This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

DNSFilter

Cloud-based cybersecurity and network monitoring platform

see alternatives

DNSFilter Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


69 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Service

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The pros of this service is the price for what you get.

Cons

No cons so far... No content filtering system is perfect but something is better than nothing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Effective, affordable, and easy to setup

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best thing about this software is the value. The same service as other big name providers, but at a fraction of the cost. The pricing based on usage is fair and beats the per user model. We've been very happy with it.

Cons

I haven't noticed any issues with this service. It works well and the billing is very straightforward.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Business Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

I wanted to increase the security of our business

Pros

The software has a nice dashboard and is easy to configure

Cons

Currently we had MARCS updater update our Dynamic IP address to DNS O Matic which then pushes that to CloudFlare, our domain registrar to update our remote host-name. When switching our DNS servers to DNS filter instead of CloudFlare's public DNS it caused the MARCS updater to frequently flip flop between our real Public IP and some other IP. When we switched it back after a few days of this it was fine again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was up and running in less then 30 minutes

Pros

I use this dns filter in combination with my ubiquiti network devices and I got to say I probably have the most secure network in my city.

Cons

I have no negative ratings. Its a great way to protect my network from the bad things that exist on the internet

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

free trial and great success

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

easy to load, run and config, really easy

Cons

noting so far, works great, blocks bot and more

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DNSFilter a great option to OpenDNS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

How easy it is to setup and use. The portal is easy to use, straight forward, and it has the flexibility I need for my environment.

Cons

At this time I do not see any cons. So far the support has been very helpful and very knowledgeable about the product when I contacted them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent alternative to openDNS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The price is extremely fair and the "interstitial filtering" is something that nobody else is offering.

Cons

Web interface is still in development, but they are growing quickly. Some of the integrations with active directory are not yet finished.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A a good price/quality ratio adapted to our infrastructure

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The dashboard is clear and easy to use.

Cons

The obligation to deploy on each workstation of the network the SSL certificate in order to see correctly (without browser security warning) the block page.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for Whitelabling

Reviewed 2 years ago

We got going very quickly and the filter works very well. I'm surprised at a lot of the extra features we got over our previous filter service.

Pros

It was incredibly easy to set up from scratch, setting up the account, getting the technical side going, and branding for our first client.

Cons

There are a couple places to log in which have separate accounts, but that's a minor issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Some companies make being a tech easy - this is one of them!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Additional layer of security for my clients.

Pros

Soooo easy to setup and use. Quick to develop and release new features. The price!

Cons

I have not found anything to dislike....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent value. Love the extra security and content filtering for our business.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Love the extra level of security by blocking malware and threats. Content filtering was easy to configure.

Cons

Nothing of any real significance or impact.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Setup and Powerfull Settings

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have eliminated the need for client based web filtering and are able to do that from for the entire network. This has eliminated some computer performance issues we experienced when we used client based web filtering.

Pros

We primarily use DNSFilter as a basic website filter and secondarily as a web protection filter against malicious sites. Ease of configuring and setup is amazing.

Cons

This isn't necessarily a con on the software itself. I need better instructions on preventing DNS circumvention for configuring my router with DNSFilter.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most featured DNS system

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

DNSFilter has virtually all features that an internet user need for the Internet access control. For its class, I would say it has the cheapest price too compared to other competitors.

Cons

Really nothing to dislike besides the DNS protocol itself has limitations such as DNS cache issues

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and to set up. Also improved security.

Cons

Interface could be a bit more intuitive for the initial setup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Decent way to content filter on a budget...kinda

Reviewed 2 years ago

I didn't decide to stick with it because the content filter isn't perfect, there are plenty of sites we were able to visit that got through the content filters, and doing content filtering by DNS isn't as accurate as a dedicated box for content filtering, that being said I would still have chosen to use it if it were 3 bucks a month, or 40 bucks a year or something.

Pros

I like that you can set policies for content filtering

Cons

price per user per month. I think it should just be a flat price per month up to a certain amount of users, like say 100 maybe... and then have a 2nd tier for over a hundred, paying per user is kind of stupid because some users might use a computer 2 times a month

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great experience on the free trial

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This app has a ton of features and a cool looking interface. I recommend to just about anybody who knows anything about DNS. All the available features work fine.

Cons

Some of the features are either confusing or it seems like they are not available yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dnsfilter

Reviewed 2 years ago

Been overall a good product

Pros

Ease of use, price, policy control per site

Cons

Unsure if proven product since haven’t heard of it before

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing layer of security for any size organization

Reviewed 2 years ago

Phishing requires a three part solution - Inbound spam filter, End User training and DNS filtering

Pros

Quick setup, comprehensive reporting way cheaper than OpenDNS and support is exceptional

Cons

They don't have Active Directory integration but it is on the road map

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple & Easy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Found the DNSFilter was easy to configure for our client base.

Cons

Support Knowledge base could do with improvement.

page 3 of 3

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetApp® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.