All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

Appetize Reviews

Reviews Summary

Pros

It is a fantastic piece of software, and the hardware is easy to install and implement. The account managers are passionate and hardworking.

Jacqlyn R.

Read the full review
Ease in implementation and Great communication with support.

Greg P.

Read the full review
Appetize is a fun company to work for. The software is generally easy to use.

Casey S.

Read the full review

Cons

We used to enjoy this job and now we dread coming to work. We have had servers crying with frustration.

Be M.

Read the full review
We have very specific reporting needs, because of the nature of our event, and sometimes we struggle a bit with that.

Kelsey C.

Read the full review
THE SYSTEM IS THE PROBLEM. We have a 7 year veteran employee and others who are seriously considering quitting over this POS.

Be M.

Read the full review

Overall rating

4.0

(13)

5

4

3

2

1

5

5

2

0

1

77%
positive reviews
92%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


13 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Appetize Point of Sale Reviews

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall, we truly enjoy working with Appetize and we love the support teams/people that we have had on site during our events. They are knowledgeable and willing to do anything to help us. The POS registers are functional and for the most part, easy to use, which we like.

Pros

We love the fact that the front end of the software is so user friendly and easy for our vendors to use. It is straightforward, simple, and clean. Makes training new vendors pretty painless.

Cons

I would say the thing we like least is that some of the back end reporting isn't always exactly what we are looking for. We have very specific reporting needs, because of the nature of our event, and sometimes we struggle a bit with that. The support team is great though, and have worked with us on trying to customize or build reports that fit our needs. Is a long process, because we do things a little funky at our venue, but they are willing to listen to our needs and try to find solutions that will work for us.

Vendor response

Hi Kelsey, Thanks so much for your feedback! We're thrilled you find our platform straightforward, simple and clean and easy for your vendors. Sorry to hear you experienced some issues with reporting, though we know you've been in touch with our customer support staff who are helping you customize the back-end. Our priority is to exceed expectations for our customers, and we hope you continue to have the best experience possible, so feel free to reach out to us at support@appetize.com if you need further assistance. We want to ensure you have the best possible experience with our product. Thanks so much, Appetize

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Beast POS for quick large scale deployment and professional results

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall, Appetize is a great POS system that gets you a lot of bang for your buck. With its ease of deployment, it enables customers to professionalize previously outdated cash registers. As a newer option in POS world, it doesn't yet provide all the bells and whistles that the most complicated operations might require, but they have made impressive strides already (with big things in the works already) and can handle most food and beverage POS needs for less initial investment of time and money.

Pros

Appetize is way easier to setup than similar POS systems. The software is intuitive and quick to master and the hardware options make planning large deployments much easier.

Cons

Because Appetize software runs on lots of different hardware platforms customers often use the most cost effective solutions rather than the hardware they actually need. If you buy the cheapest hardware that Appetize will run on, it may have issues. If you do buy the more expensive hardware, you instead have to worry about securing that hardware itself. IPads run Appetize really well, but you cannot always just hand them out like candy to seasonal staff.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Recommend for quick service restaurants

Reviewed 5 months ago

Appetize is a fun company to work for. The software is generally easy to use. I’ve never ran into an issue that didn’t have a reasonable/temporary work around. It seems that with every new version that is released a problem is solved but a new problem is created. From what I can tell they have a team that isn’t always on the same page but they care about their clients and creating a positive experience for the fans/customers. I personally have been treated well and can say I’ve enjoyed my overall experience with Appetize.

Pros

User experience is smooth. Generally easy to set up. GUI is aesthetically pleasing. Deploys and scales well.

Cons

There are issues with third party interfaces (gift cards, loaded value, student dining, etc). Restaurant/table service mode is sub standard mostly due to lack of check sync. I’ve heard from numerous Appetize associates that the reporting cannot be trusted. There are numerous issues with the KDS not limited to the device’s network card dropping its IP address when the printer runs out of paper.

Vendor response

Hi Casey, Thanks so much for your feedback! It's great that you find the user experience smooth and easy to set up, though we're sorry to hear you've experienced a few challenges, like third-party interfaces and issues with KDS. We continually upgrade our software to improve our platform for users, so feel free to reach out to us at support@appetize.com if the issues have not been fixed. Our priority is working with our customers to exceed expectations, and we want to ensure you have the best experience possible with our product. Thanks so much, Appetize

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great front-end product, a little more difficult to administer. On-site support Team outstanding!

Reviewed 5 months ago

Our salesman was outstanding. As often happens, once the technical team gets involved the salesman's promises are not quite as expected. Overall it is a very good product, but the back end reporting really needs attention. When you hear the support staff say 'I have been asking for that to get corrected for a few years', that is not a good indicator of a company's product support. I believe because Appetize grew so fast, they put all their efforts into R&D (and making the sale), and too little focus on supporting the product and fixing known issues. On-site support is so expensive, but they are outstanding.

Pros

Appetize is a very user-friendly product, making it easy to train employees. The option to add photo of items makes it even easier for for those operating the equipment.

Cons

Reports, they are inconsistent and not all are accurate. Takes so long to get a report changed or corrected. Absolutely the number one complaint. Also the cost of proprietary equipment is just too high.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Peace of mind with Appetize

Reviewed 5 months ago

Stable environment and just works. Easy to implement and train staff that are constantly turning over. Less headaches than pervious POS solutions, I don't even know the Appetize support phone number because I really haven't had to use it!

Pros

Ease of use Simple to use, training part time staff Faster transaction times Great hardware solutions Solves all my problems!

Cons

I couldn't move to this product sooner!

Vendor response

Hi Doug, Thanks so much for your feedback! We're thrilled you find our platform simple to use and are experiencing faster transaction times and great hardware solutions. Our priority is to exceed expectations for our customers, and we hope you continue to have the best experience possible. Don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything from us! Thanks so much, Appetize

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Don't buy this product

Reviewed 2 years ago

This is causing problems, not solving them. This system has turned a fun job into a nightmare of stress and has cost several of us money. These guys seriously have no idea how much suffering they have caused us. we used to enjoy this job and now we dread coming to work. We have had servers crying with frustration. IT'S NOT ABOUT ADJUSTING TO A NEW SYSTEM. THE SYSTEM IS THE PROBLEM. We have a 7 year veteran employee and others who are seriously considering quitting over this POS. I know a lot of people in the biz, and I will actively make sure no one I know gets appetize. I wouldn't wish this on anyone.

Pros

Nothing. Literally nothing. Nothing. Nothing.

Cons

Instead of making my job easier, the system is an encumbrance, making my job harder, slowing me down, which costs me money. it lacks the speed and functionality of our previous system, versitouch, that ran on windows 97. Whoever designed it, has ckearly never worked in this industry. Despite their claims, there is no way to do basic restaurant functions like splitting checks, transferring checks...

Vendor response

Hi Be, I believe one of our Client Success Managers has already reached out to you, but if you have yet to hear from us, please email me directly at marketing@appetizeapp.com

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

POS Perspective

Reviewed 5 months ago

While supporting the software I deal mostly with user questions due to missing training. During live, I have had to deal with terminals going off line and, credit card reading errors. After live I have found a few transactions that were declined but the system has allowed the sale to go through.

Pros

The software is quite easy to pick up and, easy to train. It works very well in a high volume stadium setting

Cons

I think Credit Card services could be more consistent. I have seen many transactions go through only to be declined upon settlement

Vendor response

Hi Robert, Thanks so much for your feedback! It's great that you find our software easy to pick-up and train staff, though we're sorry to hear you experienced some inconsistency with credit card errors. Our system settles instantly and will give a decline notice if the card has issues, and our offline mode assumes declines will occur with certain configuration settings. Please reach out to us at support@appetize.com if you are still experiencing challenges. We'd love to help you sort this out. Our priority is working with our customers to exceed expectations, and we want to ensure you have the best experience possible with our product. Thanks so much, Appetize

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

#1 Concession and QSR choice

Reviewed 5 months ago

Great company to partner with - will work on integrating and partnering much easier than Oracle or NCR.

Pros

Ease of installation, design, and ease of use.

Cons

Does not adapt well in a table-service setting.

Vendor response

Hi Giles, Thanks so much for your feedback! We're thrilled you use our platform and find our support superior to competitors. Sorry to hear you experienced some issues with adapting well in a table-service setting. Our priority is to exceed expectations for our customers, so feel free to reach out to us at support@appetize.com if you're still experiencing challenges. We want to ensure you have the best possible experience with our product. Thanks so much, Appetize

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall a good system

Reviewed 5 months ago

The people at Appetize are really great to work with and have a lot of experience in our industry. The software is well suited for concessions and in seat service. Overall it's a good system.

Pros

It is easy to use for most front end users

Cons

Some lack of full service bar and restaurant features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

appitize

Reviewed 5 months ago

did the job it was asked to do

Pros

very easy to use and quick to learn. Implementd easily

Cons

Had no issue with product. It was easy to set up

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great upgrade!

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

User friendly. User can self adjust menu items on their screen to their own preference and/or ease.

Cons

Set-up: Printer cable is hard to attach/detach. Software can be slow upon installation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Right tool for today’s business

Reviewed 5 months ago

Great product great people

Pros

Ease in implementation and Great communication with support.

Cons

nothing really, navigating back office can get tedious

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appetize Review

Reviewed 5 months ago

It is a fantastic piece of software, and the hardware is easy to install and implement. The account managers are passionate and hardworking. The channels of communication are clear and helpful.

Pros

It's intuitive, easy to navigate, and it is clear that the Appetize team has a sharp eye for user experience and design.

Cons

It freezes and often reboots itself without being prompted.

Select your country

© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetApp® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.