This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager

Network Configuration Management and Backup

see alternatives

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

With the ability to automate backups of iOS of the Cisco and other supported devices like HP and others you save time and money, it keeps a history and allows you to quickly restore a previous image.

Jeremy M.

Network management and traceability of our devices, and also very successful in the backup.

Anonymous Reviewer

We can download the configuration and implement it on other or new replacement network devices like routers and switches.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Sometimes you encounter simple problems despite all the improvements. An example of this is the occasional opening of the login page.

Anonymous Reviewer

Really there are not many. Price is about the only complaint, its expensive.

Jeremy M.

Overall rating

4.9

5

4

3

2

1

13

1

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


14 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

NCM is a must have for any environment

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

If you run more than 5 devices you need this tool. With the ability to automate backups of iOS of the Cisco and other supported devices like HP and others you save time and money, it keeps a history and allows you to quickly restore a previous image. It also documents any and all changes to the device.

Cons

Really there are not many. Price is about the only complaint, its expensive. I have found that often Solarwinds is very proud of their software and think it needs to bring top dollar.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds NCM

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

This software allows us to keep an audit trail for all the changes that takes place and it also captures that who made the change, and when a change is made in the configuration of any device then before and after comparisons are also available. We are also using this tool to keep backups for our core devices and when we are installing a new device or replacing a faulty, it helps us to apply the previously saved configuration on to the new device within few minutes.

Cons

This is a very expensive tool for small businesses and it requires administrative privileges to perform certain tasks, which might lead to a breach if exposed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Manage your network device configurations

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

solarwinds network configuration manager allows us to take backup, monitor if any change in configuration has occurred and it was done by who and it also provides very good reports which we can modify according to our needs.

Cons

we were unable to purchase this software as it is very costly software but the time I spent on its trial period, the results were very outstanding and unfortunately we had to skip this as it was going out of our budget.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Configuration Mapper

Reviewed 7 months ago

If you want to spare the valuable time of your network engineers and let them work on critical stuff, and if your budget allows, Solarwind's Network Configuration Manager is totally capable of doing that.

Pros

I have used this software as our job was to provide routers/switches and we also provide configuration services to our clients and support. This software played a very big role in transferring configurations from one device to another and spare us the time to sit and configure each device and everything line by line.

Cons

for some people the cost can be a down side for not purchasing this product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Network Configuration Manager is an amazing tool

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

I have used several tools to manage various networks and perform deployments but Network Configuration Manager is an amazing tool to manage almost every require activity however its best feature is to upgradations of firmwares in one go and does not require to be choose one connected device and distribute the file which can be time consuming but in this tool we can manage and upgrades firmware very easily, I can say its a time saving and less effort tool

Cons

It is very easy to integrate with any network and it has an ability to sync its parameters although the log files view is not very much eye catching and its should be more precise and every field should be clear and highlighted as per my point of view perhaps its a very nice tool

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds Can Be Setup And Configured In Less Than An Hour

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love that a lot of the automation can be done on routers or switches. I have it backing up our devices on a nightly basis

Pros

Solarwinds is a very easy product to install, configure and operate. I love a lot of the automation that can be done on routers or switches

Cons

Sometimes finding the right menu option you need. Once I find the screen I am looking for, I bookmark it and name it to something that makes sense to me

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easily monitor and backup Configs for network devices

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easily look at configs and copy and paste to new device in case of failure. Good solution for backups and monitoring.

Pros

Able to View configs on devices without having to login to device through. Able to archive configs to backup location. Also able to send email with config changes to email address.

Cons

I wish they would have their network insight feature more than just for cisco ASA's . Not able to limit the viewing of backup configs to a specific time without limiting the backup retention to that timeframe.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

software that facilitates network management.

Reviewed 2 years ago

network management and traceability of our devices, and also very successful in the backup.

Pros

With solarwinds NCM, we provide management and backup of all network devices. NCM minimizes the management of thousands of devices.

Cons

Solarwinds offers a range of paid / free products. I do not have any negative thoughts about the company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy-to-use reliable software

Reviewed 2 years ago

With the NCM product, we collect configuration backups from central devices and branch devices. However, we also provide compliance policy controls. The NCM product is extremely easy to use with a user-friendly interface. Seems incapable of working smoothly.

Pros

The compliance policy feature was decisive in choosing this product. It is easy to implement and functional.

Cons

Sometimes you encounter simple problems despite all the improvements. An example of this is the occasional opening of the login page.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Save and compare your network device's configurations.

Reviewed 8 months ago

This is a very great tool but for organizations that have a very secure environment and can bear the cost.

Pros

We can download the configuration and implement it on other or new replacement network devices like routers and switches. We can even compare the configuration of before and after changes and it has very good auditing and reporting as well.

Cons

very expensive and don't have a mini version for small businesses and requires administrative privileges to work properly which might lead to security breaches.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds Network Configuration manager

Reviewed 2 years ago

Quite Exceptional

Pros

Ease of use and feature-rich application for an enterprise management system for Cisco, Dell, and other network vendor configurations.

Cons

There is quite a lot of automation available in this product. A simplistic video demonstration would be helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds NCM Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am a network engineer for six years. I use ncm, npm, ipam, udt and netflow tools.

Pros

It ia easy to configure all your device in a few minutes. And you can see in a mail what you change in red and green lines.

Cons

Compliance check should be developed more easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to setup, does require a little time looking at documentation to get it properly customized.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

You are able to collect network device configurations using either telnet/ssh and you can obtain real-time config changes via SNMP traps. When a config change has been detected you can be alerted via email where you will be seen via change management the before and after configs with the changes highlighted. It also allows you to upload new configs to any devices that you are managing that you have set up access to. If you do experience any problems you will more than likely be able to fix them by applying a patch or upgrading to a newer version.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A great software for use

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

We can compare the configuration changes with ease and we can get alerts and reports for any activity that takes place which includes the details of the user who made the change. We can also download the configurations of one device and upload it to a new device to avoid doing all the configurations from scratch.

Cons

It is a very expensive tool and it requires admin privileges to monitor and maintain the device configuration.