CAKE Pricing Plan & Cost Guide

CAKE

Online Point of Sale (POS) software solution for restaurants

4.6/5 (372 reviews)

CAKE Pricing

Starting from: $69.00/month

Pricing model: One Time License, Subscription

CAKE Point of Sale: as low as $69 per month
CAKE Guest Manager: $199 Activation fee, $79 per month
CAKE Online Ordering: $49 per month, 5% processing fee per order

Competitors Pricing

Squire

Starting from: 100.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

RentGuruz

Starting from: 50.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

POMeSYS-Host

Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

ABS

Starting from: 1500.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription

Perfect Fit

Starting from: 150.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription

CAKE Pricing Reviews

Pros
  • The support is wonderful and I can not say enough how nice it is to use CAKE payments for credit card processing and have everything under one system with easy to use reports.Bridget B.Read the full review
  • I like that it is very user friendly, employees catch on quick, and I like the reports where you can see what are your best sellers etc. I think it looks nice at the counter.Toni C.Read the full review
  • It kept track of everything and generated pretty much any report that you could have wanted. I also liked the rate for CC purchases and customer support was outstanding.bryan g.Read the full review
Cons
  • No one is perfect, they all have issue some times but having you losing money is the worst thing a POS system can do and cake is the worst for that.Mikel L.Read the full review
  • Now while many restaurants use Sysco for delivery, they will all tell you that the company itself can drop the ball a lot, and be very costly to your business.Eric F.Read the full review
  • Monitoring table times allowing us to see where weaknesses are. Up to date information regarding the sales, labor and comp, refunds, voids, staff errors.Kristin R.Read the full review
94%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague

25 reviewers had the following to say about CAKE's pricing:

Joseph Colvin

running 85 seat cafe

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-12-01
Review Source: Capterra

better control of food and labor cost. able to quickly analyze performance of servers and menu items. cheaper credit terms and I had previously

Pros
user friendly, outstanding customer service. saves money from missed charges tremendous control of monitoring sales avenues and cost control, great having payroll and credit systems all in same unit

Cons
being dependent on system for everything. Restaurant can't function without it now. It does require some employee training but it is more user friendly than any other systems we've used in the past

Response from CAKE from Sysco


CAKE is glad to hear Nothern Pacific Beanery is saving money, controlling costs, and reducing errors with our Point of Sale system. CAKE does so much work at restaurants it does tend to become critical technology. Thank you for choosing CAKE, we¿re happy to make it easy for your restaurant to grow further!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jason Hairr

Great product. Easy to use. Very low tech friendly. Would recommend to anyone. Worth the investment

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-04-27
Review Source: Capterra

Able to make it my own. Able to teach its use quickly to new team members.

Pros
Ease of use and making changes from anywhere anytime. All of people on my team enjoy the simplicity of Cake.

Cons
Cost of course but nothing worth having is cheap. Up front cost was ok for system but think monthly fee could be little less.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thank you for the kind words Jason! We love to hear that you are enjoying the flexibility that comes with CAKE.

We do our best to be competitive on pricing, and we appreciate you seeing the value in your CAKE Point of Sale solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Ed Ziems

Affordable, Effective, and easy to use POS System

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-27
Review Source: Capterra

I got an affordable, and effective solution for my POS system needs. We all have found the menus and programming to be easy

Pros
The price is the most attractive feature, as well as the ease of use. The flexible and affordable monthly payments are nice too.

Cons
Can't use terminal when someone is using the manager functions on other terminal. There are some short delays in running reports at times.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thanks for your review, Ed! We are happy to hear that you are finding a lot of value and ease of use with your CAKE Point of Sale. We appreciate your feedback, I will pass this on to our Product Team. I know we are working on making a few improvements to reporting that will be coming out soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Bryan Hampton

Cake Review

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2020-04-15
Review Source: Capterra

This is my first POS system. I think its expensive but I think the system has help me recover at least part of the cost and now I know a lot more about my restaurant. The tech support team is very good. I have had the system for about 4 months now and I am still learning. I know the software people are in this to make money but for small companies you can't afford the add ons because the cost is too high. They don't explain about the add on pricing up front. I thought time tracking, scheduling and inventory would be standard. Overall I do like the system but I will know what ask and look for when my contract is up.

Pros
- Easy to use - Easy to change the menu - Online ordering is available - Keeps track of items left if I put in the quantity left - Tracks all kinds of things such as discounts, comps, etc. - System was fairly easy to set up - Tech support is very good

Cons
- Online ordering will not let you track the number of items left. If I put on the POS I have 3 special left that won't reflect to my online ordering so I have to manually turn it off. This has been my biggest beef because I have limited items on some things and I can't sell them online because the system can't track how many are left. - Credit Card money is slow to go in, we have not tried paying the extra $25 to make it go in quicker - Very hard to track Credit card money vs credit card sales as they don't have a good balance sheet system. Sales from one day get combined, deposits get combined - Ribbons for the kitchen printers are cheap but have to be changed constantly - Tickets on big orders print very long, would be nice if you could set page breaks for ticket lengths. - Online ordering - customers call all the time about not getting confirmation - To add my own I-pad to the system is a extra monthly cost which is too high - The system was not compatible with my gift cards so I had to buy all new cards and still manually tracking my old cards - They tried to help me with this but my old gift card company would not work with me. - System has many other useful feature that I would like to use but they cost way too much for small business. If they would charge for the use of the software instead of charging for the program it might be more affordable. A store that has 50 employees vs a store with 10 employees have a lot different budgets. -

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review

John Hawley

Switched to this POS 3 years ago, no problems works very well.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Great control over sales value and Items sold reports. Easy to revise/change menu and prices. 3rd party software ShoGo uploads daily sales to Quickbooks Online daily.

Cons
Scheduling and time clock functions are weak. We can't use them. Should be able to clock in and out from a ipad/tablet separate from order pad/register.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


CAKE is glad to hear you're getting great mileage out of CAKE and our partnership with Shogo. We're glad you can change your menus and pricing with ease. We just pushed a CAKE POS update, and we've made it simpler to clock in and out. Thank you for your great review!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Willie Mamud

bad management/rip off

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2020-07-20
Review Source: Software Advice

bad experience, I don't like to partner with cheap company and only can think of how they are going to rip you off.

Pros
Nothing is new all software do the same even better

Cons
Everything is bad, I DIDN'T like anything

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Michael Dovidio

rocky start but overall great investment

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

Menu changes made easily, Very user friendly

Pros
System is very user friendly easy to train new employees, makes menu and price changes very easy, also gives owner many reports to track sales and growth as well as labor cost.

Cons
rewards program is great idea but very basic, either printer does not print red ink even though ribbon is black and red.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thank you Michael for using CAKE for the Chat and Chew Cafe! We¿re glad to learn things have been running smoothly. You should reach out to support@trycake.com for your printer issue, it sounds like you may have a technical issue. We hope CAKE continues to be a great investment, and please do reach out if we can ever improve your experience. Thank you for choosing CAKE.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jared Czachorowski

In the past two years the Cake system has been a great POS option for Crooked Can Brewing Company.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-20
Review Source: Capterra

Benefits of good reporting for sales information as well as employee payroll requirements. Also easy to implement and review product pricing.

Pros
Easy to use and cost effective. I like the flexibility that I can pull up data on my home computer. I can get detailed sales reports by item. I really enjoy the fact that the employees can clock in and clock out on the pos system and it tracks their hours which makes payroll easy. I also like that the employees can enter their tips also making the payroll process work well.

Cons
Would like to get historical reports in sequence and not have to break up. there is currently a past 90 days limit.

Response from CAKE, a Sysco Company


Thank you for sharing your experiences Jared! We are working on improving the functionality of our reports so you can reference past reports more easily. We appreciate your time, thank you for choosing CAKE!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Mustafa Somar

Excellent Service

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-02-08
Review Source: Capterra

As a restaurant software, it still needs more details, but the person who helped us make a decision for cake is awesome, he has been an unbelievable help for us, if it wouldn't be for him, we might have stayed with Aloha; he is definitely an asset to your company.

Pros
price, user friendly, visually pleasant

Cons
software need more details

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thank you for your helpful feedback of CAKE, Mustafa. We do in fact offer line breaks on the kitchen tickets. Please read here for Course Breaks: https://university.cake.net/Point_of_Sale/Daily_Use/Sending_(Firing)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Amy Ouellette

User Friendly

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-05-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to update menu/change buttons/prices

Cons
Discounting item by item. Need to group discount with some items that are a non-discounted item.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thanks, Amy, for your kind review! We pride ourselves on being easy to use and update, we're glad you agree. Thanks for the feedback on discounts, I will share that with the product team. We are always working on making improvements based on customer feedback, thanks for taking the time to let us know how we can improve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

jim jeffryes

Cake...no employee hours reporting

Reviewed 2016-06-13
Review Source: Capterra

we tried to edit clock-in, clock-out and cannot get there. we do not know who is on the clock. reporting software to use with our accounting software is very deficient, cannot get the reports that we need to run the business.

Pros
price was great, delivery time was short

Cons
repots are janky and insufficient, not what we need

Response from CAKE from Sysco


CAKE is sorry to hear about your experience. We hear your concerns, and we've used feedback like yours to improve our products. Good luck in your future endeavors, and thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Katherine Denio

We love Cake! We converted from Restaurant Manager 2 years ago and are very satisfied with this POS!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very user friendly Easy to change options Helpful reports Great value for the cost 24 customer support

Cons
Only processes through World Pay (credit card processing) so no freedom to shop for better rates. We also had a few issues at the beginning with freezing up when we were very busy. Issue has not happened lately.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


CAKE is happy to hear White Horse LTD is having a positive experience with CAKE Point of Sale. We strive to offer amazing support and value for all our products, and we're glad this has been your experience. We do offer CAKE Payments with a flat 2.5% fee, which is among the lowest in the industry. If you have more issues with your Point of Sale freezing, please reach out to support@trycake.com to get your issue resolved asap.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Estela Serrano

Excellent product and excellent cake support team

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-05-21
Review Source: Capterra

Quick and easy customer ordering!

Pros
Easy to use, fair service price, reliable company!

Cons
I like everything about this software, have nothing to complain about it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Dareen Nasser

Leapset

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-04-15
Review Source: Capterra

Great

Pros
Ability to change items and prices so easily

Cons
Stuff thT I can’t change and have to have tech put in a ticket

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Marita Cheng

review from Caesar's Chicken

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-08-08
Review Source: Capterra

customer and tech support are good. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is very supportive and patient. 5 stars for him.

Pros
easy to use and pricing at the time was good

Cons
need somemore restaurant feature and more reports. was going to switch because of lack of some of the reports compared to Toast. Only thing is no choice for credit card processor

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Craig Chapman

Cake Point of Sale review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-26
Review Source: Capterra

A good POS system at a good price. Representation and support are outstanding.

Pros
Ease of use. The staff loves it. Team members who have used other POS systems like the ease of use of the CAKE system.

Cons
The systems ability to help with inventory without adding Orca. Spend the money, invest in Orca.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thanks, Craig, for your 5-star review! So easy to use and the staff love it, that's our goal and love to hear that it's helping your business! We appreciate your feedback about inventory - we do provide stock counts but we do suggest that users partner with Orca for full inventory management so it's helpful to hear that you have found that to be valuable to your business. A good POS at a good price - thanks so much for the review and your business, we appreciate you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Danieal Johnson

Great for catering/food small businesses

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-12-23
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to learn and use. Its affordable for me being a small business owner.

Pros
After using the user guide tutorials, they software is very effective in maintaining and upkeeping the daily operations concerning inventory, food cost and inventory; to name a few. The POS is easy to trained to workers. Easy to use and the customer service reps were very patient in explaining how to use or access analysis.

Cons
When there is an update, the POS tends to take a while to adjust to glitches or the new changes. Any issues that have had occurred has been resolved quickly.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Hi there Danieal,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about CAKE.

We pride ourselves on being user-friendly, so we love to hear how easy it was to train your employees.

Definitely glad that CAKE is an effective system for your business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Damian Watson

After 3 years, I would do it all over again!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2021-01-05
Review Source: Capterra

From what we had the daily reporting was cut from about 15-20 minutes to 2-4 minutes. Updating the menu, is simple and the waitstaff no longer has to remember the new pricing. Many reports that I look at regularly, for scheduling, payroll, projecting, etc.

Pros
Saves me money, from mispriced hand written tickets, credit card processing, quick price changes, etc.

Cons
Living on the boarder of Canada, it would be nice to have a currency exchange built into the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jessica Tan

Very user friendly!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-10-11
Review Source: Capterra

We were a start-up, and we chose CAKE because it was affordable and very user-friendly. It was super easy for training our servers and getting our restaurant up and running. Everyone interacting with it has an easy time. We like using it for our time sheets, it's good for basic reporting, and the option for remote access works wonderfully. For the price point, CAKE is a good system to have.

Pros
We were a start-up, and we chose CAKE because it was affordable and very user-friendly. It was super easy for training our servers and getting our restaurant up and running. Everyone interacting with it has an easy time. We like using it for our time sheets, it's good for basic reporting, and the option for remote access works wonderfully. For the price point, CAKE is a good system to have.

Cons
Not the most in depth sysytem for reports but overall great for the price. When setting up menu items the features sometimes take a long time to set up. Overall we have been very happy with cake.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thank you for the great feedback Jessica, we appreciate you taking the time to go in-depth with you experience with CAKE. You can contact support online at support@trycake.com to provide feedback on reporting limitations. We use all customer feedback to improve our products. We're glad CAKE is intuitive, and gives you the freedom to manage your restaurant from anywhere.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Lori Chereek

Overall, my experience with CAKE has been a great one

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-29
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of use. Cut down on time for closing procedures. Immediately goes live with new product or pricing.

Pros
The product is a Huge timesaver for myself and for my staff. We were with Abacus prior to this and it was a nightmare. With Cake everything is right at your finger tips. It has taken so much time off of our daily reporting and closing procedures. Also, Unlike the prior company we were using. There is no longer a wait period for entering new items into the system or updating pricing. So convient!!! We have been using the system now for over 2 years and have been completely happy with the system and the customer service as well.

Cons
There is not much that I dislike about this product. There have been small issues that were immediately taken care of and resolved as quickly as possible. It is a start up company. so there are always going to be some growing pains.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thank you for your awesome review, Lori! CAKE knows issues can happen, but we strive to provide excellent support to get you back up and running. We're happy CAKE makes it easy for 903 Mills Market to do daily reporting and update your prices.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Kirstin Knowles

My Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2020-02-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It is easy to navigate, add items, change prices. very easy for employees to learn to use for placing orders.

Cons
When printing to the kitchen only two colors main course black and modifiers are red, would be nice to have other colors for different modifiers. When printing slip into the kitchen the slips are long so large tables have to be sent back in separate chunks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

James Denman

We absolutely love this system, it's is so easy to use and The functionality is amazing!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the ease of use, the small foot print and most of all the price and financing was affordable and easy! Customers love it, employees love it and I love it. Has a great back office intergeagrion as well. There isn't cords all over the place and the credit processing is built in and lightning quick. The cloud support is top notch as wel

Cons
Only thing I would improve is more area for comments in the order taking menu for deliveries and special instructions

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thank you James! We're glad River Crust Deli is getting so much out of CAKE Point of Sale. We pride ourselves on technology to automate more and more of the multitude of tasks that is running a restaurant everyday. We hear you about adding more comments for delivery and online orders, please stay tuned to future updates.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

konan pi

I have ordered these for all my restaurants and continue to do so. That should speak for itself.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Stability. Ease of use. Customer interface. Cashier interface. Ability to clock in and compliant with CA labor break laws. Ease of setting up. Affordability. Has all the bells and whistles of a really expensive system. Clean and professional appearance. Speed of system. Detailed reporting. Customer service is understandable English speaking and computer proficient.

Cons
Credit card reader is a separate cube, rather than attached to the system. No mobile app ordering system. Rewards system and ability to market to customers is very basic. Gift Cards are limited to single store use.

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Wow, thanks Konan! We¿re happy that you¿re happy.

There¿s always room for improvement, so thank you for your feedback. Just so you know, Gift Cards will be supported for multiple stores later this year.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Teri Hope

Professional and very helpful

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-26
Review Source: Capterra

saves me time, helps with payroll, provides good data

Pros
data rich resource for the store manager and owner - I use the software daily for quick reports and price changes to positively impact our profitability

Cons
The software does not accommodate Apple-pay which is frequently a disappointment to our customers here in Silicon Valley. occasional interruptions in service seems to happen on busy weekends are costly and affect customer service

Response from CAKE from Sysco


CAKE is proud to help Los Gatos serve your customers so you can focus on delivering great coffee to your community. We will have Apple/Android/Samsung pay included in a future hardware release. In the coming months we will be rolling out EMV and production testing our Payment Cube hardware on our legacy POS hardware. The Payment Cube is the hardware with the apple pay capabilities (and EMV).Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback on CAKE.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Joe Ieraci

great product and value compared to other POS systems

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-03-28
Review Source: Capterra

Cake makes the daily changes of specials, inventory, and pricing quick and easy I used to have to google up help for my previous POS(Aloha and Micros) Cake has an efficient help desk and support team

Pros
Ease of use, adding new products, changing prices or items is seamless stock count is quick and painless Changing the floor plan for events or seasonal seating takes minutes

Cons
not able to customize reports chargebacks need better explanations, chargebacks need to give last 4 digits of credit card number for lookup

Response from CAKE from Sysco


Thanks, Joe, for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. Love to hear that you have found CAKE easy to use and making updates has been a breeze! We appreciate your feedback on chargebacks, I'll share this with our product team so they can take this into account.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review