App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Blumira Logo

Blumira

Cloud-based threat detection and response platform

see alternatives

Blumira Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.9

/5

11
100%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

The Blumira team has been super responsive to any of my requests and willing to jump on a call if needed. The platform is straight forward and easy to use.
It has been a great addition to our company's security profile. The best part is that I don't have to have my staff constantly monitor event logs all day long.
Overall, Blumira is an AWESOME hosted SIEM/MDR solution at an extremely reasonable price point. It's no Splunk, but it's also a fraction of the cost, and top-notch support is included in the price.
Alerted and the device was isolated and remediated in less than a half hour. I am afraid to think how long it would have been that we had this malicious software in our environment without Blumira.
It should be able solve most organizations' problems for log collection and compliance, and their out-of-the-box detections catch most bad things without false-positives or needing to be tuned.

Blumira users...

listing-logo
USM Anywhere-logo

USM Anywhere

listing-logo
Elastic Stack-logo

Elastic Stack

listing-logo
Splunk Enterprise-logo

Splunk Enterprise

listing-logo
AlienVault OSSIM-logo

AlienVault OSSIM

How would you rate Blumira?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


11 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic SIEM for my customers

Reviewed 8 months ago

your sales reps are fantastic and responsive

Pros

much cheaper than say Splunk plus easier to set up

Cons

not alot of folks have heard of your company

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blumira SIEM

Reviewed 8 months ago

Blumira implementation was easy, with log collector setup done by script, templates for event forwarding from log sources. Use of this product has greatly reduced the time required of our limited staff searching logs for suspicious activity or indications of misconfiguration. Alert Event information and explanations enable rapid investigation and resolution of most incidents.

Pros

Automatic event alerts for suspicious activities allows us to begin investigation soon after a suspicious event. Automated report generation for less sensitive activities allows us to monitor actions of interest to our organization. The Report Builder UI is straightforward and with practice can be used to create detailed reports of log activity for specific events, as is needed during investigations. Event management UI provides for communication to Blumira staff for additional support, attachment of documents from investigations and documenting the resolution of the event.

Cons

It takes some practice and experimentation to identify which fields to use in filtering logs into reports. Blumira normalizes the logs for storage in the database and it can be challenging to get the right data items into the report you want. However, Blumira support is always ready to help figure it out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Make sifting thru mountains of data something of a mole hill.

Reviewed 4 months ago

I've sent support tickets in and responses have been fast and personalized. Makes our jobs easier.

Pros

Being able to send logs from clients, servers, network equipment, and cloud sources is very important. Knowing what is going on at all times and being alerted to something occurring allows us to look into who did what, when, and find out what was going on which triggered the alert allows us to respond very quickly.

Cons

Filtering data in reports by date or date range is not as simple as it should be. I had to get a coworker to look at this feature with me in order to figure out how to filter by date range.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and feedback, Khan! We've passed your insights about reporting filtering to our team so that we can continue to improve and make this process easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blumira solves the problem of SOC

Reviewed 2 years ago

Extremely positive; they are engaged with their customers and are transparent with their development efforts which help make us successful. Their rapid and knowledgeable communication has blown me away.

Pros

The platform has done an amazing job of taking the various events, alerts, alarms, and other notifications and boiling them down into actionable alerts that any member of an IT team can work with and react against. Alert fatigue is a real concern, and the fact that our support staff can be given the infrequent and important findings -- while being given a playbook on how to respond -- is the reason this software is successful.

Cons

While the initial setup was straightforward, it did not include the same large amount of documentation that other vendors provide. This did involve then reaching out to Blumira support, which has been, hands-down, the most knowledgeable and fastest support team that I have ever used in my 20 years of utilizing untold numbers of networking and security vendors.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive response! We greatly appreciate having you as a customer. Your feedback is also welcomed. We also felt we didn't have accessible documentation and have published our documentation publicly on Blumira's website for all at https://www.blumira.com/integrations/

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great solution that works as promised.

Reviewed a year ago

We have had a couple of instances where users clicked on a malicious link and their machine started password spraying. Alerted and the device was isolated and remediated in less than a half hour. I am afraid to think how long it would have been that we had this malicious software in our environment without Blumira.

Pros

The ease of implementation was incredible. Other solutions were going to be months to a year to fully deploy.

Cons

Not really any cons about the solution. They are a newer company and are great to work with when we need to new features added.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Set it and Forget it

Reviewed 6 months ago

Blumira is scanning all of our logs and only showing the issues that need to be addressed. This solves the issue of dedicating a person to comb through 10's of thousands of logs each day.

Pros

We have been using Blumira for about 6 months now. It has been a great addition to our company's security profile. The best part is that I don't have to have my staff constantly monitor event logs all day long.

Cons

There are times when I want to see the raw logs. It takes some experience to decipher the raw log area. I think this will be a non-issue when I get some more exposure to using the raw log area.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you are seeing the value in Blumira and we always welcome your feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blumira is an AWESOME hosted SIEM/MDR solution

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall, Blumira is an AWESOME hosted SIEM/MDR solution at an extremely reasonable price point. It's no Splunk, but it's also a fraction of the cost, and top-notch support is included in the price. It should be able solve most organizations' problems for log collection and compliance, and their out-of-the-box detections catch most bad things without false-positives or needing to be tuned. If they continue adding the features they say they're adding, Blumira's definitely a solution to keep your eye on.

Pros

Blumira doesn't need agents, and it's really easy to setup and use. The built-in detections will quickly start to call-out risky behavior or settings that could be dangerous. So far, we haven't seen any missed detections or false-positives.

Cons

Requirement for a VM to collect logs - even if your integrations are all cloud (e.g. AWS, M365, etc), you still need to deploy a VM on your network to connect your cloud apps to Blumira's cloud. I was told this may change in the future. Detections aren't user-configurable, but Blumira's support is extremely helpful and will change configurations for you if required. I was told this may change soon. Views/dashboards aren't configurable, and reports aren't 'very sexy' (i.e. they give you the data you want in a CSV - no fancy PDF with graphs, logos, etc.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product at a great price

Reviewed 6 months ago

As a small to mid-size business with a limited crew and budget, this has been a huge success for us. It gives us the logging and insight into the network to help feel secure without all the extra costs of the bigger players.

Pros

Had software up and running in an afternoon. Tools and instructions made it easy to deploy ourselves. The portal has numerous reports to help get a visual into the network. We started getting alerts within the first hour on stuff that we were not aware of.

Cons

Older computers without SSD drives showed a performance hit due to amount of logging. Alerts need to be addressed with customer service to setup or quiet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All detection and response should be this easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Increased visibility and managing my security operations efforts.

Pros

Easy deployment, easy integration. High fidelity findings and alerts. Context in consideration backed by threat intelligence. Plain actionable language in alerts. If you are a Cisco shop and you are struggling with Secure-X, just stop and call Blumira today.

Cons

Reporting and search could be more user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of Blumira

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The Blumira team has been super responsive to any of my requests and willing to jump on a call if needed. The platform is straight forward and easy to use.

Cons

Nothing so far, everything has been working just fine...

Vendor response

We appreciate your great review, Jason!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Peace of mind!

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, very happy. Our [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was super helpful in making sure we totally understood the ins and outs of the product. They were able to help us connect all of our 3rd party integrations, get our Windows and Linux logs ingested into Blumira, explained how to make best use of the software for our particular organization, and tons more.

Pros

With the Technical Account Management team guiding you along every step of the way, getting everything up and running was a breeze!

Cons

Currently, no bulk action abilities. I was told this will be coming soon though so, not really a big deal for us.