App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Talkoot Logo

Talkoot

Produce brand-right product stories at scale.

see alternatives

(0)

Talkoot Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

27

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.58/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Excellent software which saved us so much time with copy and pasting content directly from the software.
Easy to write and author content. Basic customization is good.
Easy to find product copy i need and the ability to filter on anything makes it easy to use.
There were a very few times that the edits got lost. Added more time to the process.
Sometimes can be tricky finding the items I needed to review, not sure if it was an error on the companies end who submits them to me.
It seems sometimes my team does not get updates when I have make edits, which can sometimes be confusing if I do not let them know.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


27 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike A.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Talkoot is an excellent tool

Reviewed a year ago

Talkoot is essential to my job. I use it every day, and without it, I could not do my job.

Pros

Talkoot makes it easy to write, edit and deliver ecom catalog copy at a high volume. It makes it possible for multiple members of a creative team to play critical roles to ensure the copy that is delivered is accurate, well written and free of errors prior to delivery. It also helps in the seamless transition and tracking of copy from the point of order to delivery.

Cons

Talkoot has a lot of features that can be difficult for novice users to access.

LH
AvatarImg

Lily H.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy content collaboration with lots of helpful features

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's flexible and easy to customize for your own purposes. As a write, I enjoy using it. It's clearly designed for writing, with lots of open space and an uncluttered interface It's a centralized online space for collaboration - ideal for use with lots of remote contractors and clients located on another continent. It's easy to organize all your information and assets in one place. The Talkoot team is very supportive and responsive whenever I have a question.

Cons

I would appreciate more drag-and-drop functionality than is currently available. The spellcheck tends to be a little buggy (from what I've heard, this is an issue they are actively working on).

AP
AvatarImg

Anthony P.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Difficult Learning Curve, High Potential

Reviewed a year ago

For my use, Talkoot is a very powerful tool and with the right upgrades and iterations I feel that it could be absolutely essential.

Pros

Using Talkoot for eComm project management removes a lot of strain from the process as well as client-back-and forth. The tracking features, search features, and overall capabilities offer many valuable solutions for the workflow.

Cons

Speed is the main issue in Talkoot. Often times it's easier to work from a separate doc than the in the software itself. It's often difficult to find what's needed, partially due to how granular the search functions are. Overall, if the platform was more user-friendly, intuitive, and most importantly fast, it would be extremely valuable. Right now too much onus is on the users to be experts rather than roleplayers.

Vendor response

Hi Anthony, thanks for taking the time to write this. We're happy to hear that Talkoot has helped with client back and forth and the overall workflow! I'm sorry to hear that there have been issues with speed & usability. Speed is something we're always focused on improving, and our most recent release included some significant performance enhancements. We really value offering the best support possible and have reached out directly to offer additional training in Talkoot. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me with any questions or issues that come up in the future we're happy to help! -Erin

CM
AvatarImg

CARLY M.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Optimizes Your Content Workflow

Reviewed a year ago

Our clients love the platform as it saves time on their end as well. No more miscellaneous Excel sheets that both teams need to keep track of - it has also saved our team so much time in the writing process as we are able to better access previous copy and categorize accordingly.

Pros

Catalog organization and content management is the key benefit of this tool. It has cut down our copy production time mainly in the reduction of time it takes to organize information, write consistent copy and send iterations back and forth to clients.

Cons

Currently no access to Amazon to upload content, but I think something is on the way.

Vendor response

Hi Carly, It's wonderful to hear that Talkoot has helped with organization & saved time for you and your team! You are correct that an Amazon integration is on the way, and we'll keep you posted on progress there. Thanks for the kind words! Erin

AS
AvatarImg

Anna S.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Talkoot helps us do what we do best

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I was project-managing in the Excel days and can't even imagine working that way at the volume Thread operates today. The Talkoot interface is intuitive, so our writers can concentrate on the writing and not on the software. And the more advanced features behind the scenes help our PMs keep everything moving along smoothly. The data integration with client systems is dreamy.

Cons

I'm not in love with the spell-check function, but in the scheme of things that's a very small quibble.

KB
AvatarImg

Katrin B.

Sporting Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

it's ok

Reviewed a year ago

it's ok, we only use it twice per season (half year). It is not fantastic, but it does the job. No major issues.

Pros

don't know what to say, it is ok... there is nothing I particularly like about it to be honest.

Cons

loading times could be better, and a "tile view" in order to select multiple products that should get the same comments would be helpful... also the option to "group" items to show that they belong together. The search functionality isn't the most intuitive when you only use it every 6 months...

Vendor response

Hi Katrin, Really like the idea to add a multi-model select and groupings to the approval page! We're also always happy to provide refresher trainings after you've been out of the system for a while, please don't hesitate to reach out if you feel that would be helpful to the team.

ED
AvatarImg

Edmund D.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Customer Support is Exceptional

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Support team is absolutely fantastic, they go above and beyond to make sure you can do what you need to do

Cons

Very customizable, but that can also lead to confusion unless you have support walk you through certain processes

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the kind words Edmond, we have loved working with you!

LP
AvatarImg

Lauren P.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Talkoot

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Talkoot is very user friendly. I like how efficient it is and I can get my work done quickly.

Cons

It seems sometimes my team does not get updates when I have make edits, which can sometimes be confusing if I do not let them know.

Vendor response

Hi Lauren, glad to hear that Talkoot has helped with efficiency! Expanding the existing notification system is on our roadmap as a priority to tackle soon. Thanks!

HC
AvatarImg

Holly C.

Business Supplies and Equipment, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good software but can be improved

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Talkoot is easy to use and fairly intuitive.

Cons

When you “select all” it selects every SKU on every page. There is no option to select all on just the page you are on, which means you have to manually select each individual SKU in order to send them to your editor. When you look at the auto generated info, it does not list everything. It makes it look like that item only has a few tech specs but if you go to the web page for that item you will see a load more specs that Talkoot just hasn’t generated. You can’t click at URL you have to highlight it, copy, and paste in your browser, or highlight it and right click to search it on the web.

Vendor response

Hi Holly, so glad that you have found Talkoot to be intuitive and easy to use. There should be ways to select batches of models without going one by one we'll reach out separately to assist!

Lv
AvatarImg

Lisa v.

Translation and Localization, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed a year ago

For checking visuals and copy updates it's easy to use, I appreciate the clean user experience.

Pros

Easy to use and understand, clean design.

Cons

Perhaps a bit slow at times. Resolution on images is low, no zooming feature.

Vendor response

Lisa, Thanks for the review and feedback, we appreciate it!

IC
AvatarImg

Iris C.

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Well-designed UX/UI. All information is clear.

Cons

The loading speed becomes slow in certain period.

Vendor response

Hi Iris, thank you so much for the kind words!

BT
AvatarImg

Brett T.

Writing and Editing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

10/10 recommend! So great for freelancers!

Reviewed a year ago

I’m amazed. It’s simple and easy. I can write and grow my business perfectly.

Pros

It’s easy to use and can be used by anyone!!

Cons

It lags sometimes but it works well otherwise!

Vendor response

Hi Brett, so happy to read this! Thanks for the review, we love to know that Talkoot has been easy for the whole team.

BF
AvatarImg

Blanca F.

Translation and Localization, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Happy with Talkoot after 3+ years using it

Reviewed a year ago

As an eCom translator, Talkoot holds all the reference pictures I need to produce good quality translations

Pros

It's basically essential in my day to day. It's pretty easy to use and contains a ton of information that I need for my projects.

Cons

The only thing I don't like is that the filters work pretty slow, so I barely use them.

Vendor response

Hi Blanca, Thank you for the review! Great to hear that Talkoot has helped in your day to day. And thanks for the feedback on filter speed we will be sure to pass this info along to the development team.

MM
AvatarImg

Meghan M.

Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to find product copy i need and the ability to filter on anything makes it easy to use

Cons

For my specifically, the consumer facing name isn't available in Talkoot but I can find it in our other system

Vendor response

Hi Meghan, Happy to hear Talkoot has been easy to use! The Consumer Facing Name should be available under the field titled 'Model Name Consumer Facing', but please feel free to reach out if you're still having any issues finding it. - Erin

SD
AvatarImg

Sandra D.

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to enter content and spell check content.

Cons

Had some issues with down time, other than that easy to work with.

Vendor response

Thank you Sandra! Happy to hear Talkoot has been helpful for content creation.

DR
AvatarImg

Daniel R.

Sporting Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Long time Talkoot user

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to use, customer service team excellent!

Cons

The amount of reminder emails! Would have been great to have a record of previous submissions easily accessible - perhaps this exists and I don't know about it!

Vendor response

Hi Daniel, We love the suggestion for a link to your previously submitted feedback we'll pass that along! Thanks for the review, and so happy to hear you've had a good experience with the customer service team!

RS
AvatarImg

Rebecca S.

Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Talkoot Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

They are willing to work with you. If there are any issues they are happy to discuss and figure out a solution together. The software is overall pretty easy to use.

Cons

Writing in general can be a little immature. Software can be hard to find/ go back to old copies. Would be nice if they separated it by [SENSITIVE CONTENT] (or as we call it [SENSITIVE CONTENT])

Vendor response

Hi Rebecca, Thanks for the review! It's great to hear that you've found the system and the team easy to work with.

HN
AvatarImg

Hitesh N.

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy to use but difficult to customize

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to write and author content. Basic customization is good.

Cons

Complex integrations needed by development team could be managed better

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback. Integrations can indeed get complex and we are always looking for ways to improve our processes. We're glad to hear writing content has been easy for the team!

AO
AvatarImg

Alyssa O.

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appreciate the ease and convenience of this product!

Reviewed a year ago

Really satisfied with the tool overall. Prior to this we were sending word documents back and forth and there were many version controls to keep track of. It got a little messy. This is a much cleaner process.

Pros

How easy it was for the agency and our brand to collaborate, make edits and push content live.

Cons

There were a very few times that the edits got lost. Added more time to the process. Doesn't happen often.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this! We are so happy to hear that Talkoot has made your life a bit easier.

TS
AvatarImg

Tim S.

Sporting Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy and Useful tool

Reviewed a year ago

Talkoot helps to finalise the ecom copies for our products and make sure the information displayed are correct and key features & benefits are highlighted

Pros

Easy to use, reliable, and helpful! Never had any problems using Talkoot.

Cons

User interface could be improved for a more modern visual feel

Vendor response

Hi Tim, Thank you for the kind words and feedback!

DC
AvatarImg

Darryl C.

Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Talkoot review

Reviewed a year ago

Overall good and simple to navigate and use

Pros

Ease of use and simple to read and naviagte

Cons

Would be great to have sections to give specific feedback on content

Vendor response

Hi Darryl, thanks for the review and the feedback! Adding comments to specific pieces of copy from the approval space is something we'd love to add in the future.

JM
AvatarImg

Joseph M.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great tool, needs optimization and keyboard shortcuts

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience is good. I use Talkoot as a contractor with a small writing outfit that uses it to deliver a large volume of written deliverables on a seasonal basis. Considering the volume, it would be a nightmare without software like Talkoot to manage things. The software can be clunky and slow at times, and for a contractor like myself I am always thinking about how I spend my time versus how I get paid for that time. There's a lot of clicking into different views, and the loading time between the views, and even the loading time for different elements of a individual view, can feel cumbersome. I also wish there were more keyboard shortcuts for moving quickly between views and different parts of the individual views.

Pros

Talkoot's ability to organize and deliver a large volume of written deliverables is impressive.

Cons

The software can be slow at times. I don't like looking at that spinning loading icon when I'm trying to work quickly.

MK
AvatarImg

Maria K.

Translation and Localization, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Could be way quicker

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to use Gives many information Simlpe

Cons

It takes too long loading a product....

Vendor response

Hi Maria, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and I'm sorry to hear you have had issues with speed. I have reached out separately with a few options for speeding things up. Do let us know if you continue to have issues.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy for Large Catalogs

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Talkoot makes writing copy for huge catalogs with hundreds of products simple.

Cons

Uploading excel files into talkoot is really nitpicky.

Vendor response

Great to hear that Talkoot has helped with your large volume projects! Thanks so much for the review.

CD
AvatarImg

Chris D.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent For Site Content

Reviewed a year ago

excellent software which saved us so much time with copy and pasting content directly from the software

Pros

Easy handover from Freelancer to Ecommerce department (end user) to implement onto website

Cons

Copy and paste feature from within the software is

Vendor response

Hi Chris, So glad to hear that Talkoot has saved time and made content production easier for you. Thanks!