App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

RecTrac Logo

RecTrac

Recreation management system for organizations of all sizes

see alternatives

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

RecTrac Reviews

Overall rating

3.3

/5

17

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6.77/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

We purchased RecTrac back in 2000 and it was amazing. The set up was easy and the program was pretty user friendly.
The reports we can run are amazing, once we figure out how to do it. The ability to search and browse through the various features is very easy.
Easy to figure out how to use the different functions. Has much more capabilities than we will ever have time to figure out how to use, but we are impressed and satisfied with this product overall.
We must include a service item in 90% of invoices. We also receive complaints from patrons about the on-line registration and it's confusing layout.
Have had some trouble getting the different elements of the membership card templates to stay linked.
The time it takes to put in programs, lack of shortcut keys, it is hard to copy and paste programs, etc. It is not easy to navigate at all and far too many clicks through multiple pages.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


17 reviews

Recommended

MP
AvatarImg

Maija P.

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Rectrac—Good Software for a Large Organization

Reviewed a year ago

Overall management, especially facilities is great with Rectrac. The time needed to train staff to use the program and the software not being intuitive is the biggest drawback.

Pros

Rectrac is a nice system to use if you have a large program with multiple facilities. Good to use for something like a Parks & Rec program. It has great software for multi-facility management and booking. Registration for programs can also be used on a large scale. Payment processing is simple.

Cons

The system is not user friendly. Staff must be well trained in order to use the programs especially for registration, loading classes, and running reports. When selections are incorrectly selected, there are no clues given on how to get the report you need.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

RecTrac is so close to being awesome!

Reviewed 6 years ago

RecTrac has so much information available and can produce lots of reports, and a ton of capability as a software. It is extremely capable of so much. However, it is not easy-to-use and takes a little more knowledge than an average user to do it. Also, the reporting while dense and super helpful, it does feel buggy and slow most of my use for it.

Pros

There is just a ton of features included within it. RecTrac is able to handle most situations involving program registration, promotions, etc. and has a strong database and framework supporting it. There are features on top of features that make it a huge value; it is very overwhelming, in fact, all that it is capable of doing.

Cons

Interface. The ease-of-use is very low for RecTrac. The time it takes to put in programs, lack of shortcut keys, it is hard to copy and paste programs, etc. It is not easy to navigate at all and far too many clicks through multiple pages. I wish, for ex. that creating a program was all on one page, like a form, and not multiple pages you clicked through, so you could look at it all at once. Reporting. This process can be truly burdensome. Coworkers sometimes have to hit run reports 2 or 3 times just to get it to provide what she needs. Also, having to run a report as a PDF makes it take forever; why can't it just display it like it does other pages, especially when you are trying to go through multiple things quickly

LS
AvatarImg

Lori S.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Must have a computer programming degree

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our initial purchase in 2000 was AMAZING...this last one in 2019-2020 was a complete disaster.

Pros

We purchased RecTrac back in 2000 and it was amazing! The set up was easy and the program was pretty user friendly. At the time we did not have online registration. In 2019 we were told that our software would no longer be supported. We had wanted to go online anyway so we decided to do the switch over to their new 3.1 with web. It was going to be almost $50,000 with everything needed to move forward. I really didn't look at other options because we were so happy with our current RecTrac and the experience we had when we first set up in 2000 was amazing so I had no reason to think this would be different. I was wrong!

Cons

When we started the initial training for the migration, it was very clear our person was reading a script. She spent over an hour of time talking about golf courses and campgrounds...which we have neither nor will we ever. I kept trying to explain to her that we were paying for this training (a lot I might add) and that I would rather use this time to focus on the parts of the program we were going...

MP
AvatarImg

Maya P.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

RecTrac Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was a love/hate relationship. I believe that if there was no need for constant training and we were experts users, it would've worked out better. However, the constant crashing made for thinking on our feet often.

Pros

Our staff loved the detailed information that was generated and that we were able to make standard to lessen error.

Cons

This software, although very detailed, made for many steps in that process. We constantly were having to ask for help, even those who were proficiently trained. The software just had too many steps, crashed often, and made for a lot of hours for training.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful software, but a steep learning curve when coming from other systems

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

RecTrac is incredibly customizable and offers multiple methods to solve many day-to-day park and rec problems. It is also relatively inexpensive to own and maintain, and doesn't require transaction processing fees like some of the major competitors.

Cons

RecTrac's greatest benefit (customization) is also it's occasional downfall; sometimes, too many ways to solve one problem leads to confusion or slight variances in the final outcome. Facility Booking has proven to be more difficult than expected (but it's not impossible to figure out). Initially there were also many issues related to POS hardware, but these have largely been resolved.

JD
AvatarImg

Jennifer D.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

RecTrac

Reviewed 3 years ago

It really wasn't best for our recreation programs It was a very complex system

Pros

The Activities were easy to use Households - some of the information was good to use

Cons

How hard it was to pull a report Didn't like how you could do the same thing three different ways It seemed like it was more geared toward golf

TO
AvatarImg

Terra O.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Do not recommend this software

Reviewed 8 months ago

Between the costliness to add the online features and the difficulty with navigating we determined that RecTrac was no longer the best fit for our company moving forward.

Pros

The best feature of RecTrac is that the user has the ability to quickly clone activities to save time when creating recurring programs or activities.

Cons

The RecTrac program is not user-friendly. It is difficult to navigate and even more difficult to train new staff to use. We also discovered that with ever-changing technology we needed to add the online check-out option. However, it was unreasonably expensive.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using this program for the last five years....

Reviewed 6 years ago

This software is our framework for business and patron management.

Pros

This is a very efficient software for memberships, programs, point of sale options. Data management is solid and reports are easily generated with almost unlimited choices.

Cons

The interface seems dated, however we are using the older build and will be upgrading when feasible. Currently looking at the Web Trac feature to assist in serving our patrons.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kimberli D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very useful product, but could be more user friendly.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The reports we can run are amazing, once we figure out how to do it. The ability to search and browse through the various features is very easy.

Cons

There are too many ways to accomplish one task. It seems like some of the options need to be streamlined and the duplicated resources should be combined somehow.

BB
AvatarImg

Brad B.

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Customer Service is great to work with.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The software is easy to use for end users. Our part-time employees have not issues using this software and are very comfortable with it.

Cons

The biggest issue we have with the software is the lag. If can sometimes takes several minutes to process transaction using the POS part of the system.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We are moving to new software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This software has the potential to do many things in certain recreational settings.

Cons

Since moving to the 3.1 we have had so many issues, far more than is acceptable with any software. The integration program was a connectivity issue for years. We weren't getting waivers with online registrations for months and only found out about it by accident. The separate steps and screens you must visit to set up anything in the software is too many and easily missed. After 4 years of having the...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Over-Rated

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have never been so frustrated with almost every aspect of a software.

Pros

Although there are a lot of features included they are not easy to use AT ALL.

Cons

Customer service is absolute trash, when they finally respond it's as if they are learning the software while trying to be the expert at the same time. Software is not intuitive at all. Constant issues with connection, reports running late, information not being updated, too many back-end manual work. Nothing is simple or easy. There are so many steps to complete one single task.

MM
AvatarImg

Melissa M.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

RecTrac; Great Recreation Software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Program registration, event registration, calendars, memberships.

Pros

I highly enjoy the reporting features; the ease to pull information or set up an automated report really helps to pull data quickly

Cons

There is A LOT of information in RecTrac and it takes some time to learn. The lack of customization is difficult as each recreation area is different. I wish there was some more simplified customization available.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User-friendly membership management system--easy to learn and use

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Clearly laid out interface which makes it easy to find the function you are looking for. Easy to figure out how to use the different functions. Has much more capabilities than we will ever have time to figure out how to use, but we are impressed and satisfied with this product overall.

Cons

Have had some trouble getting the different elements of the membership card templates to stay linked.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Recreational Facilities and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust Software

Reviewed 6 years ago

This software takes care of every function of our Recreation business. Have been working with them for more than 10 years - excellent service and support!

Pros

RecTrac can do so many things for your business. It is very customizable and robust. Have self hosted and vendor-hosted options.

Cons

Can be buggy at times - but they are quick to respond and solve issues.

CS
AvatarImg

Casey S.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

RecTrac not on trac

Reviewed 3 years ago

Terrible. I had to use it for 4 months before moving to another recreation software. I needed to know the care minimum and that was all.

Pros

The reporting was robust. Otherwise, I did not like the software.

Cons

The software was incredibly hard to navigate and teach others. Nothing about the software was intuitive. There was no customer service or help with the software.

TC
AvatarImg

Tom C.

Facilities Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

RecTrac is on the right track.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Simple to use.

Pros

Simple to pickup. I learned the basic within an hour. The layouts are very user friendly.

Cons

Can get buggy when you open multiple tabs, it disconnect my printer. Usually fix by reset the application.