This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

NMIS

Network management software for handling fault analysis

visit website

NMIS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

We like the features you get out of the box, such as business rules and the ability to models of any piece of equipment, which is great for us for doing things like IoT.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

I have had a pleasant experience with NMIS for the past 2 years, the bunch of guys at Opmantek are friendly and always willing to help.

HD

Hensley D.

Open source linux based and well written/structured filesystem backed by a great responsive support team for advice or troubleshooting. Easy to install/configure/customise.

Leigh H.

Cons

There is very little negative to say about the product.

Leigh H.

Alarming of problems and customizable views help us to run our network professionably. We had from time to time a session with engineers of Opmantek to discuss new features or problems.

ML

Mike L.

Overall rating

4.9

5

4

3

2

1

9

1

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


10 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everything Networking Monitoring and Automation

Reviewed 9 months ago

Multitenanted Network Monitoring and management sytem that scales from a small IT provider to a big Enterprise/Carrier Organization.

Pros

Provide a total monitoring and insights into network infrastructure on a single pan of glass. The performance and the customization is second to none.

Cons

Nothing major I spotted during my experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not just software, a true partner

Reviewed 8 months ago

The software itself is great and the support is outstanding. We were able to deploy the system quickly and easily. When we've had issues, we were able to get directly with the engineers at Opmantek and get our problem resolved quickly and efficiently. We've worked with the support team and learned to create custom models so we can monitor every device on the network. As the administrator of the system, I pretty much never have to say "no" when I am asked "Can it do this?". The documentation is intuitive and complete as well. With NMIS and Opmantek we have a true partner that we can rely on to make sure we are on top of any issues on our network and have good data and analytics to make sure our customers get top-notch service.

Pros

The software is flexible and while most things we needed were available out of the box, we were also able to easily extend functionality to cover the things that weren't. The software scales well and we have grown to scale out to 10x our initial deployment as far as node count. The system is entirely Linux-based and happily runs on the well-supported open source distributions. We have the option of using a preconfigured virtual appliance or installing on our standard Linux distribution. Management can be done through the GUI and/or command line enabling scripting of many aspects of system administration

Cons

This NMIS8 interface we started with was a bit stale, but this was greatly improved with NMIS9.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Data Driven Decisions

Reviewed 9 months ago

It has been an eye-opening and a learning experience. We continue to learn more and more about our network with insights we have never had before. We have been able to use the data provided and collected to drive home several large projects that upon completion have improved our network stability by leaps and bound. We continue to find new and useful ways to implement and integrate the OMK platform into many of our other tools and practices. I could not be more excited about what comes next!

Pros

NMIS is hands down one of the best data collection monitoring suites we have ever used. The data and enriched alerting it provides is exactly what we were looking for to make data-driven network decisions for upgrade and growth. It has set us on the path from reactive to proactive!

Cons

This is both a con and a pro. This software is not an easy install and gets going product. As part of implmentation, you must really outline your practice and process as well as goals that you want to achieve. Also as you onboard new devices, the process of modeling them to collect the data you want is time-consuming. The average user will not be able to maintain and work on the back end of this software, but because of its complexity, you gain more control than you have ever had before.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NMIS for the win

Reviewed 9 months ago

NMIS is open-source, with a complete wiki and active community support, and has been around for many years. Has proven to be a very valuable tool for managing a large group of servers proactively.

Pros

I like that it's agentless, and when you do need support you get quickly connected to engineers, not jumping through hoops and waiting. We run NMIS on linux, for the open source advantage. We also use Opmantek Open Audit for inventory, it's possible to run both Open Audit and NMIS on the same system easily with the appliance

Cons

System is very flexible and customizable, in not always simple ways. But the outstanding documentation makes any learning curve involved easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keeps us confident systems are running smoothly

Reviewed 9 months ago

We monitor our remote IOT devices, making sure they are up and running properly. Adjusting NMIS' polling policy allowed us to do this without blowing out our data budget. It also keeps us confident that our online portals are up and running for our customers to use.

Pros

NMIS tells us when things aren't working so we can go and fix them, this means we can fix the problems before our customers know they are happening and before any data is lost. We have integrated NMIS with our saltstack configuration management tool so new nodes are automatically created with the correct settings when we deploy them. Customising the threshold settings and adjusting the escalation policy allows us to ensure we do not receive too many notifications which means we actually pay attention to the ones that come though.

Cons

I would appreciate having a docker image, a VM image is nice but not useful for me. Installing the software on our server is still very easy but I would prefer using docker. In general, understanding how the pieces of configuration worked together took a while, a diagram for understanding this would have been nice, it was worth figuring out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NMIS - A flexible monitoring software with a helpful helpdesk ,-)

Reviewed 10 months ago

We're using NMIS for monitoring our network. Alarming of problems and customizable views help us to run our network professionably. We had from time to time a session with engineers of Opmantek to discuss new features or problems. It is easy to get an qualified answer from helpdesk.

Pros

The GUI meets very much the needs of our network engineers. There are some very good views (e.g. showing traffic load of all interfaces of a device in one view) that help our stuff to find problems in our network. Furthermore it is possible to write own plugins to match very specific monitoring tasks.

Cons

The GUI of version 8 had some minor features that could need some improvements. We haven't upgraded to new version though...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic open-source solution with a backed community and support team.

Reviewed 9 months ago

As a telecommunications provider with a country wide presence, we rely heavily on to-the-minute alerting, live graphical statistics and reporting. Nmis provides the flexibility to satisfy all of those requirements. As an early adopter of the software, we have since customised it to send daily reports used to check trends based on the RRD data, unique alerting/graphing on custom models/OID's for things like QFP throughput on ISRs.

Pros

Open source linux based and well written/structured filesystem backed by a great responsive support team for advice or troubleshooting. Easy to install/configure/customise.

Cons

There is very little negative to say about the product. My only wish-list item is for an *Unlimited/repeat* escalation option beyond the provided 10 to allow for notifications on offline services only once business hours commences.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

open-source and integrated easily

Reviewed a year ago

Easy to install. Plus they have a VM with all the commercial products, and give you a lifetime 20 nodes licence for that so you can really test it all out.

Pros

The product is free and open-source. It is well backed with a complete wiki and community that continues to support it. There are commercial modules that expand its capability which is fully supported by Opmantek. We like the features you get out of the box, such as business rules and the ability to models of any piece of equipment, which is great for us for doing things like IoT. Plus, it runs on...

Cons

Nothing better than free and! But seriously it’s fully supported by the community and sometimes the developers help out on community too.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Positive sum up of NMIS/Opmantek

Reviewed 9 months ago

Great features right out of the box, such as business rules and the ability to model any piece of equipment. Easy to install. All of the key features can be accessed through the GUI, but I can edit everything in the command line if I need it.

Pros

NMIS is open-source and well backed with a complete wiki and community to support it. Accessing Opmantek support has you going straight to the engineers, you aren’t jumping through hoops to speak to them.

Cons

Nothing. Only in english language but it is ok.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NMIS Advantages - Brennan IT

Reviewed 9 months ago

I have had a pleasant experience with NMIS for the past 2 years, the bunch of guys at Opmantek are friendly and always willing to help!

Pros

NMIS is open-source, easy to deploy and maintain. The Feature set of this product is amazing as it allows you monitor every single Network device within our organization. Running on a Linux shell, I've done a lab test of an OS upgrade of the Core opFlow server (syd-nmsflow-cre-01). It seemed to work well. The lab server was receiving a test flow from a Linux box via NMIS software. it's that easy to implement and test. Some of the key advantage are it's technical support going straight to the Engineers who are friendly and highly knowledgeable to deal with. Running SNMP and Mongo DB which is free licensing. NMIS has a great GUI interface that is easy to navigate the Core Intercap and client links.

Cons

Linux based - Robust Free Database - Mongo DB SNMP polling Easy to Install