This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Square for Retail Reviews - Page 14

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


398 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This Has Been a Crutch for Me

Reviewed 3 years ago

-I would recommend to almost anyone managing a small outfit

Pros

-Allows me to confidently and quickly manager aspects of my small business

Cons

-Sometimes the verbiage isn't quite as clear as I'd like

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

I love how easily accessible all the features are for this software.

Cons

I do not like the time it takes customer service to get back to me on issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for the Consumer but Expensive for the Retailer

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Nothing is easier to use as a point of sale (POS) service. Consumers love it.

Cons

The cost is much higher than a typical POS provider and as a small business every percent matters.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Small Businesses

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall I had a great experience with the product. I freelance in makeup and this made it easier for my clients to pay me for my services.

Pros

Easy to install on my phone Great for business owners who don’t have a shop Convenient and small Free

Cons

Not really any cons for this product. I really liked the prices overall. I would only change the fact that it was so small:

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square for Retail Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used this as a consumer at small retail locations. It is quick and easy to use. I like how small businesses have adopted this for their use!

Pros

Square is so easy to use and I love that a lot of small businesses use it as I like to support local/small businesses. It is so quick and not a lot of differences from other systems.

Cons

I do not have any cons about this software! It is easy to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square

Reviewed 9 months ago

I like square a lot and because it makes processing payment efficient as I’m a small business.

Pros

Ease of use for payment system since it’s very accessible.

Cons

The fees are bit high for a payment system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for the small business

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have had overall a great experience with Square selling product in a manner of the small business. Large businesses probably would not be interested but for the self-employed its the way to go.

Pros

For the small business, selling outside, festivals, venues where it is not feasible for a permanent set up this solves all the problems. In an world where very few people carry cash any more this is a solution that small sellers should seriously investigate.

Cons

In areas where there is minimal or no wi-fi it doesn't work. Can also hang up in areas of high wifi use. I guess its a bandwidth problem?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One time use, was pretty good!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I only used this like twice. I was using a debt card for a purchase at a flea market. It was extremely quick, simple and very safe to use. I would love for this to become bigger like for use in stores. Very good and convent way to purchase anything.

Cons

I have no issues or complaints from using Square. Perfect in my opinion from each time I had to use it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

There may be more affordable solutions, but this one is the easiest

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We use this application both for point of sale and online sales, it is very easy, and the reporting tools are far superior to competitors.

Cons

Some competitors offer better pricing plans for online sales.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SO Easy To Use

Reviewed a year ago

I love Square for Retail. It is really easy to use, and many people know how to use it already which is a plus.

Pros

This software makes it so easy to get paid quickly from clients. Everything is set up really well and clearly.

Cons

Sometimes the system has a tendency to lag behind, and that can be an issue when there are multiple customers at a time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

very useful

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like working with Square. It is very easy for people that are not good at technology.

Cons

It sometimes doesn't integrate with the other programs I'm using.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Square Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

More of a headache then anything

Pros

The only thing good about this program is how portable it is.

Cons

Holds on funds, attachment doesn't always work so you must key in cc info, bad customer service.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

As a customer I appreciate the ease, speed, and efficiency of this product.

Cons

I wish the product had a hands free option that was available to more devices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, simple pricing structure, advanced reporting, competitive pricing.

Cons

iPad-only, Poor cost-of-goods reporting, Pared-down features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy and simple credit card accepting service with simple setup

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Fees are up front. Fees are reasonable for the service. Reporting is great.

Cons

Setting up for non profits can be somewhat complicated given the nature of the how non profits work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very easy to use and navigate

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Literally anything yoy want to do as far as transferring funds can be done through Square. I was an assistant at an art booth and we used it to take payments abd as long as the internet connectiob was stable there was never an issue. Yoy can view approvals and see funds deposited instantly.

Cons

Probably not at fault of the application, but sometimes would have to reconnect or close/reopen if internet connection was lagging. This could have led to customer upset in speedy checkout.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square for Retail

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like that Square can be used anywhere - payment in the palm of your hand. And, it's basically free to own!

Cons

So far nothing to dislike - easy to use and helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy and User Friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I really enjoy this product. We have a non-profit that we use this for community events and are able to easily charge and send receipts to buyers. Reporting is great too from a board standpoint

Cons

Just wish the percentage taken wasn't so high. As a non-profit we would love to negotiate our rates or have a different fee.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Square makes purchasing from small businesses so much easier.

Pros

I love using square; it is so easy for small businesses to use and it’s easy to pay for things when a big credit card machine is not available.

Cons

There isn’t anything I don’t like about square. You can’t get a hard copy receipt but the email one works just fine!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Processing credit cards with this inexpensive great software.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to setup. Nice feature to link invoice to emails. Inexpensive for the retailer to obtain.

Cons

Some of the Credit Card reading hardware works intermittently.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing products

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Love the ability to be able to have my inventory inputted.

Cons

I wish the fees were cheaper and easier to understand

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Square Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Reporting is really easy, more buyers due to accepting credit cards

Pros

I love that it will track my inventory, that I can sell offsite with it, I can customize discounts and tax rates.

Cons

It takes a little bit of time to navigate through all of the features to get it set how you would like it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not at all what promised

Reviewed 3 years ago

Would absolutely not recommend. If I could afford oui rd I would switch.

Pros

Purchase orders, compact hardware, familiarity

Cons

Service: was sold that they had 24/7 for retail . They do not. On boarding. No help whatsoever. Missing seriously needed things, like searching/sorting by vendor. Serious issues with hardware package , they dumped us of on maker, will not take care if the issue. Major input issues, no real support on how to do. things.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Expensive

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

They give you the swipe and chip reader. Good looking gear and easy to use.

Cons

It is all around quite expensive compared to other companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square is easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

easy to use, chat availability with quick response rate

Cons

getting my square took 4 weeks not 7 days