has given Executives extensive oversignt to all Portfolios, Programmes, Projects and Minor Works. Risks, Issues, Actions, Decisions and Assumptions can be captured RAG rated and monitored. Project plans with Milestones and Gannt charts are available.

Cons

Further reporting functionality would be great, although we have been able to plug into Power BI.

VS
AvatarImg

Vikki S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Customer Service and Value for Money

Reviewed 4 years ago

The implementation of PM3 has helped improve project management processes and governance across the organisation, it's also considerably reduced the time taken to produce reports which is a great benefit for a small team. What stood out when we were selecting the tool is the excellent customer service provided by the PM3 team and this remained consistent throughout customisation and implementation through to ongoing support. The team have always been very open to any feedback we have and continually look at how the system can be improved which is demonstrated through regular system updates.

Pros

PM3 offers a wide range of functionality as well as excellent account management support from the PM3 team at a very low cost. The tool can be adapted to use across varying levels of complexity which is very helpful when applying to a diverse project portfolio.

Cons

More bespoke reporting options would be helpful as would improved functionality of the resource module. However, this is offset by the value for money PM3 provides across a wide range of functions.

LB
AvatarImg

Lorne B.

Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Introduction of PM3

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

We are in the first few months of rolling out PM3 to the wider department. We have found PM3 to be highly configurable, intuitive and user friendly. End users are fully supported by relevant training modules, internal administrators and BestOutcome are always a call away. Users and senior management have easily identified time savings in using PM3 contrary to applying a more traditional clerical method. BestOutcome are highly receptive and constructive in conversations relating to best practice, organisational structure and transformational change initiatives. PM3 is anticipated to be a game changer for this department.

Cons

The option to design reports would be useful.

AK
AvatarImg

Amy K.

Mental Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great PPP Product!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very positive experience so far. The support team are always really helpful when we need them, and any little bug fixes are sorted straight away wherever possible. Without PM3 we would not have been able to produce a portfolio report as easily as comprehensive as we now have. Any suggestions for improvement are taken in to consideration for the regular updates that are provided to the system

Pros

The automated reports, you only have to input information once but can link projects to multiple programmes/portfolio's that then pulls all the relevant information through for reporting purposes.

Cons

Some pages automatically save, whilst others are manual. Not sure why there is a difference.

DP
AvatarImg

Darren P.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 6 years ago

Good product with support and training, Ongoing support is good and all staff can access this plus the help guides.

Pros

clean and simple to use, the ability to store all project documents allows staff to remote work as its web based.

Cons

only minor point when trying to update past financial information was a little awkward

LH
AvatarImg

Les H.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Digital Projects in the NHS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good experience of PM3, we have moved from Excel and Word to use PM3 to produce all project information. The monthly highlights are now standardised making it easier for the reviewers.

Pros

Easy to train staff to use the system. Risks and Issues strong, alerts to highlight any dates due. Ability to hold all data in one system not having to use Excel and Word. The supplier has good knowledge of the NHS and they understand our requirements

Cons

Nothing, there is a Road Map of Development and each release brings new features/improvements

PW
AvatarImg

Phillip W.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why use PM3

Reviewed 5 years ago

I felt that PM3 quickly provided a consistent, professional methodology for multiple project management team members to work together and easily provide reporting at the programme level. This in turn would enable the selection of future projects that were beneficial and profitable to our business.

Pros

Ease of set up Intuitive administration Useful reports available out of the box Worked well from multiple perspectives - customer, Project manager, Portfolio manager and Programme manager

Cons

PM3time need further development to ensure better integration

CN
AvatarImg

Christian N.

Government Administration, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast Effective Relief from other Project Management Toolsets

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good, I have recommended PM3 to others and plan to use it again in the future on my next projects.

Pros

Simplicity of use was a key attribute of PM3. Once the team provided the necessary introduction and overview the system was very intuitive and ensured that the important aspects of project management were captured and communicated effectively.

Cons

Nothing. This system saved my programme and ensured it was delivered on time.

FN
AvatarImg

Felipe N.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PM3 lo que buscabas

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

El aplicativo tiene una interfaz intuitiva y fácil de utilizar.

Cons

Dependiendo el equipo puede tornarse lento si no cumple con los requisitos mínimos.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation