This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Zen Planner vs Teamer Comparison

Search

Add to Compare

Recommended for you

Mindbody

Vagaro

Acuity Scheduling

EZFacility

SimplyBook.me

vcita

Good recommendations?

Overview

Category Leaders

Zen Planner is a member management software including Staff & Member Apps, billing, appointments, virtual training, skills...

Teamer is a free online sports team management system supporting organizers with membership records, event scheduling, notifications...

  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials
  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials

Video & Screenshots

Pricing

Starting from
$

117

/momonth
  • Free trial available
  • No credit card required
  • Free account
  • Subscription based
Starting from

Free

  • Free trial available
  • No credit card required
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

User reviews

5

4

3

2

1

133

58

21

9

9

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
87%
would recommend this app

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

4

0

1

0

0

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
67%
would recommend this app

Pros

Customer support really is top notch. The on boarding team is fantastic and truly went out of their way to ensure we had every available resource for success.

JS

Jen S.

I do not use it for my business, but have used it as an avid fitness enthusiast for over 2 years. It is nice when gyms all over the country use this software.

ME

Mary Ellen C.

They had great integration to our existing merchant. Great membership customization, billing, customizable charts, and belt promotion system.

SC

Stephen C.

Pros

Not enoughreviews yet

Cons

No real way for instructors to leave notes for students, why not. Never use the mass email or text because its just too complicated-these things can be fixed if they gave it some attention.

JS

Jen S.

It was very overwhelming when I started using it. The app is also pretty bad, although they do update it with new features.

SS

Sean S.

Not only were we not satisfied with the software, we were being charged more than double to keep it.

SC

Stephen C.

Cons

Not enoughreviews yet

  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last reviewa month ago
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last reviewa year ago

Key features

  • Total features100
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Application Management
  • Appointment Management
  • Appointment Scheduling
  • Attendance Management
  • Attendance Tracking
  • Auto-Responders
  • Availability Indicator
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Belt Ranking Classification
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Calendar Management
  • Check Processing
  • Check-in/Check-out
  • Class Management
  • Class Scheduling
  • Client Portal
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Contract/License Management
  • Conversion Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer Database
  • Customizable Forms
  • Customizable Reports
  • Customizable Templates
  • Dashboard Creation
  • Data Import/Export
  • Design Management
  • Digital Signature
  • Document Storage
  • Dues Management
  • E-Prescribing
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature
  • Email Invitations & Reminders
  • Email Management
  • Email Marketing
  • Email Templates
  • Email Tracking
  • Employee Management
  • Enrollments/Onboarding
  • Event Calendar
  • Event Management
  • Event Scheduling
  • Event Tracking
  • Expense Tracking
  • Facility Scheduling
  • File Management
  • For Martial Arts
  • Forms Management
  • In-Game Analytics
  • Instructor Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Lead Nurturing
  • Leave Tracking
  • Marketing Automation
  • Member Accounts
  • Member Communication
  • Member Database
  • Member Directory
  • Member Portal
  • Member Types
  • Membership Management
  • Membership Renewals
  • Milestone Tracking
  • Mobile Access
  • Mobile App
  • Multiple User Accounts
  • Online Booking
  • Online Payments
  • Online Registration
  • PCI Compliance
  • Payment Processing
  • Payroll Management
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Progress Tracking
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real Time Reporting
  • Records Management
  • Recurring Tasks
  • Recurring/Subscription Billing
  • Registration Management
  • Reminders
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reservations Management
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • SMS Messaging
  • Scheduled / Automated Reports
  • Scheduling
  • Secure Login
  • Self Check-in/Check-out
  • Self Service Portal
  • Shopping Cart
  • Skills Tracking
  • Social Media Integration
  • Staff Management
  • Student Management
  • Task Scheduling
  • Team Management
  • Template Management
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Transaction History
  • User Profiles
  • Visitor Management
  • Visitor Registration
  • Volunteer Management
  • Website Integration
  • Website Management
  • Widgets
  • Total features22
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Application Management
  • Appointment Management
  • Appointment Scheduling
  • Attendance Management
  • Attendance Tracking
  • Auto-Responders
  • Availability Indicator
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Belt Ranking Classification
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Calendar Management
  • Check Processing
  • Check-in/Check-out
  • Class Management
  • Class Scheduling
  • Client Portal
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Contract/License Management
  • Conversion Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer Database
  • Customizable Forms
  • Customizable Reports
  • Customizable Templates
  • Dashboard Creation
  • Data Import/Export
  • Design Management
  • Digital Signature
  • Document Storage
  • Dues Management
  • E-Prescribing
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature
  • Email Invitations & Reminders
  • Email Management
  • Email Marketing
  • Email Templates
  • Email Tracking
  • Employee Management
  • Enrollments/Onboarding
  • Event Calendar
  • Event Management
  • Event Scheduling
  • Event Tracking
  • Expense Tracking
  • Facility Scheduling
  • File Management
  • For Martial Arts
  • Forms Management
  • In-Game Analytics
  • Instructor Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Lead Nurturing
  • Leave Tracking
  • Marketing Automation
  • Member Accounts
  • Member Communication
  • Member Database
  • Member Directory
  • Member Portal
  • Member Types
  • Membership Management
  • Membership Renewals
  • Milestone Tracking
  • Mobile Access
  • Mobile App
  • Multiple User Accounts
  • Online Booking
  • Online Payments
  • Online Registration
  • PCI Compliance
  • Payment Processing
  • Payroll Management
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Progress Tracking
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real Time Reporting
  • Records Management
  • Recurring Tasks
  • Recurring/Subscription Billing
  • Registration Management
  • Reminders
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reservations Management
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • SMS Messaging
  • Scheduled / Automated Reports
  • Scheduling
  • Secure Login
  • Self Check-in/Check-out
  • Self Service Portal
  • Shopping Cart
  • Skills Tracking
  • Social Media Integration
  • Staff Management
  • Student Management
  • Task Scheduling
  • Team Management
  • Template Management
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Transaction History
  • User Profiles
  • Visitor Management
  • Visitor Registration
  • Volunteer Management
  • Website Integration
  • Website Management
  • Widgets

Integrations

  • Total integrations7
  • Constant Contact
  • Facebook
  • GoCardless
  • Google Analytics
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Maps
  • Instagram
  • Mailchimp
  • PayPal
  • Perkville
  • QuickBooks Online
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Squarespace
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • Wix
  • Wordpress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zoom
  • Total integrationsN/A
  • Constant Contact
  • Facebook
  • GoCardless
  • Google Analytics
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Maps
  • Instagram
  • Mailchimp
  • PayPal
  • Perkville
  • QuickBooks Online
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Squarespace
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • Wix
  • Wordpress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zoom

User reviews that mention these apps

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Easy functionality

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy interface. Lots of options. Quality customer service.

Cons

Some integrations are a little confusing. Team is quick to help though.

Vendor response

Thank you, Andrew!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Awesome Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Extremely positive !

Pros

How easy it is to use and the customer support team is awesome!

Cons

None come to my mind— everything is great; easy to use and great customer support.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words, Chrissy!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Customer support is outstanding

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'd give it a B- on a grading scale. The customer support is outstanding but any time you want to go beyond just keeping track of how many students you have, things become way too complicated.

Pros

Customer support really is top notch. The on boarding team is fantastic and truly went out of their way to ensure we had every available resource for success. Any little quirky issue or question we have is answered quickly and professionally by the customer support team. They are fantastic.

Cons

The basics are great but it seems to go from "ok to use" to "I have absolutely no idea what to do here" the minute any complication arises. There does not need to be a "staff user" and a "kiosk mode" on the Ipads, it confuses everyone and wastes a lot of time. Converting reports to pdf feature should be a breeze, but doesn't convert the entire report and is useless. It should have a much easier pos system as well. No real way for instructors to leave notes for students, why not? Never use the mass email or text because its just too complicated-these things can be fixed if they gave it some attention.

Vendor response

Thanks, Jen, we'll pass your good words on to our customer support team!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Customer Support

Reviewed 2 years ago

Customer support is why I'm writing this review. Everyone I have talked with has been so respectful, patient, professional and knowledgeable. Plus, quick to resolve any issue I was having.

Pros

The customer support that comes with the software is so essential. While there are many features, the customer support team helps to navigate through it all. One can tell this team is efficiently trained because they do not skip a beat when it comes to walking you through the system.

Cons

So many features can be overwhelming. The webinar offerings are a good idea to tackle that obstacle.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review, Magda!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Outstanding back up support

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am pleasantly surprised by the support in getting this all set up - great communication and very patient and informed team!

Pros

easy to use- straight forward set up lots of customizable options

Cons

like everything it takes a little while to get familiar - layout and set ups are different but this is not a negative it's just part of the process

Vendor response

Thank you Raeleigh, we'll pass your kind words to our support team!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Needs a better app

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Support team is great, and really helps in the on boarding process. They are very fast in response time and give many options for helping solve situations.

Cons

Scheduling ahead of the current week is a little confusing. The calendar keeps jumping back to the current week whenever a new appointment is added ahead. Also cannot add appointments within the day. A little confusing and not the most efficient. The app is terrible. No ability to schedule clients (at least as far as I have been able to do) and is pretty overall useless to me.

Vendor response

Hey Ryan, thanks for your feedback. We're happy to share you can now schedule appointments in Staff App! Check out the tutorial here: https://help.zenplanner.com/hc/en-us/articles/360005456213

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Incredible!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Best Support Team!!! they seriously rock and has helped me trouble shoot all issues I've had over the phone or over quick emails. Anything i didn't know how to do they were super helpful and worked so hard to help me implement their software and making things very easy. Allows me to filter my classes, students and programs very easily. Beautiful Website integration (similar to mindbody but easier to...

Cons

The initial set up of the program is a little difficult, it was hard to navigate through at first but again, awesome support team that explained it very well. Only other con is that the website integration is a little difficult and not as pretty on mobile.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Outstanding customer service as always.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It helps me automate and streamline my systems and processes. I only wish it had the capacity for me to plop in all my expenses. Then, It would be golden! I would be able to replace my accounting software and have everything all in one place.

Pros

It's ease of use. It is laid out in a simplistic format that is easy to navigate. The customer service team is outstanding. They always go above and beyond to ensure my satisfaction with the platform.

Cons

The lack of text feature but that has now been rectified for Cdn customers. The only other less than desirable thing about the platform is the tiered billing. Personally, I truly don't see a need to have different billing if I have 50 students or 75. It should be one flat rate straight across.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Extremely Helpful

Reviewed 2 years ago

Whenever I have an issue the support team is always there to help and they solve the issue very quickly which is super ideal due to more than 1/2 of my work is accomplished on Zen.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and effective.

Cons

I wish there was more customizing options. I also do not like that I have to reset my password so often!

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words, Ky! We appreciate your insights!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Cheaper, better, friendlier

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love their service and how much they've helped me. I would like the ACH only option for memberships though!

Pros

The customer service and ease of use, especially that everything you would essentially need is included with ZenPlanner, unlike MindBody or Triib. It's also cheaper because of PaySimple's merchant integration and I don't think most fitness businesses need the add ons that MindBody has and that you would pay for. I think being a good business owner, setting clearly defined roles and tasks for employees, and making sure they do them will lead to more sales than a email/text bot from MindBody.

Cons

I think the client facing side of signing up for memberships could be a little easier, for instance: you can't have a ACH only membership option, you do need an iPad or computer of which to then use ZenPlanner's Front Desk for, but I do know ZenPlanner is teaming up with PaySimple to possibly release a device to use instead of an iPad or computer.

Vendor response

Thanks Paul! We appreciate your feedback and kind words.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Constantly surprises and improves

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The more I learn about this software (partly due to their fantastic customer help team) the more I love it and the more it gives me back time! I still think I have barely scratched the service In its capabalities and I'm excited to learn more.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve but thats the same for all software. The basics at first is all you will need.

Vendor response

Thanks Chris, we think our support team is pretty fantastic too!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Next Generation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Choosing Zen Planner to partner with us in growing our business, was one of the best decision we have made to date. Their website design has contributed to 90% of our current clientele. They are a team of professionals representing their brand extremely well.

Pros

1) Ease of use; 2) Customizability; 3) Professional; 4) Excellent customer support.

Cons

1) Features to engage individual athletes.

Vendor response

Thank you for the kind words, Abraham! We are happy that our website is helping to grow your business and I will pass along your review to the website design team!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Email and client tracking features awesome

Reviewed 4 years ago

it's incredible. I just wish a few things would get developed faster.

Pros

the ability to track measurements and workouts. Open source filtering of reports. ability to email groups from the app.

Cons

Impossible to get Zen Planner to change to things that should be easy, and that Mindbody Online does way better, like segmenting locations into different accounts, ability to edit payroll after the period is closed, ability to hide team payroll from all employees (seriously?!), ability to create a widget for a different locations, ability to allow clients to enroll in events without having to scroll down to the bottom of a membership purchase screen. When Zen Planner makes platform changes, they can cause a lot of work on the user end while they work out the bugs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

You can't beat their support team!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am love the people at ZP. There isn't one person I've come in contact with that hasn't been helpful, positive, encouraging, understanding and cheerful. I went to their office because I was starting a new program and wanted help with the set up of the program and the membership. They set me up with one person to be my helper that day. Now what company will do that? I can tell you that no other software company I've used would've offered me that. Also, love the Zen Academy. I learned about so many more things the software could do for me that I wasn't either using or doing in a google spreadsheet . So now ZP is helping me save more precious time and I'm learning more about my business in the process. Thank you reports and automations!

Pros

Honestly, their customer support! However, I don't have to call often as the on boarding team set me up wonderfully to begin with. But the support articles answer almost all my questions so I don't have to call. I am a small studio and don't have a front desk staff but ZP does it all for me (well, allows my clients to do it all for me). It is super easy to use on all fronts.

Cons

I have't run into anything that I don't like. I use ZP on my laptop in a web browser and I've found it confusing to try the staff app on my phone or tablet. This old dog struggles with learning new tricks :) So we can't blame ZP for that.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback, Kim!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Game changer

Reviewed 2 years ago

Just amazing! I truly have been very excited with this software and I enjoy interacting with it in a daily basis.

Pros

What I liked most about this software was the amount of things that it can do to not only help manage the numbers but keep the clients engaged and happy. I am also always amazed by the competence of the customer support team who I have called several times with questions I thought would be complicated but were not to them! I really appreciate this software and I really think my customers do again. I would recommend to anybody in the martial arts industry!

Cons

I couldn't think of anything in particular that I didn't like but if I had to say something it would be that I wish it would be more engaging with my actual website. The thing is that it probably can, I just don't know how to yet.

Vendor response

Thank you Ricky!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Good for very simple gym businesses, bad for everything else.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

ZP lets us schedule and bill clients in one place. It spits out reasonably useful accounting summaries and can handle some email automations.

Cons

This software is the worst part of my job. Do not be fooled by their slick sales staff: this cannot perform most of the functions advertised. It can, but only in a perfect world where you gym runs exactly as ZP imagines it. In this imaginary perfect world, you'd need a team of administrators working full-time to keep your database up-to-date and functioning. Our gym runs about 250 sessions...

Vendor response

I¿m sorry to hear your experience with Zen Planner has been less than ideal. We'd like to offer help to ensure your database is set up efficiently and give you a direct point of contact for the issues you have brought to our attention. Please reach out to our retention expert, Nick Deprez at nick.deprez@zenplanner.com, to get set up as your review is anonymous and we are unable to reach you directly. In response to your note about down time: we diligently track the down time of our software and are currently at 99.87% availability. This would not be possible if we were down at the rate you described. I¿ve passed your feedback about our feature compatibility and sales to our Sales Team to review and ensure we maintain transparency and honesty in our sales process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Zen Planner Member App

Reviewed 5 years ago

This app has helped us in so many ways specifically with making it incredibly easy for our members to pre-register for classes, which holds them accountable to showing up. It also allows our community to be even stronger and more recognizable by allowing other members to see who else will be training with them and knowing who will be coaching beforehand. The ZP team has been phenomenal and will help you each step of the way to make your customers experience exceptional. If you haven't tried this app out yet, I'd highly recommend giving it a try!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

It's significantly lacking in options for subscription membership software.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I went through their entire onboarding process and with each session discovered more and more things that did not work. At best they have nice color schemes to pick from... No one's selecting their software for the color schemes, so that is essentially the biggest pro there is to Zenplanner.

Cons

Extremely limited in use. You can't have more than one 'drop-in' on an account, you can't take a deposit for an appointment without becoming a member, you can't attach a waiver to an appointment despite the variety of appointments that may exist from a gym to a yoga studio to all the other 'fitness' businesses they boast being able to manage. You can't have a group membership, therefore every single...

Vendor response

Hi Jenny, I¿m sorry you had a negative experience with our software. We understand that Zen Planner was not a good fit for your business and we typically try to catch this early on in the sales process. Unfortunately, this did not happen in your situation but we will take this feedback and use it in future trainings. As for the charge for the additional month, the terms you signed requires a 30 day notice before cancellation, no matter the circumstance. Thanks again and best of luck!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Go elsewhere

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

At first the software fit most criteria's that our business needed. They had great integration to our existing merchant. Great membership customization, billing, customizable charts, and belt promotion system.

Cons

Software had a bland, early 2000's look to it UI. Very outdated. Our member's portal lacked tons a features and many of our members disliked having to go into their app to setup or alter anything. Signing up a new student or trial lesson through the tablet was a mess. It lacks customization and the overall UI would not work well with our tablets. We reverted back to having our student's sign up on...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Zen Planner logo

Zen Planner

Poor Tech Support during COVID-19 Crisis

Reviewed a year ago

Up until the COVID-19 crisis, we were big fans of ZP. However, since the crisis began their Tech Support team has been dismissive and unhelpful. This comes at a particularly bad time for us because we are building a new website and our web designer needed to have a phone conversation with a "live" staff member. ZP has refused to do so, which leaves us in a very had position because our designer could...

Pros

Zen Planner is intuitive and easy to navigate. Prior to the COVID-19 crisis, it's Tech Support staff were professional, knowledgeable, friendly and available by phone from Monday to Friday. We were generally able to get through to Tech Support within 2 days.

Cons

Before COVID-19, we probably called ZP's Tech Support once or twice a week. beginning on or about March 16, 2020 it became impossible to reach Tech Support. We're currently encountering the following Tech Support experience challenges from ZP: (1) We have a question or problem and call ZP Tech Support. We wait on hold for 10 or 15 minutes. A recorded message instructs us to leave a voice message and ZP will call us back. (2) ZP does not call us back. (3) We email ZP with our request, but ZP’s email response is never fast enough to be of use. Then, when we finally get an email answer, it is often unresponsive.