4 min read
Jul 21, 2021
Tech 101

How To Delete a YouTube Channel in Under Five Minutes

Deleting a YouTube channel may seem like a challenge if you don’t know where to begin. We break down the steps and make the process easy for you.

C.C.
Collin CoueySenior Content Writer

Whether it’s because you have multiple YouTube channels, have a few old unwatched videos, or want to start fresh to rebrand and refocus your content, deleting your YouTube channel is quick and painless. We’re here to show you how to do it in five easy steps—all under five minutes.

And if you’re more of a visual learner, we have step-by-step instructions with screenshots included.

Step #1: Sign into your YouTube account

The first step is simple: Open YouTube, and click the "Sign In" button in either the top right or middle left of the YouTube homepage to access the YouTube account you want to delete.

A screenshot of the sign-in buttons on YouTube's homepage

A screenshot of the sign-in buttons on YouTube's homepage

Step #2: Go to your YouTube account’s advanced settings

Once you’ve signed in, click on your profile icon in the top right corner. You’ll find the “Settings” tab toward the bottom of the dropdown menu. Click on it to move to the next page.

A screenshot of how to get to YouTube's account settings

A screenshot of how to get to YouTube's account settings

You’ll land on a page with a variety of account options on the left hand side; these are your YouTube account settings. Find the “Advanced settings” tab, and click it.

On this page, you can also create a new channel and manage billing and payments.

A screenshot of how to get to YouTube's advanced account settings

A screenshot of how to get to YouTube's advanced account settings

Step #3: Delete your YouTube channel

On the advanced settings page, you’ll find the “Delete channel” button toward the bottom. If you’re worried that deleting your YouTube channel will also delete the Google account that’s connected to the channel, don’t be. Deleting your YouTube account won’t delete your Google account.

A screenshot of where to click to delete your YouTube account and channel

A screenshot of where to click to delete your YouTube account and channel

On clicking “Delete channel,” you’ll be prompted to reenter your login information to verify you’re the rightful owner of the account.

A screenshot of the YouTube verification page

A screenshot of the YouTube verification page

Step #4: Choose how you want to remove your YouTube content

After you’ve verified that you are, in fact, you, you’ll land on a screen that has two drop-down options: “I want to hide my channel” and “I want to permanently delete my content.”

Hiding your channel will more or less deactivate your account. Your channel name, videos, likes, subscriptions, and subscribers will all be made private. If you want to go on a hiatus or make your content private without permanently deleting your YouTube channel, hide your channel. You also have an option to reverse this choice and reactivate your YouTube account at any time.

If you’re ready to make a complete break, delete your account. This means your entire channel name, URL, playlist, videos, likes, subscriptions, and comments will be permanently removed from YouTube.

A screenshot of YouTube's hide or delete content page

A screenshot of YouTube's hide or delete content page

Step #5: Confirm and permanently delete your YouTube channel

On clicking “I want to permanently delete my content,” you’ll get a drop-down menu with more information. Simply check both the boxes to confirm you’re deleting everything. Essentially, YouTube is making sure you understand you’ll be permanently losing all of your YouTube channel history, including comments, replies, search and watch history, and paid subscriptions.

A screenshot of the confirmation page for deleting your YouTube content

A screenshot of the confirmation page for deleting your YouTube content

If that’s what you want, check both the boxes and then click “Delete my content,” and just like that, you’re done. YouTube knows you want to delete your YouTube account and all the content associated with it, so you’ll be marked for deletion.

Don’t worry if it doesn’t happen immediately; it can sometimes take a few hours or even a day or two for your channel to disappear completely.

You’ve successfully deleted your YouTube account and channel

Congratulations! In under five minutes, you’ve successfully removed all of the content on your YouTube channel and are ready to start fresh. And don’t worry, you can still watch any and all YouTube videos you want because you don’t need a YouTube account to watch them.

Thinking about making YouTube content?

Check out these free video making software and video editing software options to create and edit YouTube video content. Compare multiple tools on functionality and usability, and read reviews from real users like you.

Back to top