App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service Logo

Data anywhere. Protected everywhere.

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

28

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.46/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

solarwinds-msp-backup-recovery
idrive
cloudally

Pros and cons

We needed a solution for backing up our Nutanix Cloud as a Service Offering it fit perfectly.
Really great product, great company and staff, always willing to help if or when required.
HYCU really simplified everything and it works perfectly fine and does it's job very well. With HYCU, your virtual machines and files are safe.
The only thing I have felt it is missing is SAML SSO authentication.
I dont like the naming of the products, it is somehow confusing.
Upgrades can lag behind Nutanix so that I have to wait for HYCU to sign off before I can upgrade Nutanix Files for example. Not a showstopper, just a minor annoyance at times.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


28 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Revlon Oliver D.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The simplest and easiest backup software solution available

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's simplicity to install, configure, run and start operations on day 1. You don't need to be trained and basic understanding of back-ups works. It's patented solutions with agentless back-ups for Virtual machines and for physical environments makes it sustainable. It supports most known backup storage solutions.

Cons

support for Hyper-V which again isn't a concern as I don't use this hypervisor

Vendor response

Revlon Oliver, thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review, it means a lot! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

JJ
AvatarImg

Jas J.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hycu Backup and Recovry

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have had a very good experience with product implementation and design from HYCU, and have extended our clusters with WORM and Azure with significant support from HYCU.

Pros

The feature is simple to use and manage, the updates are straightforward with minimum downtime, and is integrated very well with Nutanix AHV. The support is of a very high standard from the documentation with Nutanix, and also the product knowledge of the support staff, of not HYCU but all of the applications backed up.

Cons

We have asked for a few more features on the Validity testing, and forever incremental backups.

Vendor response

Jas, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see our solution has been helpful for your business and that it has simplified your day-to-day activities. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adrian W.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

HYCU protégé

Reviewed 2 years ago

Extremely satisfied. Do you want CONFIDENCE back?Then this product is what you are looking for.Exceptional service delivery.

Pros

Simplistic but powerful.Web driven through a standard web browser. Oh,and did I mention it's agentless That's right,no need to install clumsy agents on each server.

Cons

Nothing.What more to ask for than a product that takes 15 minutes to learn.

Vendor response

Adrian, thank you very much for your kind words! We strive to provide the best possible experience so you can be successful. Simple, reliable, and secure - as data protection should be! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

WN
AvatarImg

Werner N.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backup and DR management in an all Nutanix environment

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good balance of functionality, ease of management and pricing. Very pleased with both solution and company.

Pros

Integration with Nutanix AOS filesystem and managementFair pricingBrilliant and responsive supportReliableFastEasy managementVery progressive company that is good at listening to customer demand. Always helpful and very responsive

Cons

Moderate options for footprint reduction on target. Best used with deduplicating back-end

Vendor response

Werner, thank you! We appreciate your positive feedback! We'll continue working hard to provide you with an excellent experience. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

RJ
AvatarImg

Ron J.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

HYCU is a trusted partner

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been a set it and let it run tool for us, of course we verify backups daily but unless we change something, it just works.

Pros

Easy to use and great support and documentation.

Cons

There is a learning curve with HYCU. Moving from traditional backup software to HYCU backup anytime and figuring out policy setup took a little bit but I had a backup running within 3 hours of starting the setup process.

Vendor response

Ron, thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity - our product is designed from the need for a better and simpler way to protect business-critical data. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

RE
AvatarImg

Richard E.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Protection for Your Nutanix Enviroment(s) and Cluster(s)

Reviewed a year ago

We needed a solution for backing up our Nutanix Cloud as a Service Offering it fit perfectly.

Pros

The only choice to protect Nutanix! HYCU's support team are second to none and make implementation and support a breeze :-)

Cons

The only issues we have had are when updating and updating alongside Nutanix platform updates; it can take time to get it fully working again after Nutanix updates.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wael I.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Backup and Data protection software in the market.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

it is super easy to implement and use. has all the features required to protect your data. Also Support is responsive and knowledgeable. Most of the tickets that I have raised are for knowhow. No bugs on the system so far. which means they do an excellent job on the QA.

Cons

I dont like the naming of the products, it is somehow confusing.

Vendor response

Wael, thank you! We appreciate your positive feedback! We'll continue to work hard to provide you with a great experience and service. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

JC
AvatarImg

Jonathan C.

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple, Easy and Effective

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We currently use Protege for our O365 backups. The software was simple to set up and has a great interface to work with. It gave my team the ability to recover emails/documents faster when mistakes are made for a fraction of the cost of other industry-leading solutions.

Cons

We have no complaints about the Software.

Vendor response

Jonathan, thank you for your kind words! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU Protégé simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

DO
AvatarImg

Dan O.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HYCU Works Great and Requires Very Little Maintenance

Reviewed a year ago

We back up many virtual machines and are easily able to send backups to our local data infrastructure as well as copies out to the cloud for off-site backups. We have many different policies set with different backup frequencies and retention levels. It has been a great asset to our server infrastructure.

Pros

The thing I like the most about this product is the ease of use and dependability it provides.

Cons

The only thing I have felt it is missing is SAML SSO authentication.

NM
AvatarImg

Neal M.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HYCU Meets and Exceeds Our Expectations

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to deploy, easy to configure, easy to keep upgraded. Nice dashboard for daily checks. Excellent detail in the jobs report for troubleshooting. Support is excellent.

Cons

Upgrades can lag behind Nutanix so that I have to wait for HYCU to sign off before I can upgrade Nutanix Files for example. Not a showstopper, just a minor annoyance at times.

Vendor response

Neal, thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to see you enjoy HYCU's simplicity, and ease of use! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to contact our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Will F.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vendor Agnostic, Space Efficient, and Secure Backups! All under a single pane of glass!

Reviewed 2 years ago

HYCU Protégé DPaaS has been extremely easy to implement and then even EASIER to maintain. We can rely on reporting to tell us if something has gone wrong or action is required. Otherwise, HYCU does it job...so we can do ours. HYCU is reliable, robust, efficient, and secure!

Pros

HYCU, with the vendor agnostic storage capabilities, allows for backup across On-Prem and Cloud environments. Whether systems and applications are in-house (Nutanix, VMware Dell PowerScaler (Isilon), SaaS solutions such as Microsoft 365 or others, or machines living in the hyperscalers (Azure, AWS, or Google Cloud), HYCU can do it all. HYCU is also - SIMPLE! A few clicks and storage is configured, backup policies are set, and virtual machines and workloads are being backed up. No more Windows Server OSes to maintain for the backup controller. Easy as advertised and secure!

Cons

HYCU is one of the younger vendors out there on the market, so there are a bit of growing pains. But...their team is responsive and reactive and operates with great care and efficiency. Be patient!

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, Will. And thanks for being such a great advocate for our service. We really appreciate it! We'll continue to strive to provide the best possible experience so you can be successful. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

RC
AvatarImg

Rhys C.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hycu is an innovator.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It just works. It really is that simple. Hycu was rolled out and successfully installed in less than 2 hours per site globally. We cut our backup times in half and in some cases even more so giving direct value add to the business. It also gave time back to our engineers on patch weekends. The support has been second to none. This has been one of the easiest implementations we've had and that's credit to Hycu and its team.

Cons

There is not much to dislike in all honesty and anything we have wanted to add is in for consideration with future releases. A once touch upgrade would be nice.

Vendor response

Rhys - thank you! We're glad to have you as our customer and to see that you and your team of engineers are enjoying HYCU Protégé, which was designed to make moving, protecting, and recovering data no matter where it sits. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

SH
AvatarImg

Simon H.

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic - It Just works!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is best backup solution I have used in the last 20 years. Once setup it just works and is fast and easy to use. Excellent integration with Nutanix AHV as well as working easily with Vmware vSphere, Microsoft

Cons

Separation of interfaces for office 365 backups

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Simon! We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review, it means a lot! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HYCU DPaaS

Reviewed 2 years ago

Really great product, great company and staff, always willing to help if or when required. A professional team.

Pros

Agentless, intuitive management screens, Ease of use

Cons

Nothing to dislike, product works as promised and real easy to use.

Vendor response

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! We're happy to see you are satisfied with both, our solution and our amazing support team! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Extremely happy with the Product and its was of use.

Pros

Extremely Easy to setup and Use Data Protection for M365 Users

Cons

Sometimes Feature Changes are Made without Consolation or Notification

Vendor response

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see HYCU Protégé has been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

CD
AvatarImg

Craig D.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hycu - A cost effective feature rich backup solution.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, we have had a great experience deploying and using HYCU. The Sales and Support team were always in communication. Our account manager has been great, following via email and Teams call with how the project was going and if we needed support on anything. The trial was a very big thing for us as it allowed us to get a feel for the product before making the decision to purchase. Great experience overall!

Pros

Ease of deployment and policy management. Software was deployed and backing up in a short time. Policy creation and reporting of compliance of each policy is a great feature. Performance is also excellent, and many options for different types of targets. Cost is very competitive compared to some of the other solutions out there (Especially the main player in the DR space).

Cons

For our use case, there wasn't much to dislike. It ticked all the boxes for our purpose.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Craig! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hycu Protege - the unsung hero

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

From onboarding the product to deploying it in our own environment, the HYCU team was with us all the way.They assist with knowledge transfer and customer enablement for on-sell every time. The software is easy to understand and it addresses pain points of legacy backup software in their environments. It is agentless and deploys in minutes - backing up is also not a weekend job but happens when you need it in the hour (or much less).

Cons

Hyper-V compatibility would be a great next for HYCU.

Vendor response

Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to write this review; it means a lot to us! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AO
AvatarImg

Abayomi O.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

HYCU Usability and Cost

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The solution has the advantage of the ease of deployment and cost-friendly

Cons

The solution has the advantage of the ease of deployment and cost-friendly. While additional functionality might be required for other functionalities.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Abayomi! We appreciate it and we'll make sure to continue working hard to provide you with an excellent experience. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Godspower I.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hycu importance

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The backuping up files and backing up virtual machines. Also trying to restore files, virtual machines.Lastly Disaster recovery.HYCU really simplified everything and it works perfectly fine and does it's job very well.With HYCU, your virtual machines and files are safe. And can be gotten back anytime you are experiencing downtime.And also you can edit the policy you want, which is very important Generating reports and scheduling which email should receive the report and and what time.

Cons

I should be able to backup a virtual machine that is not on Azure, and also able to restore the same virtual machine that is not on Azure.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you are happy with our HYCU Protégé and that it's been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

KD
AvatarImg

Kevin D.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backups done the right way!!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Superb. Greatly reduced backup times, and the ability to see a better and more granular view of the servers being backed up. Gained new features such as being able to back up from replica, and not to mention the cost savings made for the business.

Pros

The ease and speed of being able to back up and restore. Backup from replica. And how easy it was to use the graphical interface on the HYCU controllers.

Cons

Only con would be backup to tape is through a third party.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Kevin! It makes us very happy to see HYCU Protégé has been helpful for your business by reducing backup times AND increasing cost savings at the same time! That's amazing! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

GG
AvatarImg

Gerhard G.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Future of Cloud Backup as a service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Powerful lightweight easy to use comprehensive backup platform

Pros

Easy DeploymentNot resource intensiveSingle administration consol

Cons

Limited application support and no tape backup support

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Gerhard! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

AS
AvatarImg

Amisha S.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

HYCU - Best backup manager tool

Reviewed 7 months ago

Integration is quite well with this product. I just take a weekly review of our daily backups and I can live stress free.

Pros

It is very easy to install and perform backup of our local machines. Very easy to manage and price is quite good. No bugs found till now. Also helpful for virtual machine backups as well.

Cons

Not much I can get to complain for this product. AS it is a complete package.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HYCU is the product if you seek Simplicity and high performance

Reviewed 2 years ago

great for backup and replication to DR

Pros

The most important aspect of this software is its simplicity, and ease of use.

Cons

The only thing missing in this product is the support for HyperV, although it could backup HyperV Virtual machines indirectly using other Hypervisors, but not directly if you only have HyperV

Vendor response

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see HYCU Protégé has been helpful for your business and that it has simplified your day-to-day activities. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

PN
AvatarImg

Patrick N.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Director of Information Technology

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent.

Pros

We can fully backup Office 365 including Teams chats and videos.

Cons

Better dashboard that will allow you to drill down more easily.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, Patrick! We're glad you are happy with our HYCU Protégé and that it's been helpful for your business. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).

KL
AvatarImg

Kieran L.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HYCU survey

Reviewed 2 years ago

Actually for the first one, the service was amazing from start to finish

Pros

the service was amazing from start to finish

Cons

The training and experience level wasn't great ,

Vendor response

Kieran, thank you for your feedback! Happy to hear you are enjoying our HYCU Protégé, Data Protection as a Service! P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team (customer.success@hycu.com).