App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Toast POS Logo

Cloud-based Point of Sale solution for restaurants

(16)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Toast POS Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


515 reviews

Recommended

KV
AvatarImg

Kelly V.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Toast Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

The back end entry saves HOURS out of my week, and my employees are much, much happier with the ease of functions they use everyday (splitting checks, transferring tabs). I also enjoy the community and keeping in touch with Toast. It's not like one of those systems where a salesman comes into your restaurant, sells it to you, and never answers your call. Toast is constantly finding new ways to be a partner to us.

Pros

I most liked upgrades. With our previous systems, you bought them and that was it. We suffered for years without functions we wished we had. With Toast, if they don't already have it, you can bet it will be in a future upgrade.

Cons

It's what I like least but I appreciate: It's a LOT to learn, and it's constantly evolving. You really have to stay on top of it to get the most out of the system, but paying attention and a little research goes a long way.

Vendor response

Hi Kelly - We LOVE to hear that Toast is saving you hours every week. We are committed to being a partner in your business. We hope you'll utilize the monthly video newsletter and training materials to help stay up-to-date.

EM
AvatarImg

Edward M.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Customer service is terrible

Reviewed 3 years ago

For simple issues, their customer service answers immediately. For major issues, they have to escalate it and it can take days to solve problems. This isn’t our first major issue, and every time it takes a while to get it fixed. If you have a restaurant that does decent volume, I would suggest getting a more dependable POS with a customer service that can actually help and not just provide lip service.

Pros

The software is great when it works. But it isn’t dependable.

Cons

The customer service is terrible. Our POS stopped working and the tech support is terrible. Our restaurant was done, and so the customer service escalated it. It took a while to get a call back, and overall, it took a week to get it fixed. For some reason, they needed us to buy a whole new POS computer. This company is terrible to work with and we’ll be switching to Square in the future.

MF
AvatarImg

MIke F.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Big Problems w/ 3rd Parties

Reviewed a year ago

for the last two weeks we have used Toast the 3rd parties are still not set up correctly, there is ZERO RESPONSE FROM UPPER MANAGEMENT INCLUDING THE [sensitive content hidden] OF TOAST, they just send you links to articles for you to solve problems on your own, meanwhile charging $600 per month, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TOAST AT THIS TIME

Pros

when Toast is fully functional its great

Cons

Totally lack of ownership from Toast w/ regard to 3rd parties, Toast continually blames the 3rd parties for their own short falls, losing thousands per week because Toast does not know how to set up 3rd parties

Vendor response

Hi Mike, this is Carrisa with the Toast team. We're sorry that you were experiencing trouble setting up your system. I'm going to be following up to make sure we can get you set up correctly.

EH
AvatarImg

Elizabeth H.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for Remote Access

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Toast POS is the best cloud based tablet POS out there. Their reporting is easy to use, and accessible anywhere this is an internet connection. Everything is laid out intuitively and on the front end, the staff find it very easy to use.

Cons

We wish their support team were more responsive. Several times we have reached out with a question and haven't received an answer.

Vendor response

Hi Elizabeth, Jasmine from Toast here. We love that you love being able to access your restaurant's real-time data from anywhere!

WM
AvatarImg

William M.

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Toast is NOT worth it

Reviewed 2 years ago

Started well but ended terribly. Called last week to see if they wanted to keep our business. They did not get back to us. We will now likely be switching to Spot On.

Pros

Originally, it was easy to use and had novel technologies. We were one of the first companies to adopt the platform in Chicago.

Cons

The handhelds and computers are always going off-line. Their switching of security systems left us off-line for days and took out other software and programs that weren't even toast related. We lost THOUSANDS of dollars. However, that isn't the worst part of Toast. If you go with them as currently constituted, their restaurant support will become the bane of your existence. Long waits. No help. They will "escalate" the case and no one will ever get back to you. It is absolutely miserable.

PS
AvatarImg

Pila S.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Software/ Terrible Customer Support since VC

Reviewed a year ago

Software is flexible and powerful, and robust. Custom service was phenomenal when the company started and is garbage now.

Pros

It can do everything. It is very flexible

Cons

No complaints about the software… just bad service

MW
AvatarImg

Meghan W.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We Love Toast!

Reviewed 2 months ago

Toast has been great for our business overall. Tracking sales and entering orders is so easy.

Pros

Toast is user friendly, both on the front end and back end. Making changes on the fly is simple too!

Cons

Having to hit update so many times. This was a system update and took some learning. My employees feel like they have to push too make buttons to get to the check. Used to be more simple when we first started using toast. Some of the buttons on the screen are also tiny.

Vendor response

Hi Meghan, thanks for the 5-star review! Thrilled to know that Toast is exceeding your expectations.

CB
AvatarImg

Chris B.

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Toast Review

Reviewed 9 months ago

Smooth install. Easy to use.. Accurate information

Pros

POS ease or use. Accurate payment and reporting systems.

Cons

Extra, unnecessary features for our needs

Vendor response

Hi Chris, wow, thanks for the 5-star review. We're grateful to have you as a restaurant partner. If you haven't already, join our Toast Community at https://community.toasttab.com/ to connect with other restaurant leaders. - Carrisa

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Melissa T.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Allows me to work far more efficently

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The handhelds were a game-changer. Instead of running to the nearest station and waiting for other coworkers to finish, I was able to take the order at tableside. They also reduced errors significantly. When inputting orders, all of the prompts for temperature, sides, and modifications came up automatically. This reduced the number of times that orders were inaccurate. By doing all this in real-time while taking the guest's order, It made it possible to take a higher volume of tables, consequently raising sales and revenue. It also made it impossible to forget to ring in the order.

Cons

I'm not sure if it was software or connectivity issues, but we ended up offline a bit. The program was supposed to still send orders to stations offline, but it printed multiple copies. Although I have been around long enough to know how to take orders by hand and deliver them appropriately to support staff, the majority of our employees were much younger and did not. This caused chaos. The handhelds needed frequent rebooting.

SS
AvatarImg

Samec S.

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Quick software with minor setbacks

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall I have had a fairly positive experience using this system. While navigating it may be a bit tricky at times I have been more efficient using this software than other POS systems out there.

Pros

Perhaps my favorite thing about this software is the clean interface that is presented by the platform. It is not messy and makes creating orders fast. The user can easily see that there is a clear path and structure that the user must take in order to fulfill any orders- therefore making the process efficient.

Cons

This system can get complex at times specially at times when time is limited. The amount choices that is presented by this software can make navigating for the user a bit difficult as it can get seemingly overwhelming. However, this is only at first when the user first begins operating this system.

Vendor response

Hi Samec, Jasmine from Toast here. I'm thrilled to hear you find the user experience of Toast to be intuitive and our POS has made your restaurant operations more efficient.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Restaurants, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

TOAT POS Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Toast is a light weight tablet pos system that is fairly easy to implement and support. Its a smaller less encumbered system than Aloha POS which we used previously. That said its not as full featured when it come to multi location management as Aloha POS.

Cons

The support on Toast is the largest issue we had. Each time you have an issue you have to start with square one at support. They dont offer account reps or any such services even with the initial roll out.

Vendor response

Hi there, Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback on our customer support. If you haven't already, please join our customer community at community.toasttab.com to connect with other restaurant leaders for support with Toast or insight on growing. Hope to see you there.

WP
AvatarImg

WILLIAM P.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

AVOID AT ALL COST!!!!

Reviewed 6 years ago

HORRIBLE AND I BEGGED FOR THEM TO LET ME OUT OF LEASE BUT THEY SAY THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO MEAN WHILE THEY HAVE BEEN PAID FOR MONTHLY SERVICES FROM LEASING COMPANY THAT HAVE NOT BEEN RENDERED *****SCAMMERS!!!******

Pros

EASY TO ADD ITEMS AND GREAT TO EMAIL AND TEXT CUSTOMERS ****BUT THAT'S WHERE IT ENDS**** SO NOT THOUGHT OUT AND WAS LEFT FOR A MONTH WITH NO ONE TO HELP US OPEN!!! THEY WILL LIE THROUGH THEIR TEETH TO GET YOU ON BOARD!!

Cons

FLIMSY PLAT FORM CONFUSING WORK FLOW CASH MANAGEMENT IS HORRIBLE!!!!!!! CAN NOT FIND CHECKS STUFF VANISHES AND THE TECHS CAN'T EVEN FIGURE IT OUT LOCK YOU IN WITH FINANCING!!! STAY AWAY!!!!! EVEN SIMPLE TASKS ARE IMPOSSIBLE...NO AUTOFILL FOR CUSTOMERS....ADDING EXISTING PRODUCTS YOU NEED TO MANUALLY SCROLL THROUGH ALL PRODUCTS!!!

Vendor response

Hi Billy - We're sorry to hear that the product has not lived up to your expectations. As you know, we're continually iterating and working to improve. Kimberly and the team will continue to work with you directly.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After using so many POS systems this is my absolute favorite

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Toast as our jazz club and every single employee absolutely adores the system if they have any experience with another point of sale systems. It is much more professional than a system such as square in my opinions and seems like a wonderful middle-ground between an industry standard like Aloha and a more intuitive and user-oriented solution like clover.

Pros

User Interface is absolutely gorgeous So much more intuitive than other systems (seems like it was designed by me) Very fast transaction and screen speed easy to add things to menu/change prices Works very well so any sized restaurant makes splitting checks way easier that most POS systems

Cons

Receipt printer that we got from Toast could have been a little nicer. Was very light and moves around a lot.

Vendor response

Hi there, Jasmine from Toast here. I'm thrilled to hear you are in love with our UI - I love how you said "it seems like it was designed by me". That is exactly the user experience we hope for everyone to have. We appreciate the feedback on the hardware!

KP
AvatarImg

Kamal P.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Customer Disservice

Reviewed 2 years ago

Worst experience. The time to troubleshoot is not the worth any benefit derived from any hardware discounts provided to convince customers to onboard. I have wasted eight hours over three days with customer "service" to correct an email address and debit account. We transitioned a bank account and they continue to debit it. We have paid overdraft charges because of their inability to follow through...

Pros

In-line with other products on the market.

Cons

Company has made it impossible to maximize the utilization.

TB
AvatarImg

Tyler B.

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Toast Review

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Far and away the easiest POS software to use. If you are looking for software that anyone from the most tech savy down to the least savy, this is the platform I would recommend. The reporting features are easy to use and understand.

Cons

They lack in their customer support. They have been getting better, but as an early adopter, I saw where they grew too fast and forgot to help support their earliest customers with their issues.

Vendor response

Hi Tyler - We're thrilled that you're finding Toast easy to use! Our technology is designed to support your business, not get in your way. Staff training is hard enough without the POS being difficult to use. Customer service is a top priority for us in 2019 and beyond. We'll continue to focus on that to ensure you and your team get best-in-class service whenever you call or log on.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Keith K.

Restaurants, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Toast support is the worst!

Reviewed 2 years ago

The support is terrible. Hours long waits on the phone when you call to trouble shoot problems. Once the sale is completed the sales person ghosts you or makes excuses about following up. The installers never know what they are supposed to be installing and then leave with the job half done.

Pros

Easy to use for our employees. Apple pay with the cue works well.

Cons

The support from Toast is the worst I have ever encountered. From the sales people, to the implementation team, to the ongoing support. No one takes accountability for anything that goes wrong. After you sign up and then want the system installed, contacting the installers is next to impossible. No email address provide, just a google phone number that no one ever answers. If I could I would change back to Micros, but with 10 locations now using Toast that is not financially feasible.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kerby R.

Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great POS. Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I love Toast. Super easy and very user friendly. Most servers catch on in just minutes.

Pros

Toast is amazing it not only can handle on the fly menu changes, but can also work as your punch clock. Runs very smoothly on android os.

Cons

I can't complain. Toast handles all your daily reports and makes them easy to send to others, archive or what ever your case maybe.

KS
AvatarImg

Kurt S.

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Toast use across 3 locations

Reviewed a year ago

Overall very satisfied and never left hanging

Pros

Ease of back end management, easy of employee use, quality of technical support.

Cons

New back end editor isn't as direct as it could be

GC
AvatarImg

Gregg C.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After using and testing many - There's only one for us - TOAST!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are able to see real time inventory levels and sales of our baked goods and write precise production schedules for our kitchen. We also have the inventory module and love the costing and menu mapping.

Pros

Ease of use when training incoming staff. The software is very intuitive and easy to teach/learn.

Cons

The "cupcake" problem...not having the ability to create drop down menus to select a specific number of flavors/cupcakes to put in a box - and - have those choices deducted from the running inventory in real time. However, the Toast Tech's found us a workaround, it is however, slightly cumbersome.

Vendor response

Hi Gregg, Jasmine from Toast here. It's great to see you are taking full advantage of our robust POS system. We appreciate the feedback on the drop down menus, but I'm glad you were able to find a solution!

JG
AvatarImg

Joe G.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommend!

Reviewed 7 years ago

We've had Toast for over a year and could not be happier. We never planned on switching from our old POS but after seeing a presentation of Toast we were blown away by the possibilities. Toast has increased our efficiency immensely which shows in our sales. We recently had over 10,000 people for our annual St. Patrick's Day Street Event. We've always been please at how easily it handles our volume, but wow, it ran smoothly and effortlessly all day long! We had 17 handhelds running and 5 terminals! We cannot say enough good things about Toast! We learn new things every day that increase our productivity!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Joe! Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're so happy that you're a part of our Toast family, and it has been SUCH a great pleasure working with you and your team. We're also ecstatic to hear that your Toast experience was relatively flawless, especially on a high volume holiday! Thanks again for being an important member of our family, and we look forward to our continued partnership for many more years to come! Hope we get to see you guys in Florida soon! Best Regards, Cassy & the Toast team

MD
AvatarImg

Michael D.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Toast has been a great POS system

Reviewed a year ago

Very positive, enjoy using the system

Pros

Ease of use, all the features that are available.

Cons

I was used to a POS company that would send IT support to my location to help resolve issues. Toast does not provide this, but does provide phone support to help walk you through it. My only negative to the phone support is that it is sometimes difficult to get through to someone

JJ
AvatarImg

Jeff J.

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Toast and the Cloud Makes Sense

Reviewed 7 years ago

For over a year our organization searched for the right POS solution for us that would solve issues that our current provider could not. We had 65 locations in our brand and it seemed like they were 65 islands when it came to our POS system. There were many versions of our data base, and we were hampered by issues such as the end of life for our operating system. Toast was one of many POS providers...

Pros

Easy to use, reliable, good value.

Cons

There are still a few features that have not matured yet. A more robust ideal food cost tool that could integrate with more food vendors would be very valuable.

MP
AvatarImg

Monica P.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Toast Makes My Life Easier

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Toast is far more superior of a product than my last POS. While there are some pretty big issues still on the table, I know that the support team is working diligently to make changes for the better.

Pros

It is amazing what you can accomplish when you have a solid POS that can integrate to other products. Toast has literally cut my back-office time in half, by partnering with the software companies I use for payroll and accounting. Toast delivery has saved me a ton of time and wages.

Cons

There are still some major kinks that need to be worked out. XtraChef has not been consistent, although customer service has been great. The Toast Delivery functions are limited and almost impossible to navigate if a customer needs to change an order; ie it will not allow us to update an address, change from delivery to pick-up or change a timed order. We need more flexibility to help our customers.

PP
AvatarImg

Philip P.

Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple, Easy and Make a small business look large

Reviewed a year ago

This Tablet system is Il easy to use and install. Low maintenance cost and literally is plug and play. Customer support is easy to access and quick to support our needs.

Pros

The ever evolving addition of modules and ease of use. Simplifies our line operations and enables us to offer a loyalty program and gift cards that a small business would be challenged to offer on our own

Cons

Toast is the simplest POS system I have ever used.

SS
AvatarImg

Staci S.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We will use Toast forever

Reviewed a year ago

We love toast 10 times over. I always love bragging about our tablets and system, but toast works as much as you do. You have to learn the ins and outs of the tablets and backend and you will find so many options to things you might want. Definitely look into their partners that you can link to!!

Pros

Toast is customizable, easy to use, and they always have great customer service reps. We are looking to franchise and already know toast POS will be at EVERY location. They are in your corner.

Cons

We wish we had more options when it comes to promo codes and marketing but we know toast is always working on new things we just have to wait.