NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Data backup & recovery solution for businesses

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Review Summary

Pros

I love how easy is to use this tool, it provides good functionalities in a good relation cost-Benefits.

Omar S.

It's ease of use and quick setup makes Nakivo a great solution for backing up and replicating vmware infrastructures, price is also very affordable.

Patrick C.

We're securing our customers data through a very good backup and recovery platform running from multiple places in the datacenter, really good indeed. Very helpful support in all stages of the setup.

Tim H.

Cons

Maybe, missing doc and info. We did not found info about some problems we had.

Anonymous Reviewer

The software has a lot of features, so there is nothing I can say, that is bad.

Martin S.

There are no real cons to mention. Sometimes we wish, that the logs in the UI would tell more details, when it comes to errors.

Robert F.

Overall rating

4.8

(90)

5

4

3

2

1

72

17

1

0

0

99%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


90 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A beautifully engineered solution that doesn't assume everyone uses Windows

Reviewed 5 months ago

It's as close to bullet proof as we've seen. Our backups run nightly and on the occasion when we need to restore, there are some very flexible ways of getting either individual files, VMDKs or entire VMs out the other end. We have yet to try out the non-VM backup but we suspect that at some point we will throw that out and move it all to Nakivo.

Pros

It's an elegant combination of Java and Linux with a straightforward web-based interface and it never lets us down. We feel completely comfortable with Nakivo protecting our backups and best of all, it means we don't have to install a load of Windows-based systems that we don't want or need just to run it.

Cons

It's not cheap. It does work out slightly more cost effective than Veeam, and the saving of effort and hassle of it being Linux-based was enough justification for us to buy it in the end.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo "The backbone to our virtualization infrastructure DR+BC Playbook.

Reviewed a year ago

From sales to support, the attention has been top-notch. Very attentive and quick to respond with quotes and resolutions. The application performance has exceeded our previous backup systems.

Pros

Rapid deployment: We use Synology NAS devices for backups. The ability to deploy the app directly on the NAS itself was a big win for us. We reduced the load on our hypervisors and have everything needed for recovery on one device.

Cons

A web UI refresh would be nice but that is just a matter of personal preference. A mobile app would be great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO + Synology

Reviewed 2 months ago

Nakvio has been extremely helpful whenever called up, and their support team has proven knowledgeable at diagnosing other systems (like synology in our case)

Pros

Extremely easy to use, and the synology deployment is an absolute lifesaver in terms of reducing complexity

Cons

Would have preferred the calendar dashboard at lower licence levels

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nakivo

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

I use Nakivo to backup AWS istances from a region to another and works very well. It is easy to use and configure.

Cons

Enable the possibility to restore guest file from a replicated istances to restore file deleted or damage

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backup made easy

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall my experience has been great and when I do have a problem their support is there to immediately help solve the problem.

Pros

The software ease of use is what really sold me on Nakivo. From day one it was easy to setup and within a few minutes I was backing up my first Esxi server. The VM replication is fast and I love the screenshot verification. Restoring a backup is just as easy and I've never had a backup restore job fail.

Cons

Overall the software is as perfect as you can get. Its allows me to confidently backup my servers with no issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best choice

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This software is easy to setup and use. The price is competitive and can be afforded also in very little company or offices (SOHO) assuring security at low cost. The availability of the transporter module with most of NAS system (also SOHO) let the company work also with low cost devices. The option to have a flash VM boot reduces the RTO and the forever incremental backups (very fast) reduces the RPO.

Cons

No availability for Citrix XEN and a full screen interface (the calendar would be more readable).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo, is a reliable and easy to use product

Reviewed a year ago

I primarily a Veeam user trying Nakivo, I was surprised to see how good this Naviko product is, from the install to its use, this product is really simple and reliable.

Pros

Simplicity Very reliable Set it and forget it Low price Runs on entry level nas (Qnap, Synology) Great support Application item level restoration

Cons

-Could have a bit more features -Compression ratio could be improved -Missing integration with specialized dedup hardware

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Backup & Replication

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Easy to configure and to use. Fully integrated with QNAP NAS and Active Directory

Cons

The software licensing, I need 2 license 1 to backup VM in VMware environment and 1 to backup a single Windows server

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most quality and the least expensive backup

Reviewed 2 months ago

The support team is friendly and nice and has a very fast reaction and can help you with any problem you encounter while working in this program

Pros

1: Speed ​​in performance and work perfectly 2: Backup is completely safe 3: The price is cheap compared to other programs 4: The interface of the program is elegant, easy, and of careful and excellent planning and you can implement the steps simply and quickly in carrying out the activities

Cons

You haven't had any problems yet

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO is a great, affordable, and easy-to-use all-in-one solution.

Reviewed 3 months ago

I've had the chance to work with many backup solutions for VMware and Hyper-V. NAKIVO is one of the best backup and replication solutions with a Site Recovery feature at a very fair price. The UI is very simple and intuitive. Amazing Site Recovery feature helped us when we had a problem with the initial host. Don't afraid to prepay a few years of support, as it works. The Subscription license is more convenient for mixed environments.

Pros

NAKIVO support team is extremely responsive and helpful, I was so positively impressed as they even helped me with a VMware issue. I like all-in-one solutions for mixed environments, and now with NAKIVO we backup our VMware Machines, Office 365 account, Windows server, and even desktop.

Cons

The UI design could be more contemporary, as it is a bit vintage right now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable Backup Solution

Reviewed 8 months ago

Nakivo platform is one stop shop for all of our backup and DR needs.

Pros

Over the course of 3 years Nakivo proved to be an excellent choice for our backup and disaster recovery needs. After the initial setup the interface was very easy to use, had a logical layout and order of steps when performing various activities. Level of integration with major hypervisors is great. Network acceleration helps a lot when performing backups over slower WAN links. Multi-tenant platform in combination with per VM licensing model presents great sales opportunity for service providers offering DR solutions.

Cons

Introduction of support for the latest releases of hypervisors takes too long.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect backup for small and mid-sized business

Reviewed 8 months ago

Nakivo is simply the best solution for our customers. Of course there are other products out there with more features, but we really don't need them. Pricing and feature set are exactly right for our small and mid-sized customers. For the future we hope, that Nakivo will continue this,

Pros

Easy to deploy software, which is suitable for all of our customers. We like the possibility to run it as a downloadable virtual appliance. So, we always have it running in a few minutes. Starting as a solution for backing up virtual infrastructures (vSphere / Hyper-V), it becomes more and more feature complete. Today it has all featured we need for our customers, including physical backup. We really like controlling the software with command-line and API. Integration with our remote monitoring was simple. Also, the sales team always finds good solutions, when there are tricky licensing request from our customers.

Cons

There are no real cons to mention. Sometimes we wish, that the logs in the UI would tell more details, when it comes to errors. But we always were able to sort it out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO rivals VEEM and others. We say NAKIVO wins

Reviewed 4 months ago

We were introduced to NAKIVO 2 years ago when we were searching for a lower cost entry point for virtualization backup. we were pleasantly surprised with the NAKIVO product. Since then, the NAKIVO features have grown and we regularly find ourselves recommending our clients move from their current solutions like VEEM and Symantec vault, to NAKIVO saving a ton of money and giving a much easier to use interface to the end users. We highly recommend NAKIVO to our clients and recommend you take a moment to review as well Michael Stokes, CTO stokesTechnologies, inc.

Pros

same end results as using more expensive products like VEEM, price point significantly less, and the user interface much easier to understand. Flexible integration with other storage devices and operating systems

Cons

they are continuing to add more features rivaling the bigger companies. I say they're just about there and I don't really have a negative thing to say about the product

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easiest backup/replication solution out there

Reviewed a year ago

Nakivo is a real time saver. I scheduled backups of my vmware environment, and also replication to an off sight server. and all I do is monitor the nakivo email notifications sent after the job tasks. It's been a real load off my shoulders. Anyone looking for a simple, reliable backup and replication solution for vmware or hyper V, look no further.

Pros

Nakivo is incredibly simple to use. The interface is very user friendly and intuitive and it guides you through each tasks. It is quick and efficient. Support has been excellent, nakivo provides regular updates and they are regularly improving the software with new features. You are able to perform full vm backups, replication, restore individual files, mount hard disk from a vm backup to a running vm and browse full hard disk, and the list goes on.

Cons

No real cons with Nakivo, although realtime replication and the ability to perform file/folder level backup would be great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A very good backup software for Virtualization

Reviewed 7 months ago

This is a very pleasant experience. You get backup done, details ,alert when something goes wrong.

Pros

Simple to use, efficient and faster than our previous software.

Cons

For now everything is good so far. We don't use all features possible. If I should be picky, an automated update system will be awesome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and fast recovery

Reviewed a year ago

Very pleased with it. We use Nakivo to backup all of our VMware VM's and have been using it for 2 years already and we have never had failed backups with it. As we're web hosting company we run restore operations several times per week for our clients who have tendency of deleting something.

Pros

Very easy installation + the deduplication results are very impressive. Also restore time with Flash VM Recovery is amazing. We've done 900Gb + VM's started from backup in minutes and we've been able to fetch database dumps in there in time which we've never seen before. As some of our hosting servers use MySQL with InnoDB databases ability to boot "replica of VM" with Flash VM recovery and performing mysqldump on running replica in minutes is simply impressive.

Cons

Usual issues with any software: "something point zero" versions do have their bugs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo: simplicity and efficiency!

Reviewed 8 months ago

We switched from another backup solution to Nakivo, in a first moment, due to its cost. Now, we are aware of its simplicity and efficiency and recommend it to all our clients. Nakivo is getting better after each version!

Pros

The simplicity and efficiency of the solution.

Cons

I am plenty satisfied with Nakivo. If I had to choose something, would be the interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for VM backup

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Nakivo is reliable, very simple to setup and easy to use. It can be implemented as virtual appliance, app for NAS envirolment and software. Work also with VSphere ESXi free!

Cons

I really don't know... It's really a complete and simple software so... None!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Backup and Replication make me administration VM backup become easy.

Reviewed a year ago

My company is a IT consultant for virtual infrastructure. We have solve several problem with Nakivo. Before using Nakivo , we have problem with backup and take a long time to backup a VM. With Nakivo backup process is more easy and reliable. We have recomend Nakivo to our Customer. Right now almost my customer using Nakivo on top of Synology NAS. With Combination Nakivo and Synology make backup more easy and powerfull. Thank you Nakivo.

Pros

-Nakivo Backup is easy to use -Complete solution for backup for example vm backup , back copy, and flash vm boot. - Competitive price for backup solution

Cons

- network system will need to improve. Because i have found several degredation of need speed if source Backup and target or repository in different segment network.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Easy to Setup and Manage

Reviewed a year ago

Nakivo is helping us with Disaster recovery and Backups

Pros

Nakivo has helped our Latin america stores replicate Vmware servers including SQL server databases, Installation and setup can be up and running in a few hours you can have your replica offsite for DR

Cons

Easy to Manage with web based Interface without clutter

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO - A very dependable backup solution.

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Three years ago, I've been looking for a solution to reliably and efficiently backup all of our virtual machines. NAKIVO showed up in my search, gave it a try and never looked back. It has made our backup and recovery process very easy and efficient. Once set, NAKIVO will do the work for you. We now have the peace of mind that our precious data are well protected and services can be restored in a shortest time possible.

Cons

Everything was good about it. It was well worth the money we spent for it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for the price

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Didnt need dedicated server, it can run on a NAS for example. Fast, easy to use. Storage efficient.

Cons

Didnt find any for now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Usability, performance, security, the way, how they designed the transporter infrastructure

Cons

Better displaying of the network shown in the web interface

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Affordable Price & Easy Implementation With Nakivo

Reviewed a year ago

Nakivo is a backup and replication tool that offers data protection with complete features aimed at a virtual environment that can support both on premise and cloud. Some virtualization products supported include VMware, HyperV, Nutanix and even Nakivo also support for Cloud Environment backup (AWS EC2). NAKIVO is the right choice for companies that needs backup application at an affordable price...

Pros

Have Replication & Fast Restore Feature. NAKIVO itself can be installed on a variety of hosts. Either it's Windows, Linux, or as a virtual appliance (OVF / OVA), or maybe installed on NAS storage. So, it's actually pretty easy to apply NAKIVO in your company environment

Cons

Still Cannot Backup To Tape. It seems pretty important to have this feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product for Virtual backups

Reviewed 8 months ago

Nakivo, great backup solution for Virtual servers

Pros

It's ease of use and quick setup makes Nakivo a great solution for backing up and replicating vmware infrastructures, price is also very affordable.

Cons

It's simplicity makes that it lacks many useful features of competitor backup software

page 1 of 4