Aloha Reviews

Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

4.24/5 (41 reviews)

Brian Hudson

Make your F&B ePOS work for you the easy way

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-27
Review Source: Capterra

Put it this way: when I would go to interview here and there for management positions in restaurants, one of the first things I'd do is steal a quick glance around to see what ePOS was in use. When I would see Aloha, it was an immediate sense of relief. They are just so easy to learn and use. So much so that I dare say it will still help you save money even if you are replacing an old, paid-off system that did get the job done (kind of). For example, I cannot tell you how many nights I have spent, exhausted after a crazy shift with a arbitrary ePOS and a crying server or bartender because their checkout got butchered by some mistake, then the attempted "fix" didn't have the intended effect, then the fix to fix the fix went haywire - that won't happen anymore. Aloha will simply the process for your staff = reduced training hours, far fewer incorrect orders sent to the kitchen, less servers running to the expo to rattle off what they "actually meant" when they tried to use archaic codes to modify an item, less food coming back to the kitchen because it isn't right, easy checkout that does fabulous things like letting an admin level user undo things like erroneously split tables or incorrect payments assigned to incorrect seat numbers, and I haven't even gotten to it's back-of-the-house superiority. You can get any report generated to show you just about any piece of information you would like about your business, as the system is easily customizable for your needs.

Pros
I have worked in restaurant management across the world, and have encountered various ePOS systems that do the job but that's about it. Aloha is not one of those. You could quit literally sit someone down in front of it and in 5 minutes they'll know the basics, 10 minutes they will be able to enter more complex orders and complex checkouts (e.g. split checks, etc.), and in 30 minutes they could be capable of programming your entire business into it from scratch and running any report you could want. A la iPhone. It really is that simple to use.

Cons
Like any computer, terminals can sometimes get glitchy and must be rebooted, but impatient folk servers and managers alike may start thumping on the screen with their pens, fingernails, etc, and after awhile it will take a toll on the touchscreen. But I've experienced this in $10mln/yr volume restaurants when they are under heavy use, not $2mln/yr volume businesses.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Anthony Oriente

If you are in the service industry, Aloha is the way to go!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-18
Review Source: Capterra

I use aloha everyday as a server, I have been in the industry for ten years, I know what I like in a POS system. Aloha is the most user friendly POS, I have ever worked with. With the use of aloha and it being a pretty intuitive system, I have managed to save our restaurant a lot of money by not making unnecessary mistakes(not wasting food, because you forgot to have the pepperoni taken off). Aloha gives you a quick, more efficient tool to manage the chaos that can occur in restaurants daily. Aloha allows you to accomplish more with a less restrictive process than others. I honestly never want to work at another service industry that does not use Aloha software for it's point of sale business needs. It helps save your users time, It is a RELIABLE and CONSISTENT system that stays online, especially for those inclement weather situations.

Pros
The versatility of the system itself, most of the systems I have worked with in the past seemed archaic compared to Aloha. It was an eye opening experience to have a fully customizable order selection process, you are able to easily remove certain components of transaction. You can customize your buttons and your system freely, allowing you to develop a style that would suit yourself and your workers. System is easily integrated into even older model systems(that can handle it), as well as set-up through newer model systems. This product lets the users control and compile data in a much more efficient manner than most systems. Aloha also allows you to take a large check with multiple payments,as long as the software was used correctly will cut down this process and do most of the legwork for you. For instance, you have a table of ten guests and they have spent about two thousand dollars on a family dinner. Everyone loses track of time and need their checks quickly. NO PROBLEM. As long as you processed the information correctly on your end, you have just a matter of a few clicks and personal receipts for each person will print out. A lot of systems I have used in the past do not have the functionality we need in 2019.

Cons
Customer service was a little unreliable at times, and the general technical knowledge on their customer service end was limited. Waiting for a certified tech to come look at your system, if not done that day, would impact the businesses functions during that downtime.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Anonymous

Great features, Difficult Access

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-15
Review Source: Capterra

My restaurant first opened using the RPower POS system. It worked well for a while, but as we grew busier it became apparent that modifications, and edits to orders were taking much too long, and felt very clunky. I think that Aloha gives servers the ability to streamline their orders and as they become more comfortable with the system they can become quite speedy. Overall Aloha is the best POS system that I have used so far, but nothing is perfect.

Pros
I believe that Aloha gives the user more abilities in the front of the house than most POS systems I have used. The ability to highlight multiple items at once and duplicate/delete is a great feature not found in other systems. I also enjoy the overall lay out of the buttons, as far as having space between each button (which makes it easier for touch screen use), and the ability to add as many different sub menus at desired.

Cons
I wish that there was a way to customize the color of the buttons. When this system is implemented in busy restaurants (which is my experience with it) color coding different things such as ingredient/sauces/allergies could make the adjustment period for new servers much quicker, and cut down on the amount of time spent searching for certain things in the menus. I also feel like the strength of Aloha is in its day to day use. When using the master computer to try and revamp, or set up new menu items in the office the process is far from intuitive, and takes a long time to become proficient in. Maybe if there was a 'helpful hints' type feature for new user that would be a great addition.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Roscoe Skipper

Good but probably outdated

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-14
Review Source: Capterra

Loved East Bay Cash Register who sold me two systems, but now that NCR manages them, it’s over. Bye

Pros
Easy for waiters to use. Reports are easy to read. The hardware is fairly robust, purpose built.

Cons
Service once was wonderful, but since NCR bought them a couple of years ago it’s a cluster fuck. Initial support is routed to India where you’re on hold for 10 - 20 minutes, to talk to someone whose only solution is to reboot, which of course we’ve already done. Then they can only “escalate” which means it gets routed to another idiot in India who calls you back in a couple of days to tell you to reboot the system. Then it gets escalated again and in a week you get a call from the local office who fixes it in 5 min. And they only in the last few months have developed chip readers, which without it, requires you take a 300 question PCI compliance exam every 6 months, only to fail because you don’t have a chip reader, then you have to apply for an exemption which you always get, but still, hours of work because no chip reader. Loved my local office who sold me the machine, can’t do it again though.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Eric Wood

Aloha is the best POS system we have used to operate our restaurant

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-12
Review Source: Capterra

We have used 3 different POS systems and overall found Aloha to be the most compatible for our restaurant.

Pros
This is the most user-friendly POS we have used in the restaurant The back office is very easy to use for reports, inventory control and POS terminal maintenance Aloha also has a direct affect on our customers. Our staff finds it easy to use and they spend less time learning and more time providing the best customer service experience.

Cons
This was the most expensive POS we have purchased at our restaurant. If our POS terminals go down it tends to take some time for replacement

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Maggie Warren

Aloha for Restaurants

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I love how easy it is to set up the POS to completely mirror your menu, making it more user friendly for the staff. I also like that it can be set up with your back office software to pull real time numbers and real time inventory, keeping everything much cleaner and streamlined.

Cons
Sometimes there are weird little quirks with giftcards, both selling and redeeming. I also wish it was easier to locate a previous transaction by the last 4 digits of a credit card number.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Cate Larsen

Aloha from Oklahoma!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-26
Review Source: Capterra

With a long history in the restaurant industry I have worked with my fair share of POS systems. Squirrel and Square being the most recent and relevant competitors. Aloha is by far the superior product in my opinion. The ease of use as far as setting up table and table numbers, server log-ins, adjusting orders, etc. The cross-platform functionality allows me to easily adjust menu items, their location within the system, and price from my computer without having to stand at a POS terminal. The ability to set and manage permissions such as voiding transactions or deleting entrees from tickets while somewhat tricky at first (shows a permission is in place but card or number fails to work at actual POS terminal until usually the next 24 hours) has helped to minimize loss by reducing the number of voided tickets or entrees.

Pros
Ease of use, functionality, cross-platform ability makes things simple.

Cons
Managing permissions can be somewhat tricky.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Anonymous

Great software for restaurants!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

Aloha is a great POS for restaurants, I think it can be used for restaurants of all sizes. We were able to manage a high volume with the software. I was really happy with it and would definitely use it again.

Pros
It was easy to use and setup all of the different variations for the restaurant food items. It was also easy to use from a management perspective, track per person average sales, etc.

Cons
Nothing comes to mind, it was a great software at the restaurant and easy to train employees on.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Tyler Broucek

Aloha Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
This is a very reliable POS system. They've been a mainstay forever. It remains easy to use on the server/bartender side.

Cons
The difficulty of this system is on the manager/owner side. Because this system is not cloud based, there is a big lack of functionality, especially not being able to view the daily restaurant performance while away from the location. In order to change items in the system, the entire system has to be re-booted, which is not ideal during service. Reporting is hard to use and requires a time commitment to get the reports you need. At times, it can be "clunky".

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Anonymous

A little outdated, but gets the job done

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-23
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Aloha for the past 10 years. Although the software serves it purpose well, I do feel like newer technology is coming out that has already surpassed Aloha.

Pros
The software is easy to learn and the interface is simple and straightforward.

Cons
The system seemed to need rebooting quite often in the middle of a shift which would be frustrating for our restaurants team members who needed to ring up items on the Aloha terminal.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Niklaus Kohlmeier

Leader for a reason

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-16
Review Source: Capterra

The reporting and back-end functions are easy to learn compared to other programs. Servers love how simple it is to use and learn. It's the fastest for ordering food I've come across.

Pros
Visually appealing and powerful. Aloha makes ordering items easy and it's also the easiest POS, I've worked with, to modify items.

Cons
The ability to transfer checks between staff could be easier. Most places don't do that often, but others do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Patience Vernon

Aloha for everyone

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-05
Review Source: Capterra

I would say it takes effort and time to learn. It’s great for a location that has a lot of items to place in the system. Not my favorite but manageable.

Pros
I like that this is a software that you can scale with. It’s durable and can be implemented if you have many locations.

Cons
If you have issues there is an aloha software man that will come out- you can’t troubleshoot yourself. Sometimes leaving you down a few computers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 3/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Alexandra Castro

Hello Aloha!!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
If you are in the resturant industry you need to use Aloha for your POS. It is easy to use, gives you the lay out of the resturant and is easy to add items or change information in the system. It does a great job keeping track of orders and tables.

Cons
It has shutdown before and caused panic, but if it's not as easy fix, someone is always out to fix the system super quick!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Kristen Hollingsworth

You can’t go wrong with Aloha

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-30
Review Source: Capterra

Easy from step 1. Training was simple and implementation was also easy.

Pros
Aloha is easygoing use. Aloha has above average customer service. The design is intuitive making it simple to figure out on your own.

Cons
The stock background colors were not great, however, they were easy to change and customize. Pricing is high

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Ben Adams

Aloha

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-08
Review Source: Capterra

I had a good experience with aloha. Very user friendly and easy to use.

Pros
Very user friendly, very easy to train new staff. Support is easy and generally quick to fix any problems that arise.

Cons
I really didn’t have any major issues with the software. Nothing to complain about. All problems were fixed quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Karli Thornton

Bartending Software Experience

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-21
Review Source: Capterra

Great. Would highly recommend for any business because of how easy it was to navigate and teach to others.

Pros
Easy to use and to access various categories of drinks and food. This software was also easy to input information and specific discounts into for the bar.

Cons
Sometimes it was difficult to go back on the menu. The order might have had to be restarted if you were looking to return to a different page.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Disa Griffin

I Love Aloha

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-18
Review Source: Capterra

shorter wait times and better table turnover

Pros
this was the easiest system i have ever used for ordering foods, payments, reservations, inventory etc

Cons
the customer service was a bit shotty in the beginning often taking hours to respond

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Shelly Kentner

One of the best in the business.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
After being in the food and beverage industry for over a decade Aloha is known as being one of the best ones on the market. As a user it simplifies everything. With innovative features on splitting checks and opening tabs it really helps production time in any restaurant.

Cons
The only problem is with so many other options out there on the market Aloha has failed to lower their prices to be more competitive. Maybe that’s due to them knowing they’re the best. If you can afford it then I would highly recommend the investment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Jennifer Moon

Simple

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-07
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience on front and back of the house. Easily read reporting.

Pros
Easy to use software, well designed, easily navigating through menu options and modifiers.

Cons
No longer partnered with Radiant Hardware.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Courtney Farmer

Orders in, Reports Out

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-17
Review Source: Capterra

I liked but didnt love the more than acceptable software for orders in resteraunts I have worked at.

Pros
The system can be easily learned and training is a breeze. The software does everything you need a resteraunt software to do and pretty quickly.

Cons
The menu inputting system might be improved upon and easily adapted to how the servers want to use it the quickest.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Anonymous

Great Price for a Restaurant starting out

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

I'd recommend it for a restaurant or bar.

Pros
This is an easy to use and update POS for any restaurant. I have used it in the past and it is easy to separate checks, open tabs, and run reports. Everything is simple and straightforward.

Cons
Some items are a bit out of date and I hope they fix that in newer updates to the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Anonymous

Good Restaurant POS

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Has the features you need, good organization and UI.

Cons
It can take a bit of time to learn your way around it, but that's the case with any new POS.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Lisa Auzat

It was good but could be better

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Fairly simple operations, things made sense while they were on the different pages.

Cons
So many pages, only one way to get to specific pages.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Anonymous

Glitchy

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like that the menu items are easy to modify before sending them back to the kitchen. I also like that you can see the exact layout of the tables from the screen rather than just a list of numbers.

Cons
The software freezes or goes down way too frequently.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

Laura Robinson-Rodriguez

Aloha

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use. Many options available with routing.

Cons
Crashes. Seems to crash often and needs refreshed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses