App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Cinema 4D Logo

Program for 3D textures, animations, and computer graphics

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Cinema 4D Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

69

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.48/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

cedreo

Pros and cons

No matter how inexperienced you are, it will help you take your creativity to new heights. It has several tools to help you work more efficiently and make beautiful images.
Cinema 4d is amazing to create simple and complex animations/visual effects and the interface is solid and after a while it's easy to understand.
Its so great for beginners and animation lovers to start with it you will make wonderful animations.
It crashed in heavy scenes and sometimes stuck. No fluid simulation built in.
There are times where it hangs and get's stuck and now you have to restart after waiting for a couple of hours of rendering. Happens to me ones on a blue moon though.
The software contains some bugs which deserve to be fixed as for modeling polygons. Crash during very heavy tasks, it may be due to my configuration.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


69 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nabin P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fastest 3D modeling, animation, simulation, and rendering software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Cinema 4D is the easiest yet advanced 3D modeling and simulation software that comes with a rich library of presets allowing you to quickly produce outstanding animated videos.

Pros

Cinema 4D offers an extensive collection of 3D models and animation presets, that allow users to quickly and easily produce high-quality animated videos. With its MoGraph toolset, it is much faster to control, layer, and link effects to each other. It features advanced UV mapping, placement tools, scene manager, and Redshift rendering which makes it an industry-leading 3D software.

Cons

The price is a bit too expensive for beginners. Not suitable for developing interactive animations.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roldan A.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cinema 4D Easy Breezy, But...

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic! Though, I have shift career from graphic design to web development, I still dreamt of doing 3D Design soon. Cinema 4D is still my best recommended 3D software out there - save for the price of course.

Pros

- Easy to learn. I have been with 3DS Max and Maya and all other 3D software, Cinema 4D made learning easier. Yes, it's easy to learn and the interface are very intuitive.- Integrations. One of the best thing Cinema 4D comes with is it's integration and compatibility with Adobe Products like Illustrator, Photoshop and After Effects for video editor. Now, Imagine the leverage this will give you.- Faster rendering using third-party integration rendering software such as RedShift and Vray.- Generous learning hubs and tutorials are all around the corner, both free and paid.

Cons

- The Price. I cringe with the price. Definitely, not for solo users with little budget. Not for student either. You might be better off, using a computer from your computer lab before you can use this software. It's too pricey. Though, it offers educational version, but I'm not sure if you can maximize on that one.- Steep Learning Curve. Off course, we can compromise on this one. Not single 3D Software is easy-breezy to learn. But Cinema 4D is by far the easiest I've got.- Bugs and glitches. There are times where it hangs and get's stuck and now you have to restart after waiting for a couple of hours of rendering. Happens to me ones on a blue moon though.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The render quality is amazing

Reviewed 3 years ago

We don't have too much time for modeling and this software is incredible because is very intuitive and once you finish the quality of the render for an image o video is the best helps us to get amazing looks in no time.

Pros

Love the render quality and how smooth the materials look, easy to work with the modeling and texturing tool helps us to get fast results.

Cons

Is hard to get information about animation or how to animate with the software is not very friendly on how to do it and is hard to figure it out.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Professionals in the world of digital art need to check this out

Reviewed 2 years ago

Hey guys! Today I want to tell you about Cinema 4D which is one of my favorite 3D animation software programs.I find it really user friendly because it lets me make the most intricate animations and visuals effects with ease. So what does this mean for you, dear animator? In our humble opinion, it means only one thing: If there’s ever been a better time to get your feet wet in animation software, it’s now. Let us know if you've tried Cinema 4D yet!

Pros

The future is yours. Cinema 4D is the perfect 3D software for you. No matter how inexperienced you are, it will help you take your creativity to new heights. It has several tools to help you work more efficiently and make beautiful images. Cinema 4D is easier to use than other 3D software, and you can use it for not only animation but also graphic design and motion graphics. Mograph with cloner is great to replicate your work at a fast speed so you don't have to waste any time.

Cons

It can be a little pricey, but worth the price. It's very tedious to be use and has a complicated interface. It's not compatible with every computer. But if you have the budget for it, I'd say go for it.

AE
AvatarImg

Anthony E.

Animation, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool for motion graphics

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is a very user friendly software that can help you make the best animations and motion graphics.

Pros

When you want to create a 3D motion graphics animation scene, your best tool is definitely Cinema 4D. The software has already built in motion graphics samples that you can use and apply in your scenes. The default animation is already smooth when you first create, and you can easily adjust and enhance your animation using the f-curve. The animation creation process is very simple and straight forward thanks to its user friendly interface.

Cons

The default render engine in Cinema 4D is not bad, but you won't get the high quality results easily and sometimes you can't even reach the result you want. I had to install a render engine that could do the job.

TA
AvatarImg

Tayeb A.

Design, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great 3D animation and rendering software

Reviewed 4 months ago

I started using Cinema 4D R12 about a decade ago, I still use it nowadays and it remains one of the best in between 3D softwares as you can use it on a laptop for basic work but for rendering big projects, it is recommended to have access to a server farm. There are services offering that online and locally depending on where you live.

Pros

- End results are jaw-dropping. - Additions third-party packs can be purchased to facilitate the work. - Pricing options (Monthly and Yearly) and student pricing also available for those who want to learn.

Cons

- Quality has a price so Cinema 4D comes with a hefty price tag, individuals might find it expensive but for creative agencies the price is more than affordable. - Some alternatives are free (ahem Blender). - Access to a render farm is highly recommended to export Cinema 4D work.

PG
AvatarImg

Paul G.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The golden standard in animation

Reviewed 3 years ago

I recommend Cinema 4D for professional digital artists and happily use the software day-to-day.

Pros

Cinema 4D offers a rich feature-set and wide options in all stages of production, the integrated renderer is great to use and compared to other products fast in rendering.

Cons

You really need a lot of practise and knowledge to use such advanced software, even I still have to search sometimes for the right tool after using Cinema 4D for 3+ years.

CC
AvatarImg

Christian C.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It's nice, but not very nice

Reviewed 3 years ago

i used this software for months, i'm really shocked for what you can do with it! everything, really! I really love his rendering engine, the simulations.. everything! And it's really easy to use!

Pros

From modeling to texturing in simple touches, you can do everything you want,

Cons

Price, i think it's a little high for a starter, but it's still one of the best 3D modeling softwares,

MR
AvatarImg

Micalen R.

Computer Games, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cinema 4D: A high quality renderer

Reviewed 7 months ago

Cinema 4D is a high quality render and very fast. workflow is faster making use of the software's tools and features. It is a really powerful and useful tool for creators.

Pros

Cinema 4D is a very powerful animator, modeler and renderer. It offers a large library of templates, models and pre-made animations that can just be dropped onto a rig. It has a simple to understand UI.

Cons

The price is it's biggest con as it is rather expensive making it a bad choice for budget creators.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Zibusisozenkosi M.

Architecture & Planning, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why do you need to use Cinema 4D

Reviewed 2 years ago

Cinema 4D is the software I use for motion graphics and compositing I also have a few projects that i did with cinema 4D.

Pros

I like the motion graphics in this software because it is very flexible it makes me modify my models in any way that i like.

Cons

I hated the fact that when starting out to use this software it doesn't look to be user friendly and that it has a lot of tools for everything.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tchameni C.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's easy to use and very powerful for 3D modeling

Reviewed 9 months ago

Cinema 4D could be better if the software is affordable and offers advanced sculpting functionalities for users that way, users won't have to stress, trying to integrate it with some third-party tools. Nevertheless, it's a good tool for 3D modeling - I personally think that it's way more easy to learn and adapt to than many others.

Pros

Cinema 4D is user-friendly. mong all the 3D modeling tools that I've tried out, it's one of the few simple software to use. It has a well-designed and intuitive user interface, that makes it relatively easy to learn and adapt to even for beginners.In addition to it, Cinema 4D is also very stable and reliable in terms of performance.- It offers quite a wide range of tools for 3D modeling, animation,...

Cons

- Cinema 4D is not for everyone, the software comes at a price that can be too high for users with a small budget. I work with it when it's necessary but it's not always.- It offers limited sculpting capabilities, there are designs you can't bring to life because the tool is somewhat limited and that's where Maya breaks the bonds and to achieve this, you need to use third-party tools with larger and less-limited functionalities. It can be very stressful and could potentially waste some money as you'll need to pay a license for the third-party tools as well.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jose J.

Renewables & Environment, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Journey Through the World of 3D Animation with Cinema4D: A Comprehensive Review of the Software

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, though it has some limitations and drawbacks, Cinema 4D remains a solid and popular choice for 3D animation and is widely used in the film, television, video game, and advertising industries.

Pros

Cinema 4D is a very complete and versatile 3D animation software that offers many outstanding features, but among the best it has are:Friendly interface: Cinema 4D has an intuitive and easy-to-use user interface that makes the 3D animation process more accessible to users, regardless of their level of experience.Wide range of tools: Cinema 4D has a wide variety of tools and functions, including modeling,...

Cons

Although Cinema 4D is a very complete and popular 3D animation software, there are some disadvantages that could be mentioned:Price: Compared to other 3D animation software, Cinema 4D can be quite expensive. Professional licenses can be quite expensive, making it less accessible for beginners and independent artists with limited budgets.Limitations in some areas: Although Cinema 4D is a very complete...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pragya J.

Animation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Maxon Cinema 4D: Best 3D Motion Graphics Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you want to create advanced 3D graphics quickly and easily, then this is the best software to use. Best for motion designers and 3D production.

Pros

1)Beginner-Friendly: Cinema 4D is known for being the friendliest 3D software with an easy learning curve. 2)Powerful Features: (i)Modelling -> Types of modelling modes: polygon, parametric, sculpting and volume modelling. You get different methods of creating models and you can choose any according to your preference. (ii)Texturing ->You can choose materials and shaders, from node-based to 3D printing. (iii)Lighting...

Cons

1)It's costly. 2)Cannot be used for game creation like Blender. 3)Limited tools compared to other software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ernesto Alfonso O.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Resultados hermosos y realistas

Reviewed 2 years ago

Imprescindible para arquitectura, rendereo de imágenes, animación. Sus resultados son espectaculares.

Pros

Es realmente perfecto, sus texturas, plugins, fácil uso y calidad lo hace impresionante. Es muy robusto y puedes lograr prácticamente cualquier entorno 3d de iluminación, textura, render.

Cons

Necesitas mucha capacitación para llegar a dominar sus funciones en totalidad.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Géovanny N.

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Maxon Cinema 4D: my favorite software for 3D modeling and animation

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have been using Maxon Cinema 4D for creating 3D models and have found many benefits to using this software. First, it is easy to learn and use with its intuitive and well-organized user interface. Second, it offers a wide variety of modeling, animation and rendering tools that allow you to create detailed and realistic 3D scenes. The physical simulation and rigid body dynamics tools are also very useful for adding realistic motion and interaction to my models. Finally, the software can be extended with plugins to add even more functionality and flexibility to my workflow.

Cons

The high cost of Maxon Cinema 4D software may be a barrier for me, especially as a beginner in 3D modeling. The modeling tools may not be as advanced as other 3D software I have used, which can be a drawback when creating complex models. Finally, I may find the user interface and navigation of the software a bit complex at first due to the large number of features available.

JA
AvatarImg

Johan A.

Animation, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It has grown feature rich and versatile but could improve on the basics

Reviewed a year ago

Overall I think it's a great software. It has allowed me to realise the visuals and animations that I needed for many jobs and continues to be a key tool in my everyday workflow. I wish the integration and optimisation with Mac Silicon could be stronger to better utilise the hardware.

Pros

It's rewarding to use and has evolved a lot over the years and is now packed with a lot of nice and usefull features.

Cons

I think the new UI design is harder to distinguish. Icons are now too similar in style and color and not so intuitively marked as active/inactive etc.

AP
AvatarImg

Anil P.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Creative Alliance Review

Reviewed a year ago

We have been able to publish quality rendered images time to time using Cinema 4D so it has been a pretty good experience.

Pros

Using the Octane renderer is pretty smooth in Cinema 4D. We here at Creative Alliance adore the renders we were able to achieve which clearly differentiated it from Bender renders and it was much better.

Cons

The obvious con about Cinema 4D is its pricing but we understand why it is a paid software because it packs a lot of features some free softwares do not provide.

JM
AvatarImg

Jose M.

Program Development, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Cinema 4D - Comme Blender en plus simple

Reviewed 8 months ago

A utiliser en même temps que Blender, ne le remplacera pas en entier, chacun son job Sculpter sont plus aisé sur Blender par contre la composition de scène est plus rapide et plus simple sous C4D

Pros

On peut faire plus facilement et rapidement des scènes 3D que Blender car plus intuitifs et les ressources sont disponibles dans le logiciel

Cons

La communauté de C4D est moins présente sur le web versus celle de Blender. Les tutos sont plus anciens (ancienne version du logiciel)

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andry C.

Internet, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

CINEMA 4D: un puissant logiciel de modélisation 3D!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Cinema 4D est un puissant logiciel de modélisation 3D utilisé dans le monde cinématographique et des médias et les divers studios de production pour créer des animations, des effets spéciaux et des modèles 3D. Il est facile à utiliser grâce à son interface conviviale et présente des rendus de haute qualité.

Pros

Cinema 4D possède des outils puissants tels que le MoGraph pour créer facilement des animations complexes et de faire des rendus de haute qualité grâce à ses moteurs de rendu performants. Cinema 4D a aussi la capacité de s'intégrer avec d'autres logiciels comme Adobe After Effects.

Cons

Par rapport à d'autres logiciels 3D, le C4D a moins de fonctionnalités avancées. Le coût de la version Studio est relativement cher.

Showing original review in French. See translation

KR
AvatarImg

Karl Rodrigue c.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

a software to make animation graphics

Reviewed 3 years ago

the software is not bad but I went to another less expensive

Pros

cinema 4d is easy and powerful software, even if you don't have a lot of experience you can do cool things. there are several ways of modeling. the rendering engine is very good and gives you very beautiful images

Cons

the software contains some bugs which deserve to be fixed as for modeling polygons. Crash during very heavy tasks, it may be due to my configuration

FA
AvatarImg

Francisco A.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Tried the Lite version with after effects... Fell in love since then

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm a very creative person and I had some preparation in Real engine, so I was very pleased you can program a process line with different choices and behaviors, including dynamics. Also, my expertise is motion graphics, I used after effects since the beginning, now with cinema 4D and its integration, along with the red giant library included in the suscription, I feel I can do everything.

Pros

3D is hard to learn, if you want to make your life easier you should be good at math, otherwise you're going to struggle a little bit. Saying that, Cinema 4D does make it easier, is the easiest to learn than other 3d modeling programs we've tried.

Cons

So far nothing, I really like they add a lite version for those who use after effects, that brought me here.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ramazan A.

Animation, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

3D modeling, It is a quality, budget-friendly software that can be used for motion design and render

Reviewed 2 years ago

In my experience, this program, which supports me in the commercials and artistic works I make and produces fast works, is good enough.

Pros

The idea that I can produce almost any scene with the program makes me happy. The positive side of the program is that it makes up for its deficiencies with plug-ins with the opportunities it provides.

Cons

I'm using a plugin for rendering. Its rendering engine is slow.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roohi M.

Broadcast Media, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New era for dynamics

Reviewed 2 years ago

Being a motion graphic designer I use is daily for creating broadcast motion graphics.

Pros

I am motion graphic designer, I find this software very fast easy for dynamic animation. You can make complex dynamics in few clicks and modify them easily. Rendering is also good and the best part is that you can export whole scene for composting.

Cons

well sometime I find little issues with its camera but its good so far.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

3D Rendering using Cinema 4D

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Overall Cinema 4D is great software for 3D modelling and rendering. The user interface is simple and clean so we can focus on modelling the 3D instead of focusing on the UI.

Cons

Cinema 4D still lacks features if we compare it with other similar software. It's not free software as well, so we have to pay to use it.

AW
AvatarImg

Ali W.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Render Your 3D objects with Cinema 4D

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall my rendering experience with cinema 4D was amazing, I can render out the 3D objects very easily, I can apply smoothness to them in various ways, like applying subdivision to them. I had multiple ways of rendering the objects out, through PNGs and as well as through mp4. I had integrated the redshift plugin in it which makes my rendering experience a bit easy and I can be able to render out the objects easily.

Pros

- I have used the cinema 4D for rendering the mp4 videos of the 3D objects through the plugin called redshift. - This tool allows you to take out the videos of your desired pixels quality. - In Cinema 4D users have a lot of options while taking out the renders. - The application of the smoothness on the 3D objects was applied very. effectively and it looks good when you render the video of the object. - User has the option to rotate the object to full 360 degrees and take out the video directly by connecting the redshift plugin.

Cons

Connection with redshift sometimes causes the problem. otherwise, for my usage, it was pretty decent