This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Boxcryptor Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The user experience is great, which is even more important in this case than it usually is.

Florian L.

Excellent encryption, easy encryption/decryption of files, folders or drives.

Anonymous Reviewer

I like how it is easy to use this application.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

I don't like how Dropbox Paper files are damaged if encrypted through Boxcryptor.

Corey K.

The code is closed source and there are no security audits, so you have to put a lot of trust into the developers of this software. Apart from that, the Android app is a disaster.

Florian L.

It works well but I think I'll probably stop renewing the membership upon the next cycle since OneDrive seems to have addressed this security concern by encrypting everything themselves.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.2

5

4

3

2

1

7

6

1

0

1

87%
positive reviews
86%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


15 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent

Reviewed 7 months ago

Excellent encryption, easy encryption/decryption of files, folders or drives.

Pros

It is easy to install and works with Dropbox, BOX, OneDrive, Google Drive, on your PC and on your mobile devices such as your smartphone or tablet.

Cons

The limitation of cloud services per paid license. Since a lot of date nowadays stored in the cloud, you might need several cloud providers for your business needs, thus, a few more cloud-providers would have been nice.

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive review. Boxcryptor for Teams does not include any limitations regarding the number of cloud storage providers. If we can help you in this regard, our support team will be happy to assist you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Boxcryptor Encryption software

Reviewed 8 months ago

Up until migration to 365 it has been very good

Pros

It can be reasonably simple to use and provides a very high level of encryption. I was easy to use, till we migrated to Office 365 and since then it has been more difficult to use

Cons

When we used it with Google Drive Boxcryptor was easy to use. Office 365 is not so compatible with it and gets confused by the encrypted files. These negative features mean that I am not so inclined to use Boxcryptor to encrypt files unless it is really necessary. Moving to Office 365 has been a backwards step in terms of use of Boxcryptor. It may be I am just not familiar with Boxcryptor with 365 but as stated previously, with Google drive it was easy and logical to use with 365 one has to think carefully how to encrypt files

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. If we can assist you in any way with the deployment of Boxcryptor in Microsoft 365, please feel free to contact our support team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ich bin vom Service enttäuscht

Reviewed 3 months ago

Es ist total nützlich Cloud-Laufwerke zu verschlüsseln, die macht Boxcrypotr zuverlässig. Die kostenlose Lösung Cryptomator allerdings auch. Bislang hatte Boxcryptor auf dem Mac den Vorteil, dass man mit Spotlight eine Volltextsuche auf dem verschlüsselten Laufwerk hatte. Dieser Vorteil ist nun futsch. Der Business-Support ist nach meiner Erfahrung enttäuschend.

Pros

Die Software läßt sich einfach installieren und läuft auf dem Mac dann im Hintergrund. Boxcryptor blendet ein virtuelles Laufwerk ein, das alle Dateien entschlüsselt anzeigt. Dort kann für jede Datei oder ganze Verzeichnisse festgelegt werden, ob diese verschlüsselt werden sollen oder nicht. Das funktioniert alles im Hintergrund, im virtuellen Laufwerk sieht man nur anhand eines Symbols, dass eine Datei verschlüsselt ist. Öffnet man dann das Laufwerk auf der Cloud, dann sind dort alle Dateien verschlüsselt. Auf Wunsch werden auch die Dateinamen verschlüsselt.

Cons

Auf dem iPhone/iPad gibt es zwar eine App mit der man auf die Dokumente zugreifen kann, doch das kann man nur als Notlösung verstehen. Wirklich arbeiten möchte man damit nicht. Seit einigen Monaten wird die Spotlight-Suche nicht mehr unterstützt, damit verliert der Boxcryptor seinen Vorteil gegenüber dem kostenlosen Cryptomator. Mit einem Update wurde die Spotlightsuche einfach deaktiviert und Boxcryptor...

Vendor response

Vielen Dank fur Ihr Feedback. Es tut uns leid zu horen, dass Sie mit unserem Support unzufrieden sind. Unser Team versucht bestmoglich, bei allen Problemen zu helfen, leider gibt es aktuell aber beim Thema Spotlight-Suche keine positiven Neuigkeiten. Allerdings haben wir in der vergangenen Woche eine komplett uberarbeitet iOS-App veroffentlicht, die durch eine direkte Einbindung in die Dateien-App noch unkompliziertes zu bedienen ist: https://www.boxcryptor.com/download/?platform=ios

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Possibly outdated

Reviewed a year ago

It works well but I think I'll probably stop renewing the membership upon the next cycle since OneDrive seems to have addressed this security concern by encrypting everything themselves.

Pros

I really liked that it allowed me to encrypt my OneDrive account so that Microsoft can't see it. Unfortunately, it may now be a bit superfluous.

Cons

The updates are a bit glitchy sometimes and they tend to reset my settings. It's supposed to prompt me for a pin every time the program opens on my desktop, but it stopped doing so. This is fine because I trust my spouse, but it also means my computer isn't safe from an intruder that is able to get passed the welcome screen of my desktop.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Free software for privacy-minded users who use the cloud

Reviewed 3 years ago

My sensitive files are on the web and I am not too concerned about them remaining private. It would not be the case with Dropbox without Boxcryptor

Pros

It has a free version that encrypts locally your files and then syncs with a variety of cloud services. I use Dropbox and it works flawlessly, on Mac and Android. I am not a security specialist but they seem trustable based on the explanations on their site (I read there 3-4 years ago when I began to use the software). If you want to encrypt the names of your files or sync more than 2 devices, there is a fee.

Cons

Nothing for me. For paying users, I prefer software that is not subscription-based.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Much Needed Cloud Security Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am currently evaluating Boxcryptor to see if I would like to move up to the paid plan; the software looks really promising and I am thinking that it my trial continues to go well it will take care of cloud security and allow me to store more online - meaning that my business documents are available wherever I am (which is currently a headache as they're not!)

Pros

I like the wide range of cloud providers that Boxcryptor works with; I have multiple free accounts with cloud providers, and this software covers them all. I like the fact that I can trial the software fully before purchasing.

Cons

At the moment I'm having difficulty with some longer file names and the product, though I must admit that I haven't fully read through the support forums and suspect that there may be a quick fix for this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Make Your Cloud Storage Service Encrypted

Reviewed 4 years ago

Boxcryptor is my only and first choice when it comes to file encryption on cloud storage services. This software is free, simple, easy to use and effortless too. It's installation is quick and set up takes a couple of minutes. What I really like is its "zero-knowledge provider" means it makes my file or folder impossible to decrypt if incase I forget the password. No reset password option is present so be sure to keep your password safe. Its true value for money.

Pros

Files are encrypted in virtual drive, Highly secure, Available in all platform windows, mac and chrome

Cons

No password reset option (which makes it impossible to hack)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great addition to dropbox

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like how easy this is to use in conjunction with dropbox.

Cons

You have to pay to obscure the filenames.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very simple to use and integrates well with online storage

Reviewed 4 years ago

I feel my confidential files are safe if I have a device stolen or someone accesses my Dropbox files.

Pros

This is simple to use and flexible. I like that within the same folder (I use Dropbox mostly), you can encrypt some folders and not others. It is easy to unencrypt.

Cons

The free version allows you to use the software on two machines and for two online services. For more, you have to buy the paid version. I can't get the iPhone version to work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the most important application

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use it to keep sensitive files secured in google drive.

Pros

I like how it is easy to use this application. You just set a pin on it so when you need to access files you enter short pin (or full password if you want) and then it shows your files decrypted and you can work with them while everything stays encrypted in the cloud.

Cons

In my case it solves all my problems. I couldn't find any specific issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Easy to use but comes with some major downsides

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It only takes a few minutes to install the software and start encrypting your files. After that, everything works very smoothly (on desktop) and you never have to worry about the security of your cloud storage again. The user experience is great, which is even more important in this case than it usually is. With encrypted files, you never want to get locked out by mistake, so it is vital that users feel safe with the process. Boxcryptor is a well-designed product in this regard.

Cons

The code is closed source and there are no security audits, so you have to put a lot of trust into the developers of this software. Apart from that, the Android app is a disaster. It is very slow, it keeps crashing and it doesn't work as expected. Being able to automatically encrypt and upload your camera roll in the background sound like a fantastic feature, but a lot of the time it just doesn't work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Give Your Cloud Files An Extra Layer Of Encryption With A Boxcryptor Folder

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is good to keep files safe while dealing with online cloud services. For the same I like Boxcryptor. It provides an extra layer of encryption to my cloud service. I use it with Skydrive and Dropbox which works very fine without any issue. It creates a folder on my cloud account and encrypts everything inside it. On top of that, I can assign a password to my Boxcryptor folder, which will keep files in it safe even if my account get hacked. I love this software and its great.

Pros

Two step encryption, Easy to use, Simple and clear user interface.

Cons

No Cons

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

excellent encryption tool for cloud data

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's very easy to use in Window, makes me feel safe about personal data in the cloud

Cons

Needs a better integration with Ubuntu operating system

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Generally Good Choice

Reviewed a year ago

It's a great, affordable product for people who want a simple way to encrypt high-quality, but insecure cloud storage options such as Google Drive and Dropbox.

Pros

It's so easy to use. It works pretty seamlessly with Dropbox and Onedrive.

Cons

I don't like how Dropbox Paper files are damaged if encrypted through Boxcryptor.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Much Recommended

Reviewed 4 years ago

I was looking for a file sharing solution and came across this on google. This one is really worth a shot

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review