App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

System Mechanic Ultimate Defense Logo

The Ultimate Defense for PCs.

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

System Mechanic Ultimate Defense Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

66

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.08/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

automox
action1-rmm
nordvpn-teams

Pros and cons

I connected with a very delightful young woman who was very able and willing to help.
Very Effective and easy to use, the Back up system of technicians are always ready to help.
Best system maintainer, best described as : System Mechanic.
After I downloaded the software, I was not able to access a site that I use every day... kept getting an error message to try again later, that the site was unavailable.
It angers me to have to write all this. I am just trying to download something else so I can increase my cloud space.
My system has been struggling to install software updates for the operating system.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


66 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Indispensable software

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been able to save time when my computer started running slow and was lagging. I am also confident that System Mechanic supplements my antivrus program through its malware add on and privacy guardian.

Pros

I like the fact that this program helps to claw back memory and speed when your system is stretched. Fr many years I was able to keep the same computer when the OS and software kept changing and putting great demands on my hardware. System Mechanic would just get to work and sort out all these difficulties that I could not see and give new life to my old computer.

Cons

The only thing I can thing of is a facility to encrypt the hard drive by either supporting bitlocker in the Pro version of WIndows 10 or allowing similar encryption with Windows 10 Home.

GK
AvatarImg

Gregory K.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A comprehensive software that keeps my computers running

Reviewed 3 years ago

See my comments in the box "Pros"

Pros

Contains all basic security SW tools, and computer maintenance tools, which are very intuitive and easy to use. If I said that the SW keeps my computer in top shape all the time it wouldn't be true, but it maintains the health of my computer in a pretty good shape for a long time. After a while, I notice some issues, which I cannot solve by myself using System Mechanics. At this point, I am calling Iolo Premium Support, and after, on average 30 - 40 min session with US Tech Support, my computer starts working as a newborn. I can recommend this service to anybody. Money well spent. Although technicians usually are not from the United States almost all of them are speaking very good English. I have no problem to undrstand them. I love it.

Cons

I wrote that I had no complaints, but you thought it was too short, so OK - I wish the software was capable to maintain the perfect health of my computer without the involvement of a technician, but even without such an advanced feature I think that what I have is a great service.

FP
AvatarImg

Fred P.

Photography, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Lots to expect before purchasing

Reviewed 2 years ago

Unfortunately, I am a returning user. I have used it in the past with decent results. The last time was early in 2021 when I had some issues with my performance and had to remove it. The performance seemed to get better when it was removed, although initially, it was a noticeable improvement for about 6 months. The program said it removed a lot of bad stuff but couldn't be verified.I just tried to...

Pros

I liked the fact that it did a number of things and made cleaning the PC rather straightforward and easy. There was no need to search Windows for similar performance and cleaning operations as it was all there in a single package of software.

Cons

Their policy regarding upgrades and service. For one, this is a subscription that automatically renews for the full price unless you are lucky enough to remember to call and cancel before the renewal date. There are different pieces of support that will also come into play for an extra fee of $19.95 per month after the first 30 days. This is automatic as well unless you cancel in advance.

AL
AvatarImg

Audie L.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Useful Tools

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

What I like about this software is the many useful tools available to clean up a drive of viruses, optimizing the hard drive, boosting speed, repair registry, password safety, and cleaning up system clutter to name a few. You can easily access the tools both automated and individual. iolo Labs keeps the definitions updated and relevant to the end users needs. I know I like it and have been a subscriber since 2009.

Cons

The password management tool ByePass has always been a mystery for me. I have tried to use it but I don't have the experience to use it. If that makes sense. It baffles me. Therefore I don't even try to use it even though I'm sure it is good because it is part of System Mechanic. They always put out quality software.

ML
AvatarImg

Mark L.

Public Safety, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding Support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very happy

Pros

Once you reach the right technical support level, they will be able to resolve issues.

Cons

Took a couple of calls to reach the right person.

MM
AvatarImg

Mike M.

Wholesale, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Iolo System Mechanic

Reviewed 3 years ago

have been a user for many years and am very satisfied

Pros

Easy of use. Effective. Lots of features.

Cons

I actually cannot think of anything negative about the software

AA
AvatarImg

Adil A.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best system maintainer, best described as : System Mechanic

Reviewed 3 years ago

Am using System Mechanic since 1998, and it keeps on evolving, I've used a lot of other options, but I found that I can trust only system mechanic.

Pros

- Easy to use - Goes through all MS Windows sophisticated Junks, broken links, registry issues, memory issues, network issues, and solves it with a single click. - Not heavy on the system - Obeying application and doesn't keep bothering you while working with pop ups and other stuff - As devices and systems differs, some PCs would face issues after using System Mechanic, however the program has a recovery option to return things as it was before using the system.

Cons

- none. - none. - none. - none. - none. -none.

RW
AvatarImg

Ron W.

Music, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It works

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

system mechanic helps to pinpoint system issues

Cons

Pop up ads are annoying and appear too often

BU
AvatarImg

Bill U.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

System Mechanic Ultimate Defender

Reviewed 3 years ago

Any time I've had an issue (only a couple of times) I call service and they take care of the issue. It's a great value and it can be applied to other household devices also.

Pros

It works in the background anytime I turn on my computer

Cons

I'm not extremely computer savvy and I wanted a simple effective method for protecting my computer and making it perform to its max capacity and SMUD does that

RR
AvatarImg

Richard R.

Civil Engineering, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Experiencing the advanced technology of System Mechanic

Reviewed 3 years ago

Utility tools is superb ,but i dont know what happen why i cant on the real time protection and demand boost

Pros

Advanced Technology and Utility tools with protection

Cons

I encounter problem with my Loptop when i installed the product , i cant enable the real time protection and on demand boost , please help me

RG
AvatarImg

Rakesh G.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of System Mechanics

Reviewed 3 years ago

Keep computer safe, away from viruses, malware

Pros

Easy to use, operate, download, relatively inexpensive, can download the software in multiple computers I saw the improvements in System Mechanics over the years, continue to improve

Cons

Scan takes more time compared to other common antivirus program

CA
AvatarImg

Clive A.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Home PC Security

Reviewed 3 years ago

Basically good over many years.

Pros

Easy to use. Good value for money. System GUI is good.

Cons

Updating S/W has been ok till now when it refused to update v21.3 to 21.5. I had to call Iolo Support with the technician dialling it remotely to uninstall old and reinstall the new s/w. Now works ok,

RP
AvatarImg

Robert P.

Real Estate, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really Feel like techs care

Reviewed 3 years ago

When I encountered the issues that I was unable to repair (not able to access the site I wanted and my computer freezing after a half-hour of use or so) I contacted the System Mechanic help service. I connected with a very delightful young woman who was very able and willing to help. While the freezing issue wasn't resolved on the 1st contact, I immediately called back and reported it and set up another appointment for the next day. All told, the tech spent over 3 hours working on solving the problem and was very patient with this old, not computer knowledgeable old man. Considering the very nominal cost for the System Mechanic product, this one repair has way more than paid for itself... would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

It's a very simple process to keep your device running smoothly and fast. A simple download and then pretty much a series of clicks

Cons

After I downloaded the software, I was not able to access a site that I use every day... kept getting an error message to try again later, that the site was unavailable. It was not an issue I could fix myself.

le
AvatarImg

lawrence e q.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy user since 1985!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Call in Speed & Security

Pros

A great program to speed up & protect my computer. Great at fixing attempted FRAUDS against me!

Cons

I preferred my original service in 1985. New owners are still great!

JF
AvatarImg

Jim F.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

For Home Office use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It provides antivirus protection, along with tune-up tools & several other security tools

Cons

It seems to have fewer of the tools that i used to use in earlier versions, although it is possible that i just have not found all of them, yet.

WK
AvatarImg

William K.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It seems to work. Analyzes system fairly quickly. Does regular updates.

Cons

It keeps prompting me to extend subsciption even after it is newly installed. It is annoying that I had to complete this review just to uninstall the product.

gc
AvatarImg

gary c.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

great product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Only software I trust fixing the Registry. Been using it over 10 years!

Cons

I would have like a few more features right on the start icon. Yes its simpler now, but you have to open up everything to get to choice tasks.

JG
AvatarImg

Jeffrey G.

Photography, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

it is not working right

Pros

it keeps PC healthy and is easy to use i have nothing more to say

Cons

that I have to answer this survey and write a review to uninstall and reinstall it after crashesasy to use

MB
AvatarImg

Mary Beth M.

Photography, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Troubleshooting Blocked Website

Reviewed 3 years ago

I get a comfortable feeling that all pc functions and capabilities are considered and covered.

Pros

It is full featured and includes a vast array of pc functions.

Cons

The amount of features can be a bit overwhelming...

FS
AvatarImg

Francesco S.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Una protezione completa

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

La possibilità di mantenere sempre in condizioni ottimali la configurazione del sistema operativo

Cons

Nessun inconveniente da segnalare. Il prodotto è completo

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

BM
AvatarImg

Bob M.

Chemicals, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The software helps protect my computers for total security and keeps my computers running at maximum

Reviewed 3 years ago

.

Pros

System Mechanic is easy to download, offers excellent USA tech support, plus it is very easy to use daily.

Cons

I had no issues using with existing apps or software programs.

BA
AvatarImg

Brett A.

Restaurants, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Good Software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Reasonably priced, seemed to work ok for a while then didn't seem to do very well after that.

Cons

Never really met my expectations on fixing anything.

AT
AvatarImg

Alberto T.

Individual & Family Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

was good until it wasent

Pros

easy to use, untill it did not work by removing 3 trojan infections

Cons

did not removed 3 trojans viruses "W64/Trojan2.QYBK" W32/Trojan.UPML"

DC
AvatarImg

Dennis C.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I've used System Mechanic for over 10 years

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The product manages my computer performance

Cons

When my computer hangs I want to know what process or program is causing it to hang so that it can be addressed.

LM
AvatarImg

Les M.

Military, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It' a pain to use it. Constant emails to by more products

Reviewed 3 years ago

It' a pain to use it.

Pros

It seems to do its job. But it's still a pain and getting worse.

Cons

Constant emails to by more products. Now it won't accept my answers.