App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Descript Logo

Descript

Transcription management and video & audio editing software

see alternatives

(22)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Descript Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


166 reviews

Recommended

GH
AvatarImg

Greg H.

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unique, powerful transcription and editing software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Can't say enough about it! I tell anyone who talks about podcasts about it because I'm such a believer in it!

Pros

This software is kinda in a class of its own. Transcription, video, audio, collaboration software all in one and a very easy to use! Being able to edit the transcript OR the wave forms is huge for podcast editing

Cons

It can be finicky sometimes but when I've needed to go to support, they're fast, responsive, and very knowledgeable!

JN
AvatarImg

Judith N.

Environmental Services, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Descript

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall descript allows me to significantly speed up video creation due to awesome video editing capabilities

Pros

Transcription and editing like it's a document

Cons

1. It can be tricky to use the multichannel. Dragging things doesn't always make them go where you want them too. 2. I would like to be able to export in a lossless format eg wmv. I make videos that another company then edits to add standard intro and outro and I want to avoid loss of quality

DF
AvatarImg

David F.

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Indispensable for audio editors

Reviewed 3 years ago

Descript vastly speeds up the process of finding words to replace misspoken ones in long audio and video recordings of teaching material.

Pros

I love the way Descript quickly analyzes spoken-word audio, and provides lightning-fast search to time-stamped words and syllables.

Cons

I wish the AI were good enough to automatically recreate typed words based on analysis of a half hour or so of recorded material containing arbitrary content.

GG
AvatarImg

Guy G.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Video and podcasting made easy

Reviewed a year ago

Massive time-saver, worth every penny!

Pros

Transcription, and ability to make short video clip edits really easily

Cons

App is sometimes laggy and slow when uploading larger files

AD
AvatarImg

Amy D.

Design, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Editing Software Out There

Reviewed 3 years ago

I absolutely love Descript and have recommended it to multiple people. It's been a *huge* time save when it comes to editing.

Pros

The fact that I can edit the transcript and it edits the audio/video is mind-blowing. It speeds up my workflow dramatically.

Cons

I wish there was an iPad version. My iPad is more portable.

JS
AvatarImg

Jessica S.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It’s been great! I’m new to podcasting and it’s been super helpful.

Pros

Makes editing so much easier. Able to share edits with collaborators similar to how we’d edit a written document. Very intuitive.

Cons

Recording separate tracks eats into our monthly usage time so that increases our costs.

MD
AvatarImg

Mary D.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Does exactly what I need it to.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great product. Because I work only remotely, this makes collaboration a breeze.

Pros

This is THE easiest software to learn. I hadn't used it before a couple months ago and it took me maybe half an hour to learn it. Helpful tutorials.

Cons

The auto hide bar pops up when I'm trying to correct text and slows me down.

SR
AvatarImg

Sung R.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, very easy to yuse

Reviewed 3 years ago

it's very high

Pros

transcribing and editing, I like fact that it's easy to edit audio files by editing the transription

Cons

I wish that there was option to automatically transcribe when you upload an audio file. also if there was an option to automatically take out filler words, that would be helpful

RR
AvatarImg

Regina R.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Text to Audio Software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have tried other text to audio products but Descript is top notch!

Pros

Text to audio is fantastic! It clears background noise and speech does not sound like a computer.

Cons

I can't delete audio tracks I don't like but I'm working with a free trial.

DH
AvatarImg

David H.

Religious Institutions, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A dream for podcasters

Reviewed 3 years ago

I really like it and it saves lots of time.

Pros

The ability to remove filler words and edit the audio via text is outstanding.

Cons

Editing the audio file directly can seem a little deficient in contrast to other free software

NT
AvatarImg

Nathan T.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Descript Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have greatly benefited from using it, and plan on using it for a long time. I love it

Pros

The file upload, automatic transcription, the search text function, and text editing

Cons

The application slows down my computer (MacBook Pro) The text editing feels clunky

CC
AvatarImg

Corinna C.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mindblowingly Easy Video Editing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Using the text editor to cut the video is sheer genius and makes the process so much faster!

Cons

I don't like the navigation menu layout. It's not entirely intuitive (yet), but the developers are making constant and fast improvements.

JD
AvatarImg

Jessica D.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An Easy Editing Interface

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love the one click ability to remove filler words

Cons

Some of the traditional video editing features are harder to find.

TN
AvatarImg

Tina N.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My secret weapon for writing case studies

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy to use, really cost efficient. Not the most accurate solution out there, but good value for money.

Pros

I love that I can dump the recording of our video call into Descript and have it pop out a full transcription. I really appreciate that it identifies multiple speakers and can transcribe even if the speakers have accents.

Cons

It is difficult for Descript to process Scottish accents, so the readout of those conversations is pretty funny. Unfortunately that accent is difficult for me to process as well, even playing it at 0.7x speed.

JL
AvatarImg

Joseph L.

Design, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for more than just captions

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great, and nice to see the product come along

Pros

Ease of use, and collaboration with colleagues.

Cons

Updates of features sometimes without tooltips.

JP
AvatarImg

Jay P.

Research, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great value for novices looking to edit videos

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love being able to edit my audio and video and use Overdub to make corrections. I don't need to be a multimedia expert to do this.

Cons

I'd like it to have Dark Mode for longer-term use.