App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

CAKE POS Logo
CAKE POS
4.6
(456)

Write a review

Online Point of Sale (POS) software solution for restaurants

visit website

(4)

CAKE POS Pricing

Pricing overview

Value for money rating

4.5

/5

456

Price starts from

69

Per month

Flat Rate

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Pricing details

CAKE Point of Sale: as low as $69 per month
CAKE Guest Manager: $199 Activation fee, $79 per month
CAKE Online Ordering: $49 per month, 5% processing fee per order

What users say

I love the reports I get when we close so that I can see immediately how we did without going directly into the system. It was worth the money spent.
Easy to use, fair service price, reliable company.

Popular contenders

Price starts from

3500

One-time payment

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

1159

Per year

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

3.99

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

50

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

1

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Reviewers who mentioned pricing said:

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Restaurant POS

Reviewed 2 months ago

It has been a great experience!

Pros

Easy to learn and use; great reports; easily integrates with our Quickbooks software; great price point

Cons

in the beginning I was intimidated that we had to figure everything out on our own. But it was really not hard once I got in to it.!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Value, Function, and Top Notch Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were so thankful at how easy it was to activate online ordering. Our customers feel confident providing their credit card information through a secure system, and we love that we can remove items from the online system from our POS when we run out of a certain special. We appreciate the way the user dashboard online is simple to navigate and provides a clean pie-chart or graph style analysis of our sales, popular items, labor vs. income, etc. Those graphic visuals are invaluable when we are quickly checking in during a busy shift to see where our numbers are. We have a wide range of literacy comfort levels at our restaurant and we feel like our employees are all able to navigate the system easily and effectively. We think that is important from an accessibility standpoint.

Pros

We switched to CAKE from another POS system in 2016, after being in operation for 1.5 years. We have been impressed with the way CAKE constantly tries to provide new features. As a farm-to-table quick-service restaurant, our menu changes weekly and we find it simple and straightforward to make updates each week. Due to COVID-19, we recently activated the online ordering and we believe it has saved...

Cons

We first purchased in Spring 2016. The software felt a little sluggish and honestly, we were not sure if it would easily keep up with our pace. But we have been very impressed with CAKE's constant evaluation and roll-out of new features and integrations--they haven't missed a beat! We don't use all the features yet, but because of the recent success with our online activation, we are now considering...

Vendor response

Thank you Kristin for the detailed review about your experience with CAKE Point of Sale and being a customer since 2016! We're excited to hear that you've had such a great experience so far and we'll definitely forward your suggestions to our product team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Cake Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

This is my first POS system. I think its expensive but I think the system has help me recover at least part of the cost and now I know a lot more about my restaurant. The tech support team is very good. I have had the system for about 4 months now and I am still learning. I know the software people are in this to make money but for small companies you can't afford the add ons because the cost is too high. They don't explain about the add on pricing up front. I thought time tracking, scheduling and inventory would be standard. Overall I do like the system but I will know what ask and look for when my contract is up.

Pros

- Easy to use - Easy to change the menu - Online ordering is available - Keeps track of items left if I put in the quantity left - Tracks all kinds of things such as discounts, comps, etc. - System was fairly easy to set up - Tech support is very good

Cons

- Online ordering will not let you track the number of items left. If I put on the POS I have 3 special left that won't reflect to my online ordering so I have to manually turn it off. This has been my biggest beef because I have limited items on some things and I can't sell them online because the system can't track how many are left. - Credit Card money is slow to go in, we have not tried paying...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cake promises undelivered

Reviewed 3 years ago

While it functions fine for the ordering and set up. The back end portion for controls of labor are not in place. You also do not have a choice on who processes your credit cards. Twice in a month we were delayed credit card processing deposits into our account. While I do believe that it was probably the 3rd parties processing fault we have 7 other locations that have not experienced this problem at all. Maybe its time for Cake to change processors! When you have pending checks to clear and you don't get your planned deposit for your credit card processing it can be stressful day with banking.

Pros

The product was recommended by Sysco. The cost and the features explained was the selling point.

Cons

There is no partnered labor control ap that works with clock in of your employees on the Cake system . With Labor control being one of the largest cost factors and with all the new features that others offer. Cakes only partner is with 7 Shifts and for that you pay a hefty price even to be able to schedule on it. If you have one location maybe you can get by with the old paper schedule but with...

Vendor response

Hi John, thank you for taking some time to leave a candid review. First off, thank you for acknowledging our ease of use by giving us a 5-star on it. With that said, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that the delayed deposit caused. We understand that running multiple restaurants can be stressful enough. Our intention is to make life easier for our operators. As for your concerns in regard to labor control, we have and are making concerted efforts to push features that would be beneficial to our operators. In our 6.28.1 release, we added the feature to prevent early clock-ins from breaks. university.cake.net/s/article/What-s-New-in-6-28-1-0 Although we do not have overtime alerts, we are able to allow automatic clock-out times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cake support and management assistance

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall the system has assisted in staffing better, seeing trends with sales, reports are continuously being improved. Easy to update menu pricing and item changes. Great system for table waits, using text to notify guest table is ready is easier. Monitoring table times allowing us to see where weaknesses are. Up to date information regarding the sales, labor and comp, refunds, voids, staff errors. Everything is in one easy report.

Pros

Easy to use, 24 hour support, customer services is exceptional, constantly working on improving the system and uses the customers feedback in assisting to redesign and implement changes

Cons

With the support team so far away it is sometimes difficult to pin point the base of the system problem. Especially through phone conversations. Recently we had a Pos terminal go and it would enter things units own. It was extremely difficult to capture the incidents while it happened. Sometimes you can't capture the problem through a video or it just would stop when on the phone with support team. The problem went on for a month. Cake was outstanding and replaced the terminal free of charge for a one time customer courtesy.

Vendor response

Hey Kristin, thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our ease of use and we continuously look to improve our Point of Sale, so thanks for noticing! Also, glad to hear that you are putting our Point of Sale and Guest Manager to great use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software! Great Support!! Great System!!!

Reviewed 5 years ago

The efficiency for the staff, which is HUGE!! We are a Family Restaurant, that worked with Carbon Guest checks. We would take an order at the table and run it back to the kitchen, and then move on to the next table. Now, because we use the IPads to take the order, we can go from table to table to take the order, while we are doing that we can have the coffee pot with us, and on the way back to...

Pros

This system has Easy to add & Change Menu Items, which works awesome for our daily specials. It is VERY user friendly & Easy to train any age group. This system works great for reports, menu items such as what you are or are not selling, payroll, ect. I am so glad we chose this System!!

Cons

Cannot adjust the pricing after the order has been sent back to the Kitchen. I also wish there were some things you could have print in a different color that goes back to the kitchen. Our ribbons are red and black, but the printer only prints black. I also wish, there was a different way to have the orders print to the kitchen, but we are working through some of those issues. The cooks have to remember that they have to learn a different way to read the tickets as well. There are a couple of other things, but actually they are being implemented in the near future.

Vendor response

Thank you Carmelle for taking the time to give CAKE such a thorough and glowing review! CAKE Point of Sale does not allow for pricing modification after an order has been placed. We did this to keep cash totals consistent in your inventory - so everything adds up at the end of the day. We hear your requests for different colored ink on your tickets and early this summer we have an update coming out that will allow you to print modifiers in red. Thank you for trusting the Copper Penny Family Restaurant to CAKE Point of Sale, working together just makes cents!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have been very pleased with our experience with Cake, from the employer and employee standpoint.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Before CAKE we were a small mom and pop shop handwriting tickets with no POS system. Having everything handwritten caused issues for cooks and if we were looking for specific item sales, we had to go through every single hand-written ticket to track that kind of data. What attracted me to CAKE was that it was a rental program, so there was not a lot of out of pocket upfront cost, which is really important...

Cons

The updates on the system sometimes catch us by surprise and cause a little bit of confusion for the staff. Most of the updates are very helpful, but a times, they will make a change that does not work for us. Perhaps a little more warning on the changes would help.

Vendor response

CAKE makes technology for independent businesses like yours to get more done with less money, time, and overhead. We're glad to hear that it's invaluable to your pizzeria. The next time you have an item on your wish list, please do reach out, and thank you for choosing CAKE!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

They Give You Choices....Who Doesn't Like Choices?

Reviewed 6 years ago

The highest grade i will ever give a POS system is a 9/10 because there is always something new and innovative that you will be chasing, no matter which system you have. Therefore there is no '10' system. These guys got the 9. They have a nice system, but what i like best, is that they survey their CURRENT customers to find out what they can do better, then make it better. And they give you choices.....who doesn't like choices?!

Pros

Look: Unlike many of the Micros and Aloha-type companies out there, the machine looks modern and even futuristic with the customer touch screen. We demo'd with Revel and their multi-screen set up looks out of place and almost alien-like. What is that? Ease of Use: It has many features that make training a breeze. Training mode, quick search bar for menu items, global modifiers, etc. The screen...

Cons

i must say, the name sounds a bit silly, but does Apple sell Apples? The Support was a bit shaky for a minute but i was told they just added an additional Support department in Texas. Since then, it has been great! I would like to see more from their loyalty program. Support told me this is being upgraded and will be included in an upcoming software update!

Vendor response

Thank you Zick for your thorough and clear enthusiasm for CAKE! We're thrilled to have stood out among so many great options in the POS marketplace, and we'll continue to improve our POS based on what our customers want.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Drastically improved our order efficiency. Responsive Customer Service.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We had a system before CAKE for several years that we couldnt upgrade, which was our biggest issue. It was becoming slower and slower and features werent very robust, even though it was very expensive. CAKE is very responsive from a customer service perspective, and theyre always very helpful. We feel very comfortable calling when we have issues, which dont often come up, whereas before we incurred...

Cons

You have the ability to choose your owner credit card processor, but you have to purchase separate processing hardware. Running cards this way ads a layer of inefficiency to the transaction process, increasing service time.

Vendor response

Thank you for choosing CAKE, Chris! We're excited that you can see increases in tips, and we're thrilled that you're getting the most out of CAKE by using all the features we offer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience with CAKE has been amazing!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like being able to contact technical support or customer service 24/7 and getting a LIVE person right away and I like being able to turn my POS system over to the tech so that they can figure out what my problem is instead of them trying to explain to me how I can fix the problem. It's also nice to be able to see my reports online so that I can keep up with my business while I'm away from my restaurant on a trip. POS systems are expensive and their lease-to-own program allowed us to get a top quality POS system so that we could concentrate our money on buying supplies for the restaurant when we first opened.

Cons

The only complaint that I have about this system is that there are limited options when setting up new employees privileges. I would like to set different privileges for each individual employee instead of the current options of "exempt" or "non-exempt". Sometimes I need to give someone additional privileges but not complete run of the whole system.

Vendor response

CAKE does our best to ensure we deliver great customer service, and we're glad Shrimpy's has had a great experience getting the support you need. Our upcoming update, available to all our customers in the coming months, has a complete revamp of user management, including permissions which should fix this issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Overall, my experience with CAKE has been a great one

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ease of use. Cut down on time for closing procedures. Immediately goes live with new product or pricing.

Pros

The product is a Huge timesaver for myself and for my staff. We were with Abacus prior to this and it was a nightmare. With Cake everything is right at your finger tips. It has taken so much time off of our daily reporting and closing procedures. Also, Unlike the prior company we were using. There is no longer a wait period for entering new items into the system or updating pricing. So convient!!! We have been using the system now for over 2 years and have been completely happy with the system and the customer service as well.

Cons

There is not much that I dislike about this product. There have been small issues that were immediately taken care of and resolved as quickly as possible. It is a start up company. so there are always going to be some growing pains.

Vendor response

Thank you for your awesome review, Lori! CAKE knows issues can happen, but we strive to provide excellent support to get you back up and running. We're happy CAKE makes it easy for 903 Mills Market to do daily reporting and update your prices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Good experience

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We've had CAKE at this restaurant since day one. It's super user friendly and so far very low-maintenance. I love that it's cloud based, so there's no worrying about computers going down or something not booting correctly. The system has the complexity built in but it's also still easy to use. We use sales and labor reports to track item sales, which helps with inventory because it gives a direct shot...

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

CAKE is glad to hear our Point of Sale is robust enough to offer you the features you need, and simple enough to be easy for your staff to use. Inventory tracking and automation is just one way you can save money and time without unnecessary guesswork or expense. Thank you for your great review, and for choosing CAKE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very user friendly!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were a start-up, and we chose CAKE because it was affordable and very user-friendly. It was super easy for training our servers and getting our restaurant up and running. Everyone interacting with it has an easy time. We like using it for our time sheets, it's good for basic reporting, and the option for remote access works wonderfully. For the price point, CAKE is a good system to have.

Pros

We were a start-up, and we chose CAKE because it was affordable and very user-friendly. It was super easy for training our servers and getting our restaurant up and running. Everyone interacting with it has an easy time. We like using it for our time sheets, it's good for basic reporting, and the option for remote access works wonderfully. For the price point, CAKE is a good system to have.

Cons

Not the most in depth sysytem for reports but overall great for the price. When setting up menu items the features sometimes take a long time to set up. Overall we have been very happy with cake.

Vendor response

Thank you for the great feedback Jessica, we appreciate you taking the time to go in-depth with you experience with CAKE. You can contact support online at support@trycake.com to provide feedback on reporting limitations. We use all customer feedback to improve our products. We're glad CAKE is intuitive, and gives you the freedom to manage your restaurant from anywhere.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Prior to CAKE, I just used Square. The two major issues were that it was more expensive for processi

Reviewed 5 years ago

When there is an issue, and it is rare, it is fixed quickly. Could use a merge check feature but I'm sure it's coming soon

Pros

Prior to CAKE, I just used Square. The two major issues were that it was more expensive for processing, and we also had issues with the connection. CAKE is much easier now. We've only had one issue in 18 months and that was on our end. It's definitely made things a lot easier for us, like looking back year over year particular days, so we can see holiday week sales and things like that. For payroll it's all in one place, which we like. It's definitely easy to make any changes to the menu, and it's easier on the staff which makes it faster for the customer. It's just really easy to use and I've recommended it to several other people

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Todd, we¿re glad to hear that Smokin¿ Toad¿s BBQ is having a great experience with CAKE Point of Sale since switching from Square. CAKE is proud to offer one low processing rate that is among the lowest in the industry! CAKE Point of Sale is a robust, stable system so we¿re glad you haven¿t had many issues. If you need faster support, support@trycake.com is always available to answer your questions. We¿ll pass along your merge check feature to development, thank you for taking the time to review CAKE!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cake POS has worked well for us for several years now.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The chief benefit for us was the reduced time in training new employees. Previously, employees had to learn a "short hand" to take orders or make orders, it took quite some time and some never fully became fluent. Interaction with the customer has become more clear, less mistaken orders, etc. Overall, we are happy with this product and would purchase again.

Pros

The menu is easy to edit, training new employees takes much less time than our previous system, no major problems.

Cons

A complete menu change or even price change can be very time consuming. The customer interface can be difficult for some clients to use. If they press the screen and it doesn't register, they'll press harder to no avail. The customer screen seems to like a light touch best.

Vendor response

Thank you Louis for your kind review! We appreciate you being a customer for several years and are happy to hear that training new employees and customer interactions are much improved. As for menu changes and the customer display, I'll make sure to share that feedback with our Product Team as we are always working on improvements to our products.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We've been using CAKE since we opened two years ago and it has been a great asset to our business.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Accurate business analysis and efficiency for serving staff.

Pros

Everything! This POS is user friends for all levels of employees from servers to managers. It is very intuitive and allows for easy corrections to common errors. The training mode is wonderful for new employees, and the visual seating map is a life saver. As a manager, the selection of Reports is phenomenal. I am able to compare sales, cost and labor day to day, month to month or year to year. Conducting monthly payroll is very easy due to the Time Clock reports that include Breaks, Meals and Individual Tips. Although this CAKE is simple in some ways, it is comprehensive in others. I know that we still have a long way to go before we truly understand the scope of this products versatility and usefulness, but we are always coming across new applications for this POS everyday.

Cons

So far the Cons are very limited. In some areas it is very specific and if an items is not set up properly, it can effect our efficiency in getting out proper products or printer accurate receipts. So far that is the only thing we have had to be very aware of.

Vendor response

CAKE is glad to hear Garibaldi Portside Bistro sees CAKE as a great asset to your restaurant. Our Point of Sale makes it easy for you to train new employees, view vital reports, and keep track of monthly payroll. We encourage you to reach out to support@trycake.com to get technical support to troubleshoot your printer issue. Thank you for your excellent review of CAKE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very helpful Staff and easy to use software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We chose CAKE because it was affordable and very user-friendly and highly recommended by our Sysco Agent. We are a small coffee Shop and our staff has been quick to learn how to use it they seem to have an easy time. We are using it for our time sheets, it's good for basic reporting, We are not using the tablet yet but I know another place that uses it and they seem to be happy with it. For the price point I think CAKE is a good system to have.

Cons

Would like that the system had a way to customize reports (Like the fonts or the way they appear) but overall good for the price. When setting up menu items the features sometimes take a long time to set up. We have been happy with cake. Now finally we are able to manage time sheets from anywhere.

Vendor response

CAKE Point of Sale is meant to be the affordable solution that keeps your whole team working smarter while being extremely intuitive and user-friendly. Glad to hear CAKE is part of your Perfect Equation!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We needed a POS system that also helped us with the whole restaurant operation. As an owner, it help

Reviewed 5 years ago

We needed a POS system that also helped us with the whole restaurant operation. As an owner, it helped me a lot in tracking food costs and scheduling employees. I can print graphs and see when we're busier and what resources we need more. It has helped us a lot with allocating resources better and making everything faster. Customers really like the modern look of the POS and using it which has been an unexpected bonus. Another thing we like is that it seems to be very intuitive, it's really easy to figure it out. The rates are good and the customer service is easy to reach and quick to give us solutions to the very few problems we have had.

Pros

Value, Exelent Customer Service, Modern looking. We never had a problem with the system, and any time we had a question customer service was readelly available.

Cons

Vendor response

We're glad Wako Taco is doing great since it started serving CAKE! We enjoy hearing that our reporting empowers busy owners like you to make decisions backed by data. And thanks for the aesthetics feedback, we're not vain, but we think our hardware is looking pretty great also :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The cake system is easy to use. Its quick and also very safe. We love It!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Their is so many benefits to switching to cake. It save your cc processing money the system is smooth and easy to use. Keeps payroll and invintory for you. Makes my job as a manager much easier to run a restaurant.

Pros

We switched to CAKE because it does cheaper credit card processing, and on top of that it's a lot better as a system to calculate our numbers, and we can even use it to keep track of inventory. I like how they constantly do maintenance and updates, which keeps things running smoothly and up to date. I also like how it sends close out reports via email which we can access remotely from anywhere.

Cons

Their could be a better tax exempt button. For our customers that have an tax exempt card. You can still turn the tax of very simply. But it could be helpful. I have spoken with them about this and they are currently working on it. Thanks cake.

Vendor response

Thank you Zachary for sharing your experiences using CAKE at Ike's Chili! We're glad you're making more money with our industry-low credit card processing rate, and it's awesome to hear how our reporting lets you manage on-the-go.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very happy with product and service

Reviewed a year ago

Very positive experience. Our sales rep [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was incredibly thorough and did a great job with comparisons and pricing. We felt comfortable with our decision to go with CAKE. Our onboarding specialist [SENSITIVE CONTENT] did a great job and walked us through any difficulties as we learned and installed. Our Customer Success Manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been awesome! Anytime there was a question with our billing he was in contact with us immediately and was patient as he walked us through items and handled them quickly.

Pros

System had the features we needed. It was easy to understand, implement and train staff on. Setup for menu, items and pricing as easy to understand and implement.

Cons

As a small coffee shop, we dont have the need for some of the items within the bundle. CAKE University is great. Only drawback was it can't always breakdown some questions. Inventory management section could use a better training piece but since every business is different this may not be doable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

review from Caesar's Chicken

Reviewed 2 years ago

customer and tech support are good. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is very supportive and patient. 5 stars for him.

Pros

easy to use and pricing at the time was good

Cons

need somemore restaurant feature and more reports. was going to switch because of lack of some of the reports compared to Toast. Only thing is no choice for credit card processor

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Professional and very helpful

Reviewed 5 years ago

saves me time, helps with payroll, provides good data

Pros

data rich resource for the store manager and owner - I use the software daily for quick reports and price changes to positively impact our profitability

Cons

The software does not accommodate Apple-pay which is frequently a disappointment to our customers here in Silicon Valley. occasional interruptions in service seems to happen on busy weekends are costly and affect customer service

Vendor response

CAKE is proud to help Los Gatos serve your customers so you can focus on delivering great coffee to your community. We will have Apple/Android/Samsung pay included in a future hardware release. In the coming months we will be rolling out EMV and production testing our Payment Cube hardware on our legacy POS hardware. The Payment Cube is the hardware with the apple pay capabilities (and EMV).Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback on CAKE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

In the past two years the Cake system has been a great POS option for Crooked Can Brewing Company.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Benefits of good reporting for sales information as well as employee payroll requirements. Also easy to implement and review product pricing.

Pros

Easy to use and cost effective. I like the flexibility that I can pull up data on my home computer. I can get detailed sales reports by item. I really enjoy the fact that the employees can clock in and clock out on the pos system and it tracks their hours which makes payroll easy. I also like that the employees can enter their tips also making the payroll process work well.

Cons

Would like to get historical reports in sequence and not have to break up. there is currently a past 90 days limit.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing your experiences Jared! We are working on improving the functionality of our reports so you can reference past reports more easily. We appreciate your time, thank you for choosing CAKE!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have been using CAKE for over a year and a half and we love it.

Reviewed 5 years ago

By having CAKE we are able to use 7shifts for a discounted price. It is a gamechanger when coming to employee scheduling. It has saved me at least 2 hours per week when making my schedule.

Pros

I would say that the best thing about CAKE is that we have the ability to edit our POS system, pricing, item names, you name it from in house. No third party's to have to call and wait for a button to be added and then days to update in the system.

Cons

I do wish that I had more ability with the online ordering where I could edit an order when it comes to the POS. Sometimes customers request things and the proper up charges arent added.

Vendor response

CAKE is so glad to hear that our Point of Sale and 7Shifts integration is letting you get more done for less money. Your online ordering sounds like it isn't fully set up, we recommend using that great support to make sure you're set up with all the online ordering options you need! We pride ourselves on delivering great customer support in every situation. Thank you for choosing CAKE, and we're glad scheduling is a breeze!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have ordered these for all my restaurants and continue to do so. That should speak for itself.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Stability. Ease of use. Customer interface. Cashier interface. Ability to clock in and compliant with CA labor break laws. Ease of setting up. Affordability. Has all the bells and whistles of a really expensive system. Clean and professional appearance. Speed of system. Detailed reporting. Customer service is understandable English speaking and computer proficient.

Cons

Credit card reader is a separate cube, rather than attached to the system. No mobile app ordering system. Rewards system and ability to market to customers is very basic. Gift Cards are limited to single store use.

Vendor response

Wow, thanks Konan! We¿re happy that you¿re happy. There¿s always room for improvement, so thank you for your feedback. Just so you know, Gift Cards will be supported for multiple stores later this year.