App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Cisco AnyConnect Logo

Cisco AnyConnect

Virtual private network (VPN) to secure remote access

see alternatives

(7)

Cisco AnyConnect Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


900 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cisco AnyConnet - A reliable and safe VPN service

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are happy with the product so far. Work from home and from client locations has become an easy task with this software.

Pros

We use Cisco AnyConnect to connect our office laptop to the corporate network so that we can access corporate network sites and servers without any hassle while working from home or any remote location at the client site. It is easy to set up a VPN service and the connection is reliable and secure. Using this tool, our IT system can track endpoint behavior in a better manner. The tool provides security against viruses, malware, rogue websites, and other online threats. It can easily be integrated with other 2-factor authentication tools to provide enhanced security. Installation and configuration of the software are easy and user interface is quite simple to use.

Cons

The prices are on the higher side, but the tool is worth the investment. Other features such as one click-connection, storing login details would be advantageous. It shows error in connection sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Secure VPN connection

Reviewed 3 years ago

Cisco AnyConnect is the best VPN client out there. It is simple, safe and with a stable connection.

Pros

The connection to AnyConnect is simple, secure and stable. Unlike other VPNs, Cisco AnyConnect keeps the connection stable. In addition, it provides security for the company, through secure connection to the endpoints of the company's corporate network.

Cons

It is sometimes difficult to register the VPN client using the registration code received by email. This code only lasts a few seconds.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple secure mobile client tool that works properly

Reviewed 3 years ago

In overall, I think Anyconnect secure mobile client is a very robust, simple; but effective tool. Provides secure connection and enable you do your work professionally. I highly recommend as a business solution.

Pros

I'm using it as a VPN client to have secure web connection which is required for our mails, online systems or confidential links. First of all, Cisco Anyconnect is a very simple tool with a mini interface which appears at the bottom of your screen. Secondly, due to it's light interface it never cause computer to slow down. Connection speed is high and connection does not get lost most of the times. There is a small menu where you can access connection and certificate settings. You can reach the program from it's hidden icon at the right bottom and you can understand if it's connected or not.

Cons

Connection speed may be quite long if your internet connection is not high enough. Also you may be disconnected due to your speed. I don't think this is depends on software performance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Savior in stressful Work from home times

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using this tool for almost 4 years and it has always helped me in crucial times by helping me to connect remotely during the critical presentations and in COVID situation, it has proved to be of great use.

Pros

Cisco Anyconnect helps me to connect to my company’s internal network in 2 steps and keeps me connected to my emails on my phone as well.

Cons

Whenever an update is done on this tool, takes me couple of reboots to get the software up and running smoothly. After that, it works like charm.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to misconfigure

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It has a ton of features to do whatever we need and is generally a very solid product

Cons

Make sure to test/verify your configurations as it is very easy to allow unintentional access when using the dynamic access policies. The client certificate requirement settings are a bit unintuitive as well. It is also very frustrating the ASDM client is essentially required to make changes some of the settings such as the DAP policies. The umbrella DNS client built into the AnyConnect mobility client often causes issues requiring restarts of the local system's wifi or even a reboot.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using Cisco Any Connect

Reviewed 5 months ago

This application is used every day, with just a few clicks.

Pros

This software is very easy to use with only a few clicks. I log in to work using VPN on a daily basis. I usually work from home, but I have used Cisco Any Connect when having difficulty with our network at work. There is some setup involved to enter the VPN, but that is relatively easy the first time using the application. I have also added additional VPN addresses which is also very easy. The current setup at work has multiple VPNs to choose from on a dropdown list. The application is also easy for support to check and is easy for the user to check as well

Cons

Not this software but having to sign in every day. The current "clock" is set for 15 hours so there is basically no interruption. If I am unable to connect to the VPN, I do not know if it is a specific connection to that site, or a problem with my Internet connection

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy and reliable connectivity with Cisco Anyconnect

Reviewed a year ago

Best Cisco Anyconnect which connects world with just a click

Pros

Work from home has made enormously better by Cisco Anyconnect with his secure ,easy and reliable connectivity remotely anywhere. It is pretty much used everywhere and people are well aware of it since it’s user friendly. I have been using VPN feature and really it’s very nice and no need to worry about hard tokens which had reduced risk of vulnerability and security breach. Super easy to connect remotely specially in this COVID situation . It has multiple routing options and secured completely .Never observed any disconnecting issues while in meeting over 30+ people

Cons

Only cons is that frequently sometimes it gets disconnected and connected automatically and it will last for few mins until it gets stable. It probably disturbs the ongoing meetings or calls which makes me feel little annoying else it’s good

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cisco AnyConnect VPN

Reviewed 2 years ago

This software is very easy to use and the best part is as an administrator manageability is also simple, we can integrate it with AD also, further as a SSL VPN it has very very low possibilities to be blocked by ISP

Pros

easy to use, integration with AD, users visibility on ASA, work on windows, Android and MAC also

Cons

Troubleshooting is little tricky as DIRT logs are not very clear to troubleshoot

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy, easy, easy

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I'm not a firewall expert, but even I can get AnyConnect setup on a Cisco ASA 5XXX series in about an hour. It's a pretty straightforward process with lots of guides available. Installing it on the client is even easier, and the best part is that it's only two or three mouse clicks to get connected, so it's very easy to teach to an end user. The connection is rock solid, I've never had issues with connectivity.

Cons

Licensing anything with Cisco is confusing, and this is no exception. Even though I've done it several times, it still takes me more time than I'd care to admit to figure out the correct SKU for the software license I need. It's also annoying that many ASA's need to have a 512MB RAM stick installed before AnyConnect can be used. Configuring AnyConnect to use Radius is also pretty confusing for me, although this more a function of the ASA than AnyConnect.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very nice and easy way to connect to my companies VPN

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

-I like Cisco AnyConnect's small footprint. it only uses the screen real estate that is needed. -It provides multiple VPNs for me to connect to. If the east coast VPN is down, I can try the west cost VPN. - it shows me the my ip address which is a nice feature - it has a drop down of local wireless and wired networks that I can use to connect to the VPN, along with the signal strenght of each wireless network which is very handy. - It just works, I never really have any problems getting onto my VPN which is the most important featur in my book

Cons

- it kicks me off after 24 hours, I'm not sure if this is cisco limitation, or a company restriction, but it would be nice if i could stay connected forever. -rarely despite entering all the correct credentials i still can't access the VPN, but I think this is a company issue instead of a cisco issue

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for WFH

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

As a company, we use AnyConnect to be able to work from home using our own internet, so that we can still access the company website, which has been fantastic throughout the pandemic where we had to resort to working from home. AnyConnect is stable and reliable, and easy to use. It is also easy to install and configure for our users, taking just about 5 minutes to fully set up on someone's PC.

Cons

Occasionally AnyConnect can think a user's internet connection is guest wifi and doesn't allow them to connect fully. You have to then disable captive portal detection for this to work. Weirdly only seemed to affect Virgin Media customers. Sometimes it also doesn't remember what connection you last used, and you have to re-type it out - this isn't a major issue as our connection name is simple.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Automatic setup makes for a smooth user experience

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

On the user side, the user-experience is extremely simple: once the client is installed, just enter the VPN server's URL, a username, and a password. Details are saved so that subsequent connections are even simpler, only having to type the password. This is in contrast with configuration steps for other VPN software that I had to deal with in the past: getting the right port, picking the security protocol, entering a "shared secret", etc. Several pages of instruction are replaced by just a few words. Connection is fast, and I haven't noticed any effect on bandwidth.

Cons

The AnyConnect client must be installed on all devices that will connect, which could be an issue if some platforms are not supported. However, all mainstream devices have an easy-to-use client. This ease of use comes at the price of a software license (paid by the service administrators, not the users). When Open Source solutions such as OpenVPN are available, this could be a major drawback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good vpn client tool to connect to company network

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it is a good, secure and free vpn client provided by Cisco use by many organization employees.

Pros

It is a good vpn client that allows you to access company resources through vpn. It is easy to configure with minimal efforts. Most widely used daily to access any resources in company network

Cons

It is free software and easy to use. No cons so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The only VPN tool that just works unintrusively

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall this is one of those tools that you just don't think about. It does its job and does it so well, you don't really think about it even being there. I haven't even thought about how great this performs as this review is the first time I'm thinking of this tool after using it for over six consecutive years. Can't go wrong with Cisco!

Pros

Everything is simple to use and simple to connect. The UI is minimal and the functionality is basic but this is exactly what every connection tool needs to have. Being lightweight, it is fast and non-intrusive. Cisco is one of the leading networking companies and they've had this little gold tool in their arsenal for years.

Cons

Nothing really, the tool works exceptionally well and given the years I've used it, I have not had any significant trouble with the tool. It works with multiple companies based on your configurations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

CiscoAnyConnect for VPN

Reviewed 10 months ago

It's overall a good product and I have no complaints. I look at the bottom line: can I access the shared drives at work from home? It makes this possible.

Pros

My organization uses Cisco for our VPN services. They provide a very simple setup script which gives us all the setting we need. It works quickly to load, and is very reliable. I am a worker who like to do remote work when possible; having a VPN access is a lifesaver.

Cons

My biggest con of the software is that I would have no idea how to adjust settings if I needed to. I'm sure I could figure it out, but that aspect is not user friendly. It may be that our admins do not want to share that piece with general users. In an older version I could not get it to cooperate with my home printer. The latest versions have been flawless there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Secure Mobility Client for your needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

In overall, I'm happy with Cisco AnyConnect. It is really easy to use. You do not need any training to use the software. Spends not much RAM; so it does not makes the computer slows down. Very robust as long as you have a moderate speed internet.

Pros

The best thing I like with Cisco AnyConnect is that it's really an easy software to use It has a very minimal interface; so comfortable for your eyes. Multiple server option are available for your selection. You can even switch between the servers. In general, provides high speed secure connection. You can see statistics and connection history; which is a very good feature if you want to see what happened before.

Cons

No advanced options are available. Would be better if user based connection options are allowed. Can get disconnected easily if your internet speed is not so high.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely easy to use and reliable

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I use Anyconnect in different platforms and always works without problem, I use in Android, iOS, Windows, MAC OS, and always is quick to connect include in poor internet connections.

Cons

I can't have different profiles in the desktop version without change the address of the VPN server.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CISCO VPN Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

With CISCO VPN i am able to RDP into my workplace servers and start working on my daily tasks, there is no connection lag with CISCO VPN, i am able to get things done at my own pace, I highly recommend users to use CISCO vpn if they need a VPN for workplace environment

Pros

CISCO vpn Allows me to connect right away without any issues; i havent had any problems with CISCO VPN; the connection is great except for a few cases, But CISCO vpn features i like is the easy to use, enter in credentials and am into the network, CISCO vpn does not utilize much ram space when running, its free to use accross most platforms.

Cons

when i try to access CISCO VPN it does not connect right away that is because my PC is always on sleep mode i rarely every shut it down, but once in a while CISCO VPN force me to re-start me PC in order to use the VPN

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Reliable workd horse

Reviewed 2 years ago

It works, it's stable, I trust it. Can make the backbone of IT, especially in these trying times.

Pros

It stays connected all of the time while I'm working remotely and just works, which is important for something critical like this. Over the years of my usage with my company and many versions, my experience has been quite smooth.

Cons

We use Okta as our SSO provider, which is integrated into Cisco Anyconnect, except I can't use my U2F security key because Cisco's integrated browser doesn't support at least webauthn. CPU usage could be better. I have a 400Mb connection at home and I can't break 120Mb/s on a speedtest without maxing my CPU when connected to VPN. The process pegs out. But when I disconnect, CPU usage during a speedtest is non-existent and I get my full speed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Standard for VPN Client

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, it's very easy to use, reliable and well-protected.

Pros

I have been using this AnyConnect VPN for about 8 years and I have always been satisfied with the product. I mostly do VPN to my school domain or my server. AnyConnect is a reliable product to do my job. The speed is amazing, and the layer level of protection is about right. Recently, they just added one more level of protection with mobile phone DUO. I think is a right move which adds on protection without much hassle.

Cons

Cisco AnyConnect doesn't have any problem! Even if I'm away for the computer a long time, VPN stills connects. They must better communication between the personnel that makes the changes in the VPN server and the final user of the application. Sometimes I found the mismatch between them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This product does an excellent job of connecting me to my work's WI-FI network.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

What I like about this product is that it is a very "hands-free" product. What I mean by this, is that AnyConnect once installed and set up on one's PC basically does not require much tweaking or adjusting or essentially much manipulation when it is being used. It stores networks in its memory along with security details and connects automatically and quickly to those networks and only prompts the use when there are no recognized network connections available.

Cons

What I like least is the way that it disables the default network connection software. Sometimes when there is a network issue or a network connection issue, the computers standard network software is the best tool to use to troubleshoot network errors. With AnyConnect, it essentially hi-jacks any capabilities the computer's native network software has which in turn does not allow for troubleshooting unless Anyconnect is explicitly disabled. I would like to see this product work a bit more smoothly with a computer's native software and network settings, or at least for more popular operating systems such as those by Apple and Microsoft.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and powerful VPN tool

Reviewed 3 months ago

It's a great and powerful tool for VPN in a professional environment.

Pros

I have been using AnyConnect since I started working remotely due to the pandemic in March of 2020. I never have had any issues with it. It is fast, the UI is simple and straight-forward. It just works. It works with DUO 2-factor authentication which is great.

Cons

For my case specifically, I have to re-connect every 24 hours, which can be a little annoying because I tend to leave my work computer on during the work week so I don't have to re-open everything where I left off. If I get disconnected from the VPN, it will exit out of all of my windows explorer windows so I have to be aware of that before I stop working for the day that I don't forget any windows I left open.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Product

Reviewed 6 months ago

Cisco AnyConnect is doesn't have any issues - once I connect in the morning - connection is stable till end of day. There are no differences in my computer performance - everything works as fast and secure as if I was in the office. This was not case at my past employments using different connections. Connection would often get lost, and would take a while to disconnect. It is also 100% secure.

Pros

Cisco AnyConnect is fantastic. I used a number of other software at my previous jobs for VPN connection, and they were always faulty, I would often loose connection every few hours, it would take long to connect, sometimes several tries, which could be very annoying if you have a meeting or a deadline.

Cons

I have not experienced any issues with Cisco AnyConnect.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VPN Apps are Notoriously Frustration, but Cisco AnyConnect is Fairly Good

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

AnyConnect is faster and less frustrating than other VPN or remote clients that I've used. Normally, latency, long delays, and repeated attempts to remotely complete a task are the norm, but I've had very little of that with AnyConnect. And, when I do encounter it, it's often the fault of my (often spotty) remote Internet connection. It's not reasonable to blame AnyConnect for bad, slow, or unreliable Internet. When my connection is decent, it doesn't let me down.

Cons

I'm always concerned about information security when I'm using these kinds of clients. They're often done from insecure Wifi when traveling. I'd love to learn more about what Cisco has put in place to ensure that none of the information or work completed gets compromised.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple, Stable and Powerful VPN Software

Reviewed a year ago

The overall experience has been satisfactory for Cisco AnyConnect. There are not much issues apart from the internet speed drop. If your internet speed is good enough, the VPN software will work like a charm.

Pros

It is a very good VPN software. The connectivity speed is also good. You can securely connect to any of the VPN options available. It works very well when you have a closed organization network and want to connect to the company resources. AnyConnect provides various functionalities to connect to the internal network securely. The interface is also very simple and easy to use. It also does not take much resources of your system.

Cons

The most common issue about Anyconnect is the Network speed drop. The speed of your internet connection will drop significantly once you connect to the VPN. Apart from this there are not much issues. You need to have a good internet connection in order to use AnyConnect.