App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

DNSFilter Logo

DNSFilter

Cloud-based cybersecurity and network monitoring platform

see alternatives

(2)

DNSFilter Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

82
96%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.4/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The interface is responsive, reliable and two factor authentication is a godsend. It's never gone down for even a minute in the 5+ years we've been using the service.
We have been looking for a good web-filter with a limited budget, DNSFilter offered a better, easy software to use and a perfect price for us.
It has given us the ability to greatly improve web security for our customers and icrease profit margins for our business.
Its sometimes hard to determine the cause of a problem (ie, SMTP mail failures due to false positives by DNS Filter).
Lack of transparency when choosing a particular category to block.
Lack of detailed reporting that can be exported to.

DNSFilter users...

Cisco Umbrella-logocaret
listing-logo

Cisco Umbrella

SafeDNS-logocaret
listing-logo

SafeDNS

WebTitan-logocaret
listing-logo

WebTitan

N-sight-logocaret
listing-logo

N-sight

How would you rate DNSFilter?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


82 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Matt: My name is Matt I'm President of a technology company. I give DNSFilter a rating of five, and for...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Simple to install and it actually works !! Support is excellent always prompt and knowledgeable. And the override button sorts out any issues

Cons

No fixed per month fee and sometimes bank websites don't work and need to be whitelisted. Otherwise it would be nice to have separate password levels for accessing websites

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNSFilter is a great solution for the first layer of security

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to offer it to my clients and their MSP program. It is very easy to deploy it to my clients, easy to bill and manage.

Cons

In the beginning the reporting wasn't as well as I'd like but it has evolved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great product - but if I wanted to be stuck with email-only support I'd use Umbrella

Reviewed 4 years ago

Content filtering with exclusions (teachers can get to facebook but students can't)

Pros

Flexible deployment with a mix of DNS and software client base deployment options...

Cons

Support is email only - and inadequate when you have a K-12 client who needs an answer quickly.

Vendor response

I apologize for your thoughts on e-mail only support. For what it's worth, please note that for customers who are Tier 2 and above we do start to offer chat and phone support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great filter for MSPs to offer

Reviewed a year ago

We have been using the service since day one and it has been great to see how far it has come over the years. Truly a great service.

Pros

With one panel we can admin all of our clients and protect the users from many different threats.

Cons

With the addition of the client on the workstations giving detailed reporting, there is not much else we could want other than maybe even more detailed reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNS Filter review

Reviewed a year ago

DNS Filter is amazing tool to have as a MSP. It adds another layer of security for our clients. We have been using it for past 2-3 years for all of our clients and it seems to do its job.

Pros

Easy to implement. Easy to navigate GUI.

Cons

Reporting can be better and better granular reporting per end point.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good value

Reviewed a year ago

So far, so good. We have tested several alternatives (Umbrella, TitanHQ, Qustodio), and DNSFilter is the best overall.

Pros

Easy to deploy to our 600+ iPads. Great integration at JAMF School. The management console is full of useful features.

Cons

Query log should be longer than 24 hours. Also query log search is a bit slow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Went from usage to user pricing... Not impressed

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's easy to use. Cloud DNS filtering that was cheaper than an appliance? Great!

Cons

They changed the pricing model from usage based (Which they were so proud of) to user based. We have lots of users and many volunteers with little usage. This pricing strategy invalidates any reason to use this company over the competition.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DNS FIlter - Easy to deploy and provides great peace of mind for companies with staff working at ho

Reviewed 5 months ago

Very positive and straight forward to setup and implement.

Pros

This can be setup and configured in under 20 minutes and is just so simple to deploy. The filtering and advanced features prevent newly registered websites from being reached by users which is likly to be a malware containing site. The content filtering is so simple and Whitelists can quickly take care of anything that is incorrectly blocked. Inexpensive solution that packs quite a punch

Cons

very little not to like. I cant say there was anything I did not like

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy and very helpful

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Filtering at a great price, It is easy to setup and select the filters you need for that particular site and I love the branding feature

Cons

Does not have an option for School Filtering, I use this application to filter schools and home internet but I have to also use K9 filtering because this doesn't cover it all and sometimes SSL could not be filtered

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Layers of Security

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use DNSFilter at our clients sites as part of a standard "Border" security set. It is used along side Hardware Web Filtering, Malware/AV scanning, etc. It is great to add as an additional layer, as well as having the client software on roaming laptops help us protect these devices when they are on the go!

Pros

Ease of integrating into customer sites.

Cons

At this point, there is nothing I do not like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNSFilter is the best value for money in content filtering we've found.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great feature set, solid performance, easy admin control, fair pricing. Gives us a way to do advance content filtering at a very affordable price.

Pros

OpenDNS went from free to unaffordable under Cisco. DYN got bought by Oracle, which then shuttered DYN's Internet Guardian. It was almost as if the market was conspiring to take away all affordable options. We were thrilled when we found DNSFilter (to their credit, the DYN people referred us!) DNSFilter gave us sound filtering at a very affordable price. We've got options to whitelist and blacklist...

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to keep up with new features. The company does send email announcements out, but I'll have the experience of logging in, seeing something new and wondering how long it's been there. That's about the worst thing I can think of to say about our relationship with DNSFilter. They deliver what they promise, and they continue to innovate and improve their product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNSFilter is an extremely versatile and flexible solution.

Reviewed a year ago

Extremely easy to set up and configure. This product just works, with very little tinkering required.

Pros

Very, very easy to set up. All I had to do was provide them the outside addresses of our routers. They figured out if they were in the same geographic area, and created unique 'sites' for each area. I could then customize each site with its own rules and logo, or apply the same filtering across any or all sites. Choosing what will be filtered could also not be simpler. All of the functions are clearly...

Cons

There is only a single password to override the filtering.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed a year ago

I'm very pleased with this product overall.

Pros

I've used this service for several years after switching from a pricier competitor. DNSFilter is very simple to deploy and maintain. I use it for 3 different networks. It's reliable, performs well, and the policies are very configurable. I don't currently use all the features they have to offer.

Cons

We started using DNSFilter when the pricing model was per internet request. They've since changed pricing to a per user model which recently made it more costly for us. However, the service is still tremendous value for the $ and is probably still less costly than competitors. I didn't even bother researching alternatives when our rates went up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNS Filter filled a gap

Reviewed a year ago

Overall the experience has been great! We needed a software to add web protection and this fit perfectly. We’ve only used the Windows deployments so far but I’m happy to know that we can expand to various other setups if needed. It’s protecting us and our clients from online threats that would’ve otherwise not known about.

Pros

The software is lightweight but very effective. Very easy to deploy once you get used to the online portal.

Cons

The filtration can be a little bit too strict. There could be an ad or a link on the page that shows is good, but the page won’t open until you dig deeper to find the culprit. Whitelisting usually resolves that. Sometimes it’s hard to find the culprit.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNSFilter works well with pfSense firewall/router at our high school.

Reviewed a year ago

I found myself wanting to find and use all of the features of DNSFilter, so I called their excellent tech support and the sales rep, who also knew his product very well. It was necessary to learn more about Google Workspace for Education in order to take advantage of

Pros

First, it worked with my specific firewall/router, pfSense. Second, the cost was appropriate for our school. Third, it is easy to make separate policies for students, teachers, administrators, staff, and IT. Fourth, a roaming client is included. We successfully tested it's capabilities, and will be installing it on all of the students' Chromebooks by pushing it out from the Google Workspace for Education dashboard.

Cons

Insights Reporting shows yesterday's activity when you first use it. It is a small annoyance when you want to see current activity.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We've been incredibly happy with DNSFilter!

Reviewed 3 years ago

At our school, we switched from Cisco Umbrella to DNSFilter just before the 2019-20 school year and couldn't be happier. The initial setup only took 30 minutes or so, and that included creating a custom block page with our logo. Filtering is set by categories, blacklists, and whitelists. In addition, there are options to block threats like cryptomining, malware, phishing, proxies, and others. You can also create different policies based on the source IP address. So, we could have the faculty and staff VLAN have one policy while the student VLANs have different policies. The pricing is also great in comparison to Cisco Umbrella.

Pros

Easy to use filtering DNSFilter is an easy to use content filtering solution. Policies are easy to update, the DNS servers are fast, and support has been great the couple of times we've run into issues.

Cons

Like any DNS content filtering solution, you need to prevent users from using different DNS servers to get around the filtering. We use our firewall to block outbound DNS traffic to any other hosts which does the trick.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Reviewed a year ago

Our overall experience has been great. No complaints from end-users regarding their internet connections, and the admins are very pleased with the intuitive management dashboard.

Pros

- The product has been incredibly reliable and any issues we've encountered were a result of a configuration on our end, not an issue with the product itself. - The overall configuration of sites and granular policies is very intuitive and easy to use. - The reporting features are far more in-depth than are previous solution.

Cons

The lack of alert notifications is the only issue we've encountered while using the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As straightforward as it gets when it comes to HTTPS filtering and haven't had any complaints over t

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is far far simpler than private HTTPS decryption firewalls hosted on site.

Pros

Fast to setup Fast to update rule sets Filtering is comprehensive Pricing is very fair Dns Servers are reliable Instructions are clear and simple

Cons

Not as much a con as an suggestion but if it could detect/exclude your ddns provider from the rule set it would sure help deployment speed especially in smaller environments where you find equipment which do not always allow ddns to be setup in the device itself or static IP's . I know its not really meant for that type of environment but it is an potential market I am exploring and the product is well suited to it. If you could release something like the small DUC client from No-IP that would be great.

Vendor response

Hi Alexander, Thanks for your feedback! We so already support/exclude a large list of dynamic DNS providers, which you can find here: https://help.dnsfilter.com/article/9-dynamic-dns-setup If you use one not on the list, please open a support ticket and we'll see what we can do!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid Backup Solution

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, the service was easy to set up and even easier to install. They've improved over the years, too, making some options even easier than "way back when".

Pros

DNSFilter provides a quick and easy option for CIPA filtering, allowing some peace of mind that we are doing our best to maintain compliance at every step. Between the custom DNS options and the roaming client, we can cover our bases.

Cons

No options are foolproof, and DNSFilter is no exception. Without some pretty tight rules, it's easy enough to overcome most custom DNS settings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic additional layer of security

Reviewed a year ago

Overall DNSFilter has been a great additional to our security layer protecting us from malware and viruses before they have a chance to enter our network. The added ability to block certain categories is additionally hugely beneficial and aids in increased productivity for our organisation.

Pros

From sign up to deployment was only a matter of minutes. We now have an additional layer of protection and insight into what sites staff are using. In addition to our standard antivirus and firewall technologies this solution with DNSFilter helps us better manage our remote devices as well and ensures our fleet is protected even now with remote working becoming the norm.

Cons

No real cons though it'd be good to see the reporting capability further improved whereby we could get scheduled reports based on user activity.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple and Easy to Use. Needs more browser support.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Filters like a boss. Can't beat the price. Easy setup and forget about it. Multi NAT, Filter by Catagory. CIPA compliance. Black/white list abilities. Filter by PC or Filter my Router / Switch / NAT / All depending on how you want to set it up. You can Set the DNS at your Security Gateway level and/or set it at the Switch and/orAP and/or machine level.

Cons

Sometimes I have to change browsers in the website to manage it. Short of that nothing else even comes close.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It doesn't get any easier

Reviewed a year ago

It has given us the ability to greatly improve web security for our customers and icrease profit margins for our business. We were early adopters of DNS Filter when the only other option on the market was OpenDNS Umbrella at a really high price point. Consistent improvements, and the DNSFilter team pays very close attention to what their partners would like to see in the product and implements those changes fairly quickly.

Pros

Global policies, ease of configuration, speed, integrations with AD, it just doesn't get much better than this.

Cons

I can't think of any cons. The software does exactly what it claims it will do and effectively.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNSFilter Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

As well as my comment in the Cons section, it is likely to early to actually tell the full business benefits however it's pretty obvious that by reducing the ability to waste time browsing the likes of Facebook and streaming media the benefits will be reflected in bandwidth consumption and work output.

Pros

1. Simplicity to configure. 2. Ability to monitor individual use through agents rather than Active Directory. 3. Ability to set schedules for policies including free time for surfing during lunch which appeases the staff somewhat from the shock of having filtering introduced. 4. Attractive GUI. 5. Superb value for money. 6. The additional features such as crypto mining protection, bot protection, etc are very welcome.

Cons

I really don't have any criticisms for this product. It does so much more than other cloud based DNS products on the market, and that I tested, that within a day of installing it for a 14 day trial I had already decided to buy this for my company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DNSFilter Internet Security

Reviewed a year ago

Simple to install, with notifications via email.

Pros

DNSFilter gives us an addtional, always on, internet security layer to help protect our customers.

Cons

No active monitoring, it would be nice to have a quick app to see network status.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Web Filtering Product!

Reviewed a year ago

DNSFilter has been a great addition to our overall security package.

Pros

Easy setup, great value for features offered, good customer support.

Cons

Some of the features take a little bit of figuring out in order to configure. Submitting domains for re-categorizing is not intuitive.