Rentec Direct Reviews

Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

4.65/5 (171 reviews)

Pros
  • Easy to use and setup.
  • User Interface, easy to learn.
  • Ease of use, great online support
  • Lots of features in one software.
Cons
  • None
  • Lack of accounting diversity
  • There are no "cons" so far as I am concerned.
  • No general ledger for other business activities.
96%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Jeff Carwile

Rent Tec Direct

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-10-20
Review Source: Software Advice

I reviewed two property management software programs and found RentTec Direct as superior.

Pros
User Interface, easy to learn.

Cons
Don't get a break on the add-ins until you reach 5o units.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Ed Parrish

Easy to use property management software

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-02-24
Review Source: Software Advice

This is a simple and easy to use software for residential property management. It would be particularly good for non-financial folks. It even has pop-up windows that warn you if you are doing something that can affect other parts of the accounting by mistake. My only gripe is that it does not have a robust general ledger for a full business accounting. I had to create a property and put all the expenses and other revenue there. They can be found but it would be nice to have it as a separate but integrated part of the software.

Pros
Easy to use and setup.

Cons
No general ledger for other business activities.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Patricia Jensen

You asked for it.

Reviewed 2014-10-06
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
When you call in with a question, the support staff is great. Once you get a little training, it is very easy to use and reason.

Cons
Reports could use a little massaging. I'm the broker and would like a report monthly of all trust monies (e.g., security deposits and owner's reserves) on one report for audit reasons.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

JASVIN GAJERA

Loaded with features and functions

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-07-28
Review Source: Software Advice

apartments.com and other property management sites such as Tulia are available, but this software has many features and functions and its virtually universal accessibility makes easy to manage property. convenient to manage property by making multiple account for support staff at a good price.

Pros
All in one software to collect rent from the tenants using easy Pay and trusted accounting software by hundreds of clients

Cons
Report gathering and generation as well as customer support are two main issues needed to be concerned.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Robert Frank

Great Software ... Even Better Customer Support

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-12-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Very good value for the modest cost.

Pros
Ease of use; e-signing; great potential tenant reports.

Cons
Accepting security deposits for a new tenant is not as straight forward as accepting monthly rent payments.

Response from Rentec Direct


Thank you for your feedback, Robert! We really appreciate it. Remember, we're here for you if you ever have questions. Cheers!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Sarah Cook

Great Program

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-12-07
Review Source: Software Advice

I have found using Rentec to be enjoyable. It is a great value for the money.

Pros
Ease of use, great online support

Cons
Lack of accounting diversity

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Doug Burchardt

Great Software - Great Support - Great Company !

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-10-11
Review Source: Software Advice

I have been using RentecDirect for about 5 years to manage a small portfolio of investor owned single family homes. I primarily use the software to manage each Owner's ledger, print monthly statements and 1099's at year end. It does all of this without a hitch and I know I am only scratching the surface of it's capapbility.

Pros
Very easy to setup and use but even better the few times I have had a problem the support staff is amazing and there are no language barriers.

Cons
There are no "cons" so far as I am concerned.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Martin Miller

Rentec Direct

Reviewed 2014-01-17
Review Source: Capterra

Rentec really simplified everything we do on a daily basis. The accounting functions took only a couple days to completely learn and replace our old system. Meanwhile, when we did have a question their customer support was always very helpful both by phone and email whenever we had a question. We were really happy when they built in ACH and Tenant Screening into the system last year. Highly recommend Rentec Direct!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

George Harris

Rentec direct is an amazing product

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-01-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Great product. Exceeded my expectations :) Especially being able to advertise our available properties for FREE.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Dan Buck

Used to going to different other software types this was Best Buy for for the Price and ease of use

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-01-26
Review Source: Software Advice

Love it, product I have used for the price very easy to use self-explanatory lots of different functions

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Cristie Dombkowski

Great Customer Service

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-11-16
Review Source: Software Advice

Rentec is a good solution for a small to medium sized rental company.

Pros
Quick customer service response. Easy to enter payments. Allows for credit card and online payments.

Cons
Only one email contact per unit allowable which is a problem for our student housing joint leases. Credit card payments have high convenience fees that our tenants don't like. Hard to navigate from a mobile device.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

nina zook

Simple Software System

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-05-10
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
This is very easy to use and does not have complex features. I did not have any trouble with the functions I needed to use. The customer service is superb.

Cons
Overall, there were not enough options with this software system. The website design was very limited and so was the lease writing option. I felt that this was too basic for what I needed out of a software system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 4/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Stephen Piraino

Great Product

Reviewed 2014-08-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
This product is very easy to use. It is easy to correct entry errors, and it allows you to attach a variety of documents.

Cons
The software needs a tenant sorting feature and the ability to break down rent by rent, parking, storage etc.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Miriam Nam

I entered revenues and expenses into the system. Overall quite good

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-03-06
Review Source: Software Advice

If the accounting functions are enhanced more, that would be great - I felt less detail oriented.

Pros
Uploading the related documents with each transaction is good. I could see overall revenues and expenses at a time. That will be good.

Cons
Whenever I make a lump sump payments for several invoices, it was not convenient. If I can enter invoices and apply payments to the invoices, that will be much better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Cristy Michaels

User-Friendly Property Management Software

Reviewed 2016-03-31
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It's easier to use than other programs I've tried. Every time I need assistance, I'm able to talk to one of two experts from the software company whith in 24hrs of my inquiry. They, then, easily walk me through my issue.

Cons
Searching for answers in the system and following the directions seems difficult at times. I prefer to go through with customer service.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Ang Da

One stop shop!

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-29
Review Source: Software Advice

Great customer service! They always, always, always call back within a short time. And friendly staff. Shout our to Heather!

Pros
The ease of use. It is not as cumbersome as a lot of the soft wares our there. Straight to the point.

Cons
The owner statements are not as detailed, no dates on the simple report. Statement A and B on owner statement ougt to show dates of expenses, so owners don't have to call to check when and how....

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Sheila Fortin

I Love Rentec

Reviewed 2015-10-21
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Its fun and easy to work with...you get quick customer support when needed

Cons
Nothing but the only thing i would change is break your expiring leases by month not by year only

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

DeAnthony Payton

Service is everything

Reviewed 2016-09-09
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The vendor is very helpful and informative. Available when I have questions with in a very reasonable time frame

Cons
Some features don't fit for my needs. It's difficult to make the adjustment if there are 2payment types for 1 customer...also you have to wait for a return call if you have questions, however they respond very quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Connor Hecke

Property Management

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-11-02
Review Source: Software Advice

This is a very nice software. It was really nice being able to have all of my properties in one place and see what is going on. With the layout of this you are able to see a picture of your place the address and how much is owed. With this software I was able to keep all of my property organized.

Pros
Lots of features in one software.

Cons
None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Mike Matton

Happy with the product

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-10-06
Review Source: Software Advice

I'm small guy (only 20 units) but the product provides a ton flexibility and is a great help at managing tenants. Worth the investment

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Rodney Greenup

Great Choice PM Program

Reviewed 2014-10-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like the fact that it is very easy to move and edit within the program!

Cons
I have not experienced any negative issues to date!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Robin Bastien

Rentec supplied all the elements I have been needing.

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-10-21
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Good customer support. Not a bad learning curve. Able to be used by several users. It supplied all my needs and enabled me to easily do my own books.

Cons
I needed to call or use customer support quite often at first. Eventually I learned to navigate the online automatic response to inquiries.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Julie Thevenow

Good value for the money

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-05-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The cost compared to others. Customer service is awesome. I like the tenant portal, it was one of the things I had to have when looking for rental software.

Cons
The set up cost for accepting rent payments is really high, considering there are other on-line rent companies that have free set up.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Chris Way

Reviewed 2012-03-15
Review Source: Software Advice

I was very impressed with this service. It was very quick, easy, and I have several suitable websites to choose from. It saved me a lot of personal research time and I am happy with the choice I made. I will use Rentec Direct again for sure.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.

Matt Garboden

Great, inexpensive option

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-03-01
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It does a good job of tracking revenue and expenses, tenant docs, etc. And tenants love the EasyPay function.

Cons
It has a bit of a learning curve, not all functions are intuitive. Also, I wish it had a more robust accounting system (i.e. a full balance sheet).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Rentec Direct

Complete property management software solution.