This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

TrueRent

Real estate property management software

see alternatives

TrueRent Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

This product is a great way to keep your rent organized. I love how you can enter the tenants into the different buildings and keep track of security, even upload the lease.

Leeann G.

It does work like advertised. The customer service rep is fantastic at answering questions.

Chip H.

I manage my open rental property, switched from another before a year or two ago, perfectly happy.

joel s.

Cons

Between the low functionality of the software in the lack of customer service I have no idea what I'm buying from you.

Nick C.

It is confusing on how to upload documents and files.

Patricia B.

The customer service is very slow responding and having no phone number to call.

Adel S.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

30

14

7

1

1

83%
positive reviews
86%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


53 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most comprehensive property management software for the price

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've tried a ton of property management softwares in the past. This is by far the best one I've used.

Pros

Very affordable. A lot cheaper than the bigger companies like Buildium and Appfolio, and offers a lot more than the smaller companies with similar prices. Very intuitive and easy to use. The financial reports it generates are very helpful. The rent roll feature they offer is great and helps keeps track of who has paid and who hasn't. The QuickPay ACH payment program is really nice. Almost all of my tenants now use it to pay their rent.

Cons

The site works on my iphone and ipad, but it would be great if they offered an app. Their QuickPay ACH payment program is great after you get approved, but the application process was pretty long (about 5 days).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Landlord Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm able to manage our four rental properties with ease, and have full tenant interactions. Love the flexiblity and ability of our tenants to pay their rent.

Pros

The cost/flexibility of the tool. I can't find any other sofware near the value this provides for the cost for a mom/pop landlord.

Cons

There are some missing features and sometimes it's a little clunky. The search features leave a bit to be desired as you can only search on standard choices, not on custom pieces.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Bang for buck

Reviewed 3 years ago

Customer support responses have vastly improved over the last 90 days. The additional changes they are making generally are good but it would be nice to receive an email letting us know when something is coming down the pipeline with a timeline so we are can make changes on our end as necessary.

Pros

Great value for the money, offers quite a few features for an affordable price

Cons

Too many steps to set accounts, features and processes seem to change frequently with no warning (example, we allow 5 days grace period for rent before it is considered late. Until recently we had to set the late fee as due the 4th in order for it to go into effect on the 6th as per our leases. Now it is actually set correctly on the software end. There was no notice to this change which caused some panic on the part of tenants).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

the site is great

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use tenant screening is awesome tenant payment online is great tracking the expenses is good

Cons

need more improvement in the following 1. add a place where you can add your general expenses that's not related to a certain property such as meals, trips, office expenses and so on 2. we are in deep need of mobile APP 3. track your credit card automatically and having the transaction ready to assign it to the property or edit 4. the customer service is very slow responding and having no phone number to call

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great experience with TrueRent.com

Reviewed 5 years ago

TrueRent is the most intuitive software I have found. The customer support is great and collection rent online is quick and easy. Once you use online rent collection you won't understand how you lived without. I also use their credit screening feature which is really good.

Pros

Intuitive, useful features, online rent collection, credit screening

Cons

Does work with vacation rental but they say it's coming soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Recommend TrueRent

Reviewed 2 years ago

Ability to keep track to tenant rent. Financials by owner

Pros

Once you understand this program it is pretty easy to use. Also it is easy to set-up Can save your tenant correspondence in tenant file, ie. letters, pictures, etc.

Cons

Tenant/Landlord forms are not a part of this program. There is nowhere to save your letters (templates) on this program. Forms need to be saved elsewhere ie. Microsoft word.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great for managing my two rental properties. Does everything I need.

Reviewed 7 years ago

I usually don't write reviews but this one is worth it. I bought a foreclosure 2 years ago and haven't really been keeping good records. Tax time is a real hassle for me. Last month I purchased my second investment property, a duplex. I decided getting organized was the only option since tripling my unit count. After a lot of searching, I found True Rent. It's the only truly free site I could find...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Software Packing A Huge Punch!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software was able to accommodate all my property rental documentation needs as well as providing detailed reports and address reports. It was reliable as some software has glitches but not TrueRent! The software also handled my vendors accounts and deposits to the owner with breeze.

Cons

I did not like the way it allows the tenants to log into their own portal and it has to go through their website so that the tenants know all about the service as if to elude they are advertising to my tenants. I think a branded or separate area or page should be available for tenant log ins and should integrate with my website.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Truerent, True genius!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ease of use. The year end reports, everything from vendors to every day entries. I've tried other programs. This one works best for me.

Cons

Removing , and adding new tenants is a bit tricky.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Seemless and easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

Love it!

Pros

Innovative and easy to use along with great customer support

Cons

A little pricey but totally worth it given the features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall

Reviewed 2 years ago

Ok

Pros

Easy to use kept information on properties

Cons

Started charging for small investor sometimes not easy

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Little Landlord

Reviewed 3 years ago

My business entries are easy and tax reports are immediate. Sometimes I have to hunt-and-peck to get a particular report, but I have learned to use Filters to refine reports. I am just starting to use the Tenant Screening and am wondering why the hell I ever waited. Still getting used to this function but it should prove invaluable.

Pros

It is very comprehensive, including about everything a landlord (or his accountant or, god forbid, the IRS). The software keeps getting updated for clarity and ease of use. Updating the structure of Tutorials is one case.

Cons

Some features are not clear to me. For instance, I have never understood the Ledger function.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Support

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall my experience is positive.

Pros

One of the best features of this product is customer support that is offered. Reply’s are prompt and solutions are to the point. The cost of the product was very affordable for the size of my company and my tenants have no complaints using it on a monthly basis. The software has continued to improve and get easier to use over the years.

Cons

Some of my older tenants have difficulty initially setting up their accounts. There is now an additional fee to have rents deposited into two different bank accounts. Initially I picked this product because it was going to allow tenants the choice to pay through their bank account or by credit card with the additional fees being charged directly to them, but that option didn’t come to fruition exactly as I had hoped.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy, Powerful, does what I need.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to access from anywhere with a computer. Ability to keep documents related to transactions attached in the cloud. Fast customer service, makes preparing reports for taxes a cake walk!

Cons

Sometimes they have some bugs, but support has always been fast to repair.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

TrueRent

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've never had a problem. It has cut down a lot of my time to work on other things.

Pros

Very easy to use. Fast and efficient, true results

Cons

Application for tenants could use some more information.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

True Rent User Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Excellent features and value for the monthly cost !

Cons

Hard to correct a glitch in the system. Hard to contact Customer Service when You need immediate help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not satisfied

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have not sold any business problems with true rent it's only created more headaches and hassle we're actually using a backup spreadsheet for redundancy to make sure the number is ensure enter accurate not satisfied of this product looking to change.

Pros

Nothing, no real likes

Cons

Your software is barely a glorified spreadsheet. I have called numerous times to your customer service department with any without any help from anyone. I just like your product thoroughly and I'm looking for something new at this point in time. Between the low functionality of the software in the lack of customer service I have no idea what I'm buying from you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy and Free! Very simple and does everything.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I had been searching a long time for something like True Rent. I found the site here on Capterra late last year. I have been using the site daily and have had great results. I own apartments and storage units. Yes, it will work with storage units. Plus, according to support, the site is free forever for current users even if they start to charge in the future. This means one less monthly outgoing...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

It keeps everything organized for you.

Pros

When using this software its very user friendly for someone who is not computer savvy.

Cons

It is confusing on how to upload documents and files.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple and priced right

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have operated a property management company for several years. I also have my own rental properties. I've only used TrueRent a short while, but so far it's been easy to use and allows me to manage all units, both personal and managed units on one site. It has everything I would want from this type of program. Transaction and data entry is easy and can be done from many areas/screens. This will definitely make my accounting easier. The "Snapshot" feature is helpful too, I can finally see where I financially stand. The analytics seem very complete with everything I would possibly need to know for forecasting and decision-making. I can see the possibility of this real time data helping my bottom line. I will continue using this product and will refer to it often during tax time.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Customer support isn't great

Reviewed 2 years ago

I feel like it was good back when it was free. Since I've been starting to pay it feels like it has went down hill. Doesn't calculate mortgage payments for you anymore, tenants don't disappear from transactions, can't erase amounts to change them very easily, and if there is any issue customer service won't respond until it's been at LEAST 2 emails sent minimum.

Pros

Easy to use and navigate Good value for price

Cons

Hard to get assistance from customer support. Doesn't erase tenants in transactions after they have left Can't maneuver rents as needed on occasion

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Really Good, Easy Tool to Manage Rental Properties

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall good-- however, the only reason that I signed up with Truerent was the assurance that credit cards would be accepted within a couple of months. Now, we are being told that they will not be accepted as a means of collecting rent.

Pros

The ease of use and the ease in completing the database.

Cons

The inability to accept credit card payments from tenants

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Company review

Reviewed 2 years ago

It does work like advertised. The customer service rep is fantastic at answering questions.

Pros

It keeps me focused on the other things I do for a living other than collecting rent.

Cons

I still haven't learned everything about the software because I haven't done a deep dive into all the features this program offers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good

Pros

Some fields were adjusted per my discussion with them. Very receptive to changes

Cons

At first, some things were a little confusing but got them solved

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Organized

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This product is a great way to keep your rent organized. I love how you can enter the tenants into the different buildings and keep track of security, even upload the lease.

Cons

It is a little hard to use the recurring billing as it does not seem to do it all the same each time.