App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

DigitalPersona Logo

DigitalPersona

Identity Management, Authentication

see alternatives

(2)

DigitalPersona Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

19

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.54/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It is super flexible 2FA (including biometric, pin and passcodes) for quick login into active directory accounts. I bought this product and it was a great purchase.
If you would like to incorporate a strict login policy that consists of a fingerprint plus pin or password plus pin it is a great solution.
It's worked reliable and our employees love it. I believe it truly increases our security posture.
Once in a while the templates may have a bit of a problem.
Setting up AD schemas is difficult and would not risk a migration to Altus without technical support.
We have had issues with comparability with current versions browsers such as Mozilla in the past. The time it has taken to correct these problems has been long.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


19 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Durga T.

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Secure biometric login

Reviewed 3 months ago

Our company mainly uses HID DigitalPersona for domain auth and security management. It is responsible for saving and securing all security logins like passwords, and authenticators. It is super flexible 2FA (including biometric, pin and passcodes) for quick login into active directory accounts. I bought this product and it was a great purchase. It was easy to install and use. I feel safe using my HID...

Pros

Pros about HID DigitalPersona that I found while using are listed below:1. Best domain authentication features, 2. Top Security, 3. Quick security and login access with biometric

Cons

Cons about HID DigitalPersona that I found while using are listed below:1. Not supported on chrome or firefox, 2. Challenging to reach their support team

TS
AvatarImg

Tim S.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Relieve end users and increase security with DigitalPersona Altus

Reviewed 6 years ago

I think DigitalPersona Altus is well suited for every organization and every scenario that involves login credentials. If users have complex passwords or many of them it will be especially useful. If you would like to incorporate a strict login policy that consists of a fingerprint plus pin or password plus pin it is a great solution.

Pros

Biometric Authentication. This is a strength because it takes the guess work out of passwords. Login Authentication Policy. Add an extra layer of security by enforcing a Fingerprint+Pin number combination. Easy to use interface. Users can easily update and manage their logins from any PC. Adding new managed login templates for new software or websites is a snap. Users can create their own managed logins.

Cons

Lack of useful documentation provided to admins. Technical support isn't very knowledgeable. There have been instances where I knew more about the product than the person I was dealing with.

Vendor response

Tim, Thanks for taking the time to review our product. I'm sorry to hear your experience with our technical support team. We always appreciate feedback and look for ways to improve. If ever you need to escalate an issue to the next level, please let us reach out to our Customer Care Manager. We want you to be both successful and happy with DigitalPersona Altus.

MS
AvatarImg

Mark S.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Need to work on frequency or product updates and bug fixes.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Product upgrades (new version even if minor revision number change) require new fulfillment each time. We have used this product for many years. In that entire time, we have not received notices of new updates or upgrades to the software even though we are on a support contract. We must constantly check for bug fixes or product updates which have not been very regular. We have waited at times a more than a year for corrections to allow operation with current browser versions. When it does work we have been pleased with its operation.

Pros

When it does work it works well.

Cons

We have had issues with comparability with current versions browsers such as Mozilla in the past. The time it has taken to correct these problems has been long. It doesn't always detect login screens and dialogs. No automatic notices of updates r bug fixes.

TP
AvatarImg

Teju P.

Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efficient and effective digital identity verification (DV) solution

Reviewed 3 months ago

HID DigitalPersona is a cutting-edge technology for high-security identification. With this tool, we can easily create and distribute a number of identification badges for our employees/contractors, or customers. The badges will have the same level of security as we need and will be completely customizable. I used this at work and it is a very good product. It is the best reader on the market and the best fingerprint scanner. I would highly recommend this product.

Pros

I decided to give HID DigitalPersona a try because I was looking for a more secure biometric way to log into my workspace. HID DigitalPersona is a time-saving, efficient, and effective digital identity verification (DV) solution that offers a high level of security and privacy. This innovative technology is ideal for organizations that require fast, convenient, and secure access to their information systems.

Cons

It has weak third-party integration functionality and little sweat or oil cause fingerprint scanner malfunction.

HB
AvatarImg

Hari B.

Online Media, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My sweet experience with HID DigitalPersona

Reviewed 3 months ago

Usually, biometrics needs its own hardware and does not support laptop readers. This makes little inconvenience but it is best for passport management and SSO integration.

Pros

We are easily integrated with an active directory with multiple authentication options like biometrics, pins, passcode, and more. We use HID DigitalPersona for the best biometric security, high accuracy, and reliability. HID's broad range of biometric solutions is the result of more than a decade of research and development, ensuring maximum accuracy and ease of use. It is also known for its most stable application, quick login, and MFA security.

Cons

Usually, we need to use external biometric readers and they are very expensive which significantly increases our budgets but give good security and authentication system at a reasonable price.

SK
AvatarImg

Sagar K.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best for the protection of sensitive data and files

Reviewed 3 months ago

It allows our staff quickly log in with SSO and completely removes the hassle of remembering and entering the password every time. Mainly recommended for those who have an issue remembering their passwords and want easy single-click logins.

Pros

It gives a quick way to log in with a single click and remove our issue of password forgotten. It has identity card link features which make its login system more secure and allows genuine users only onboard. HID DigitalPersona is a user-friendly solution that allows users to log in to Windows computers and services without using passwords. It is best for the protection of sensitive data and files from unauthorized access.

Cons

It is a premises-based application that is expensive for small-size organizations like ours and best suited for many staff companies.

lf
AvatarImg

larry f.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Altus PW Solution Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

This product has been the answer to the question of "how do we securely manage passwords with all our users". Easy setup for our users. We no longer get calls from our employees on resetting their passwords or the old "I forgot my password". IT builds the templates for the various applications and URLs and the rest is history. It's actually better than SSO because it is more secure! With SSO, if you step away without locking your PC, your Apps are open for anyone to tamper with but with Altus, this is not so because your finger is needed to authenticate to each App\url that requires a password. A Secure Single Sign-On Solution (SSSO).

Pros

Secure

Cons

Some websites are tricky to set up a template but very few.

Vendor response

Larry, Wow...great review and insight! We've had a lot of customers say the same thing about auditors liking the solution. Let us know if we can be of assistance.

JA
AvatarImg

John A.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Product

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have had success with this product. It's worked reliable and our employees love it. I believe it truly increases our security posture. It has been fairly reliable, but we have found certain people just cannot reliably authenticate with it. We have not been able to determine why this is yet. It works with most users though, and works well.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Not everyone can reliably authenticate with it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robert W.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software for employee authentication

Reviewed 5 years ago

The problem concerning the verification of employee identity is faster and efficient

Pros

There is a free trial version of the software before the buyer makes the final decision It is does the fingerprint and bio-metric authentication flawless

Cons

The one-off price is a bit high and it may form a turn-off to the aspiring customers who would to install the software

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Katherine F.

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for authentication

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

In general terms, our experience with this platform has been very good, we like its biometric and fingerprint authentication, it allows us to verify if employees attend and perform their work, very good indeed

Cons

So far we have not had any inconveniences, they have improved over time in their applications and functions, we liked it so far

JN
AvatarImg

Joel N.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DigitalPersona

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's user-friendly and makes authentication way simpler and faster. With accurate and reliable bio-metrics, access is smooth and slick using unique fingerprints.

Pros

First, there's reliable password management system that is actually self-serviced. This works in such a way that only a set of questions are asked to identify a particular user so he/she can be logged in. So password reset is simple and users are not limited to web access only. Integration is at its best with the tool. There's no need for several user databases as you can have everything working...

Cons

Once in a while the templates may have a bit of a problem.

SG
AvatarImg

Steve G.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Local Government View

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have used this product for many years. Easy to use, easy to incorporate into your environment and a great overall value.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Steve for your review and continued support!

SR
AvatarImg

Stephen R.

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Upgrading to Altus was pretty much straight forward.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We ran into a few bumps during the upgrade process to Altus with the readers and some templates. Once these were resolved the project was completed successfully.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

DK
AvatarImg

Daaniyal K.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

DigitalPersona Altus Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

We use this software to easily authenticate at different portals, including logging into the workstation, different websites, etc. The software requires a physical device to scan your fingerprints. The authentication can be linked to the Active Directory in a domain environment as well.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Daaniyal for the review! Although a lot of our customers like using fingerprint biometrics as part of their multifactor authentication, we have many other ways to authenticate including Bluetooth, tokens, SAML, passwords, PIN and more. We also work with the built-in fingerprint swipes that come with many of the laptops out there today. You can choose any combination of our available authentication methods. Thanks again!

NP
AvatarImg

Nancy P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Works Well!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Client Software Installs with no problem and with very little issues. Server side/group policy installation is a little tricky and requires a higher level knowledge of Active Directory group policy and schemes. The only issue we have encountered is frayed cable (more than 15 after about a year's use and the length of the cable. The UareU 4500 devices should be provided with a shorter USB cable. The length of cable must be the reason the cables become frayed so easily. Setting up AD schemas is difficult and would not risk a migration to Altus without technical support. Client software is very easy to use requiring very little training.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

CM
AvatarImg

Chris M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Employees love the ease of use.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Our employees love the bio-metric fingerprint readers for logging into applications. It is much easier for them than remembering a bunch of passwords. I recommend this product.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Chris for the feedback. DigitalPersona Pro is used in over 140 credit unions and although many like the convenience of being able to log into programs and networks with their finger instead of passwords, we are finding credit unions are expanding out and trying the other login methods of logging in as well. One credit union told me they liked it because they had less password reset requests because no one ever forgets their finger! Thanks again!

AP
AvatarImg

Adrian P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

One of best solutions in Market

Reviewed 6 years ago

I've been using digital persona U. are U. since 2005, and at beginning, readers were not so great, but over years the product has improved for better and in this company we have been using it since 2010. Support is where we think needs to improve because when there is an issue it takes the time to answer.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Adrian for being a long term customer! I was here when your company first started with us. Like you, we have a lot of long term customers. We appreciate the review and feedback. I'm sharing your feedback with our Customer Care Manager to review and determine how we can be quicker. Thanks again!

MP
AvatarImg

Mike P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Utility Services of Alaska

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall, this product saves us a ton of time because there are no user passwords to reset. Since we are a water utility, every once in awhile someone's fingerprint gets messed up and then we will need to re-register their fingers. We have been using this product for over 15 years and it just works!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Mike, Thanks for the positive review and for continuing with DigitalPersona products all these years! Much appreciated!

AS
AvatarImg

Ashley S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Software

Reviewed 6 years ago

For the most part I wouldn't part with the software. Since Crossmatch bought out digital persona the support level has dropped considerably. We usually have to get really upset before a problem gets addressed.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review