AppFolio Property Manager Reviews

AppFolio Property Manager

Cloud-based property management software

AppFolio Property Manager

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,599 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My review

Reviewed 5 months ago

overall it is very good

Pros

User friendly and constant innovation of new features

Cons

Cost pricing model migration of data from old software

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 16 days ago
Pros

The software is easy to use and learn. Overall very user friendly

Cons

I believe the communication setting needs to be more advanced. As well as, the accounting and ledger can be very particular. Also, renewals need to be able to track them better when sent.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The program is amazing and makes the property management life way easier.

Pros

-Easy to pull reports -makes processing rent collection simple -Easy to use -Support Team is amazing and super helpful -You can suggest features that would be beneficial to you, and the Appfolio team can work on getting those particular features added (depending on consumer demand)

Cons

It would be nice if there was an option to view "Utility Information" on the reports instead of going through each property individually.

Vendor response

Hi Jess, It's great to hear AppFolio has helped make your life easier! We consistently update our software and reporting--I've shared your feedback with the appropriate team for review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AppFolio Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience is fantastic. We were using Yardi prior to this and the upgrade is better. We now have the ability to give access to all of our employees at whatever "level" we choose rather than Yardi only allowing access to a few individuals and everyone having to go them for a tenants phone number or any other needed information.

Pros

I like the new layout with the "menu" on the left hand side rather than up at the top. May updated features have made working with this software easy to navigate.

Cons

The one thing that is still not available is the ability to add a line to generated bills in the middle if needed. The only option is to add things to the bottom or start over with a new bill.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AppFolio Software

Reviewed a year ago

I am able to track progress on work orders, keep up with guest cards, and get our homes leased!!!

Pros

I have worked with many soft wares and this is one of the best user friendly I have ever used. It is fast, efficient, and is all in one. Everything I need for keeping up with work orders, tenants info, and home owners. It is the greatest!!

Cons

I do not like the limit of characters to 300 in text messages. when I have to split sentences it is inefficient. It takes more than 300 characters sometimes to convey what I need to. When I create a work order, I do not want to email a link to the vendor, until I am ready with home owner approval.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and easy to learn!

Reviewed 4 years ago

- The property inspection should be a little more customizable. It would be helpful to be able to reorganize the inspection in the order that it should be performed without deleting existing areas. - There should be a printable version of the property inspection page that has a lot of space for writing notes. Currently, the printout doesn't give much space for notes. If you are at a property that doesn't have a good data signal, having a pen and paper alternative is essential.

Pros

- Easy to use browser-based software. - Easy to learn how to perform important management tasks through Appfolio. - Excellent App that allows managers to access their database while at properties or on the road. - The online portal for owners and tenants makes collecting rent and contributions easy. Distant landlords can access all of their information quickly and easily and tenants have quick access to all important documentation.

Cons

- Only administrators can create property groups. I don't know why that would require administrative permissions. - The Security Deposit process tries to force you to move the deposit to a general account then cut a check to the tenant. Should be able to just cut a check from the deposit account by default.

Vendor response

Dear William, thanks for your review. You've provided us with great feedback regarding the inspections and user roles! We look forward to continually improving our software to best suit the needs of our customers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SMALL TOWN ACCOUNTING

Reviewed a year ago

I am very pleased as this program brings together the information I need with the push of a few buttons. It also provides easy to read reports that are very detailed for the owners.

Pros

How comprehensive the program is. AppFolio was more detailed and offered a more professional final product.

Cons

Only lately with changes in Texas law are we experiencing problems with the program flexibility

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Maserati of Property Management Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been exceptional, from the initial change over to the software to the amazing advances they have made, both a guilty pleasure for not sharing and a constant new friend. Highly recommend to anyone that is in the property management business.

Pros

AppFolio is a cloud based Property Manager software solution. With significant monthly updates and enhancements, easy customer service ticket creation, a vast online library of how to's and solutions, it is hands down one of the best packages I have ever used. Innovative, sleek and fast, everything you need is right at your fingertips.

Cons

The marketing. Had it been better, I would have found them sooner!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appfolio rocks

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

ease of use and meets our needs to stay in touch with our residents

Cons

working out bugs on their end before releasing new features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appfolio -time saver

Reviewed 2 years ago

We’ve used the software for 5 years. We have never had a bad experience with their customer service. They respond promptly to our teams questions. No matter what our question is they are patient and polite.

Pros

It is user friendly. It is accurate and detailed. We can easily send quarterly and annual Income & Expense statements, Rent Roll Reports and Balance Sheet Information.

Cons

Requires 2 factor authentication to run credit/background checks.

Vendor response

Hi Gigi, thank you for the feedback and we're glad that you are finding AppFolio to be user friendly. In order to comply with regulation around credit reporting, we do use 2-factor authentication to ensure the security of applicant data. Thank you for being a longtime customer!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appfolio is a solid property management product

Reviewed 9 months ago

Allows us to be on top of our finances constantly. Know who has and hasn't paid rent on a daily basis. Vacancies are posted to successful websites and we get lots of qualified prospects. Helped us build a dynamic website.

Pros

Covers almost every aspect of real estate management. Posts our ads on rental sites. Helps screen prospects. Collects rents online and allows accounting pretty seamlessly.

Cons

Accounting is sometimes counter intuitive. 5¢ discrepancy in bank account can take hours to resolve. Very pricey for a small firm (two properties 25 units). Suggested improvements are ignored.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Property Management based yet, not

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Being in property management since 2006. This software is great and easy tool for a property manager stand-point. very user-friendly

Cons

I have been on the accounting for 7 years. Appfolio program is property manager friendly but not really on the accounting stand point.

Vendor response

Dear Michelle, thank you for providing this feedback. We know learning any new accounting tool can be an adjustment, so we've created our Help Center full of articles, community forums and other how-to training resources that will help you to master all of the capabilities within AppFolio Property Manager. We hope that as you continue to learn and grow with AppFolio that our accounting features will become second nature and improve your experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent conference!

Reviewed 2 years ago

The conference was excellent! It was great to network with other AppFolio users and meet some of the guru’s who help solve our problems. Is it possible to get copies of the presentation slides?

Pros

I really enjoyed seeing how AppFolio listens to the users and implements new tools. The guru’s at the HUB were very helpful. The speakers were excellent and had a lot of information to share.

Cons

We had a bumpy start. There was not enough start up training when we began. I would have liked a complete overview of the onboarding process ahead of time. We were only given a step at a time with not enough time to finish it before the next step was to begin.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appfolio is TERRIFIC

Reviewed 2 years ago

The best thing our company has done in 30 years ... started using Appfolio Property Manager almost 2 years ago. Set-up of the system, though time consuming, was rewarding because of the help Appfolio's team gave us. Customer service is excellent. They respond quickly to our needs and questions.

Pros

Tenant's ability to pay rent online Management's ability to communicate with tenants via text messaging Management's ability to provide Owners with Online Portal for property reports, etc. Management's ability to eCheck Owner's cash withdraws

Cons

Automatic charging of Late Rent Fee is a little frustrating

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Michael! We're glad you are streamlining tenant communications and payment. If you are having trouble with late fees, you can change the late fee setting on the tenant's page so it does not charge them unless you do this manually!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Full featured property management software with good customer support

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

AppFolio is very easy to use and a lot of it is intuitive. The features are extensive (even more than what we need in some cases). Customer support is very responsive when there is an issue.

Cons

AppFolio is continually updating and tweaking functions in the software. Most of the time this is a "pro" -- but sometimes there will be a change that causes us to have to redo the way we do things. Also, we have some issues with e-mails sent out through the system to owners/tenants that are getting blocked. When an e-mail fails & there is an error, it would be nice to be notified so we know the e-mail did not go through.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Software for property managers

Reviewed 2 years ago

Decent program, keeps getting better.

Pros

Easy software to process all PM actions. Good for tracking and handling new tenants, existing tenants, and all the owners. The reports make it nice to be able to track different data points to see growth and see upcoming events, move-ins/move-outs, ect.

Cons

Some very common task has to be done outside the program, signing of move-in inspections has to be done outside the program even though they have a workflow for inspections. The showing schedauller for new tenants doesn't go out to public pages, only sits on Appfolio built sites. so it doesn't' work that well

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Talk about easiness, accessibilty!

Reviewed 3 days ago

Its GREAT. i use it every. single. day. HONESLTLY, it doesn't get any easier to run a company with this software.

Pros

WOW! Appfolio literally helped us go paperless, officeless, everything less. This software is exactly what you need to be successful in property management. period. from maintenance, accounting, record-keeping, it doesn't get any easier than this.

Cons

I would say that the only thing that i dont like from this software is that i would like customizable fields to be able to add gate codes, HOA information, alarm codes, etc --- im sure they are working on it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Less key stokes Payment online Maintenance request Tenants love it Tracking of everything

Cons

The initial start was tough. The initial shock of leaving a system that we’ve been using for 20 + years.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

My Opinions

Reviewed 2 years ago

Mostly positive now that you have implemented manually entered Fields in the leases (major plus) - Would be nice to be able to customize the emails to the owners when I do the "Send Statements" If there was a way to make the Move Out accounting easier, seems we are forever trying to fix errors that occur during that process

Pros

Ease of use for residents, applicants and employees. LOVE the seamless ability to post to the web & website.

Cons

Accounting! Move outs and applying last months rent, no cohesive bank registers that show you debits/credits & a actual balance. Would really like a register for the owners to see what the combined debits & credits with a ongoing balance

Vendor response

Hi Glenda, it sounds like the General Ledger report may work for you to show debits/credits to your owner in the event of a move-out. We appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AppFolio Review

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Easy to use, customer support is knowledgeable

Cons

When making a suggestion, there is no follow up

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our Office is Forever changed due to this terrific Real Estate Program.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Thank you. You have made our office function in a proficient way which makes our lives easier

Pros

Comprehensive, Easy to Use, available as an app, response from AppFolio support is terrific, Stock doing very well!

Cons

We have been requesting a program to do lease renewals in NY. So far it has not available. We are not sure when it will be available.

Vendor response

Dear Diane, thank you for the glowing review! It is our goal to make your lives easier by helping you streamline your processes. To stay compliant, we have been unable to build out the lease renewal feature in NY, but we hope new legislation will be passed that enables us to build this out in the future. We look forward to continuing to work with you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We switched to Appfolio six years ago

Reviewed 2 years ago

We manage more problems with your employees and do you sell more efficiently with greater customer experience for bothe owners and tenants.

Pros

Everything about the Appfolio software has led us to greater efficiencies and organization not to mention paperless . We are only out of touch if we want to be otherwise we always have access I can respond to tenants and owners . The online tenant payment system and owner portal‘s and direct deposit to bank accounts I’ll work seamlessly.

Cons

I haven’t found anything that I don’t like about Appfolio.

Vendor response

Thank you for being a longtime partner, Charles! We appreciate your partnership.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Property Management Software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been absolutely delighted with AppFolio and our onboarding team. Our previous software system was completely archaic and time consuming that we had maxed out on the number of properties we could efficiently manage. Since moving to AppFolio we have doubled our client base and we now have unlimited potential for growth. The onboarding team responds to all of our inquiries and questions promptly and have been an absolute dream to work with. The training videos, online support and webinars have made the process of transitioning run smoothly.

Pros

The software is so user friendly and intuitive. The software provides the best tools to serve both your owners and tenants. AppFolio has reduced the entire processing time for Owner Payments by more than 1/2. We have been able to provide all of our owners with their unique individual needs for reporting, which we had not been able to offer our clients with our previous software. The accounting process for billing vendors is so easy and time efficient.

Cons

The only thing we would like to have AppFolio be able to do ... is have a database for us to track potential owners we have communicated with ....and then be able to activate them into new owners once they sign on.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review, Candy! We're so happy to hear that your transition and experience has been positive! We enjoy working with you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It's just that easy.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

online everything. customer service is exceptional. interface is continually improving and they listen to the customers for feedback. company website!!!

Cons

sometimes updates should be in beta testing longer as the interface is questionable and clunky. west coast hours make it touch to reach during morning hours from the east coast.

Vendor response

Dear Whit, thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy to see that you've found value in our customer service teams and our website services! We understand that beta testing is an important step in building a new feature and will take your comments back to the team. We look forward to continually improving your experience using AppFolio!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AppFolio Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of use. Very user friendly. Transition was very smooth.

Cons

I cannot think of anything I do not like about AppFolio.

page 16 of 64