This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Logo

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Data backup & recovery solution for SMBs and enterprises.

see alternatives

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews - Page 8

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


239 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the software that can backup over the cloud

Cons

The software is backing fast and very reliable

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for VMWare backups

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use it to back up in-house virtual machines using VMWare and its worked great.

Pros

Works flawless and restoring backups is very easy. Very set it and forget. Good value for price.

Cons

Setting up some of the parts of the jobs can be a little complicated but not bad. Interface could be more intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple to use, seems robust

Reviewed 3 years ago

Pleasant interaction with sales, software not too expensive. The software was easy to setup (with some IT experience with VMs) and has automated our manual backups

Pros

Easy to setup, works well and has way more features than needed for our backup purposes.

Cons

None so far. It is doing what we need it to do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Fast, reliable and easy to use.

Pros

This product was easy to setup and start using. I was able to get my backups running within an hour.

Cons

It doesn't have file and folder backup but its really designed for virtual machine backups and it does that so well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Product Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The backup schedule is nice to have. It's nice to see the alerts, details of alerts, and suggestions for resolution.

Cons

Setting up or configuring the backups and schedules could be a little easier to navigate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy set-up and Configuration

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The product is doing exactly what its supposed to do and its very reliably backing up VM's

Cons

The interface might need some improvements

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Replication Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Inexpensive for its load of features , NAS based server and VM client.

Cons

Interface can be improved, we hope to see up to date update release for Synology NAS instead of requesting custom updates from support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nakivo VS. StorageCraft ShadowProtect SPX

Reviewed 3 years ago

We used to work with ShadowProtect from StorageCraft but we had some problems with it and also the price is not cheap so we decided to explore other software's. We found Nakivo and after test it we think it worth it, not only for the price, also the features and easy of use it has. The support is important for us and we think that we change our way work. Recommended 100%.

Pros

Prize. Features. Support. Easy of use. More or less are this.

Cons

We didn't find any cons at the moment .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Affordable Professional Backup

Reviewed 9 months ago

Good customer service and software

Pros

Easy to install and use and to recover virtual machines

Cons

I haven't used it that much and I cant say much, just to play with it and to figure it out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Back up solution excellent

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent support for selling and quick pricing and billing.

Pros

real value for money for any virtual environment is what helps Nakivo to be the leader

Cons

Nakivo should focus a little more on the marketing which will help us push the solution far better than others in market. Also, Nakivo should come up into indian market with INR pricing and billing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO SAVE YOUR DATA

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Fast, intuitive software, easy install and configuration, awesome support.

Cons

Nothing cons for now, the software work very fine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very flexible and easy to install

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- different choices of pricing options - the simple and fast install process

Cons

nothing at the moment, it runs smoothly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have Solution for VM

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

User friendly interface and easy to configure.

Cons

Good data compression with high speed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo makes it easy to backup and restore your VMs

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This solution makes it easy to create and scheduled backups for your VMs. Within 20 minutes of deploying the Nakivo virtual appliance I was able to setup backups for my VMs.

Cons

I can't find any Cons with this product as it does it's job.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A beautifully engineered solution that doesn't assume everyone uses Windows

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's as close to bullet proof as we've seen. Our backups run nightly and on the occasion when we need to restore, there are some very flexible ways of getting either individual files, VMDKs or entire VMs out the other end. We have yet to try out the non-VM backup but we suspect that at some point we will throw that out and move it all to Nakivo.

Pros

It's an elegant combination of Java and Linux with a straightforward web-based interface and it never lets us down. We feel completely comfortable with Nakivo protecting our backups and best of all, it means we don't have to install a load of Windows-based systems that we don't want or need just to run it.

Cons

It's not cheap. It does work out slightly more cost effective than Veeam, and the saving of effort and hassle of it being Linux-based was enough justification for us to buy it in the end.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Exactly what we needed

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Ease of setup, ease of administration, and reliability! Not to mention the very reasonable cost and superb email communication with the company.

Cons

Our needs were quite specific and we only had a few protected machines. That said, I genuinely don't have anything to enter in this field.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

not great, not terrible

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Possibility of backing up all our platfroms is plus for me.

Cons

Any update is pain. There is huge chance that software update wont end well and you have to contact support to help you with remediation. Support is also not best i saw out there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not Rolls Royce but probably Mercedes...

Reviewed 3 months ago

Cheaper than Veeam, better than some other options. The proof is in the recovery! It's more focussed on VMWare than Hyper-V but support for Hyper-V is acceptable. Just be sure you are familiar with the features that are and are not supported for the platform you wish to protect before proceeding. The licensing is quite flexible too, with perpetual and subscription licenses. The cost comparison...

Pros

Easy to set up and get running. Flexible deployment, with the full solution (i.e. the "brain") running directly on supported NAS hardware, Linux OS, physical or virtual machines. Getting help is as easy as clicking "Request Support" on an error message in the WebUI. A support bundle is created and sent to Nakivo and you very quickly receive an email with a case number, followed by responses from real people.

Cons

Better error messages would be nice - they don't always make sense. The "brain", which is the Director component, can only exist in one place in a distributed deployment with different locations. This means that a remote site will not back up if there is a connectivity issue between sites and the Director cannot see the transporter and repositories at the remote site.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Reviewed 2 months ago

Tras la adquisición de una NAS Synology en un cliente, conocimos el producto de Nakivo, que además de ofrecernos todo lo que nos ofrecía Veeam, era más económico y podíamos ejecutarlo desde la propia NAS donde teníamos pensado almacenar la información. Esto significaba eliminar un servidor con los costes que ello conlleva, (licencias de Sistema operativo y de protección, consumo eléctrico, etc). Además...

Pros

Precio, facilidad de despliegue, facilidad de uso, funcionalidades de backup y reducción de tamaña en las copias

Cons

Echo de menos más información en Español, pero la atención recibida en Inglés ha sido muy buena

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Is Amazing

Reviewed 2 months ago

10/10, i'd highly recommend this app to all that require a backup service that is reliable, easy to use, easy to troubleshoot & most importantly quick & smart.

Pros

The best thing about this software is the ease of use and peace of mind. You can schedule backups very easily, Everything runs fast & smooth, Its been running here for over 3 years without a single problem. Updates are pushed easily, Verification of backups is also amazing. And the best part is it intigrates with Hyper V and when restoring a backup of a virtual machine it automatically imports it into hyper V and everything works perfectly. Windows Server Backup utility is unreliable compared to this.

Cons

One of the things i liked least about this software is when an update was pushed one of the servers we had didnt receive the update and needed some quick troubleshooting, but their customer service team was able to help out within the hour and was amazing and very helpful from the first reply.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product

Reviewed 16 days ago

NAKIVO suites our needs for easy back-up management for a reasonable price and it is highly recommended for SME business that looks value for money.

Pros

Works well with QNAP and SYNOLOGY. NAKIVO suites our needs for easy back-up management for a reasonable price and it is highly recommended for SME business that looks value for money.

Cons

We don't see down side yet. And we hope that it will always be that way for long time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and just works.

Reviewed 9 days ago
Pros

Easy to configure. Has replication between locations. Easy to recovery data.

Cons

I don't like that i have to order support since time it was expired. Other than that that's it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Product valid and powerful, fast and helpful assitance

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Nakivo is perfect for companies that want to ensure maximum data security without spending too much money. It is possible to backup any type of server, physical and virtual, NAS, workstation, pc by using the most common cloud platforms or personal device. The program is always constantly updated, improving the needs that the market requires. The point of value in my opinion is the assistance, the technicians are always kind and available to give support in the most difficult configurations via webinair or email.

Cons

It would be useful to customize the subject text and the text in the emails sent as alerts

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for backing up to Synology system

Reviewed 9 days ago
Pros

One of very few solutions which has an app for Synology NAS, enabling simple and easy to use backing up and restoring of VMWare appliances. As it runs on the actual Synology NAS no other hardware or software is needed for backing these up.

Cons

A little slow to release updates to major versions of VMWare

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Successful Backups for 8 years

Reviewed 2 months ago

We are using NAKIO for about 8 years now for internally and for our customers. The product has evolved over time from a cheap and simple VMware backup solution to a backup suite providing a lot of options and features. We have successfully deployed instances of VMware backup, replication, WAN replication, O365 backup, physical workstation backup, replication to amazon and multi-tenancy.

Pros

They provide great support. Over time when we had issues they always went out of their way to provide satisfactory solutions. It is very easy to setup and use regardless of the size of installation. They still provide an affordable product and I believe you definitely will get your money's worth. There is a lot of active development and not only toward new features, but also in improving stability and performance. They try to get feedback from their userbase when planning for new features.

Cons

We have had problems with file level recovery on large (>1 TB) XFS file systems. Space reclaim of backup repositories is slow, but has been improved recently.