App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Veeam Backup & Replication Logo

Veeam Backup & Replication

Business continuity and backup management software

see alternatives

(3)

Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.9

/5

52
100%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.2/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Be sure to review the licensing models to pick what is best for your organization as they even have a Free Edition with limitations. Support is top notch with this product and very responsive.
It has excellent replication, which allows data to be moved and sent from one directory to another. Allows you to compress data while backing up saves time and storage space.
But for me, the most important feature that I liked very much is the cumulative automatic backup feature. You can customize the time, place, and size of copies and the number of copies.
About the only issue I have found thus far is how difficult it can be to stop jobs should they ever become stuck. Have to stop the Veeam service, then start it again.
Some strange behaviors on the gui console with scrolls. Not many possibilities to customize the console.
No backup for physical servers as part of the base product. You can purchase it separately, though.

Veeam Backup & Replication users...

Veritas Backup Exec-logocaret
listing-logo

Veritas Backup Exec

Acronis Cyber Backup-logocaret
listing-logo

Acronis Cyber Backup

IDrive-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

IDrive

How would you rate Veeam Backup & Replication?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


52 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Backup & DR Software for the Datacenter

Reviewed 5 years ago

A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to retain backups on-site and offsite for recovery including replicated jobs.

Pros

The current software - Version 9.5 Update 3 covers the needs for any user of the software. You can use the Windows/Linux Agents for physical boxes and manage them directly from the Console now, which includes updating, installing and rebooting of the endpoint. The software is easy to navigate and set up. While true it is mainly for virtual environments they are making strides to cover physical...

Cons

The user interface could use some updating to something more modern like some Windows 10 applications.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Veeam Backup & Replication is our still our go-to backup software in the SMB/SMC customer base.

Reviewed 8 months ago

Veeam local support for new business is outstanding. Renewal support is not local, but is sufficient. Overall, VBR is a great product, and used in the majority of our customer base.

Pros

Veeam Ent Plus licensing is an end-to-end solution. Very easy to install, setup and use. Excellent local support.

Cons

The new licensing model is difficult to migrate to for those customers on STD and ENT existing agreements. Pricing has increased drastically for the "Per VM" model. No agent licensing for small sites with standalone servers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best backup for Virtual Machines system

Reviewed a month ago

Simple the best backup software for protect Virtual Machines.

Pros

Easy to use. Most secure backup software for virtual environment

Cons

Nothing. Absolutally nothing to mentioned.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful Backup Solution

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

VEEAM is very configurable and has lots of available features to use. Everything works very well.

Cons

Without proper training, learning to use the software can be a little daunting of a task. Lots of features and options that can seem overwhelming to the untrained eye

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great replication for DR

Reviewed 2 months ago

Easy to setup and then it just works. We've not had any issues. Restores are fast and easy to complete.

Pros

It is simple to use. The jobs are easy yo manage and in job monitoring and reports are good.

Cons

It is expensive in comparison to others especially for some the advanced features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Full featured product

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Products is on market from many years, it is widely used. It's very stable and it includes pretty much all features you can need from a Backup solution, including all Replica functions, application-aware (crash consistent) backup. Enterprise license includes also additional advanced features. It supports also public cloud backups (ex. AWS, 365)

Cons

Licensing for small companies is a little expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Buen software para copias de seguridad

Reviewed 18 days ago
Pros

Puede que sea el software más robusto para realizar copias de seguridad Garantía de que se realizan las copias de seguridad y réplicas

Cons

No tiene posibilidad de integración en dispositivos NAS Algo complicado de configurar para un usuario inexperto.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tried and True Local Backup

Reviewed 4 months ago

Veeam worked as expected and did its job flawlessly. It is a bit of an older paradigm, but it works. If you need a straight-forward solution for on-prem backups, Veeam is great.

Pros

Worked seamlessly with VMWare integration. The ability to do file-level recovery on backup snapshots was superb.

Cons

The UI is a bit dated and clunky. I would suggest a new UI/UX redesign from Veeam.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best backup solutions I used

Reviewed a month ago

We back up physical and virtual servers to local storage and to the cloud.

Pros

It is a very easy to use, grate monitoring, it does backup and replication at a good price

Cons

None, I think it is a good platform. I can't find cons

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superb features

Reviewed a month ago

The installation is super straight forward. The Agents deployment is automatic. It help me to be very fast in restoring at file level.

Pros

The Jobs doesn't clash with each other. It also has a cool feature that scans virtual machine with antivirus before restoring back to production. Also, you can recover as low as a single file.

Cons

for now, I have not seen something to improve on or maybe the interface to look more friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Backup for Virtualize Envoirement

Reviewed 4 months ago

I am using Veeam software for long as it is the one of the best and user friendly backup software available in market. We can modify and customize too much with its built-in option and features. it has almost all modern features which is required by System Administrator so it suits the best. I face only issue in troubleshooting as Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case.

Pros

Full + incremental backup with compression User Friendly Easy to configure Supports all kind of Virtual Environment. Services based backup which analyze the data and compress/backup accordingly so the data can be restored. Replication.

Cons

Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case. Although it is not much issue to open case but why we should go for a case for minor errors. It should be easily available on forums. Also its error troubleshooting is complicated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Administration Controls and Improved Linux Operation in Backup & Replication v11

Reviewed a year ago

I use this to manage backups of office-facing and production servers in a non-profit business. We have less than 10 servers to care for and the free Community Edition is perfect. I have found the features and reporting to be robust. Practicing restores is no trouble. I have never needed vendor support to operate or configure this Veeam Backup & Replication - it works well and has good documentation!

Pros

Before version 11 the features available to manage Linux backups were a subset of the features available to manage Windows backups. Windows only allowed one backup job per Linux Infrastructure Object and I found myself configuring the backup settings from the Linux command line. Now I can make two backup jobs for the Linux box that are completely managed from the Veeam server interface. Many other features are also available now. I have not used the CDP feature for virtual operating systems, yet it is promising.

Cons

There is a module to export a backup and the wizard doesn't let the operator specify the destination of the export. It is sent to the backup repository on which the backups are made for the job. I would like to specify the location during the wizard.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent backup solution for any SMB

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very fast recovery time for any DR solution.

Pros

The biggest pros of this backup solution is its diversity of platform which it can backup. Based on the license bought you can backup any VmWare or Hyper-V virtual machine but it also features a client that can be installed on any platform and can do the file level backup. The coolest feature is the restore where you can using the client do the restore within the machine itself and go back to all available restore points and have many version of the same file that you want to restore. It supports the backup of the SQL databases within the VM itself and it is also prefer for the backup of Microsoft Exchange as it can pull out for example only the desired email from any specific mailbox which is a big plus.

Cons

The solution it self is not cheap but it is justified with the professional support who, except contacting you via the email, also gives you a phone call if they dont get the replay from you any time soon. Other con is that it really requires a lot of HDD space, but then it is an enterprise level backup solution so this is self understandable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust and optimal data backup

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Allows backup without any interruption. It successfully simplifies the data recovery process. It has excellent replication, which allows data to be moved and sent from one directory to another. Allows you to compress data while backing up saves time and storage space.

Cons

The initial configuration takes a considerable time, it is necessary to incorporate more documentation to speed up this process. Your license is considerably expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Veeam exceeded my expectations

Reviewed a year ago

Veeam was easy to setup, it's easy to use, and restoring entire Virtual Machines or even restoring things at the file level is very fast and easy to do.

Pros

Veeam is so easy to use that even things that seem abstract or complex are actually fairly simple to setup. I'm using a plugin to interface my Veeam appliance to my physical storage to orchestrate backups, site-to-site replication and also have a virtual tape library setup. I implemented all of this within one day and my backups kicked off and ran flawlessly on the first night.

Cons

It was a bit complicated to emulate an "air gapped" backup process. Using a virtual tape library and unmounting the tapes when done was the best approximation I could implement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the Best

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has a lot of functionality beyond just backing up like creating virtual labs that you can run experiments on. Every time I needed to get back up and running it did a great job and was seamless. I really like instant restore feature.

Pros

I don’t know where to start, it has amazing tools for gettin files and putting them back whether on exchange or in the directory. The real power is in being able to start up servers/ PCs and run off of them while recovering. Additionally the offsite backup functionality is really impressive. This software can do it all and it never let me down once.

Cons

It’s a little expensive up front for small companies. It’s also a little hard to do offsite backups without enterprise.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I can finally sleep well again

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having used several products in the past (NTBackup, Windows Backup, Backup Exec, Acronis, vRanger, Networker) I never really had the feeling that one of these products really is there for me when things get really worse. With Veeam I have a feeling that they got my back. I can finally sleep well again when I think about my clients and my data.

Pros

I like very much that Veeam just works. Even when you install it without applying any further configuration (except what you really need, remote server and credentials) you end up with a proper backup. One of the best features is that the backup files are self contained. Even if you recover them from a broken backup server, or if your configuration is not working/readable/available again, you will be able to recover your stuff. The support is also great. While it could be a bit quicker in responses (for not very important tickets), they are doing a good job. I never had to escalate a ticket, every rep was very capable.

Cons

It is quite bloated. The download has several gigabytes, which is quite big for a backup software in my opinion.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable cloud backup system

Reviewed a year ago

After suffering from losing information that was in various local backup systems, it was decided to use this excellent solution in the cloud, which generated significant cost savings and allowed us to recover information when we need it without inconvenience or delay.

Pros

The best thing about the Veem Back Up system in the cloud is that it allows access to them from any device and at any time, only with internet access. In addition, it generates significant cost savings, because local servers with their corresponding maintenance are not required.

Cons

The disadvantage that I can mention is that it does not have a system that optimizes the time necessary for the first data migration. If you have a lot of information, it takes a lot of time. But this is very common in this type of service.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Veeam Availability Suite is a useful software package for Backups and DR that works well.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Security and peace of mind for security and retention of data.

Pros

The ease of installation and use, easy configuration and minimal setup time makes this software our choice for MSP customers. We have found it to be reliable and consistent, with many different customers all using the software in different setups. Recovery from the file/folder level all the way up to the Entire VM restoration is easy to understand and perform.

Cons

Price tag is a little hefty for some customers, but overall is usually on par with other similar software. However there are options out there from Veeam to help mitigate the cost if needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I resisted for a long time... not sure why

Reviewed 6 months ago

The pricing (much to my surprise, which is why I resisted for a while) was very good and even better that competitors. I have the "Essentials" licensing pack, which is limited to 50 backup nodes but is very affordable if you can fit within that limitation.

Pros

It work well, is flexible, and offers lots of features

Cons

There are only very small things that I'd like to see changed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast and easy to use. Quick to set up. Update processes are quick and painless.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Perfect solution for backing up locally, to tape, to DR, and to Amazon GS.

Pros

Tech team is knowledgeable and friendly. Quick to respond. Will follow-up on all cases. Software works well, and easy to manage. Clients can be installed for even further management and monitoring capability. Really easy to get a job configured and running.

Cons

About the only issue I have found thus far is how difficult it can be to stop jobs should they ever become stuck. Have to stop the Veeam service, then start it again. Stopping "Gracefully" or "Immediately" will not do anything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Has lots of capabilities

Reviewed 2 years ago

The Suite of products from Veeam are great and work well. As we've migrated from mostly in-premise to the cloud, we have continued to use other products in the suite for business continuity and disaster recovery. Veeam has always worked well with multiple products.

Pros

Can backup Office365, Azure, and AWS instances. Very easy to use and setup. Restores are quick and easy to schedule.

Cons

Can only use limited types of storage on the backend. Can be difficult to do the inisital backups, especially if you have a lot of data in the cloud already.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Veeam Backup & Replication Suite is the best backup tool I have ever used hands-down!

Reviewed a year ago

This is an excellent backup solution. We struggled before this product and are thankful that we found something that is so easy to manage and maintain.

Pros

Veeam is so intuitive, I don't know how to express how simple it is to set up backup jobs that run on a regular basis and GFS backups are now super easy to create and impliment.

Cons

Some of the errors that we get are cryptic from Veeam and I wish that they made a little more sense off the bat when you see them to clearly understand what went wrong, but support is fantastic from veeam, so I can't complain too much here.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Veeam is my favourite backup system

Reviewed 8 months ago

Veeam is very friendly, simple and intuitive interface, always available help, many kb present, comprehensive messages and overall reliable system

Pros

For the virtual infrastructure Veaam is the best because it integrates perfectly with the virtual system and you can backup and restore entire virtual machine with one click or restore a single file or folder in the easiest way

Cons

There is nothing that I don't like in Veeam

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Top shelf enterprise backup and recovery solution

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ease of use of this product suite is OUTSTANDING. By far the quickest to learn and use of any of the many different solution we have tried out over the years. This one is the keeper. Scheduling and chaining of jobs works like a charm. So little overhead in managing the backups and recovery.

Cons

If I were to point to anything it would be the lack of integration with Dell SAN systems, but I'm sure that will be sorted in a future release.