This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Logo

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Data backup & recovery solution for SMBs and enterprises.

see alternatives

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.8

218

5

4

3

2

1

176

41

1

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app
How would you rate NAKIVO Backup & Replication?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

The backup schedule is nice to have. It's nice to see the alerts, details of alerts, and suggestions for resolution.

TG

Travis G.

Brilliant solution, cost effective. The product is easy to implement and works just as good as advertised.
AvatarImg

Dustin P.

I love how easy is to use this tool, it provides good functionalities in a good relation cost-Benefits.

OS

Omar S.

Cons

The only nitpick I can think of is the Flash based interface. The UI can sometimes become sluggish due to our large VMware infrastructure.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Reclaiming process stops repository operativity and takes long time on big space repository. Frequent Onboard transporter errors, takes us to operate manually to fix it.

FA

Federico A.

But if i have complains i'll leave a new comment.

YV

Yvonic V.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


218 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Backup & Replication

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to configure and to use. Fully integrated with QNAP NAS and Active Directory

Cons

The software licensing, I need 2 license 1 to backup VM in VMware environment and 1 to backup a single Windows server

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo is competitive

Reviewed 23 days ago
Pros

I have been using the product for approximately 6 months and I was easily able to develop the configuration of the application, both for backups and for replication. I recently had the need to recover a VM and it worked perfectly, I also make replicas on a remote site and it works very well, the other thing I like about the product is the simple way to make my backup jobs immutable

Cons

Only the Graphic User Interface (GUI) not like but working fine

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Solid Backup Solution

Reviewed 8 months ago

We have bin using it for almost 2 years. and it just works.

Pros

It´s rock solid and fast. We backup on 10Gbps network to all flash storage. backup and restore is super fast.

Cons

Pricing can always be better. but it is still cheaper that the compatition. and just as good if not better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great inexpensive software

Reviewed 7 months ago

Nakivo allows backups of our very small lab for an affordable price

Pros

Price ease of use Compatibility with VMware

Cons

Needs to be more flexible with vCenter version supported

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to setup, affordable, reliable

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

It was easy to setup (less than half an hour) and instantly worked - no problems. Offsite backup to Synology NAS works good.

Cons

Actually there are no real Cons about this software. It just works.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most quality and the least expensive backup

Reviewed 2 years ago

The support team is friendly and nice and has a very fast reaction and can help you with any problem you encounter while working in this program

Pros

1: Speed ​​in performance and work perfectly 2: Backup is completely safe 3: The price is cheap compared to other programs 4: The interface of the program is elegant, easy, and of careful and excellent planning and you can implement the steps simply and quickly in carrying out the activities

Cons

You haven't had any problems yet

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

superb experience

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

since we use nakivo backup and replication we can perform operation that would be very expansive using vmware license, for a very very affordable price, and even if our infrastructure should increase in the short time we can upgrade just the license to cover all the new devices we can use. we use nakivo backup and replication on qnap devices, and it covers up to 5 servers in the small environment. we can now perform operations that were expansive and difficult with very high automation.

Cons

An additional feature that would be appreciated is the disaster recovery automation. it could be improved using vcenter features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Backup and Replication make me administration VM backup become easy.

Reviewed 3 years ago

My company is a IT consultant for virtual infrastructure. We have solve several problem with Nakivo. Before using Nakivo , we have problem with backup and take a long time to backup a VM. With Nakivo backup process is more easy and reliable. We have recomend Nakivo to our Customer. Right now almost my customer using Nakivo on top of Synology NAS. With Combination Nakivo and Synology make backup more easy and powerfull. Thank you Nakivo.

Pros

-Nakivo Backup is easy to use -Complete solution for backup for example vm backup , back copy, and flash vm boot. - Competitive price for backup solution

Cons

- network system will need to improve. Because i have found several degredation of need speed if source Backup and target or repository in different segment network.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Easy to Setup and Manage

Reviewed 3 years ago

Nakivo is helping us with Disaster recovery and Backups

Pros

Nakivo has helped our Latin america stores replicate Vmware servers including SQL server databases, Installation and setup can be up and running in a few hours you can have your replica offsite for DR

Cons

Easy to Manage with web based Interface without clutter

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Value for money

Reviewed 5 months ago

We use NAKIVO Backup & Replication for Microsoft Hyper-V backup on several sites. The solution runs on several Synology NAS devices. The solution offers a simple interface that is easy to use for new users. It gives us a quick and simple way of recovering individual files and whole servers.

Pros

Easy to use web UI. We've used NAKIVO Backup & Replication support a handfull of times and they've been helpfull in both response time and solving the technical problem.

Cons

Missing MFA for AD integrated users and Clustered SQL HA setups.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable, fast, cheap, what more do you need?

Reviewed a year ago

Nakivo enabled us to backup our entire vSphere cluster in a very limited time window. This wasn't possible with our previous backup software. Support has been great the two times we have needed it too - once for a user error on our part, the other time for a licensing issue.

Pros

Nakivo is a lightweight installation - install the main component as a VM if you want. Fast - It's quicker than all the other solutions we have previously used. The GUI is uncluttered, responsive and easy to navigate.

Cons

You could say the GUI needs sprucing up but on the other hand it does exactly what it needs to, cleanly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing software

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

easy implementation easy to use low licensing costs high production effectiveness

Cons

So far we have not found a flaw that could present a negative point.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO - A very dependable backup solution.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Three years ago, I've been looking for a solution to reliably and efficiently backup all of our virtual machines. NAKIVO showed up in my search, gave it a try and never looked back. It has made our backup and recovery process very easy and efficient. Once set, NAKIVO will do the work for you. We now have the peace of mind that our precious data are well protected and services can be restored in a shortest time possible.

Cons

Everything was good about it. It was well worth the money we spent for it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Telmekom GMBH

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The installation of the Software is easy, adding Hypervisors is easy, adding backup targets, aka Transporters is easy. Overall the Backup is setup and running within a few hours and works like a charm. Backup is fast and cluster aware. The support is great. Tthe API gives lots of possibility's to integrate it with already existing monitoring solutions.

Cons

One thing that bothers me the most, technically the agent isn't supported on windows core edition. The backup and agent still works, however I am not sure how fare the support will support this setup if there appear to be issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Usability, performance, security, the way, how they designed the transporter infrastructure

Cons

Better displaying of the network shown in the web interface

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Affordable Price & Easy Implementation With Nakivo

Reviewed 3 years ago

Nakivo is a backup and replication tool that offers data protection with complete features aimed at a virtual environment that can support both on premise and cloud. Some virtualization products supported include VMware, HyperV, Nutanix and even Nakivo also support for Cloud Environment backup (AWS EC2). NAKIVO is the right choice for companies that needs backup application at an affordable price...

Pros

Have Replication & Fast Restore Feature. NAKIVO itself can be installed on a variety of hosts. Either it's Windows, Linux, or as a virtual appliance (OVF / OVA), or maybe installed on NAS storage. So, it's actually pretty easy to apply NAKIVO in your company environment

Cons

Still Cannot Backup To Tape. It seems pretty important to have this feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Close to must have software

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have more than 150 VMs on backups between multiple vmware infrastructure, speed and automation were the strengths of Nakivo

Pros

Installation process, User friendly Interface and reliability of backups

Cons

Reclaiming process stops repository operativity and takes long time on big space repository. Frequent Onboard transporter errors, takes us to operate manually to fix it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product for Virtual backups

Reviewed 2 years ago

Nakivo, great backup solution for Virtual servers

Pros

It's ease of use and quick setup makes Nakivo a great solution for backing up and replicating vmware infrastructures, price is also very affordable.

Cons

It's simplicity makes that it lacks many useful features of competitor backup software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO Very Helpful for Backup our VM Servers and So Simple and Friendly Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have experience, when our host ESXi having problem, we can restore so easy using Nakivo

Pros

Simple, Easy to Use, Trusted and Proven in Our Company

Cons

For now i don't have, i think all feature in Nakivo its so perfectly to support us for backup VM Servers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent backup software and excellent value!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I work with multiple clients that use VMWare in their business and compared to the other more expensive backups solutions Nakivo Backup and Replication works just as well but it much more cost effective. Great product and affordable for a small environment but still works well in a larger setting.

Pros

Nakivo Backup and Replication is simple to setup and configure and it is very easy to setup your backup jobs. It just works and it is so easy to maintain. The support is fantastic. I love it!

Cons

The user interface is a little simple, but that it not necessarily a bad thing because it shows you what you need to see all in one place.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

powerful and dependable with super intuitive interface

Reviewed a year ago

During the last years, we had a situations where we wanted to spawn "test" computers and it was so quick and easy with Nakivo. We simply restored a clone, renamed and were up and running in 5 minutes.

Pros

Very easy to set up and use. Very robust in regards to creating multiple backup locations and schedules. The ability to kick off VMs directly from the backup location and then merge back changes in case of downtime is genius.

Cons

It would be great if Calendar and Branding were offered to all levels of license

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent experience overall

Pros

Nakivo is an excellent choice for our backup and disaster recovery needs. The interface is very simple to use, we deployed and scheduled the backup jobs to our ESXi cluster in a few hours of work. Network acceleration enable us to set-up an offsite backup over WAN connection! The Site recovery feature is fantastic, allowing us to create a guided recovery activity in case of problems with one of our clusters.

Cons

Nakivo lacks of a mobile version of the Admin Interface, I use to manage it from my smartphone with some difficulty.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo.... it just works.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our organization used VMware VDP and we always had major issues with it. VDP would frequently break and ivolved days of wasted time on the phone with VMware to get it working. We switched to Nakivo and never looked back. We were up and running within minutes.

Pros

Absolutely the easiest VM backup software I've used. We installed the agent on our Synology unit and were doing backups by the end of the day.

Cons

The only nitpick I can think of is the Flash based interface. The UI can sometimes become sluggish due to our large VMware infrastructure.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product for maintaining your VMWare machines

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

I Started using Virtual machines in 2016 with VMWARE. I tried several methods for keeping backups of my virtual machines. I found in NAKIVO the easiest and more complete solution for my needs. Installing it in my NAS was very simple and the configuration was very straight forward, I never had any problems in restoring a VM . Technical support is very complete, they are very involved until you solve your problems

Cons

Easy to Use Good Tech Support very involved in solving your problem

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Price-effective powerful easy to use backup solution for our Hyper-V VMs infrastructure

Reviewed 9 months ago

In our SMB we started using NAKIVO as our main backup solution for backing up mainly Hyper-V VMs. Our overall experience with it was great from the point of buying and implementing it, and still is, as we still keep using it successfully.

Pros

Pre-sale support and consultations were awesome Price and price models are great Very flexible solution (we like running it on QNAP) Performance Easy of use

Cons

Error messages could be more detailed and helpful, without the need to send logs to support We used to experience strange unresponsiveness of web UI, but it seem that updates fixed it.