PointOS Pricing Plan & Cost Guide

PointOS

Point your restaurant in the right direction with PointOS.

3.59/5 (54 reviews)

PointOS Pricing

Starting from: $39.00/month

Pricing model: Subscription

Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

$39 - Per user/Per Month

Competitors Pricing

Fixably

Starting from: 169.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

ABS

Starting from: 1500.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription

Protractor

Pricing model: Subscription

VirtualQ

Starting from: 15.99/month
Pricing model: Subscription

DMS Complete

Starting from: 99.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

PointOS Pricing Reviews

Pros
  • Overall, for a business just starting out, it was a great solution and your tech support was always really amazing.Lucia G.Read the full review
  • This app is fantastic to support your restaurant sales and also will provide great visibility with its dashboard/reporting engine.Verified ReviewerRead the full review
  • This is the best software I have found for my bar at any price. Customers love the integrated music, and it makes checking id's really easy.Dylan A.Read the full review
Cons
  • Support is expensive and required which was a terrible point. So terrible, in fact, that I will never recommend this software to any other company I represent again.Kevin S.Read the full review
  • Customer support is horrible. When I signed in for this software.fawzi n.Read the full review
  • They are just horrible when it comes to customer service.John C.Read the full review
66%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague

19 reviewers had the following to say about PointOS's pricing:

Mike Wagner

Worth the price!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
PointOS is a great low-cost option in the expensive world of POS. We have used PointOS since we opened 4 years ago and they continue to add and improve features based on customer feedback. They have outstanding customer support!

Cons
Lack of online ordering capability and tablet orders.

Response from PointOS


Mike & The Camp Restaurant,

Thank you for your positive review. We really value our customers feedback, and are glad to hear we have been implementing and improving the PointOS software.

We are pleased to say that both online ordering, and tablet orders are now available with our updated system and new hardware offerings.

Thanks for your support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

owner

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Capterra

overall I thing the system is a great fix for my business.

Pros
price and credit card processing features.

Cons
entering the menu items into the system.

Response from PointOS


We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our payment processing offerings.

PointOS provides successful restaurants with a technology platform that combines point of sale, front of house, back of house and guest-facing technology with an integrated credit card processing solution custom-built for your restaurant.

Our in-house payment processing system offers secure and reliable payments with honest pricing, and no hidden fees.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Gary Campbell

Using PointOS at our cafe

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Capterra

PointOS gets the job done and the price can't be beat.

Pros
PointOS was very easy to install, and setup. It handles take out orders, and call in orders very well.

Cons
After a cashier does a z-out (end of day closing), the PointOS system will not let you make a sale, until after the drawer cash is entered. Also a search feature, for all items for sale, would be helpful for new hires who are not yet familiar with the menu.

Response from PointOS


Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to review and leaving feedback.

The newest version of PointOS will have a search feature that allows users to find items by searching both Menu Items and Modifiers attached to the Menu Items by name.

We can't wait!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Ron Blume

Very good once you get it set up

Reviewed 2013-02-20
Review Source: Capterra

Very good - once you program it. Took me 25 data entry hours to load all of my menu items and tie them to inventory and I'm not that slow. My staff and I played with it a lot before we had enough confidence to go live with it. Some little twists and turns that need to be learned, but no major deal. However, once set up and going works beautifully. Totally satisfied.

Pros
Price. Flawless operation. Great customer support. All the features we need

Cons
Complete pain in the a** to set up. Operation not particularly intuitive at first.

Response from PointOS


Ron

We are so happy you are pleased with the PointOS system. With our updates in the software, and detailed how-to for setup it is now much easier to get your software going.

Thanks!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Angela Aquino

Disappointing....but functional.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-08-15
Review Source: Capterra

Sales person sold it well. However, it isn't easy to set up or use, reports are not set up well (at least not for my bar business) and customer service is great (especially day time) but recomendations to "development team" seem to fall on deaf ears or take very long to get a response.

Pros
Customer service during the day is very helpful. Multiple pricing options are useful.

Cons
Night time customer service are not as knowledgeable, but are still very nice. The initial set up was very time consuming. They do hardly any of it for you. Little to no training. Just "play with it and call me with questions." I called constantly and had to redo things multiple times because no one had explained all the features. (Little boxes to check and what not). It's has a fairly slow reaction time. Reports are confusing and need a lot more work. Modifier report doesnt even show any prices of those listed modifiers. Inventory reports do not give you any kind of comparison. I have to go thru each menu item and calculate how much I am missing individually between what I had, what I sold and now what I actually have left. My receipt printer was printing an extra 6 inches of paper for 6 weeks. During that time I requested help to fix the settings over 15 times. Finally, it is now printing normally. (This particular printer is very paper wasteful even at the smallest parameters. If I were to add a logo a one item purchase it would print a 10 inch long receipt! I said forget the logo, and settled for a 7.25 inch receipt. The open tabs are not well organized and make searching for a current customer time consuming. My staff are all disappointed in our purchase.

Response from PointOS


I'm sorry you had issues setting it up. It is a very robust piece of software with many settings, however we try to keep it as simple as possible. We allow imports of menu items, inventory items and employees directly from Excel spreadsheets to speed up the setup process. However, like QuickBooks or any of our competitors there is a learning curve if you are not familiar with Point Of Sale software.

Once setup we do strive for ease of use for the server, bartender or other employee using the system. The interface on the front end is intuitive and simple to use.

We offer many resources for setting up the system in addition to our 24/7 support. We have videos, online manuals, a knowledge base. Additionally you can talk to sales about setting up your menu for an additional charge.

I hope that now that it is setup, it is meeting your needs. If not please contact me personally and I will help you with any remaining issues.

Thanks!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 3/10

Minimize review

Pete Olsen

Over promised under delivered

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

I am not solving any problems point OS is causing problems for me

Pros
The price, of the equipment and how I could use it with all of my other computers

Cons
How I was promised things and shown things that can not done

Response from PointOS


Pete,

We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the PointOS platform.

The new PointOS XE provides successful restaurants with a technology platform that combines point of sale, front of house, back of house and guest-facing technology with an integrated credit card processing solution custom-built for restaurants.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Jeff Crocker

Not very well thought out

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-07-28
Review Source: Capterra

zero lost 1100 on purchase.

Pros
The pricing was fair. networking and backroom reports are fine. The system installed ok with tech help.

Cons
The sales person promised the functionality but was wrong. System doesn't open tabs as told. I was told it couldn't be done the way our software and others do it. Lots of programming in areas that are not popular in our area like music playlists etc. maybe in other areas that works not sure. biggest problem spending 1100+ for the one feature we needed in a busy bar.

Response from PointOS


Hi Jeff,

We have made some really great additions to the Software. We will reach out to you and discuss your tabs issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Scott Tompkins

PointOS is solid but could be better

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

There have been a couple of issues that I have addressed with the company with no resolution. Truthfully it could be more but I dont recall, as we have been running the system for a couple years and I found work arounds. One of which I turned off printing sales tax on the receipt (as we include it in the price of the drink) and it still printed it on there. Another issue is different reports from the same day dont equal each other i.e. server sales reports vs a detailed daily report. As mentioned above the remote reporting software called mypointosconnect has been down many times for multiple days. When contacting customer service wait times typically run less than 15 minutes sometimes less than 2. Its not horrible software but its showing signs of age while other offerings add nice new features, PointOS has a built in jukebox that I've never ever used. I use streaming services for music in the establishment and have since a hard drive with 15k songs crashed during a busy night. If you looking for cutting edge features, you'll be better suited looking elsewhere but if you want something that works day in and day out with limited frills this might be your software. There update might fix some of my gripes, I'll find out the first week of August if they meet their deadline.

Pros
I like the fact in a tablet world, that I could install the software on a Windows PC. You actually own the software and the service contract is reasonably priced compared to others. By switching to PointOS, the processor they required for direct integration has been great and has saved us a bundle.

Cons
While it's nice to own the software and run it on a Windows box but Windows 7 is getting harder and harder to find. While the software worked flawlessly for the first year it has become sluggish and there have been numerous remote reporting outages as of late. They have been promising a brand new version for over two years and they finally have picked a launch date. The software looks dated and you have to run the system at a very low resolution to function properly. Lastly, automatically added charges or discounts are a percentage. If you want a happy hour price you have to set a happy hour price for every item.

Response from PointOS


Hi Scott,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback.

PointOS has an all new user experience with the reliability of PointOS Professional with new features being added regularly. The new PointOS also has a dedicated development team that has provided expedited trouble responses for both software and some hardware issues.

PointOS has an excellent track record for adding new features requested by customers. We value all our customers feedback and our team is always looking for new ways to make PointOS better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Anthony Pacifico

PointOS

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Price and features. It really is a great system for the price. Aside from a few of the glitches, it's well worth the money. I'm very happy with my purchase. However, if you are not tech savvy, be cautious buying. Customer support and technical support is useless. I set it up myself from day 1, so I was able to make sure everything was programmed properly.

Cons
There's still a lot of glitches in the system and customer support is some of the worst I've ever experienced. Technical help also is awful. They couldn't help me anytime I called in to tell them about some of the glitches I've noticed in their system. In fact, the one time I called in, the lady actually said, "wow, you know more than us about this".

Response from PointOS


Hi Anthony

We are so sorry to hear that you have had this experience.

We are happy to announce that PointOS has brought our Customer and Technical support in-house and have qualified representatives ready to assist 24hrs a day 7 days a week 365 days a year.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jerry Ehlen

Easy to use

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to use, easy to program, can copy menu items key features into a new product Employees learn it quickly

Cons
Limited amount of Pricing levels for a single product. (Only Good Customer, Special, Regular or Employee) As an example, you can't have "Bud Light" at regular , lower on Tuesday and a different another day... you can only have one pre-set price drop per week.

Response from PointOS


Hi Jerry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback.

The newest versions of PointOS haves Select Customer Pricing Levels, distinct daily special pricing, and customizable "happy hour" pricing for even more customization.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Dylan Asher

Great software, Great price

Reviewed 2009-07-17
Review Source: Capterra

I definitely recommend.

Pros
This is the best software I have found for my bar at any price. Customers love the integrated music, and it makes checking id's really easy. Excellent customer support.

Cons
I can't think of any...

Response from PointOS


Dylan,

Thanks for the great review and were glad you are loving the software and the music integrations. We are currently in the process of updates which will allow for more integrations and can't wait to share this!

Thanks again.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Matthew Eckhoff

Just Ok... nothing special

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-07-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Affordability... but you also get what you pay for

Cons
Customer support... They expect you to be on their level of knowledge

Response from PointOS


Matthew,

The PointOS platform provides an all in one point of sale system with features ranging from inventory and labor forecasting, to detailed reports and analytics that help you to make the right decisions for your business.

In-house payment processing also offers the ability to provide competitive cc processing rates.

Our how-to video manuals thoroughly explain how the software works from the moment you start setting up. If you can't find what your looking for our customer success reps will gladly help you with any queries until your problems are resolved.

We hope our better service helps improve your business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 3/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Good system

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a solid purchase, good value.

Pros
One time purchase. Great hardware options available, but will run on any windows PC. Touch screen is best, but not required.

Cons
Split tenders seem to generate problems. it will go ahead and print the kitchen ticket before getting full payment.

Response from PointOS


We are pleased to hear you are happy with the PointOS point of sale software and the value of its offerings for our competitive pricing.

With the launch of the PointOS XE we offer new split check features which should help address your concerns.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Larry Lombardo

I am just amazed at this system and reccomend it to all I speak to..Ty McDougal outdid himself

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-05-21
Review Source: Capterra

Easiness of operation

Pros
Everything about this system is exactly what the salesman told me.easy to use,support,and affordability

Cons
I have had minor start-up, problems..I truly love Pointos. It's Easy to use, easy to set up, easy to teach.Just an amazing product

Response from PointOS


Larry

We are so pleased to hear you are satisfied with the PointOS point of sale system for your establishment.

We pride our business on our 24hr 7 day a week customer service, ease of use and affordable pricing, so we are glad that you can confirm that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Kevin Shafer

This is a title.

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Capterra

I mean, it does what it is supposed to do which is ring up orders and it has the ability to do so much more but the owners can't afford to hire me to program their software and they don't have time to put into it all that it can do so it is just basically using its basic functions. Support is expensive and required which was a terrible point. So terrible, in fact, that I will never recommend this software to any other company I represent again.

Pros
It was relatively easy to set up, I was able to train the end user on the parts of the software that mattered.

Cons
You MUST purchase a year of support when you purchase the software. Even if I have already purchased the software for another location. This is absurd and a waste of money. The software is expensive enough and doesn't have an overly professional feel to it.

Response from PointOS


Kevin,

We do apologize that you have had a bad experience with PointOS

We are proud to announce that PointOS XE offers competitive monthly payment plans starting at 39.99 per month, which is inclusive of 24hr, 7 days a week customer service and support.

PointOS prides itself on being the most affordable, easy to use point of sale software in the market.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review

Mike Fischer

Average at best

Reviewed 2015-07-29
Review Source: Capterra

This one isn't even paid off yet and I'm already looking into replacing it. Pros - price, easy to use, my sales guy/customer service guy is good. Cons - touch screen works horribly, bartenders had to resort to using pen caps to get it to accept. It has been that way since day one. Tried stylus pens and those don't work either. must purchase excel to have reports emailed or printed. can't check online live unless pay for their service, credit card merchant options are terrible. can't bring up previous days closed tabs to check things that might be wrong. can't reprint cashier closing reports. can't split tabs 50/50 or 1/3,1/3,1/3...etc, etc. only by item, can't have the same item on special multiple days with different prices without changing it manually each day. It's a decent enough system but I'm not satisfied I should have went with the pricier one!!!

Response from PointOS


The hardware issues as far as the touchscreen are strange. Screen might just need to be calibrated. The hardware is older and not purchased through us. A touch screen is just an input device like a mouse. Our program does nothing special to make it work. You should contact the manufacturer.

We do export to Excel but Open Office will open .xls files as well for free.

As far as online, we offer full cloud services for $99 year, but have free basic online and iOS app reports for free.

All previous tabs can be brought up by clicking the tab in the closed orders list. Here it can be reprinted. Also, you can split checks by item or by payment amount.

You can also have an item on special multiple days. We support 5 different price options with Happy Hour and Specials able to change the price on a time schedule.

I feel that this customer is simply unfamiliar with some of our features and am offering free training and help with their hardware

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Katie Rolo

Works well for my bar

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-23
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I haven’t had any major issues. It does run slow at times but that’s probably related to the internet not the system. I’ve been using the system for nearly three years. I started with one station and recently bought two more. It is nice that there are no monthly fees. Overall, I would recommend PointOS.

Pros
I like the set up of the software. I have three stations in my bar and they are all linked so you can add items to a tab from any station. The system is easy to use, based on my experience and that of my staff. Several of my staff report that PointOS is much easier to use than other software they’ve used at other bars. The item menu can be easily customized and alphabetized. I like that you can add recipes so if someone isn’t sure exactly what’s in a drink they can click on the recipe and see it at the station. It calculates cost per ounce when you add items to the inventory so figuring prices is easy. The sales reports are quick and easy so it’s simple to pull reports to figure tax each month. There are also employee reports and each employee clocks in so hours are very easy to figure as are tips collected.

Cons
It would be nice if there were more item tabs. We sell a high volume of alcohol and mixed drinks and we don’t have room to put all of it on its own tab. Another thing that would be nice, but really not a big deal, is if there were more icons to make the item tabs easier to find. There are some icons, for instance the more popular beers have an icon so it’s easy to recognize. For items with no icon, you have to type it in. You can highlight the items by color which is helpful. It is cumbersome to add everything in but I suppose every system is that way.

Response from PointOS


HI Katie,

Thank you for the feedback.

Our Support Team has troubleshooting steps to help improve performance and will assist as the best of their abilities to make sure when multiple terminals are in use that the communication between devices is not impeded by improperly setup firewalls and antivirus, but are limited in the abilities to assist with hardware that has not been purchased or maintained by PointOS.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

JONGSOO KIM

Need to pursue perfection

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to use like adding new menus or easy setups, etc.

Cons
A lot of bugs. Not completed program yet. 1. Easy to mistake to hit cash payment button while printing customer receipt. This is most common mistake from every servers. 2. Some discount item (like wine special) prices are not reflected in the breakdown but total is correct (screen viewing is correct but printing is different from screen view). Not a professional POS yet! 3. Monitor size and PointOS screen mismatched. Too small screen!

Response from PointOS


Jongsoo

PointOS XE offers new display, and new features that can help make your restaurant and servers operate more efficiently with less mistakes.

Our new hardware offerings from Elos are modern, and sleek and come in different screen sizes so you can choose what is best for your restaurant.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review

Jake McSparin

Company full of empty promises, defective products

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-10-21
Review Source: Capterra

Actually and absolutely no benefits whatsoever. That sounds exaggerated--but it is not. (BEWARE. Sales people will tell you hardware will ship same day as payment clears, but this is NOT TRUE. Several days of delay after payment even after 4 follow-up calls.)

Pros
The only possible pro to this software was that you can download it online and there is not a long delay for setup.

Cons
Implementation of the PointOS Profesional software along with their hardware bundles was an unmitigated disaster. The software is riddled with glitches, anomalies, malfunctions and bugs. I spent hours and hours and hours on line with tech support fixing problems within the first 2 weeks. After an agonizing opening week with thousands of dollars lost in comped food and upset customers I called in an IT expert to find and fix the problem. Ultimately, the hardware I received had a defective network adapter that caused the software to malfunction. PointOS abdicated all responsibility for their defective hardware and dragged me along from 8/9/17 to today without ever offering a resolution. If you are looking for a nightmare software/hardware backed by a company that fundamentally fails to be not only proactive but even reactive to a customer's crisis than look no further. I purchased PointOS Professional for the lower price tag and quicker turn-around time and it was the worst mistake I have ever made. You will PAY MORE for PointOS Profesional than their competitors once you figure in the losses, stain to your business reputation and sheer aggravation you will endure with this company. Best case scenario (everyone works right-which I guarantee won't happen) the software lacks countless basic features. As a small business owner, I urge you to steer clear and wish you only the best of luck if you've made the mistake of purchasing the software before reading this review.

Response from PointOS


Hi Jake, we are very sorry you had this experience. I see the detailed notes on your account, unfortunately your printer arrived in a different mode than the standard PointOS mode. It did take longer than expected. However, it was identified in one business day. It was at this point the product team authorized to provide white glove support at no cost to you, which is above our standard support service. Our team identified your network had IP conflicts. Our standard support package does not include network configuration. It was at this time an IT person was brought in to work on site with our team. We then assisted with you with setup of 2 network printers, and a kitchen printer along with your stations. We logged over 10 hours of white glove assistance. The support tickets did not include reports of bugs. Specifically there were two tickets regarding issues with reporting and cash balances. The reporting issue was tied to the fact the POS terminal didn't have MS Excel on it, which pre

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review