This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Logo

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Data backup & recovery solution for SMBs and enterprises.

see alternatives

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews - Page 9

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


239 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A beautifully engineered solution that doesn't assume everyone uses Windows

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's as close to bullet proof as we've seen. Our backups run nightly and on the occasion when we need to restore, there are some very flexible ways of getting either individual files, VMDKs or entire VMs out the other end. We have yet to try out the non-VM backup but we suspect that at some point we will throw that out and move it all to Nakivo.

Pros

It's an elegant combination of Java and Linux with a straightforward web-based interface and it never lets us down. We feel completely comfortable with Nakivo protecting our backups and best of all, it means we don't have to install a load of Windows-based systems that we don't want or need just to run it.

Cons

It's not cheap. It does work out slightly more cost effective than Veeam, and the saving of effort and hassle of it being Linux-based was enough justification for us to buy it in the end.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Exactly what we needed

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Ease of setup, ease of administration, and reliability! Not to mention the very reasonable cost and superb email communication with the company.

Cons

Our needs were quite specific and we only had a few protected machines. That said, I genuinely don't have anything to enter in this field.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

not great, not terrible

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Possibility of backing up all our platfroms is plus for me.

Cons

Any update is pain. There is huge chance that software update wont end well and you have to contact support to help you with remediation. Support is also not best i saw out there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not Rolls Royce but probably Mercedes...

Reviewed 3 months ago

Cheaper than Veeam, better than some other options. The proof is in the recovery! It's more focussed on VMWare than Hyper-V but support for Hyper-V is acceptable. Just be sure you are familiar with the features that are and are not supported for the platform you wish to protect before proceeding. The licensing is quite flexible too, with perpetual and subscription licenses. The cost comparison...

Pros

Easy to set up and get running. Flexible deployment, with the full solution (i.e. the "brain") running directly on supported NAS hardware, Linux OS, physical or virtual machines. Getting help is as easy as clicking "Request Support" on an error message in the WebUI. A support bundle is created and sent to Nakivo and you very quickly receive an email with a case number, followed by responses from real people.

Cons

Better error messages would be nice - they don't always make sense. The "brain", which is the Director component, can only exist in one place in a distributed deployment with different locations. This means that a remote site will not back up if there is a connectivity issue between sites and the Director cannot see the transporter and repositories at the remote site.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Reviewed 2 months ago

Tras la adquisición de una NAS Synology en un cliente, conocimos el producto de Nakivo, que además de ofrecernos todo lo que nos ofrecía Veeam, era más económico y podíamos ejecutarlo desde la propia NAS donde teníamos pensado almacenar la información. Esto significaba eliminar un servidor con los costes que ello conlleva, (licencias de Sistema operativo y de protección, consumo eléctrico, etc). Además...

Pros

Precio, facilidad de despliegue, facilidad de uso, funcionalidades de backup y reducción de tamaña en las copias

Cons

Echo de menos más información en Español, pero la atención recibida en Inglés ha sido muy buena

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Is Amazing

Reviewed 2 months ago

10/10, i'd highly recommend this app to all that require a backup service that is reliable, easy to use, easy to troubleshoot & most importantly quick & smart.

Pros

The best thing about this software is the ease of use and peace of mind. You can schedule backups very easily, Everything runs fast & smooth, Its been running here for over 3 years without a single problem. Updates are pushed easily, Verification of backups is also amazing. And the best part is it intigrates with Hyper V and when restoring a backup of a virtual machine it automatically imports it into hyper V and everything works perfectly. Windows Server Backup utility is unreliable compared to this.

Cons

One of the things i liked least about this software is when an update was pushed one of the servers we had didnt receive the update and needed some quick troubleshooting, but their customer service team was able to help out within the hour and was amazing and very helpful from the first reply.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product

Reviewed 16 days ago

NAKIVO suites our needs for easy back-up management for a reasonable price and it is highly recommended for SME business that looks value for money.

Pros

Works well with QNAP and SYNOLOGY. NAKIVO suites our needs for easy back-up management for a reasonable price and it is highly recommended for SME business that looks value for money.

Cons

We don't see down side yet. And we hope that it will always be that way for long time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and just works.

Reviewed 9 days ago
Pros

Easy to configure. Has replication between locations. Easy to recovery data.

Cons

I don't like that i have to order support since time it was expired. Other than that that's it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Product valid and powerful, fast and helpful assitance

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Nakivo is perfect for companies that want to ensure maximum data security without spending too much money. It is possible to backup any type of server, physical and virtual, NAS, workstation, pc by using the most common cloud platforms or personal device. The program is always constantly updated, improving the needs that the market requires. The point of value in my opinion is the assistance, the technicians are always kind and available to give support in the most difficult configurations via webinair or email.

Cons

It would be useful to customize the subject text and the text in the emails sent as alerts

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for backing up to Synology system

Reviewed 9 days ago
Pros

One of very few solutions which has an app for Synology NAS, enabling simple and easy to use backing up and restoring of VMWare appliances. As it runs on the actual Synology NAS no other hardware or software is needed for backing these up.

Cons

A little slow to release updates to major versions of VMWare

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Successful Backups for 8 years

Reviewed 2 months ago

We are using NAKIO for about 8 years now for internally and for our customers. The product has evolved over time from a cheap and simple VMware backup solution to a backup suite providing a lot of options and features. We have successfully deployed instances of VMware backup, replication, WAN replication, O365 backup, physical workstation backup, replication to amazon and multi-tenancy.

Pros

They provide great support. Over time when we had issues they always went out of their way to provide satisfactory solutions. It is very easy to setup and use regardless of the size of installation. They still provide an affordable product and I believe you definitely will get your money's worth. There is a lot of active development and not only toward new features, but also in improving stability and performance. They try to get feedback from their userbase when planning for new features.

Cons

We have had problems with file level recovery on large (>1 TB) XFS file systems. Space reclaim of backup repositories is slow, but has been improved recently.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple very stable and with the best support on the market.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Police base jobs permit that you never left a VM without backups, the software its so stable that its save me alot of hour validating backups and correct problems. Its a 2 minutes check now.

Pros

Its fire and forget. For long time I used other hyper-v backup solutions and the stability of the backup always was an issue, every weeks I needed hours to validate and correct problems, now I just spend 5 minutos to see that everything happen as supposed. With Nakivo its always fire and forget. No strange errors, you configure once and its done. The policy backup its great, you can create a policy with rules and when you create a new machine in the hypervisor a few minutes later its inside the backup job automatically.

Cons

The software its almost prefect, the only think that should be improved is the logging visibility.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast backup and clean, easy interface

Reviewed 8 months ago

Having previously used Unitrends, when that crashed unrecoverably a few months ago, their support weren't willing to provide any help so I looked around for alternatives. As we use a Synology NAS, I found Nakivo would run native on that, allowing me to remove the bloated Unitrends server from our ESXi host. Unfortunately with the very limited memory in our Synology it rather struggled once Nakivo was...

Pros

Fast backup Good compression Easy to setup and manage

Cons

The free version is only free for a year

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nakivo "The backbone to our virtualization infrastructure DR+BC Playbook.

Reviewed 3 years ago

From sales to support, the attention has been top-notch. Very attentive and quick to respond with quotes and resolutions. The application performance has exceeded our previous backup systems.

Pros

Rapid deployment: We use Synology NAS devices for backups. The ability to deploy the app directly on the NAS itself was a big win for us. We reduced the load on our hypervisors and have everything needed for recovery on one device.

Cons

A web UI refresh would be nice but that is just a matter of personal preference. A mobile app would be great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An amazing backup solution

Reviewed 3 months ago

This software allow us to backup our VM and Office 365 data quickly and with reliability. We also sue the replication feature. The best thing, however, is that you can boot from backup directly.

Pros

Possibility to install it Linux, saving Windows licensing cost. Also, the hot add method to backup is quite fast.

Cons

You need to read the documentation beforehand. Once you know how to do things, it's ok.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful products and easy to use

Reviewed 5 months ago

I have been using the Nakivo product for almost 3 Years now I used the VM recovery and also the file recovery in VM, it has always been easy to use. I also had 2 times needed to contact their support and my problems were solved quickly

Pros

Backup of entire VM and also granularity as you can restore only 1 single file from the VM

Cons

From now I don't really miss anything with this product

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nakivo es una herramienta de Backup fácil de usar e implementar compatible con vmware y nutanix

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Es compatible con todos los hipervisores importante del mercado vmware/hiper-v/acropolis. Facil de usar la interfaz de usuario Corre en todos los sistemas operativos se conecta a la mayoria de los storage appliance

Cons

Deben trabajar mas con acropolis, hay detalles que pueden ser mejorados. A veces las fallas de los jobs no son tan explicativas

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy to use backup solution

Reviewed a year ago

We made excellent experiences with the software and had to recover twice since introduction of the packages. Nakivo did the job just fine and letter let us down. Great package for the money asked for!

Pros

Installation as well as updating is simple and straightforward. The web interface allows simple access to all functions. Backup and Restore works like a charm and the messaging in case of failures makes checking status a breeze. I like the excellent rates for data compression allowing to use backup repository far beyond actual capacity.

Cons

Weird product policy for features in the different versions of the package - We are working with edition "Essentials Pro", which does all it needs to do, but the calendar view is disabled. Absolutely understand, that functions are limited to higher editions of package, but a calendar view of your jobs?!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

It's great to see with a quick glance if any backup jobs have had an errors, any that have failed, r even ones that have completed successfully. We are yet to run into any issues with corrupt backups, or any issues whatsoever with recovering a file, a folder, or even an entire system.

Cons

The best feature in my opinion is the fact that Nakivo seems to handle an operating system, as well as any virtual desktops or servers whether vmWare or HyperV without so much as a hiccup. The fact that you can delve so much further into specific backups such as SQL servers / 0365 , where you can recover right down to the info your missing as opposed to entire databases is also a great feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable Backup Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Nakivo platform is one stop shop for all of our backup and DR needs.

Pros

Over the course of 3 years Nakivo proved to be an excellent choice for our backup and disaster recovery needs. After the initial setup the interface was very easy to use, had a logical layout and order of steps when performing various activities. Level of integration with major hypervisors is great. Network acceleration helps a lot when performing backups over slower WAN links. Multi-tenant platform in combination with per VM licensing model presents great sales opportunity for service providers offering DR solutions.

Cons

Introduction of support for the latest releases of hypervisors takes too long.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backup made easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall my experience has been great and when I do have a problem their support is there to immediately help solve the problem.

Pros

The software ease of use is what really sold me on Nakivo. From day one it was easy to setup and within a few minutes I was backing up my first Esxi server. The VM replication is fast and I love the screenshot verification. Restoring a backup is just as easy and I've never had a backup restore job fail.

Cons

Overall the software is as perfect as you can get. Its allows me to confidently backup my servers with no issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best choice

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software is easy to setup and use. The price is competitive and can be afforded also in very little company or offices (SOHO) assuring security at low cost. The availability of the transporter module with most of NAS system (also SOHO) let the company work also with low cost devices. The option to have a flash VM boot reduces the RTO and the forever incremental backups (very fast) reduces the RPO.

Cons

No availability for Citrix XEN and a full screen interface (the calendar would be more readable).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nakivo Backup & Replication review

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall it solve the needs of general backup and ransomware protection for VM's and physical machines

Pros

The software is very easy to install and to use. It allows for a comprehensive overview and management of an organisations backups for on premise and cloud backups. One application covers Virtual and Physical backup needs

Cons

The Linux implementation is difficult to complete.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect backup for small and mid-sized business

Reviewed 2 years ago

Nakivo is simply the best solution for our customers. Of course there are other products out there with more features, but we really don't need them. Pricing and feature set are exactly right for our small and mid-sized customers. For the future we hope, that Nakivo will continue this,

Pros

Easy to deploy software, which is suitable for all of our customers. We like the possibility to run it as a downloadable virtual appliance. So, we always have it running in a few minutes. Starting as a solution for backing up virtual infrastructures (vSphere / Hyper-V), it becomes more and more feature complete. Today it has all featured we need for our customers, including physical backup. We really like controlling the software with command-line and API. Integration with our remote monitoring was simple. Also, the sales team always finds good solutions, when there are tricky licensing request from our customers.

Cons

There are no real cons to mention. Sometimes we wish, that the logs in the UI would tell more details, when it comes to errors. But we always were able to sort it out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NAKIVO B&R from the POV of a NGO company

Reviewed 3 months ago

10/10. Great support for fair price.

Pros

Fast, easy to use, responsive webui, support incremental and differencial backup, built in support chat.

Cons

Nothing really. There is no support for signed commercial cert for the webui, but maybe i just dont find it.