App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Heimdal Threat Prevention Logo
Heimdal Threat Prevention

Advanced DNS Filtering for Your Perimeter and Endpoints.

visit website

(3)

Heimdal Threat Prevention Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

25

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.24/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The customer experience and support from Heimdal have been outstanding. Their representatives were on hand every step of the way and couldn't do enough to help.
Its stable, and very often find viruses. It has been a good experience overall.
I am comfortable with the security it provides and the ability to control client activities.
So far, there's nothing in it that I can put as bad.
Two times i had missing feature and in a very short time Heimdal has integrated it in the product.
It's a bit difficult to manage and perform manual scans. Removing/deleting quarantined files requres direct access to the device.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


25 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brian Andreas J.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Avoid attacks by 2-way DNS filtering

Reviewed a year ago

Very useful. Big help as users will click on links or try to enter suspicious websites

Pros

Easy to use and highly effective. Short time from implementing to full use as all settings are predefined - you can of course change those.

Cons

It cost money :-) Heimdal separate functions in new modules. Everybody needs to make money but some functions could be under existing modules.

MF
AvatarImg

Mark F.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

They just get it right!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Great Co, Great Product and excellent customer service - Heimdal Security stand proud for showing the industry how it should be done!

Pros

It's not just the feature rich software its that fact that this company stand right behind their product with nothing short of excellent support. They know it's important to get to clients promptly and they know they need to have actionable knowledge. They excel at both.

Cons

the web ui is a little cluttered and not easy to navigate. I'm learning to live with it's foibles and the Pros outway the cons.

WL
AvatarImg

Warren L.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Heimdal - Does the job

Reviewed 2 months ago

The install was incredibly straight forward, and we've barely had to touch it since. We use it for ourselves and recommend it to all of our customers.

Pros

The best feature is its complete ease of use. To the untrained, it may look like it doesn't have many features. But that's because it is all managed from behind, and you don't need to touch it on the endpoint.

Cons

We do have the occasional oddity where a program stops working or a port is blocked, and this can be Heimdal being too over protective.

IM
AvatarImg

Isabelle M.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AntiVirus and More

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The software does not take many resources, updates automatically, endpoints can be put in Groups for certain policies, the inventory tool is useful, and installation is quick.

Cons

It is based in another country, and customer support is on different hours.

BW
AvatarImg

Brian W.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Peace of mind

Reviewed 8 months ago

Support is second to none - very responsive and helpful. Peace of mind is absolute and the admin overview and ability to remediate remotely is fantastic. It is also built for the work-at-home culture when have settled into after covid.

Pros

It is founded on a deep understanding of the threat landscape and uses all the tools to mitigate that threat.

Cons

Can throw up some Java errors on Mac and the interface is a little clunky although a new one is on the way.

BS
AvatarImg

Brian S.

Newspapers, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy way to be secure

Reviewed a year ago

Windows and 3. party updates. End user and server protection.

Pros

Easy to use, high protection, fast and good support.

Cons

No missing features. Two times i had missing feature and in a very short time Heimdal has integrated it in the product.

JL
AvatarImg

Jesper L.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very satisfied

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

We bought the product to get a "setup and forget" product to easily patch known 3rd party software on our company pc's. Today we have ended up using it for elevating rights when needed to manually install software and also DNS filtering to prevent users from reaching bad sites and services when not connected our sites. We are happy with the product.

Cons

We often do see false positives in Darklayer guard which we use time reporting to Heimdal. However Heimdal has promised to look into how we can easier report such a site to Heimdal for global white listing.

SC
AvatarImg

Steve C.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent supplemental protection

Reviewed a year ago

Since installing Heimdal I've never had to clean up from a single infection. I rarely think about it. It just works.

Pros

Since this software is not saturating the market as McAfee, Symantec, or AVG have, it is never specifically targeted by malware developers. Therefore it maintains a high rate of detection for zero-day threats with an acceptable rate of false positives.

Cons

After installing the software I frequently received spammy systray notifications begging me to upgrade, interfering with my full-screen HTPC GUI. However, emailing support I was able to resolve this issue.

NC
AvatarImg

Nathan C.

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A very intuitive and thorough security product

Reviewed a year ago

The customer experience and support from Heimdal have been outstanding. Their representatives were on hand every step of the way and couldn't do enough to help.

Pros

It was clear from the start that Heimdal's security offering was very comprehensive and offered some of the best functionality on the market.

Cons

I least like the cost as once you have added the various elements this can prove pretty costly for an SMB. The pricing would be much more palatable for a larger firm.

JC
AvatarImg

Jesper C.

Furniture, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DNS protection

Reviewed 10 months ago

Vary positive

Pros

The protecion against known malicious domains aswell as pattern recognition for unknown

Cons

internal DNS can get confused at times, trying to look up internal servers on the internet instead

GG
AvatarImg

Gustavo G.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

staying away from malicious websites and their consequences

Reviewed a year ago

monitoring all accesses that leave and enter my machines, I mainly prevent access to malicious situations, including data loss, fishing, capture of sensitive information, malware in general, etc. it's being done.

Pros

ease and tranquility. he does his job clearly, automatically and safely

Cons

So far, there's nothing in it that I can put as bad. I am 100% satisfied with it and its features.

MM
AvatarImg

Morten M.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Secure and easy protection software

Reviewed a year ago

Really good program that easily and effectively protects the company from several types of attacks.

Pros

Easy to buy and install, easy to set up and requires minimal service.

Cons

Lacks function to handle licenses, so you do not have to get customer support to add / remove users.

MV
AvatarImg

Mark V.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Provides extra peace of mind

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent

Pros

It requires little knowledge and very little intervention while performing an important and complex function.

Cons

Occasionally there is something I can't work out how to do - but support is always there to help.

YP
AvatarImg

Yannick P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Securing endpoints

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Nothing has slipped past quarantine. What's more to like?

Cons

It's a bit difficult to manage and perform manual scans. Removing/deleting quarantined files requres direct access to the device.

ST
AvatarImg

Simon T.

Photography, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superb

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Smooth running, easy to install and use. High value for the money. Integrates perfectly with Bitdefender Total Security

Cons

I can not find anything to complain about.

GF
AvatarImg

George F.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

light-weight

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Light for the machine. I have been using it with windows 10

Cons

Not very easy interface, I am using it with windows 10

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent security for PC

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

1. Easy to setup and use. 2. Interface has been modern and clean from start. 3. Provides the best protection against Malicious websites, phishing etc. 4. Has added more features like Firewall, antivirus etc. to compete with other security apps.

Cons

I did not find anything to dislike in the improved versions unlike in previous version in which the app used to change a DNS setting.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ștefan O.

Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best experience overall

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Support is very responsive, even though this is a free trial.

Cons

I have nothing to complain about so far

MH
AvatarImg

Mark H.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Customer Support quick and efficient

Reviewed 10 months ago

The support was quick and efficient, fautless on this occasion.

Pros

Quietly works in the back ground and causes no grief to end users.

Cons

The DNS feature caused us issues on a big network/

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Heimdal is a very effective anti virus software

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Its stable, and very often find viruses. It has been a good experience overall.

Cons

There is really nothing i dislike about it.

CC
AvatarImg

Craig C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Threat Protection and Security

Reviewed a year ago

This software has reduced the need to be concerned and security and maintenance.

Pros

I am comfortable with the security it provides and the ability to control client activities

Cons

Rarely client status regarding Windows updates and reboots is inaccurate.

GC
AvatarImg

Gheorghe C.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Useful and intuitive

Reviewed a year ago

As mentioned previously, it helps us when it comes to blocking malicious websites, as we had some issues with that in the past.

Pros

Very effective when it comes to threat hunting. Since I have this product, I feel safer when it comes to attacks that could infiltrate our network.

Cons

Couldn't spot any improvements so far. We will need more time to work with it and eventually will reach out to them.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My review

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

First of all, for a free trial/free product, this is one of the most complex ones. I had paid products that do not offer so much even if they were paid. Also, the support for the free trial/free product is there even if you did not both it.

Cons

As of now I do not have any issues to report regarding the product. All in all a good product.

SG
AvatarImg

Sabina G.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Threat Prevention opinion

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Everything is just perfect, but I like the most the speed of the DNS filtering. It happens so fast that you don't even realize that there is a DNS filtering on your machine. Wonderful!

Cons

I don't think that there is something that I don't like about this product.

EP
AvatarImg

Elza P.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Threat Prevention review

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

The efficiency of the DNS request being filtered. It is very fast and reliable.

Cons

There were slight difficulties and interferences with the internal network DNS, but that is about it.