App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions Logo
Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions
4.8
(38)

Write a review

Deathcare management system for funeral homes & crematories

visit website

(0)

Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions Features

Features Summary

Functionality

4.6

/5

38

Total features

32

1 categories

Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions features

Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Management
Calendar Management
Case Management
Client Management
Contact Management

Common features of Funeral Home software

Accounting Integration
Activity Dashboard
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Management
Availability Indicator
Calendar Management
Case Management
Cemetery Management

Price starts from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Screenshots

Contenders comparison

Functionality

4.6

/5

38

Price starts from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

visit website

Total Features

32

Unique features

  • Inventory Tracking

  • Customizable Reports

  • Task Management

  • Access Controls/Permissions

Functionality

4.5

/5

56

Price starts from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

visit website

Total Features

25

Features in Common

11

Unique features

  • Customer Database

  • Document Generation

  • Data Import/Export

  • Cost Estimating

Functionality

4.5

/5

39

Price starts from

79

Per month

visit website

Total Features

35

Features in Common

21

Unique features

  • QuickBooks Integration

  • Accounting Integration

  • Scheduling

  • Customer Database

Common Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions comparisons

Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions logo
Parting Pro logo
Halcyon Death Care Management SolutionsvsParting Pro
Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions logo
Osiris logo
Halcyon Death Care Management SolutionsvsOsiris
Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions logo
Plotbox logo
Halcyon Death Care Management SolutionsvsPlotbox
Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions logo
Cemify logo
Halcyon Death Care Management SolutionsvsCemify

Reviewers who mentioned features said:

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Funeral Software -- Personal service at the speed of business

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are solving the value proposition of time. The less time we spend at the desk and doing repetitive tasks, the more time we spend with our client families and focusing on our businesses.

Pros

The user interface and web-based software allow our team to easily manage our client families both inside and out of the funeral home. We can now spend more time with our own families and still manage work remotely from anywhere. This software has improved our Customer Relationship Management and cut down on the time we spend printing documents, programs, and other custom forms. Having personal contact with programmers, customer service, and administration is something you won't find with the big software houses. We get detailed support and can influence the direction of the software by having close working relationships with the owners, developers, and designers.

Cons

Being a small shop sometimes means that new iterations come a little slower than the big software firms, but the flexibility and influence on the technical direction are still worth the wait. This is the best software on the market today -- period.

Vendor response

Thank you Mel for your kind review. We are proud that Pennington Funeral Homes is using Halcyon software to continue to thrive and support families.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Funeral Software

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

The ease of using the software is great, and all the tools are there that we use daily.

Cons

Nothing that we can find everything seems to be running smoothly and at ease.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Do your Reserach

Reviewed 8 months ago

I would recommend doing research and asking for a more through understanding of the program. I found the staff to be frustrated with me during the training sessions.

Pros

It seemed like a very helpful program. However once I signed up I was sorry to see the customer service was really dissapointing.

Cons

Customer Service was quick to respond. however I was having trouble with adaption to the software and I felt frustration by the administration. I ended up canceling my subscription and was told that the $500 was not refundable.

Vendor response

Halcyon is widely accepted as the easiest funeral home management software to use. On rare occasion a customer doesn't have enough confidence using the computer and cannot grasp the system. When that happens we go well beyond our commitment to get them going. That is the case here despite the heavily discounted setup fee that was charged. Our setup fee is nonrefundable and we set that expectation right up front. We also were not paid for several months' of service fees and custom work that was done. We remain confident we did all we could and we wish you nothing but the highest success going forward.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Personal Staff and Easy to Use Service

Reviewed 7 months ago

Excellent, would suggest to other managers in the business and will continue using

Pros

Body tracking, customer support, forms list and customizable options.

Cons

Sometimes the communication about fees incurred is a vague.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elevating our operation with clean, easy to use and effective technology

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall, it has been a nice experience. The capabilities that Halcyon provides gives us room to be more efficient, saving administrative time and producing our most important documents in the way that is needed in order to reflect the quality of our operation. Saving documents and being organized digitally is becoming more important every day. Halcyon provides a great solution for modern day problems in the death care industry.

Pros

The general case management and printed contracts were our biggest improvement operationally. The ability to get our entire staff consistent with our statements of goods and services and clean up the details of those was our biggest goal when moving to Halcyon. The integrations with ASD and Matthews-Aurora was nice features that made things easy and effective. Both of those organizations were already partners of ours, so it just made things easier for all of us. Our credit card processing is run through Halcyon's integrated partner. It has been a nice transition from an old terminal, and all transactions automatically post to the account, which saves time on data entry on purchases and payments.

Cons

Wrapping your head around the sophistication of this software is the hardest part when onboarding. It can be overwhelming to think of all of the features to utilize and what it would do to your organization. The best advise would be to prioritize your goals when onboarding, and compartmentalize a few of the highest priority goals to focus on. You can always expand to other features over time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Halcyon

Reviewed 8 months ago

Halcyon overall has been a game changer for my business. I am able to easily access information from anywhere in the world on any device at the touch of a button or swipe of a finger. The platform exceeds our expectations and the constant (weekly/monthly) updates only make it better.

Pros

The ease of use and implementation is huge for my team. We were able to get the process running quickly with only a few hiccups that were technical in nature. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and his team were fair and responsive to our requests for help and continue to be. Quite simply, Halcyon does what it says it's going to do without a lot of extra frills and that is huge in my book. Having come from another cloud based solution, I could not imagine not using Halcyon at this point for my business.

Cons

There are a few things that would be nice. As mentioned earlier in this survey the ability to enter pre-need payments without having an account number would be huge for my business. The ability to manually edit some pre-filled information in some forms would be beneficial to me as well (CFF in particular). It would be helpful to me if the charitable donations would become a list so that we don't have to keep entering the same charity over and over. Social Security numbers could auto format. I would like to see integrations with aftercare.com and Ring Ring Marketing for their review tool.

Vendor response

Thank you Steven. We love having you as a customer. We will consider your suggestions too.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software! Took our aftercare services to the next level.

Reviewed 6 months ago

As one of the most prominent and longest operating pet crematories in North America, Cal Pet has had the privilege of assisting thousands of pet parents with their beloved companions' aftercare services. For nearly 80 years, we have prided ourselves on connecting with clients and providing superior service with integrity and efficiency. When we needed to take our operations to the next level, we went...

Pros

In addition to the ample amount of standard features and capabilities, Halcyon engineers continuously announce new updates and features.

Cons

We are eternally grateful to the Halcyon team for seamlessly integrating an extensive amount of data from our antiquated software. They welcomed feedback and generously provided customization of the software that made it much more applicable to our business and more user-friendly for our staff.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Diamond in the Rough

Reviewed 8 months ago

Halcyon is NOW a Great Solution. I has used it briefly back in 2009 and it was a real turd, so I tried multiple industry software solutions and never found one that was easy to use and did things “MY WAY”, so for the past 10 years we have used a multitude of spreadsheets to manage of 2 funeral homes. I was hesitant to try it again but after taking a second look, it’s an entirely different product.

Pros

The simplicity of screen layout and data organization is Great. The ability to create custom forms that automatically %%Include%% data from the case record makes our operation appear very professional. Having everything Cloud based makes instant access from my iPhone or iPad simple, anywhere in the world I am.

Cons

I can’t really think of anything that could be done better, simply because as we run across a “bug” or feature that could work better for us, a simple Help ticket to Support and Halcyon is on it and fixes it within days.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Halcyon Cremation Software

Reviewed 8 months ago

It truly was a great experience and I love working with all the staff at Halcyon. They are very friendly and easy to work with.

Pros

How user friendly it is and how we have the ability to do a lot of customization on our end. The set up and transition process was very easy and Halcyon's support was amazing through the process. Their support is great, they respond within a day and are great at figuring out ways to customize the software to meet ours and our clinic needs. The partner portal is great, I love that we can tailor some things per clinic need. The tracking system is also great and Halcyon did an awesome job working with us to get it customized to our process.

Cons

Merchandising set up, I wish that there was a drop down menu rather than list format. Price groups, it is not easy to change things with the price groups. Urn selection, it would be nice if a standardized urn could auto-populate for each clinic. Printing of the tracking/tag form, would like it if this was more streamlined.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Crematory Management Tool

Reviewed 8 months ago

This has been a great experience! Their support team is incredibly patient and very helpful. We are more than pleased with the program and the company. They are great. We are honored to recommend them for your consideration.

Pros

Definitely the case tracking features. Through Halcyon, we provide the highest level of security for the cremation services we provide. By assigning QR Codes to each case and each step/location in the cremation process, we are able to confirm where each case is located and maintain total control over each cremation until safely released to the family or partnering funeral home. Also the invoicing ability, financial accounting, and document archival features are tremendous assets.

Cons

With any new technology or software program, there is a learning curve. So, we did invest time and energy into understanding the best way for Halcyon to support our business. They have an excellent support team who were invaluable to us are we learned the system. Halcyon is a complete death-care management system. When we discovered Halcyon, we were looking for an effective way to streamline our cremation intake and processing while raising the level of security in the services we provide. It has exceeded our expectation at every level. The time spent to learn the program has been a great investment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Halcyon Product Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Over all the program is very helpful with having all the clients and financial information in one place at your fingertips.

Pros

As a funeral home, we handle about 300 families a year. The feature of having each deceased with their own computer file is very helpful. The file shows all family background, contract and payment information. Very helpful by having all the information at your fingertips. As office manger, the Financial section is very user friendly as well as the software is also very helpful with gathering report figures.

Cons

As a funeral home that has two locations, we have two separate client numbering systems, but one Halcyon platform. There is a problem with the program and the client numbering system. No matter which location you select the next contract number that appears is always based off of the last contract entered. It does not change the numbering for each location, we manually have to keep track and change...

Vendor response

Thanks for your candid review Llewella. In January we made some system changes that address all of the concerns you pointed out. I suspect since then you would reconsider your review and you are more likely to recommend Halcyon. Would you consider updating the review with a more favorable score and likelihood to recommend? Thanks for your input towards making Halcyon even better!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very comprehensive and user friendly.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

All of the information that we need, whether it is funeral or financial related, is easy for even the novice, computer savvy employee to navigate. When we enter information into one location it populates to all of the forms and/or reports that it applies too. We are able to have forms, that are specific to our company, uploaded into Halcyon to have them populate as well. Halcyon technical support, has been open to suggestions, when it comes the improving, changing, or modifying most things, to accommodate our needs.

Cons

We have a few of our locations that are producing all of the necessary forms for funeral arrangements, out of Halcyon. There are only a couple of small issues, regarding information for these forms, being in different areas. So, until our Funeral Directors and/or office staff become comfortable with the system, the families may have to wait a little longer for them to be printed for their signatures.

Vendor response

Thank you Dennis for reviewing Halcyon! In an upcoming newsletter we will highlight how our system's customizing features allow you to hide fields so that those fields needed are more readily available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using software for 4 years, easy to use and functional

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. You can customize for your business needs. Reports to complete monthly tasks are great.

Cons

Since you transferred to Firefox, minor issues went away. Can't change check numbers, if someone is using a check for purchases you need to wait for their return to pay bills, etc. I understand this is a security issue and helps you not forget to log in check amount. I will add check with estimate amount to continue working.

Vendor response

Hi Lee, Thanks for being such a loyal Halcyon user! We never switched to any web browser. Halcyon is intended to work with any browser although Internet Explorer sometimes has problems. When checks are used out of office for an unknown amount it is best practice to enter $0.00 or an estimated amount so you are handling that well. Fortunately persons with admin access can also reset the last check used.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 7 months ago

So far, so good

Pros

Ease of Navigation, Reporting, Accounting

Cons

Inability to customize "Cases" page. We would like to choose different columns on the cases page. i.e., Total Funeral Cost and Balance Due.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for a good price.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easier to do accounting and accounts receivable, Forms are easier to submit, Records are easily accessible.

Pros

Web-based design that can be accessed from anywhere is a very helpful tool. The MIP export is also very useful.

Cons

Not the easiest to use for multiple locations, it would be nice to have a better way to display multiple location information on paperwork and choose different locations for funerals. It would also be helpful to have separate sections for each of the pallbearers that could be exported directly into MIP.

Vendor response

Evan thank you for the kind review. We were not aware your had multiple locations. Fortunately we have your solution! We will contact you this week and explain how our SuperAdmin feature can help with multi location and talk about the multi-branch feature we now have in the new Platinum version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Interviewed 7 different companies, Halcyon topped them all

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

They integrated directly with our website, casket distributor and was the most reasonably priced of all 7 companies we were in talks with. All our forms can be uploaded to pre populate names, dates, etc. Ofcourse there’s always bumps in the road when trying new things but the customer service has always been quick to respond and always has been helpful.

Cons

I wish it could integrate with google calendar and have an app that is for the Funeral end and not so much the cremation end but those are just tiny things compared to how great this program works.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Halcyon software review for Life & Legacy Cremation Center, LLCC

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our experience has truly been great! They are easily contacted with anything we need and the turn around time is very quick. Like I said earlier, the few things that needed attention, were handled quickly and professionally. Overall I am very pleased.

Pros

There are a lot of things I like about this software, but I really love how easily it can be navigated. It is very user friendly and accommodates so many different aspects of the way we need to use it.

Cons

We are new to this software and have just opened our crematory, so with anything new, there are some quirks that need to be adjusted and tweaked. The monthly billing was not set up in the way we wanted to send statements, and we needed to be able to print a few reports that were not customized or able to be generated by us. But the customer service has been so amazing! As soon as we explain what we need, they are more than willing to go above and beyond to create anything we need and make it happen. The staffs are amazing to work with and help to make an already great software program better to suit our needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This program makes managing funeral homes and crematories easy!!

Reviewed 5 years ago

cut down my computer time.

Pros

Web based, easy to learn, affordable, provides lots of information in easy to read charts and graphs. Flow through information is very helpful.

Cons

you have to email tech support, but they are quick to respond and address the issue with little down time

Vendor response

Thank you Jason for the kind comments. We love working with you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This product has brought us into the 21st century and made funeral service more efficient.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Excellent customer support. I appreciate the fact that I'm able to talk to a live person without going through many many exchanges. Punctual response and a willingness to see you through any challenges.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you Mr Shaffer for your helpful review! Thank you for trusting Halcyon to help you run your business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Owners & staff have worked with Halcyon for many years and are very pleased with the program!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, functionality and quick customer response time! Our funeral home is very pleased with the pricing program as well.

Cons

Would like a few more features applicable to our particular usage but they are working on that for us.

Vendor response

Thank you Lori for continuing to trust Halcyon to run your business!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exactly what we were searching

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am happy to say that we are completely satisfied with the transition and support that we require.

Pros

Finally an all inclusive way to economically manage our at need, pre need and crematory cases. We switched from a local software to a cloud based software and can now look up and manage our cases remotely as well as track our crematory cases online.

Cons

Transitioning is never easy and the migration of data from another vendor was difficult but Halcyon was able to pull it off. Still working out a few bugs but for the most part they handled it professionally and in a timely manner.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It fits our needs well. We're not a large enough firm for one of those enterprise solutions.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, prefilled forms, great customer service, affordable, has pretty much all the features we use on a daily basis.

Cons

Not much I can think of, just not as fully featured as an enterprise solution, obviously. But it does have the ones we need the most.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very well thought out user friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

User friendly great customer support always working priced right cloud based search features admin documents list

Cons

Cannot choose date format which would keep all client info consistent with other paperwork otherwise very happy

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We have 4 locations in Oregon 2 stand alone funeral homes and 2 cemetery funeral home combinations.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We are please with all aspects of Halcyon. The forms, contracts, updates tutorials and customer support and much more. I would highly recommend Halcyon.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you Tom for trusting us with your business for so many years!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions Review- For Quinnipiac University

Reviewed 7 months ago

Great

Pros

Easy to use. I also use this at my family owned funeral home

Cons

One-stop-shopping, easy to use, tracking, mobile app.