App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ArcSight Logo

ArcSight

Vulnerability scanning and threat intelligence software

see alternatives

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ArcSight Reviews

Overall rating

4.1

/5

12

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.42/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

ESM's log supporting surface is very high and almost all the types of logs are supported which is one of the best features of the tool.
Further logs can be routed through the smart connectors and through these connectors EPS count can be managed which is a good option when it comes to licensing.
We gather all logs from these products and we can easily manage our logs according to rules. Reporting module and dashboard are the best feature of this product.
Sometimes we have some problems with search mechanism, it needs some improvements.
Because of our big organization and large products which gather logs sometimes we have problems with troubleshooting issues that is little bit hard for us.
Reporting and searching becomes difficult when data pipe is huge above 10k EPS.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


12 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alexander Z.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Heart of the SOC

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our company and our partners facing a lot incidents masked as a normal events. The SIEM helped us to be protected and to prioritize the events, based of the security risk. Automations of the responses is the other feauture that is a key differentiator.

Pros

Very powerful SIEM with plenty of predefined corellation scenarios. Could be integrate easily with almost everything.

Cons

For new users could be a little difficult to play with, but there are a lot of training materials and courses.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It provides powerful features to make every operation with received logs.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using this product for about 3 years. We use ESM and Logger products. As a SIEM solution, we are able to host this product in our environment. We monitor the alarm and correlation rules, abnormal activities and cyber threats, which we write through the logs we receive from various security products and applications in our environment and monitor our incident response processes.

Pros

ArcSight supports functions such as processing, categorizing, normalizing, converting alarms and correlations and receiving reports on SIEM with very powerful search and filter operators. The product also supports making and running trend reports. It offers very powerful features for SIEM. It has features that provide great flexibility on logs. My favorite feature is the trend report. With this feature, real-time logs over the logs of the report to match the results of the report with a different database to get instant reports to access the report provide quick access.

Cons

Ticket management feature is one of the least favorite features. It does not have an interface that can be easily adapted and applied according to your environment. If you want to use this feature, you need professional support and software support.

Vendor response

Thank you for the 4-star review, it is very much appreciated. We did note your comments about your `least favorite feature? and this certainly helps us build a better product. ArcSight has Case Management; that is different from Ticket Management. Ticket Management is more of a support function / ITSM issue; and while ArcSight does have connectors for ServiceNow, we know it's been problematic for some customers. As you point out, we typically recommend that Professional Services be engaged as each implementation has its idiosyncrasies. That said, improving this area is a KPI for us and we will be looking at options as we move to advance the ?Open? portion of our strategy in late 2019. We'd be happy to hear your thoughts / recommendations in more depth.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Arcsight - Good but complex SIEM solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

Arcsight ESM is a powerful but complex tool that needs deep knowledge of the product.

Pros

We are using Arcsight ESM and Logger for event logging and correlation. Events correlation is done at the ESM level and provides better visibility on organizations' security posture. Dashboards and reports can be generated on ESM and further, it facilitates case management so we can open a case on the tool itself. Arcsight was one of the most demanding tools at the time we implemented the tool. ESM's log supporting surface is very high and almost all the types of logs are supported which is one of the best features of the tool. Further logs can be routed through the smart connectors and through these connectors EPS count can be managed which is a good option when it comes to licensing. I like the option of Flex connectors which can be used for integrating non supporting devices or logs.

Cons

Arcsight Smart connector setup needs deep knowledge of the tool and configuration is a bit hectic task. Flex connector configuration and correlation configuration is another complex task that cannot be done without product knowledge. Further case management tools need more features with a simple view. First level support should have a technically savvy team. Most of the time the first level support team provides generic solutions and references to knowledge-based articles rather than studying the case.

SV
AvatarImg

Sebnem V.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Micro Focus ArcSight SIEM

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have a lot of security products and applications. We gather all logs from these products and we can easily manage our logs according to rules. Reporting module and dashboard are the best feature of this product.

Pros

We have been using Arcsight SIEM tool in Information Security department in our organization since 2013. We can integrated this product with all other security management products such as Firewall, IPS, Antivirus, Web Filtering etc. also in house softwares easily. We can gather all logs from these products and create rules and manage logs according to rules. Dashboard and alarm mechanism are done well.

Cons

Sometimes we have some problems with search mechanism, it needs some improvements. Because of our big organization and large products which gather logs sometimes we have problems with troubleshooting issues that is little bit hard for us.

Vendor response

My name is Michael Mychalczuk, and I am the Director Of Product Management for Micro Focus' Security Operations portfolio which includes ArcSight. I would like to personally take a moment, and thank you for the review you provided. We are thrilled that you were able to find the product feature rich, easy to use, and find value in the solution. We do agree that there is more we can do in making the...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

World of Data

Reviewed 5 years ago

The ArcSight product is seen as one of the leaders and leaders in the Safety Information and Event Management category, according to Gartner's Magic Quadrant report. ArcSight's approach is to create a single point of communication for observation and control. Gathers all appropriate event data and puts it into a standard form. It collects at a central location for analysis. As a result, the company allows you to easily monitor and, if necessary, take measures. This increases your compliance with your legal requirements and business continuity.

Pros

The most important feature of Arcsight is that it is the only point of communication for observation and control. collects all appropriate data and puts it into a standard form. these data are stored on a hard disk and are expected to be analyzed. With arcsight, it is monitored with the help of side applications and with the help of monitoring tool (see arcsight esm).

Cons

The ESM platform is Java. This causes slowness and excessive welding in intensive processes.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Lack of Support

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The flexibility. I liked that even without good product support, the application was still flexible enough for our team to create work arounds.

Cons

The lack of enterprise support. There are no out of the box connectors for new SSO products like Okta.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and I'm sorry to read that your experience with Micro Focus was not wholly what we strive to deliver. It is true that our connectors do not yet support some popular SSO products like Okta. I have reached out to the ArcSight Connectors Product Manager for information on the roadmap. We do support many others, such as RSA, IBM, Layer 7, etc. This does not solve the challenges you experienced with Customer Support. I would welcome the opportunity to remediate the situation. Could you be more specific? You should receive my contact details via Capterra. I look forward to having the opportunity to help improve your impression of Micro Focus. David Shephard Program Manager, Customer Engagement david.shephard@microfocus.com

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ArcSight Review

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

ArcSight is a SIEM tool. Which is used to collecting, analyzing and managing the logs from multiple log sources.

Cons

Its all good but it has components which we have to install and use separately. It should be all in one like Splunk.

JB
AvatarImg

Javier B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

First layer for enterprise SIEM

Reviewed 5 years ago

The current configuration of the platform allows the intake of millions of events and its ability to integrate third-party applications and addons facilitates the availability of a functional SIEM in a reasonable time. However, deepening and getting to have very customized configurations implies...

Pros

Ease to perform the intake of virtually any data source.

Cons

The learning curve is very complex and requires specialized personnel

ST
AvatarImg

Shubham T.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best On-prem SIEM tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The most impactful feature of the ArcSight is the rule co-relation engine and the capabilities that it has are almost exceptional and literally stand out when compared to its competitors.

Cons

The least exciting feature of ArcSight is that it has some third party security devices that cannot be integrated with ArcSight leading it to be less effective sometimes.

NG
AvatarImg

Nagesh G.

Computer & Network Security, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good tool for Network Security Monitoring

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Flexibility and scalability Third party integrations

Cons

Reporting and searching becomes difficult when data pipe is huge above 10k EPS

LC
AvatarImg

Luis C.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Enterprise Grade Security Log Analyzer

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very powerfull Security Log Analyzer and visualizer, simply enterprise grade

Pros

Processing power is amazing, it can analyze hundreds of gigs per minute very easily and efficiently with not a lot of resource consumption.

Cons

It's not so easy to set up and every connector requires a different setup so it takes some time to manage.

Vendor response

Luis, My name is Michael Mychalczuk, and I am the Dir. Of Product Management for Micro Focus' Security Operations portfolio which includes ArcSight. I would like to personally take a moment, and thank you for the review you provided. We are thrilled that you were able to find the product feature rich, easy to use, and find value in the solution. We do agree that there is more we can do in making...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joe L.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Outdated UI - Powerful backend

Reviewed 3 years ago

Poor. 'meat' of the product is good but the UI is difficult to use. Due to this, my company moved to Logrhythm, A company leveraging ex Arcsight employees to improve on the faults of Arcsight whilst retaining the benefits

Pros

The 'meat' of this product is very powerful allowing for complex searches of ingested log data.

Cons

The UI of this product is very outdated, relying on 90's looking themes.