This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

BigCommerce Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


211 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for sub retailers

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I liked the price and overall template model, it lent well to my retail business

Cons

I used this 6 years ago, so I’m sure the product has improved but at the time it was a very chunky user experience

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use but expensive

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's pretty easy to use but has its limitations.

Pros

I implemented this software with a local manufacturer to sell their products online and it was easy to use, pretty intuitive, and hooked up with a number of other online services, which was great!

Cons

I don't like how expensive it is and it can be limited in what it can do, where a custom install like woocommerce on WordPress is much more customizable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An ecommerce platform for those who sell a lot!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Bigcommerce is a scalable solution that works. We use Bigcommerce for clients who sell a lot of products online and require customizations like matrix ordering, memberships etc.

Pros

Bigcommerce is your best solution for B2B and B2C. Its our go to platform for clients who sell a lot of products online.

Cons

The template development should operate a bit more flexible. It's getting better but still needs some work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use it multiple times a day and makes me job much easier and more productive.

Pros

Easy, convenient, accurate and organized.

Cons

The settlement period for monetary modifictions is too long.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Big bang for your buck!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's inexpensive and easy to get started. Has all of the critical ecommerce tools and some extras. First started using them about 5 years ago. Template system took some getting used to but support was helpful.

Cons

From what I recall, the coupon system had some trouble but they fixed it. Some of the template features made it too hard to customize for a picky designer. Nothing major though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

One-stop shop for all things ecommerce

Reviewed 12 years ago

As an e-commerce designer and marketer, I was immediately impressed by BigCommerce's services. BigCommerce was the only company that seemed to cater exclusively to the ecommerce site. They are constantly adding exactly the features that I think are critical to ecommerce success, such as a fully integrated shopping cart and payment gateway, shipping and marketing strategies. They partner with the most up-to-date social media and email sites to offer a complete ability for marketing your ecommerce site. BigCommerce also offers a large selection of templates so that anyone can set up a beautiful shop with no design experience.

Pros

I love that I can set up my shopping cart & merchant account, shipping & marketing programs through BigCommerce. They are constantly offering webinars, tips and social marketing strategies, such as a shop tab on my store's facebook page.

Cons

There are a few issues, such as having the ability to upload your own gift certificate background, changing your initial order number (so it doesn't start at 1), etc., but BigCommerce has told me that they are already working on these issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Chose another platform in the end

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Big Commerce has a strong technical stack and it seems to be able to host the websites and webstores and ecommerce solutions for some massive players. Great reporting and high level support for customization and as I understand it, it hosts for some very large retail/webstore companies.

Cons

However! For the money, it was not a good solution for my small company - and I wouldn't recommend it for small companies who do not have large funds to support programmers and high levels of customization. I did not find the BigCommerce platform to be very intuitive or easy to use and in the end I found that to really get what I needed out of the software I would have to hire a programmer - which I do not have the resources to do. After giving Bigcommerce a month trial, we went with a "better value for your money" and easier to use software platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Solid ecommerce platform choice

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Bigcommerce has just about everything you'd want in an ecommerce platform, easily enough to build out an entire online store

Cons

Doesn't have much really going for it over competitors like Shopify. Pricing is the same, fewer features, etc. Surprised they still have a fair amount of users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Platform

Reviewed 6 years ago

This is the leading e-commerce platform for a good reason. It is easy to use and very intuitive, also with built in apps and a cart it makes for a complete e-commerce package.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great e-commerce tool, but a few minor snags

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Bigcommerce is easy to use, with mostly straightforward functionality. Great for building websites, managing product and text pages.

Cons

Managing product pages and inventory in a bulk update via a CSV file can prove tricky, with no straightforward way of removing rules from products as one example.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

With BigCommerce You Have All Your Tools In Your Hand To Sell And Generate Revenue

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

BigCommerce lets you setup and design your online store, add your products to your store and sell them seamlessly across many platforms. You have all your tools (and documentation as well) in your hand to drive customers to your store like SEO tools, track your customers through statistics and generate revenue.

Cons

It has a complex terminology to make it difficult to understand when getting onboarded with the tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Big Commerce - Lots of Features

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall a good system to sell online. If it fits your budget, it's a solid choice.

Pros

Very customizable. Can add lost of detail, photos, etc. Can use as main website rather than just a plugin. Simplifies the site build.

Cons

Adding products with swatches and other rules is kind of tedious.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

awesome software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

develops e-commerce software for businesses easier, really fast and amazing job positioning your brand

Cons

too many people using the site, there are another alternative site that has better response on the market and popular with users

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for first time e-commerce sites

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It was easy to set up, maintain, and run an online store using BigCommerce.

Cons

Although it offers some code customization, private developers cannot access code levels deep enough to do deep integrations. Sure, they have API, but sometimes, it's easier to do things without having to use API.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the ease of use and the compatibility with other 3rd party software. Moving from an open source ecommerce platform that was self hosted, I also don't have to worry about version upgrades and monitoring the servers. This was a huge plus for me.

Cons

There are some functions, actually a lot, that were available in my previous ecommerce software that aren't available here (or an expensive app needs to be purchased). I also don't like that basically every app has a monthly fee, instead of just a one time fee like most open source ecommerce software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ease of Use

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have used BigCommerce for over a year and it's ease of use is wonderful. It gives you step by step in setting up items with all the info you would need, please you can add custom fields as necessary. Customer service tends to be hard to come by though. Thankfully it's not needed too often because of the simplicity and ease of the site.

Pros

- Very easy to navigate - Simple look - Design how we want

Cons

- Lack of Customer Service (takes many steps to get in contact) - Flexible shipping rates is unavailable which makes it difficult for accurate shipping costs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Big Commerce lacks integration

Reviewed 3 years ago

It was a solid program to start our retail website from, but it has not aged well compared to newer platforms that are now available. The price for the services provided by Big Commerce has gone up while the number and quality of those features has gone down.

Pros

Simple platform that is easy to setup. Tons of options to choose form to get the look you want for your website.

Cons

Lack of new integrations that platforms like Shopify and the like now offer making it hard to add additional selling networks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid web store platform for new and experienced users

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Short time to live on a new store - Solid toolset for creating a store for nearly any product - Tons of themes to get your store "just right" - Advanced customization of themes and site styles - Easy Customer and Order management - An app marketplace to add functionality as you need it

Cons

Stores are better suited to "off the shelf" products with limited customization options

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software to use for serious sellers

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Bigcommerce is easy to use, and most importantly, stable. Haven't had an issue with it. There are lots of options in terms of website design that you can pick from.

Cons

Customer service is okay. They have someone who can help you with the basic questions, but if you need any development help, they're not very great. (they dont' have techies providing the support) Even when you're on a paid plan.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Right E Commerce Platform

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall experience has been great, our conversion has increased by 1.5% over the previous website platform we were using.

Pros

Ease of use and how easy it was to get started and start taking orders. The reporting and data you have at your fingertips is amazing, makes analyzing who and where your customers are coming from a breeze.

Cons

A bit of an education curve learning how to navigate the systems as some things can be a little confusing when trying to run reports. But once you get it set up the amount of data you have access to is amazing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Ecommerce Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- Easy to maintain the store. - Easy and user-friendly User Interface - Very well documented API for developers.

Cons

- The customer support needs to be improved. - There must be an option to check the status of the complaint. We have to go through a complete procedure to check the status.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good solution for big online sales

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is a professional looking platform, with a lots of features packed in this software, just install it and you are ready for a big fight. Customer Support is available 24/7 on phone or email, as you can receive a quick helping hand at every hour on every timezone. It does not have a big following but has top knotch stores with impressive sales.

Cons

It has only a few free templates, and the prices for the premium are a bit high compared to other platforms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Feature rich Ecommerce platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've been using Bigcommerce for around 3 years now. The system is extremely easy to use and update. Admitidly to begin with we didn't have all the featurtes we wnated and development was slow. This has all changed in the last 12 months. Some great updates to bring out new features and some more to come over the next year. Love the monthly Town Hall meetings with the CEO and development teams which...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for experienced ecommerce stores

Reviewed a year ago

Overall BigCommerce is a great tool for experienced ecommerce marketers or stores that want to build their stores on a platform without having to pay for many add-ons or features.

Pros

We used BigCommerce when we were testing out different ecommerce platforms to build out website on. What we found is that BigCommerce offers more sales tools, cross-channel integration and SEO features than its peers. There's no added charges to use these features, as they bill based on revenue. For the experienced ecommerce marketer or store, BigCommerce is a great option.

Cons

Because BigCommerce throws all its features at you at once, it may make it a little overwhelming for first-time stores that are moving their operations online. I would suggest BigCommerce add more tutorials and help videos to explain the latest features and how to use them effectively.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Offered My Client a Lot More Than Shopify Could

Reviewed 4 years ago

Big Commerce is certainly easier for the amateur to use than Shopify (a huge plus for aome of my clients) and its out of the box options are excellent.

Pros

I don't DO e-commerce myself as a retailer but I have worked for plenty who do and have created more than a few retail sites from scratch. I first encountered Big Commerce when a new client was stymied by the fact that Shopify made it nearly impossible for him to sell digital downloads. A huge problem for a 21st-century comic book author. Redoing his site with Big Commerce allowed for that functionality and in working with it I found it more intuitive than Shopify as well.

Cons

It is perhaps a little expensive when compared to other options BUT for the project I used it for it got my client exactly what he needed and the jump in revenue for him has meant that the software more than pays for itself.