concrete5 Reviews

concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

4.74/5 (23 reviews)

Tim CROSBY

Solid Development Platform

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-13
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this is the best open source site development solution I've used. The learning curve is a bit steep in terms of creating a fully functional enterprise-level site, but a casual user can get a small, good looking and flexible site up and running in a few hours.

Pros
Very easy to maintain and manage with decent flexibility. It also makes use of very reasonably priced add ons through a user marketplace.

Cons
Upgrading versions in recent years has become a somewhat harrowing experience. I'd actually suggest not upgrading until you have a compelling reason; say, for instance, you want the functionality of a new add on or theme or the installed add ons stop working correctly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Jordan Santaga

Great for end-users and developers

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-09
Review Source: Capterra

Love it as a developer and I love providing Concrete5 powered websites to my clients. Doesn't get too much more ideal than that!

Pros
I love to provide Concrete5 powered websites to my clients for many reasons. In particular though, the in-context page editing abilities of Concrete5, easy-to-use dashboard, customizable theme styles and extensibility through the Concrete5 marketplace make it a tool that suits a WIDE range of needs.

Cons
My only dislike with Concrete5 is the lack of native e-commerce functionality built into the CMS. If Concrete5 and/or the C5 community were able to develop some simple e-commerce functionality (much like woocommerce) I think C5 could re-gain some market share from other CMS tools in the industry today.

Response from concrete5


Good news, there is ecommerce for concrete5 here:
https://github.com/concrete5-community-store

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

David Knoble

Flexible, Customizable, Edit Anywhere Web Sites

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-09-22
Review Source: Capterra

We needed to upgrade a very old website and do it in stages, when we had time. We needed the website to work on mobile devices as well as computer browsers. Finally, we are a professional firm, so we needed a website that looked professional and not canned or weak. Concrete5 provided us with a solution that worked on cross platforms and provided templates that look professional from the start. We have also been able to develop the site in stages. While we are not completed, we are much closer, much faster than other tools would have provided us. Page styles give us some structure on different sections and multiple users also allow faster setup and maintenance. I will use this on other websites I manage.

Pros
Concrete5 is very customizable regardless of the template used, and many templates exist that let you hit the ground running. Most of the editing capabilities work on iOS, so you can perform most edits and design work on an iPad and mobile. The interface is clean and the version control allows some experimenting. I have used blog software and computer based software, but this allows the best of all worlds so far.

Cons
The learning curve to purchase a template and add controls to a web site took a little bit to figure out, but this is done very infrequently. Using a templated page, it also took some time to figure out some heading columns and other columns were fixed and not movable, but so many other areas are customizable, workarounds were fine.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Jeremy Rogers

concrete5 - The Best of Breed CMS

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

For me as a developer, concrete5 is a great base to build almost any project on. The extremely powerful attribute system lets you add custom categories so you can reuse tried and tested code for free. You can even add your own custom attribute types which can pull from other data sources. The built in user management system, complete with support for Oauth is one less thing you have to code.

Pros
As a user, I love the in page editing features of concrete5. You simply click the edit button, click the content you want to edit, type in the content, save, publish and you're done. No messing about with the dark recesses of a hidden control panel. All that you need is right there in the page.

Cons
As a developer, the documentation is sometimes quite a way behind the product itself or doesn't actually exist at all. This can be frustrating because the underlying architecture of concrete5 is built on the best of breed open source components, and to do things correctly without modifying the core can take time to figure out. It's usually pretty simple once you've figured it out though.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

John Everden

Hands down best cms / framework

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-16
Review Source: Capterra

Even for complexly applications it's usually my preferable platform even over frameworks as it provides the functionality of a framework yet still provides additional functional that is almost always useful regardless of your use case.

Pros
The system is architected using modern object oriented php. It's very easy for front end devs to create websites from mocks that are intuitive to edit for end users using the cms. It provides a foundation similar to a traditional framework for more complex applications with enterprise level permissions and features out of the box. Extending the cms uses an intuitive pattern allowing changes to persist thru updates to the software. It promotes professional programming design concepts and favors traditional programming design patterns over strict convention. The editing experience from a end users standpoint beats drupal, wordpress and joomla hands down. The security track record is impeccable as well contrasted to other cms systems.

Cons
Off the shelf plugins are limited but the plugins that are available are properly vetted and less likely to be insecure than wordpress. Developer docs are lacking but if you have a good understanding of php it's easy to follow the code as it follows industry conventions and concepts and theming is a breeze.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Liv Gude

Concrete5 Easy to use

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-13
Review Source: Capterra

It's easy and fast to post, edit, and update. The menus are comprehensive and simple and makes keeping your site running easy.

Pros
It's intuitive - the block system is much easier than Wordpress. This power is in the simplicity - but you can make it as complex as you need with add ons. It's much easier to organize your site with Concrete5, also.

Cons
There may be fewer add ons than Wordpress options? But I can't say for sure.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Ed Beeny

Probably the best CMS

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Concrete5 for over 10 years and cannot see me switching to any other CMS

Pros
- You can achieve absolutely anything your customers require with retaliative ease. - Happy customers - The community are always available to help and you can easily communicate with the lead developers.

Cons
The lack of development documentation can cause a few issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Wayne Stewart

Great CMS for 80% of websites on the web.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Concrete5 ease of use for the end user, is its clam to fame. Simple to learn on page editing and the ability to build out more complex pages.

Cons
From a development stand point, concrete5 can be hard to use for 3 or more developers on a project. There is no syncing process between local development environments and remote environments this can cause issues on large projects. Also scaling the CMS for very large project (250+ plus pages) might be an issue however, that is more of dev-op issue then a CMS problem.

Response from concrete5


Thanks for the great review Wayne,

We regularly use bitbucket/github to collaborate with large teams on concrete5 projects and it works very effectively. We've also got sites that are serving well over 10m page views per month by just turning on full page caching and storing some assets in S3, all very easy with concrete5.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Dimitrios Gerasopoulos

Review on concrete5

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
This content management system is by far the most user friendly system in market. It has a lot of features implemented by default and allows an easy extensibility.

Cons
Unfortunatelly the concrete5 marketplace is not in the same level as marketplaces of other products.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

James Johnson

Concrete5 is the Best Content Management System for Small to Medium Sized Businesses

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

We can build a beautiful, fully functioning website in a minimal amount of time and then train the client on how to manage their website with concrete5 in under an hour.

Pros
Concrete5 is very easy for users to learn. It is intuitive. With just a minimal amount of training, non-technical users can manage a fairly complex website. Also, development is made easier than concrete5. Creating custom templates, extending concrete5 and designing for it is very simple.

Cons
Community isn't quite as large as Wordpress so there aren't as many plugins/add-ons for it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Daniel Gasser

The greatest CMS

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-04-17
Review Source: Capterra

As a web developer, two considerations are important when chosing a CMS. The first is the codebase, the quality of the core code. It technically up to date, well structured and the security is up to date. The second point to take into consideration is the usability for the user of a CMS. concrete5 has a very well thought and designed "In Page Editing" feature which makes it easy also for non experienced users to create and maintain their website easily. I can highly recommend concrete5 as a very powerful yet easy to handle CMS

Pros
CLean & good code structure, Easy to create a website.

Cons
None!

Response from concrete5


Thanks!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Nikolas Valerkos

Amazing Website Editing Experience!!!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-04
Review Source: Capterra

Open-Source with MIT License, soure code provided and is free, many blocks available and it can easily be modified to have different look and feel.

Pros
Drag and Drop editor, customization of blocks and layouts is a piece of cake. Really don't think that I would live without this software.

Cons
No mature ecommerce package available for this software, there is package but is outdated. It could have an ecommerce package that would but as awesome as the CMS.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

LUIS NUNEZ

Good functionalities

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

Positive experience. We have used it for a project and also decided to use it for other similar projects because it is very easy to deploy

Pros
Very easy to use. A project can get running in no time. Very intuitive and good numebr of themes available

Cons
Limited amount of plugins for some specific purposes

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Chatchom JWK

Awesome, Professional.....Good for programming dumb like me

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

I need a website that is responsive to the customer with choices of theme and concrete5 served it.

Pros
Drag and Drop, What you see is what you get, Fast and simple to understand procedure

Cons
It consumes a bit too much storage and too little choices of font.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Jamey M. Yates

A brilliant CMS solution for the real web developer

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-12-17
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
If you're a web developer, this is a powerful solution for building a content management system without tricking a blog into being a website and without building a solution from scratch.

Cons
It's not as quick to get up and running as say a WordPress site, but the customizability and efficiency of not having to trick the system to do something it's not really made for is well worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Anonymous

Concrete5 Has Lots of Potential

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-21
Review Source: Capterra

Concrete5 has made it easy for my company to build sites/blogs for the niches that we market to.

Pros
Concrete5 makes it easy to get a novice blogger on their way to building a content-based website with a short learning curve. Writing and adding photos is pretty simple. One of the cool features is the ability to create a site that also has its own blog, without having to create two different sites or use two different platforms.

Cons
Because it's not wildly popular (yet), finding add-ons and plugins takes a bit of work and research. And some functionality just isn't available yet.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Eva Konstantakos

Concrete5 has all you need to get the job done!

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-20
Review Source: Capterra

We've been using Concrete5 for many years for one of our youth summer camp programs. I have very limited website management/design experience. But I find that Concrete5 has easy to use interface that allows me to change and update pages with little to no issue. In all the years we've been using Concrete5, there have been no major issues that would make me considering using different software. Very happy with this software!

Pros
Easy to use Updated regularly Free Customer resources for issues

Cons
If I were to pick ANY con, it would be that there isn't a more customer service. But I've never felt like any issue I've had didn't have resources to solve the issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Anonymous

Easy, drag and drop type of website creator

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Concrete5 allows its users a sweat-free creation of a website. It’s versatile and simple. Being a content producer, I am tasked to create websites to promote our clients and their offers. Concrete5 has helped me achieve that goal without the need for coding.

Cons
Package is good but outdated. Bugs are also noted a few times. Besides that, it still works better than other similar software. Still gets the job done easily and without much hassle.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Gina Grone

Not much to compare it to, but it works for me!

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-27
Review Source: Capterra

I did not choose it, but have learned to work with it. It meets my needs adequately. Any shortcoming that I have with the website are due to the design and not the CMS.

Pros
It's user-friendly for those who are not technologically savvy.

Cons
Custom modules are difficult to create and implement for an intermediate-level user/admin.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Scott Spuler

Great balance between power and ease of use

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-15
Review Source: Capterra

My business often recommends this CMS instead of WordPress for novices.

Pros
Easy for novices to use. Easy to build custom plugins and widgets WYSIWYG editing

Cons
"Under the hood" documentation is lacking.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Jason Pender

Quality vs price

Reviewed 2017-04-20
Review Source: Capterra

A developer has to make a living, but some of the much needed add-ons for concrete5 are very expensive compared to other counterpart CMS systems. I like some of the features including active dev forums, but it also still has a lot of bugs and limitations. They just made a huge update not to long ago that really nullifies anything you are running previously.

Response from concrete5


I'd love to know which add-ons you're referring to? Generally concrete5 ships with far more in the box than most of our competition. Advanced permissions, caching, even bulk SEO tools are all built right in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Michele Locati

The best CMS

Reviewed 2017-04-17
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using concrete5 for years, and I've been always happy with it. I love its powerful features, it's simplicity, its flexibility and its user friendliness.

Response from concrete5


thx

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks

Justin Romero

Rating only

Reviewed 2016-08-13
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


concrete5

CMS made for Marketing but built for Geeks