App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Jamf Protect Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

35

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.94/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

With that said, the integration is amazing. I love the ease of deployment.
I like the direct integration with JAMF pro. The system is very great to allow me insight in to the individual users.
Jamf Protect is great for both home and business and it becomes even better when you use Jamf Protect to set up a virtual private network (VPN).
Often times they will update the threats themselves.
There have been a few features that have been missing for a long time. For example, renaming a device using user info during deployment.
Problems navigating some menus. Sometimes it seems to be problematic.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


35 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Philip C.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Day 1 Protection at its finest

Reviewed 3 years ago

Symantec's M1 and macOS compatibility came into play with our decision to move to Jamf Protect. The transition was seamless and and well welcomed.

Pros

The setup, deployment and all of its features are easily what I love most about Jamf Protect. Within minutes of approval, we were up and running.

Cons

For our immediate purposes, we did not have any cons about using Jamf Protect. Jamf made everything easy and nothing hard or bad about using or deploying this software.

MG
AvatarImg

Matt G.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Still Learning

Reviewed 3 years ago

From purchasing, to deployment, and jamf support, our experience has been great!

Pros

Like by review title says, I am still learning. There is so much to comprehend in Pro let alone, another integrated product. With that said, the integration is amazing. I love the ease of deployment.

Cons

I would love more help on the "clean up" side for when viruses/malware are found. Protect has already caught some issues, some of which are easy to handle and others I'm at a complete loss and just wipe the device. The pricing for education could use some love. We are paying a premium, which I understand; however, I will be honest that competitors (Mosyle) are tempting for education customers such as ourselves. We love jamf to the core though, so the swap cannot be justified currently.

GM
AvatarImg

Guillaume M.

Airlines/Aviation, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Performance killer

Reviewed 9 days ago

Catastrophic, worst experience ever ... Want my Linux back

Pros

Sounds like it protects the machine ... in the sense you cannot do anything more with your machine!

Cons

After it has been deployed on our machines, it now takes around 4 seconds to display a console prompt (it was 20ms before ...)

RH
AvatarImg

Richard H.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Protect A+

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Ease of deployment and extra protection.

Cons

Nothing I can think of at this time. It works and integrates very well with Jamf Pro.

CK
AvatarImg

Chad K.

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Still the Gold Standard

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is very customizable, and the online community is second to none.

Cons

There have been a few features that have been missing for a long time. For example, renaming a device using user info during deployment.

BB
AvatarImg

Blair B.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Protect - seamless and invisible

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are very happy with Jamf Protect! The price point and functionality made the switch from another vendor a no-brainer.

Pros

Tight integration with Jamf Pro made setup and deployment extremely simple. I didn’t have to think about it after the initial setup.

Cons

I do wish there was more of a user interface on the client machine.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shem M.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jamf Protect

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

I think the setup process to get Jamf Protect implemented is a big pro. Being able to work with a dedicated team to get everything implemented really avoided any stress that could have been caused by a bad setup.

Cons

I do not have any complaints with the Jamf Protect software as of now. I think that there could be more in the sense of Training for the product since Jamf only offers two training classes currently for the product.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel L.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Malware and antivirus protection

Pros

I can pull reports immediately, get instant notifications and have needed information whenever I want/need it

Cons

Support is very limited, almost non-existent

CA
AvatarImg

Cassandra A.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple Deployment and Easy Upkeep

Reviewed 3 years ago

My experience so far has been great. The upkeep is very easy.

Pros

Deployment could not have been easier! I have to wear many hats where I work. The setup and deployment was very simple and I stepped through everything using the documentation. It was so quick and simple I thought for sure I missed something. I didn't, it's just that simple.

Cons

I have no been using Jamf Protect long enough to have any feature requests or complaints.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Protect

Reviewed a year ago

Jamf Pro, has the scalability to support organizations of different sizes and growth stages. It provides automation capabilities that enable IT administrators to streamline repetitive tasks, such as device provisioning and configuration. This reduces manual effort, minimizes errors, and allows IT teams to focus on more strategic initiatives

Pros

Conditional access controls: Zero-trust security emphasizes verifying every user and device trying to access resources before granting access

Cons

Device compliance and security policies.

VS
AvatarImg

Vladislav S.

Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good product, but still needs improvement.

Reviewed a year ago

Hoping for the best and overall improvement from Wandera. Fingers crossed.

Pros

It allows us to save the budget and avoid unnecessary payment for overpriced data abroad for our colleagues.

Cons

Since we are still migrating from Wandera, can't yet tell.

AB
AvatarImg

Adam B.

Food Production, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Protect, why would you not?

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

For a long time macOS security operations at an enterprise level was unheard of when it came to user friendly GUI and accurate reporting. Jamf Protect now makes this easy. We're now able to get a full spectrum of compliances on our macOS devices in one console, giving us the ability to be proactive in remediation when it comes to threat protection. We're given real-time alerts and insights that we were usually left in the dark with in the past.

Cons

I honestly don't think there are any cons to this product. It does exactly what we want it to do and even rivals our current Threat Protection solution for Windows. The other products could definitely take some queues from Jamf Protect.

JS
AvatarImg

Jerry S.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

When SCEP went away for Macs, this was the best product I've found/tested/implemented...

Reviewed 3 years ago

Team has reached out, and I haven't had any Malware or Viruses on the Macs, so that's important.

Pros

Deployable with ARD or JAMF Pro. They made it a way easier alternative to other brands and the support has been great. They have contacted me, for feedback/improvements/ideas.

Cons

Still learning....hoping for more free web trainings/videos like I had for JAMF Pro inception and deployment.

JC
AvatarImg

Jeff C.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JAMF Protect the best for Macs

Reviewed 3 years ago

Really nice. Once I got it installed and tied into Jamf Pro, It's been great!

Pros

Auto install and auto updates configuration/version changes

Cons

Needs a more simple way to setup advanced threat removals within Protect with auto quarantine file removal choices. minimize the need do dump issues out to Jamf Pro for resolution.

CJ
AvatarImg

Cory J.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive endpoint security suite for macOS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Designed exclusively, for macOS which can be easily seen in its architecture and implementation for any macOS Admin. It is feature rich and is one of the few solutions to leverage the new Endpoint Security framework to prevent (at process level) threats from even launching. Lightweight and by far the lowest impact of other solutions tested and used. Support is excellent and product is updated several time a month with new features and improvements based on feedback.

Cons

More documentation, examples and better marketing and comparison against other solutions would be useful. With its newer approach for security, large range of features and design exclusively for macOS and Endpoint Security framework, traditional security professionals often miss and don't see the benefits of Protect from a preventative (vs. reactive) approach.

SP
AvatarImg

Shannon P.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Another Awesome "JAMF" Product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Its very easy to integrate into Jamf pro to allow for simply but very effective remediation workflows

Cons

It was a bit hard to get completely setup but once that was completed it off to the races.

DB
AvatarImg

Derek B.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jamf Protect

Reviewed 2 years ago

During the log4j crisis, Jamf Protect was extremely useful. JP was able to detect all the computers that had log4j files, so that we could mitigate those computers.

Pros

I liked the implementation, it was very easy. Basically Jamf has it all set up right "out-of-box".

Cons

The Threats can be hard to create at times, but Jamf Support is very good at helping create them. Often times they will update the threats themselves.

SG
AvatarImg

Scott G.

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Schools

Reviewed 3 years ago

Jamf makes it easy to keep an eye on your devices and help educators cut the distraction with kids on electronics.

Pros

This software updates automatically so you don't have to worry about new viruses showing up.

Cons

There are no weaknesses that I know if at this point.

PA
AvatarImg

Paul A.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Protect in an Edu environment

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the direct integration with JAMF pro. The system is very great to allow me insight in to the individual users

Cons

Remediation is a little difficult and nothing is built in.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jamf Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like how easy it is to implement. Jamf Connect too a bit of time to implement, but it's perfect.

Cons

Problems navigating some menus. Sometimes it seems to be problematic.

CV
AvatarImg

Cory V.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Great Start

Reviewed 3 years ago

This has allowed us to gain strong endpoint protections.. especially when switching to M1 Macs that (at the time) other software providers didn't yet support.

Pros

I love the heuristic approach to protecting our endpoints. This has the potential to be very effective at mitigating, preventing, and isolating rouge processes/malware.

Cons

Assigning licenses and installing could be easier. Full integration with the Jamf dashboard would be nice. We look forward to more robust pre-canned mitigation workflows to work with.

AR
AvatarImg

Arman R.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

amazing product

Reviewed 3 years ago

its an amazing service

Pros

great community and service, lots of features

Cons

I think it can be better with a new section of all new features

GH
AvatarImg

George H.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

George's review

Reviewed 3 years ago

pretty decent

Pros

Part of JAMF so we do not have to vet another vendor and maintain risk evaluations.

Cons

Price breaks are not that great. Its more expensive than TrendMciro renew prices.

JC
AvatarImg

Jacob C.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to set up if already using Jamf Pro

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to implement if you also are using Jamf Pro. Provides good security event monitoring. Insights for CIS Level 1 and CIS Level 2 are nice to get a good overview of the important settings and policies.

Cons

Default plan only reports, doesn't perform actions unless edited. Need SIEM or AWS S3 bucket for long term log retention as the 2 million event threshold is reached quickly on large deployments.

RS
AvatarImg

Robert S.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Protect Your Fleet

Reviewed a year ago

Jamf Protect lets me worry less about what is going on in my environment!

Pros

Protect is so easy to use and maintain, it gives valuable insight to the administrator!

Cons

Initial configuration is a bit complicated, but deployment is super easy!