App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Intercept X Endpoint Logo

Intercept X Endpoint

Endpoint protection software for security analysts

see alternatives

(3)

Intercept X Endpoint Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.5

/5

191
91%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.34/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Sophos is a great antivirus defense for mac users, I recommend everyone getting it install, it is constantly in the background working and is the best defense that I have used.
I have been a Sophos customer since 1997, but I check and compare them every couple of years. The price for what you get is great and the features you get are first class and award winning.
We switched to Sophos recently and overall have been super happy with the change. We get notifications of issues.
Sophos can be a little bit of a memory hog. On some devices we notice a slow down that does cause some complaints.
Server protection too asks for reboot when the app gets updated , which is a bit itchy feature.
Setting up users in the admin portal can also be tedious. If you don't add every user in the same way it can be difficult to keep user data as far as what you can see in the user interface.

Intercept X Endpoint users...

Symantec Endpoint Security-logocaret
listing-logo

Symantec Endpoint Security

Malwarebytes for Business-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Malwarebytes for Business

ESET Endpoint Security-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

ESET Endpoint Security

Avast Ultimate Business Security-logocaret
listing-logo

Avast Ultimate Business Security

How would you rate Intercept X Endpoint?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


191 reviews

Recommended

DW
AvatarImg

David W.

Senior Pastor

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

GREAT protection for a Mac

Reviewed 8 months ago

Transcript

David: My name's David. I'm a pastor. Today we'll be reviewing Intercept X Endpoint, and I give it five...

Overall Rating

SOPHOS Endpoint Protection

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Frank: Good morning. My name is Frank. I'm an executive vice president in the computer industry, and...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A complete endpoint security solution

Reviewed 10 months ago

InterceptX is a very good solution. It integrates realtime protection, anti-ransomware engine, anti-exploit, behavioural engine and IPS. This helps customers to protect their environments from known and unknown malware and attacks.

Pros

InterceptX implements a complete anti-exploit solutions that protects all the process from all the known exploitation techniques. Anti-Ransomware engine is able to restore files that have been encrypted.

Cons

The alerts in the console are only related to detected malware and not to XDR incidents. THe real time engine is too heavy and cpu consuming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great antiviruses stopper

Reviewed 3 years ago

Cumputers are protected from any malicious applications and viruses Also protect mobile android phones from online threats so my personal information is secure

Pros

System work more efficiently Potential viruses and suspension files are cut out Schedules scans to protect data from threats in

Cons

No local support, My country hence the support channel is quite long as wait for support from South Africa

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We are using Sophos Endpoint Protection for a couple of years and yes it keep us out of trouble

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Sophos Endpoint Protection is very easy to use product with management console in the cloud. Easy to use - applying policy's to all users has never been easier. The endpoint protection is not signature based but behavior based solution. It can catch zero-day threats.

Cons

We had few machines with outdated software - with Windows XP and we cannot use the Sophos protection on those.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Endpoint Protection with Cloud Management

Reviewed 3 years ago

Sophos Endpoint protection is fairly priced and adds piece of mind to device security, but requires the addition of remote access to complete the product.

Pros

Sophos Endpoint Protection is managed via Sophos Central, the cloud management portal for nearly all Sophos Products. It allows rapid deployment of Sophos Endpoint Software to MacOS and Windows, and reports and allows policies and users to be centrally managed. It's very good at catching nearly all issues.

Cons

Occasionally its not so good and some issues still require physical access to the device to remove the issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Real time protection that really works.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Endpoint makes setup easy for a large user. Great management console allows you to apply settings to all users quickly. It detects threats quickly and reduces stress level for our IT department

Cons

Some features require and additional license, ie zero day protection. To most this is a feature that should just be included even if it raises price of software. Support can take awhile to respond.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Sophos for Email Security

Reviewed 2 years ago

Sophos does a great job of identifying and quarantining potential spam emails for the company I work for. They also have clever training on how to recognize suspect emails.

Pros

Sophos works well behind the scenes to screen potential spam or phishing emails. It is rare that questionable emails get past the system.

Cons

When you receive a notification with more than one email that has been quarantined you have to select each one individually as to whether it should be deleted or released. This makes it time consuming to deal with the quarantined email.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Feel Safe Browsing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software is amazing at what it can do. Works in the background and keeps your browsing safe to the MAX. Blocks any intrusions, keeps you away from bad site, doesn't allow you to make a wrong turn anywhere on the huge highway that is the Internet.

Cons

It can be hard to set up, but that's why there is a dedicated Customer Service to help you out on the way. Sometimes it can be to extreme when blocking, but that's why you pay for it to do.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint Protection is keeping you secure!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

so far so good

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Mass deployment is quite easy, but you should be aware that you cant download whole client, so if you deploying Intercept X over whole domain, your network will get quite bussy as every endpoint start downloading whole package, so you better plan accordingly. Otherwise Intercept X for Endpoint (and Server) is great modern antivirus with all features you would expect. In latest version, you can even decrypt SSL trafic right on endpoint, so you can stop users visiting potencialy bad websites right at its roots. Also management in Sophos Central is pretty cool.

Cons

mass deployment part, where you cant download whole client.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good Endpoint protection software

Reviewed a year ago

This is quite a good protection software all-around, using it I can surf the internet rest assured that I am protected from viruses and other security threats

Pros

This is a very good endpoint protection software that offers many features like anti-virus protections and protection from ransomware attacks. It also a cloud-based software hence our IT administrators are able to monitor my computers security status remotely and inform me of any threats or potential security threats on my system that I should know about.

Cons

Once in a while, there are times on where it uses a lot of my computers resources. Thankfully this happens quite rarely but its annoying when it does

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SOPHOS Endpoint Protection

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This is a great product, we have been using it internally for some time now. We also added the following two add on's. Intercept X, anti-ransomware and EDR. Very powerful Trio Also running it on our servers.

Cons

A little ramp-up time, but very easy to install and maintain from Sophos central, you can also run updates and scans from Central.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Apply polices from the Sophos Central cloud portal.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall its a powerful security tool. It does what it says.

Pros

This is one of the features of Sophos Intercept X Endpoint protection. We can apply policies to devices ( PC, servers, laptops). These include policies s.a Threat Protection, Peripheral Control, Application Control, Data Loss Prevention, Web Control, Update Management & Windows Firewall.

Cons

It's a great product and we haven't faced any issues with it. Server protection too asks for reboot when the app gets updated , which is a bit itchy feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great product, and good end user licensing model

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am the security engineer that deployed, tested and responds to reports and performs maintenance on the product.

Pros

This product is is billed on a per user bases, and not per device, this makes environments more cost effective when users use multiple devices. Rules and exceptions work as expected

Cons

No cons so far, but i do wish they supported linux desktops.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sophos is a complete (but complex) anti-malware piece of software that is easy to manage and rollout

Reviewed 5 years ago

Centralized control of my diversely distributed user-base. I can make sure that everyone has the software installed and that it is working correctly.

Pros

The console view is extremely helpful. I like the notifications and health reports of my protected machines and users.

Cons

Some of the organization is illogical. The encryption is managed separately from other policies. It also over reports problems that correct themselves in a matter of days (like when the users reboots). This tends to make me ignore some problems to see if they persist.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

High End Protection

Reviewed 3 years ago

Endpoint protection has a rapid response to risks or attempts of end user's computer damage. works fine in the background without user noticing.

Pros

Endpoint security and control are very robust for any local or remote user

Cons

no cons at all after more than 10 years working with the product

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint has been a good fit for your business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Full suite of protection tools. Not just anti-virus, it's more.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Full protection suite, when it works correctly, is amazing at it duties. But if it breaks, it is almost impossible to remove.

Pros

Sophos Cloud based management tool makes it easily accessible. Sophos reverse-engineers a program before it runs to see if it malicious.

Cons

Customer support for the product is the worst I have ever seen. Weeks would go by between responses on tickets. I told to white-list Office EXEs to allow Hitman.Pro to not block them. Had to reformat 2 machines because the software did not install/uninstall correctly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to implement, if a little difficult to figure out at times

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to implement, easy to use after figuring out quirks. Cost effective.

Pros

It is cloud based, so you don't need to have software installed on a server and can access from any location. It's also easy to install and supports both Mac and Windows. The dashboard gives an overview of what is going on with your machines. Most times you can clean up things right from the cloud interface, but if manual clean up is required there is generally advice on what to do through links.

Cons

Some of the features take a bit of digging, for example adding exceptions could be an easier process. Also the few interactions I've had with support have been lackluster, even to the point of not getting responses at all.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just does its job well

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software is seamless. It just does the job quietly and efficiently and kicks in when needed.

Cons

You have to open the menu to find what threats have been dealt with, you don't always notice them as they happen. Not such a bad thing to be honest!!

Vendor response

Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint Protection is working out well for you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply, the best email and web based threat protection available

Reviewed 4 years ago

You never know who, what, when, or where you will be hacked. But with Sophos Endpoint Security and Control it hasn't happened yet.

Pros

Solid platform for security, easy to use (no interaction needed), no false positive reports to date,

Cons

There are other security software with comparable test results for less money. But, no complaints here.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Been completely satisfied thus far

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great protections from malware and more specifically Ransomware. Also nice using the hosted version so there's one less server to manage on premise.

Pros

The Intercept-X addon for Ransomware is a must in todays threat landscape. We've had instances where this addon stopped ransomware before it could start to encrypt files.

Cons

There is limited reporting with the cloud version. No cool graphs you can show management or anything like that. Also, email notifications of events seem to be delays often times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great "second opinion" security option.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ease of use and security

Pros

1) Ease of use; 2) Offers a variety of options and customizations; 3) Does not usually interfere with other security programs or platforms.

Cons

1) It rarely picks up false positives and intercepts other, legitimate security programs or platforms such as Symantec/Norton Internet Security.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Option for Regulated Businesses

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Sophos allows me as an IT Administrator to get good reports and monitor my network efficiently. I am able to customize certain program restrictions, etc. right from the management console and have the updated paramaters applied to every computer, including laptops not currently on the network.

Cons

The software is more expensive compared to other options, but I do enjoy that I can pay monthly rather than prepaying for 1+ years of use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall, offers good protection for your entire network.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is pretty easy to manage and update. Overall, the software is able to protect against most threats.

Cons

Not really good with zero day unless you buy the exploit license. Change of management servers can also be a pain and requires reinstallation of the AV client.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Semi protected

Reviewed 5 years ago

Semi protection for all company computers for a low price

Pros

Notified and alerted you on Pcs with any problems. Ran diagnostics. Was able to assign assets for computers.

Cons

Semi protection. Did not stop chrome viruses and messages. Clients were able to disable control no password to uninstall

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sophos Endpoint - Keeps you Safe

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, our experience has been. Sophos has allowed us to see when we are having an issue with a workstation and to remedy it ASAP.

Pros

Moving to this cloud based solution has been great. -Adding machines has been easy. -Getting emails right away when a machine falls out of compliance. -You can start a scan of a workstation from the online admin console.

Cons

Few things we like least: -Some setting is hard to find. -The Tamper Protection password is a per machine password. Login to Sophos, find the machine, and then get the tamper pasword. would have been easier if you could set a password instead.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sophos Endpoint Protection

Reviewed 4 years ago

Best endpoint protection!!

Pros

Very powerful software and very light weight when it comes to install. Its very easy to setup and implement on multiple machines for remote monitoring.

Cons

There isn't a way to customize the search feature if i only want scan part of my drive.