Actinic Reviews

Actinic Reviews

Actinic

eCommerce website creation solution

3.71/5 (7 reviews)
369     775

Paula Tait

Non-Functional Site Search Means that Products Are Not Being Found

22/02/2017

We had a website running on a previous version version of actinic, which worked well. However, we needed to upgrade because of compatibility issues. Technical support reviewed our existing website and said that it could be successfully migrated to the new version. We sell sheet music and strings which are organised into several categories. The new version of actinic only allows up to three categories but it is possible to fudge this by creating copies and we were advised to do this. However, the copies are then returned in the search results, resulting in 3-4 duplicated items in the search results. This is very confusing for users. To make things worse, actinic is set to return a maximum of 60 results. So, with the confusing and space-taking return of 3-4 instances of the same item, some of our stock is not even being displayed in the search results and is therefore not being bought. As we signed up due to being advised that our site would work with the new version, I expected this to be treated as as non-functionality and fixed. But no. I have been advised that fixing the issue may (or may not) be treated as an update when it suits. There is no way, therefore, that I could recommend this product as our experience of it has been extremely disappointing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dave  Anderson

Great service

21/02/2017

We migrated to a new Actinic website, offering a full range of our products for sale, the design and help were excellent and the support thereafter has been first class. Actinic are very pro active in helping us move the site forward helping with SEO and adding new features ensuring our website is always modern and offering features everyone expects from a quality website.

Pros

Easy to use for our customers and for our web updaters to add and change products

Cons

None really

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Phillips

Disappointed - Tech Support Vs SEO confliting advice. Costly

15/02/2017

We ignored the first invites to review, but after their reminders and then being ignored by management (as you will read below) we decided to do it. Ours was a difficult migration from V7 as we had been warned. While entering products prior to launching, we realised we needed more than the three categories per product allowed. Technical Support advised us to create duplicate products to provide more categories which we did. A year later, Google ranking crashing,improved performance over V7 nothing like Actinic's PR/advertising, we subscribed to Actinic SEO ("they know the system best and will get the best results" we were told). It took 4-5 months before we were advised by Actinic SEO that, among other issues, we had far too many duplicates affecting Google ranking. If it was that bad, why take so long to tell us? We paid for the service it isn't free. After complaining, Actinic rep produced statistics saying how much more traffic the new site was attracting - it did not concur with the Analytics stats we provided them i.e. we were worse off and sliding down the rankings fast. Their solution - offered us 2 hours free training so we could implement their SEO solution - i.e delete duplicates & use Filters/Facets instead of categories. (Why couldn't we have been told that over 18 months prior?) It seemed a wholly inadequate gesture for the scale of the work involved for us to rectify. We asked for more support & help (not financial compensation) to overcome problems, in our view, created by Actinic (Actinic Technical Support advice Vs Actinic SEO advice. As professionals, should they not be on the same page? Emailed Technical Support 11.01.17 requesting further support. No response. Chased account manager on three separate occasions who chased up the ticket. Still no response. Further courtesy email 07.02.17. As of today 15.02.17 no response - not even "sorry we can't help further". Considering the very swift and over-bearing respnse I received when I reported I was seeking advice about what to do (they automatically assumed I was referring to litigation when none was mentioned) the silence now is deafening. Sadly, those in Technical Support deserve better and have been great in their dealings with us as has the Account Manager. Our experience doesn't match Actinic PR. If you don't know what you are doing, beware, if you know what you are doing, you probably would not choose Actinic.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sasha Danker

User Friendly

01/02/2017

Actinic is user friendly, however only once you have understood where to find things. It is easy to navigate and teach yourself how to use it. A few things require additional support as it may not be obvious where one can find it but the tech support is really great. A few features would be great to add if not already there such as providing refunds to customers through actinic.

Pros

easy to navigate

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karen Bowden

Solid e-commerce platform on which we rely upon for our business

01/02/2017

We came to Actinic via another platform and the difference is vastly better - in terms of features, function and support. Good selection of templates - enhanced by a wide range of supporting bespoke services. Recommend anyone serious in establishing an online business to look/try here.

Pros

Ease of use - templates

Cons

Templates based on Tables not full CSS. Upgrade to bespoke services for this

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robbie Kazandjian

Actinic have been helpful and the software has really been developing nicley

01/02/2017

Long time user of around 5 years, and the software package has been constantly improving. The support offered is generally very good too, which is great for a strict "amateur" like myself! Over the last year we have been overhauling the site looks wise and adding many of the Actinic features and the site is really looking good now. I still have a lot to learn and a lot to use and exploit from the software though. Hopefully Actinic will keep helping us to improve!

Pros

Ease of use. Visual build. Clarity

Cons

Terrible built in email system. Expensive and restrictive for no reason, like its 1980.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Actinic

Use the support!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Flower

Shopping website

01/02/2017

We required a new shopping section (only) for our website. It was relatively easy to set up with Actinics help although there were some compatibility issues with Sage Accounts

Pros

Once up and running, easy to use

Cons

Issues over uploading info from Sage Accounts

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more