App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Barracuda Web Security Gateway Logo

Cloud-based application protection solution

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Barracuda Web Security Gateway Reviews

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


9 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Works Too Well

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Barracuda software has unfortunately been on my work computers for the better part of 5-6 years now. The software has done exactly what it's supposed to do. Stop me from visiting websites I'm not supposed to at work. I can't imagine the countless times this software has stopped others in the company from visiting malicious sites.

Cons

The biggest con for me is actually a positive for the software. This con is that the software works too well. I'm just trying to visit my fantasy football website. My IT department should loosen the grip a little. Please?

CF
AvatarImg

Cody F.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Web Filter Appliances vs. DNS Filtering

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I have used a Barracuda Webfilter 410 for years. We purchased the appliance to replace the Web Blocker service on our Watchguard firewall. Setup is a breeze. Active Directory synchronization was always a problem with the way the device mapped users to IP addresses. Reporting was adequate but slow to generate. For a shop with limited IT resources these devices provide an easy point and click way to keep your staff on task by blocking some, most or all of the fun on the Internet.

Cons

As mentioned above, the reporting was slow and the ability to accurately map a user to an event required too many work arounds.

EP
AvatarImg

Erika P.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Basic Web Filter

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Barracuda Web Security does its job as simple to use and quality software product.

Cons

There are some ways to get around the web filter, so not all off-limits sites are completely inaccessible.

RM
AvatarImg

Roberta M.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Added Security to Trust

Reviewed 4 years ago

Initially I was overwhelmed with the Barracuda experience. My former filter was easy to manage and it didn't block quite so much and so eagerly. After a few tweaks, the filter works smoothly and there are less issues of educational websites being blocked. I like that the Barracuda will scan any PDF before it allows it to open. Once it has done this it remembers the PDF and won't scan it again. Our experience has been very positive.

Pros

We use the Barracuda filter for our school and the Web Security is an added feature. Since the Barracuda is our CIPA filter for the school, we decided that having the addition of another virus program was to our benefit.

Cons

Honestly, the Barracuda does its stuff behind the scenes and there is never any reason to have an issue with it. I find it a little cumbersome to manage when the need arises but that is few and far between for us.

LH
AvatarImg

Larry H.

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Write a Review for Barracuda Web Security Gateway Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Once we installed the Web Security Gateway we could rest at ease knowing that employees could only access work related sites and having additional security is never a bad thing.

Pros

Barracuda Web Security Gateway is a very easy to setup/manage security solution. It is extremely accurate and reporting capabilities are robust.

Cons

There are no cons that I am aware of, the solution may be a little pricey for a smaller organization however.

JG
AvatarImg

Jonathan G.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Barracuda Web Filter

Reviewed 5 years ago

Installation is a breeze, tech support is awesome, issues are minimum. This thing rocks!

Pros

Barracuda allow us to monitor and protect our network from malicious files and websites along with protecting and monitoring our users.

Cons

Everything has flowed smoothly with the Barracuda Web Filter so far.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Protects your coworkers from themselves

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This software is one of the best in restricting employees from going places they shouldn't, being knowingly or not. Definitely saved our company a few times.

Cons

Sometimes the filters can be too strict, but that's the price you pay to be safe.

KH
AvatarImg

Kelly H.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Persistent Security

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This company considers security as a high priority. It will warn you of any and every intruder. You can feel safe.

Cons

Lots of email Warnings. There was no way to consolidate daily warnings.

MS
AvatarImg

Marko S.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple Web Filtering

Reviewed 5 years ago

Barracuda products have been a success in our everyday business applications.

Pros

Simple web filtering for business use. Keeps end-users off of malicious sites for the most part. Offers the features and functionality of any similar product.

Cons

Occasionally it will falsely flag sites to be blocked. This is easily fixed by adding certain sites to a whitelist or blacklist.