This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Jamf Connect Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

We needed a solution to keep passwords in sync and Jamf Connect does that perfectly. We also like the ability to customize the login screen and allow users to login via SSO.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

We love Jamf and Jamf Connect, you do have someone that walks you through in setting it up and its a great product.

Gabriel M.

We are happy using it for those whom we have enrolled. Once everyone is using Jamf Connect in the company things will be a little more stable.

JD

Jamesley D.

Cons

We were set loose to figure this authentication from Azure ourselves. Keep in mind our AD configuration of using a child domain is giving up troubles.

JK

Joseph K.

The application can often be buggy and sometimes regardless of the configuration, Jamf Connect misbehaves. These aren't deal breakers, but for a premium product, I expect premium experience.

JW

John W.

Having to log on 3 times can be a bit annoying (FileVault, Azure, Local login).

CD

Carlos D.

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

21

13

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
97%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


34 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Streamlining account creation and login

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Our users simply open the sealed box, and after the traditional setup, are prompted to enter their IDP Credentials. Now their local account and password matches what is in the IDP. If the user changes their password somewhere other than their Mac, Jamf Connect detects and remediates the change on their Mac too. If your org requires FileVault 2 encryption to be enabled, Jamf Connect and ensure the device is encrypted, with the key being escrowed, before any user has created their account.

Cons

While Jamf only supports Apple Devices, our Windows users get jealous of the speed in which we can deploy and provision Macs to our users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Its not perfect (yet)

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

In a post COVID-19 world, we had to come up with a way to deploy laptops to people and get them logged in off VPN. Jamf Connect has answered that call and made our lives easier.

Cons

The application can often be buggy and sometimes regardless of the configuration, Jamf Connect misbehaves. These aren't deal breakers, but for a premium product, I expect premium experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not the best for AD environment

Reviewed 2 months ago

fair, I like the ability to control logins and have hands free deployment but this really is only useful for new Mac deployments. I did not even try to move a user to a new Mac, not sure how that would work

Pros

The ability to use hands off deployment to new users

Cons

I had issues with passwords in my testing. We us AD accounts to access our Mac computers. When Jamf connect setups on a machine that already has and AD mobile account, it makes it local, this does something that when the user changes their ad password the connection between Jamf connect and the Mac will not allow the password to be updated. I had a support ticket and we were unable to resolve this issue. Also, when running updates on a computer the updates do not complete until Jamf Connect has authenticated. I would start updates on Friday, come in on Monday, sign into Jamf Connect, then have to wait 15 minutes for the update to complete.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Connect review

Reviewed a month ago

Its been a good experience thus far. We still have a few more projects related to Jamf Connect brewing. Specifically, deploying Jamf connect to computers already enrolled in our environment.

Pros

I came on board shortly after the deployment of Jamf connect and it has made a big impact on our touchless enrollment. The Okta integration was convenient

Cons

Somewhat difficult to configure and the guide could have done a better job explaining some of the functionality. Specifically, I would have liked to see better documentation around FileVault workflows. I found myself digging around other sites to get information that I felt should have been in the documentation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Azure Authentication for Mac

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Easy to configure and deploy, especially in conjunction with Jamf Pro.

Cons

One limitation, which is a flaw in all products in this realm, is that they can not authenticate to enterprise level networks at the login screen without a workaround. There are workarounds, but this is a flaw in macOS.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The missing piece

Reviewed 2 months ago

Thanks to Active Directory we struggled for years to reach a zero touch deployment model. Jamf Connect solved this within the span of an afternoon. We're now able to hand an employee a brand new, unopened, Mac and trust that they'll be able to power it on and be logged in within a few minutes.

Pros

Jamf Connect is very easy to deploy, within a few hours we had a usable POC in use. They've made an effort to allow branding and shaping of the user experience within Jamf Connect and it shows. No more headaches stemming from binding to ActiveDirectory.

Cons

The end user experience takes a bit to get used to, new users frequently complain about having to enter their password three times (FileVault pre-boot screen, Jamf Connect MS Azure prompt, and again to their local account) when they restart their Macs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Connect Rocks

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall I’ve been pretty satisfied with Jamf Connect. It was easy to get up and running and it solved a problem of managing user accounts on a Mac.

Pros

I love that I don’t have to mess with domain joining a Mac and I have the ability to shut off account access to a computer or password reset now that everyone is remote.

Cons

Doesn’t seem to notify users very well when their password is expiring.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Connect in Education

Reviewed 2 months ago

It has been very reliable and was fairly easy for me to setup and build the Configs for (multiple years of JAMF setup and deployment experience not a novice)

Pros

Easy setup , Reliable, helps with SSO on my mac devices

Cons

my students and staff have to sign in and then enter their password multiple times to get in and it takes time away from education and instruction.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you are managing macOS endpoints in your environment, then JAMF Connect is a no brainer.

Reviewed 2 months ago

JAMF will connect you with an engineer who will walk you through the configuration and installation of the product and will be able to answer any questions. The support for any JAMF product is overwhelming and they have an amazing community.

Pros

JAMF Connect is easy to set up when you are using JAMF for your MDM. It resolves Keychain and password syncing issues. It also helps by implementing a modern way of authenticating into your macOS environment.

Cons

It's a bit pricey, especially if you are in Enterprise. You can do the majority of the things in JAMF Connect, with its free counterpart NomAD.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mac Password Sync Solution

Reviewed 2 months ago

Well, it's not completely rolled out to all of our Macs yet, because we need to figure out a solution for pushing out our 802.1x wireless profile to devices for machine authentication. For the devices we are testing on, the software works well and helps to eliminate password sync issues.

Pros

It was becoming obvious that binding Macs to AD was no longer best practice. We needed a solution to keep passwords in sync and Jamf Connect does that perfectly. We also like the ability to customize the login screen and allow users to login via SSO.

Cons

I thought the implementation was a bit difficult, and we could have used additional time with an expert in order to get things up and running. I wish users could be admins on their own Macs without having admin access to all Mac devices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Essential for Zero Touch deployment

Reviewed 2 months ago

I'll reiterate here again, the user provisioning during our zero touch deployment process is incredible. Being able to automatically create the account on the mac and pull all essential user info like name, email, department, building etc.. and make the admins based on dynamic groups is a total game changer.

Pros

The user provisioning feature is the most important for us. We use it for automatic account creation based on user's Azure AD accounts.

Cons

It's unfortunate that user's are prompted to enter their password twice during initial provisioning, unless you're using Okta as the IdP.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Streamlined provisioning and much happier support techs

Reviewed 2 months ago

Great support and easy to implement, in a company that has frown from 100 to 2000 employees in the past 2 years, this has solved most of our IT problems.

Pros

This has moved us much closer to zero touch deployment and allowed the majority of our company to work fully remote from all across the US during the covid pandemic. Our IT workflows for onboarding and account provisioning have been forever improved.

Cons

Patch management can be a little confusing and we will be limited if we ever need to add Windows ir Android machines to our environment

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Solution

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

We needed a way to centrally deploy software as well as implement user policy configurations and Jamf pro made that easy.

Cons

I think the learning curve can be steep but once you are through the initial training sessions required it is pretty straightforward. The Jamf Nation site is very valuable and has a lot of help for new admins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Connect for Government

Reviewed 2 months ago

We are actually purchasing more Jamf Connect licenses in order to onboard all devices with Jamf Connect. One task I see coming up soon is converting mobile accounts to Jamf Connect accounts.

Pros

What I like most about this product are two things: 1) Jamf Connect creating the user account rather than creating a local account. 2) Password staying in sync with Azure credentials.

Cons

Very minimal cons. Having to log on 3 times can be a bit annoying (FileVault, Azure, Local login).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jamf Connect Review

Reviewed a month ago

We are still working out the kinks to decide if this is something we want to put on our student work stations, but it is working well with our Mac users so at this point it was an expensive endeavor for about 10 devices.

Pros

Installation and training was easy. The person doing our onboarding was helpful.

Cons

I think we paid for 4 hours of onboarding that was done in 45 minutes. It seems a bit overpriced.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Two Thumbs Up!

Reviewed 2 months ago

It's been a breeze

Pros

Even though I'm not very experienced in Jamf, it is quite simple navigating through the admin portal. Plus your support team has been excellent whenever I run into issues.

Cons

I wish there could be a broader way to search in the portal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Jamf Connect rocks!

Reviewed 2 months ago

We integrated Jamf Connect + Okta, providing a secure solution w/ good end user experience.

Pros

It provided a way for us to shift our workload remote, now new Mac users can create a new profile while offsite.

Cons

Make it easier to stay current on the versioning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Okta <> Jamf Connect - the perfect combo!

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

We are an okta based org, and getting connect and okta integrated was first a breeze, was able to roll it out in a couple weeks across our org and has made administration so much easier with no longer having to deal with forgotten passwords to local accounts, recovery keys, etc.

Cons

Nothing! It's just great, easy setup, deploy, and maintenance...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfectly Marries Okta and JamfPro

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

At the end of the day, it just works. We utilize Okta and Jamf to create a touchless deployment and SSO experience for our end users. They can open their new Mac directly from the factory and be logged in within 15 minutes.

Cons

Since it basically requires JamfPro to function, it's expensive. Would love to see additional discounts across multiple SKUs. It also requires some real technical expertise to fully deploy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

From a manager and user perspective

Reviewed 2 months ago

We are happy using it for those whom we have enrolled. Once everyone is using Jamf Connect in the company things will be a little more stable. We change our passwords every 90 days and this allows for a more seamless integration between our AD/Azure password and the local password on the device.

Pros

I like the fact that this ties into our Azure instance and allows for our required 90 day password change to happen fairly seamlessly.

Cons

The app is a little finicky to setup, since we still use an old ADFS server we had to jump through more hoops than some to get this going. We aren't sure if it's our environment or the product but the user setup was lengthy and we are taking it very slow to migrate everyone over to

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Summers:Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

Prett positive.

Pros

How it integrates with Jamf Pro on the backend.

Cons

There isn’t much to not like. It sets up easily and can be managed pretty well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Connect Review

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Easy to use and great features. It is customizable which is nice.

Cons

It was tough to implement at first but once setup it is easy to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommend

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Software is very customizable and very consistent. It takes time to setup just right, but once you go through that process its fairy easy to deploy and manage

Cons

The debugging/configuration building app is a great idea, but I did find it a bit cumbersome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Dead simple with Azure

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Set up was very fast and easy! Very configurable. Easy support.

Cons

You have to pay for on boarding it but I could have done it with just the documentation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Initial setup of connect

Reviewed 2 months ago

Not good as of yet but we are excited to get it working.

Pros

We tested it and it worked well syncronizing passwords as well as changing passwords externally but we are having an issue setting up with our AD using the authentication method provided.

Cons

Our set up seems to be different from the norm. We were set loose to figure this authentication from Azure ourselves. Keep in mind our AD configuration of using a child domain is giving up troubles.